Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

M50 camera

• 07-12-2007 10:49am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16

Right, I'm new to this so hopefully I'm in the right place. Was on the way to the airport nearly 2 weeks ago in middle of night/morning. Passed camera there in Tallaght on M50. Definitely flashed twice, once approaching it and once after I passed it. Definitely no other cars on road. Does anyone know if there is film in this and how long does it take for notice to arrive in post. And before anyone gets excited and raise their blood pressure, I was only doing 60 miles per hour, nothing excessive, even though it's a 40 mile an hour zone but the roadwork cones and stuff were well of the road and there was hardly any traffic. Thanks to anyone who can help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

The speed limit was not 40mph and you know this.

So realy, what was the speed limit and what speed were you doing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭drdre

As mentioned before on the site, That camera doesnt even work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 irishmammy

I dont use kilometers. These are the equivalent speeds in miles. If you cant be helpful then **** off.

thanks drdre, that last comment obviously wasn't directed at you. are you sure it doesn't work? i was talking to someone about it and they said they got a notice there. i have a clean licence and i'm hoping to keep it that way. and yes, i know i'm going the wrong way about it by overdoing the limit by 20mph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Just a question on speed cameras in general, if you are doing the limit as you drive over the white lines on the road, is all ok? So say you were doing 80kmph on this stretch and saw the white lines but not the camera, so jammed on and got down to 60 before you crossed the first line, would you be ok? And does the camera only catch vehicles while they are on these lines? So once you pass the lines can you zoom back up to 80/100/120kmph and be ok? Just curious it's not that I've done this at all :) I'm still pointless!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭Mexicola

Hould on a second... you admit to driving at approx 100km/h in a 60km/h zone. Remind me again what you want?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭drdre

irishmammy wrote: »
    I dont use kilometers. These are the equivalent speeds in miles. If you cant be helpful then **** off.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

I dont use kilometers.

Ireland uses KM even if you dont.

Even if you were doing 60mph (in your terms) it was still over 20mph faster then 40mph so its still speeding.

And besides if you ae using miles there is no equivalent 40mph in KM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Nice introduction, welcome to boards :rolleyes:

Your first post says it's a 40mph zone but you and I but know that doesn't exist.
    Bit of a difference between 20km/h over the limit and 20mph!
    Reason I asked was I was not sure if there are variable points and fines depending how far you are over the limit.
    There doesn't seem to be according to this:
    http://www.citizensinformation.ie/categories/travel-and-recreation/roads-and-safety/road_traffic_speed_limits_in_ireland

To answer your question, I've searched 4 threads and all seem to confirm that the camera is not working

haven't a clue, cormie. it's actually a 60KM zone not 80 and I did see the sign but by that stage I had been on the road for nearly 2 hours and with all the roadworks and slowing down I was starting to be late so I just kept doing the 60 miles an hour. the worst thing is, when the speed limit goes up to the 120KM, I still don't go any harder than 65 miles an hour anyway. what is 120KM in miles anyway, it's fairly hard, I do know that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭smooth operater

Mexicola wrote: »
    Hould on a second... you admit to driving at approx 100km/h in a 60km/h zone. Remind me again what you want?

she wanted to know if the camera was working.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

irishmamy wrote: »
    I was starting to be late so I just kept doing the 60 miles an hour. the worst thing is, when the speed limit goes up to the 120KM, I still don't go any harder than 65 miles an hour anyway.

Typical. Like the 50mph everywhere brigade who speed through towns and villages to make up the time they've lost on the main roads.

Well, obviously I am in the wrong place after all. I am not denying I was doing over the limit but at 4.30am with no other traffic much to talk about and all the road work site rubbish well off the road, would all of ye that answered slow down to 40, sorry I mean 60 kilometers per hour because we shouldn't use miles anymore? I think not. I actually wonder if any of ye would even stay inside the 120kmh when the roadworks end! There are roads where I live where the whole road is the width of one of those lanes and the speed limit is - better be careful not to slip back into miles - 80km.

the worst thing is, when the speed limit goes up to the 120KM, I still don't go any harder than 65 miles an hour anyway. what is 120KM in miles anyway, it's fairly hard, I do know that.

120KM is 75 mph, a lot of people seem to think it's still 70 and stay in the overtaking lane doing 70 and less though:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Oh Dear Oh Dear etc :rolleyes:
    This particular Speed Camera site IS active.
    The only variable is whether or not the Camera unit is fitted.
    It should be noted that there are far more CAMERA`s than there are SITES and the camera`s are moved around by a specially selected team of Garda camera fairies in the wee small hours :p

The pitch is also queered by the existance of a few Speed Activated FLASH units which operate eaxactly the same as the camera.

This particular M50 location is covered by a special speed limit of 60Km/h so IMO Irishmammy,you are banged to rights as the Brits might say.

The actual speed measurement is verified by the transverse road markings which provide the reference marks for the TWO pictures of the offence and allow for the calculation of the Actual speed.
    AFAIK the trigger velocity of the Irish Gatso units is set somewhat lower than the UK which traditionally has used a 10% plus 1 MPH TV.
    So in UK terms a 40 MPH camera would activate at 45,although I understand that some regional UK police forces have now broken ranks are have plumped for a rigid "What u see is what u get" policy.

I have little doubt but our relatively simple mindset will have the TV set at EXACTLY 60K/mph in this case.

I do have some sympathy for Imammy but it should also be noted that the sudden throwing out of the anchors at this particular loaction DOES achieve the desired result .....Very few vehicles travelling through the roadworks zone at over 60KM/ph.......Those are the jokes folks .... :eek:

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

AlekSmart wrote: »
    I have little doubt but our relatively simple mindset will have the TV set at EXACTLY 60K/mph in this case.
    No, I don't think it is...

Despite driving through this camera a few times a week, I forgot about it once and drove through at about 70km/h and got no flash. I have also seen other people fly through it and not get flashed. Though both of these just lead me to believe that the flash goes off so much, it's often not working and has to be fixed/replaced regularly.

AlekSmart, I'm not interested in what they do in the UK, I'm interested in what happens HERE, in IRELAND.

So can ANYONE shed any light on how long it takes to come in the post?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

she wanted to know if the camera was working.....

the camera's working - take it from me :) It takes about 7 days to get the notice.

Thanks Seamus, so flashed = screwed?

Or does it flash even if it's out of film?

7 days? That's pretty good. Fairly sure I haven't been caught then :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,025 ✭✭✭Ham'nd'egger

haven't a clue, cormie. it's actually a 60KM zone not 80 and I did see the sign but by that stage I had been on the road for nearly 2 hours and with all the roadworks and slowing down I was starting to be late so I just kept doing the 60 miles an hour. the worst thing is, when the speed limit goes up to the 120KM, I still don't go any harder than 65 miles an hour anyway. what is 120KM in miles anyway, it's fairly hard, I do know that.

The speed limits that you need to keep in the head as the nearest matches to the old speed limits and where they would typically apply are as follows...

30KMH=20MPH (New limit on some urban housing estates and city centre Dublin)
    50KMH=30MPH (Urban roads)
    80KMH=50MPH (Outer suburbs)
    100KMH=60MPH (Non N/M roads, R roads, back roads)
    120KMH=70MPH (Motorways)

In fairness to some of the posters here, Metric speed limits were introduced here some years ago and were very well heralded in the national while signposts are KM as well. For your own sake, the "I only work in miles" line does need to be cleared from the soul in order for you to be sure you are toeing the line. New cars are only gauged in KM so you will need to adhere to metric sooner or later.

Fixed Penalty Notices for an offence (including speeding) are not speed graded. They are automatically issued for €80 and two penalty points, with you having the option to pay the fine or challenge it in court. They would be sent out typically 3-4 weeks after detection.

tbh - thank you! an answer at long last. it has been longer than seven days though, am i in the safe zone? did you just get one? or did you receive several, all within 7 days?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭tabatha

AlekSmart, I'm not interested in what they do in the UK, I'm interested in what happens HERE, in IRELAND.

So can ANYONE shed any light on how long it takes to come in the post?

jeez.....just a little touchy :rolleyes:

Seamus, when did you get 'flashed'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

drdre wrote: »
    As mentioned before on the site, That camera doesnt even work.

Not sure about the camera, but the flash certainly works.

no tabatha, not touchy, just wondering why people refer to the uk that's all. in fairness, what they do over there in road traffic safety doesn't really bother me. and to whoever said all new cars are calibrated in kms, i dont have the luxury of a new car, and my 00 is still in miles.

Gerard, I think I can safely say I know the flash works, thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

tbh - thank you! an answer at long last. it has been longer than seven days though, am i in the safe zone? did you just get one? or did you receive several, all within 7 days?

I got one :( Mine was dated about 3 days after I was on the road, and I got it about a week after. I don't know if you are "safe" yet, but I wouldn't bet on it just yet.

I assume that they will be issued on or before 28 days after the alleged offence; this being the same time as if one was charged and giving a hearing date in court. On the issue of speed cameras, that one in Tallaght has been in situ since the beginning of the year; I would always treat one as working to be sure.

I'll have to sweat it out for another while. It's been there since March apparantly. Funny how when you come back off holidays and tell people you got flashed, they all say 'Yeah! What's his face got caught there!' Pity they wouldn't tell you before you left!!!!!:mad:

To be fair, there are big signs saying the speed limit is 60km/h and more big signs with cameras on them...

I know, I know. Think I'll be taking it on the chin, sigh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Hamndegger wrote: »
    120KMH=70MPH (Motorways)

I know this is probably a typo by Ham'nd'egger but 120 kph (kilometres per hour) is actually 74.5645431 mph (miles per hour). For convenience the Irish Government have rounded this figure up to 75 mph.

So...

120 kph = 75 mph

I'm clarifying this because (a) nobody else did and (b) irishmammy really needs to learn this stuff.

Actually, Cormie did point out that 120km = 75mph

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Actually, Cormie did point out that 120km = 75mph

That was earlier in the thread, I didn't want you getting confused or anything. :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Just because it took 7 days for others to arrive they have a lot longer time if need to process the fines dont they?

And I was just about to again till I saw that you've taken care of it r3nu4l :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

just wondering why people refer to the uk that's all.

And of course why do people refer to imperial measure, another thing to wonder about.

no tabatha, not touchy, just wondering why people refer to the uk that's all. in fairness, what they do over there in road traffic safety doesn't really bother me.

Simply because in many cases, the rules are Identical (copied) to those used un the UK except the work "crown" is replaced with "state" & speed is KM instead of miles...

r3nu4l wrote: »
    I know this is probably a typo by Ham'nd'egger but 120 kph (kilometres per hour) is actually 74.5645431 mph (miles per hour). For convenience the Irish Government have rounded this figure up to 75 mph.

So...

120 kph = 75 mph

I'm clarifying this because (a) nobody else did and (b) irishmammy really needs to learn this stuff.

I was aware of that, yes. I said it was about 70MPH as it's easier to keep tabs on 70MPH than 75MPH :)

Thanks to whoever hit the report button. I now have an infraction. Not that it matters. Is there a button you can press to report unhelpful answers and/or people who make unfair presumptions about you?

Might have something to do with this...

Mods don't like abusive posts. edit: nor do the majority of posters here either /edit

PS not guilty...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭SeanW

Ok first of all, miles belong in the last century, along with punts, shillings, crowns and half pences in money. I really don't know why anyone other than old people want to use the imperial system for *anything.*

Secondly, none of the speeds you quoted have any basis in law.

40Mph = 64Kph
    60Mph = 96Kph

So if you did 40Mph in a 60kph zone, you would be speeding whereas if you did 60Mph in a 100kph zone, you would be slowing traffic down slightly, assuming everyone else wanted to go right up to the speed limit.

Moral of the story - refer to legal speed limits while driving and slow down - at least around known speed traps and camera flashpoints.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭cormthechippy

just wait for yer feckin ticket...and if ye didn't get one, continue to keep the foot to the board

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭Stereophonic

It will always have film in it... Majority of the people using that stretch know the camera is there so they reduce their speed. It can take more than 7 days sometimes.

Sooner you get your ticket the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭regedit

Thanks Seamus, so flashed = screwed?

Or does it flash even if it's out of film?

Passed that point (the camera) a few days ao.
    The satnav was telling me exactly 60 km/h and I was fine. All traffic ahead of was doing the same speed (evening, 18:30) and the camera flashed twice at the car ahead of us! THe reason unknown.
    I would say it does work!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭MDTyKe

Just wondering mammy, but does your car not have km/h on the inside of the dial?

Matt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

MDTyKe wrote: »
    Just wondering mammy, but does your car not have km/h on the inside of the dial?

Matt

To be fair, the inside dial on most cars is damn near impossible to read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭hargo

So did you get a ticket yet?

Stark wrote: »
    To be fair, the inside dial on most cars is damn near impossible to read.
    Mine has km legend in small red font, I just look at the Imperial equivilant and the small red lines.