Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should Mediums/Healers/Readers etc charge?

• 06-12-2007 9:23am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭

Hi, there seems to be a bit of a debate about people with "gifts" charging. I wanted to see what the overall opinion of people is.

I personally feel that they should because of a number of factors. Such as; every other profession charges for their services and time, a lot of people use readers and mediums for entertainment, mediums/healers etc have bills and live lives just like the rest of us, many people give their time to charitable causes who really need them as opposed to dishing out free readings or treatments.

While I completly understand people saying you shouldnt use a god given gift to make money, I would then ask, what about singers, actors, models people who use something inherited (voice, looks etc) as opposed to learned to make their money.

What are peoples opinions on this?

Should Healers/Mediums/Readers charge 22 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    72% 16 votes
    Depends on circumstances
    27% 6 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I suppose they can't just keep giving and giving. It would become exhausting for them and I'm sure there would be plenty of people willing to take advantage of a free service.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Ive already mentioned this in a post in spirituality, so forgive me if I cut and paste it here. :)
    The money argument is a separate thing. Charging lumps you in with every rip off charlatan out there, not charging makes what you do a hobby which people dont often take seriously. If you are genuine about what you are doing and do not set out to exploit people then charging or not is a personal decision. All I would say, is if you dont do the job right and your sitter is not happy you should not charge money. You havent earned it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

100% completly agree KTK, if you visit someone who asks for money BEFORE the sitting then leave!! Seriously. Nobody should do this. Although to be fair most of these people get their clients through word of mouth so if you're crap, you wont last too long anyway. That is unless you're set up in a high profile area and have people with fecking signs pointing in your direction. (you know the sign people I'm talking about around Templebar?) In which case most people who visit are only there for entertainment anyway. Oh BTW I'm not giving out about those readers what so ever, just saying they will probably make money regardless of their skill because of where they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

I've posted on this subject so many times over the years ... of course they should charge!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭kshiel

Yes they should charge and should be looked upon as their career choice, many readers etc dont charge for a period of time while training and like all trades etc out there, there are frauds and you have to educate yourself to spot one or walk away or not go there.

For those here who have been paid for readings .... did any of you pay tax etc?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Of course they should charge... If a doctor didnt charge, then he'd have to work another job to support himself, and so wouldn't be able to spend as much time helping people. Same deal with these other people. By charging a reasonable fee, it permits them to devote more time to helping people.

I'm sure that's their argument anyway.

I think that they should have to always qualify their services with "for entertainment purposes only" (like they have to do on the radio) -- and then they can charge what they like. If people are willing to pay ridiculous money for this, and they're made aware that it's not based on science, then good for them.

6th wrote: »
    For those here who have been paid for readings .... did any of you pay tax etc?
    I dont even know why your asking this, those that havent declared for tax might be loath to admit, as they would have to defend that stance.

I think that they should have to always qualify their services with "for entertainment purposes only" (like they have to do on the radio) -- and then they can charge what they like. If people are willing to pay ridiculous money for this, and they're made aware that it's not based on science, then good for them.
    If someone contacts a psychic for a reading, I doubt they are expecting scientifically verifiable facts. They go for their own reasons, whether its to be told an answer they dont have, for entertainment, to reassure themselves their lover isnt cheating - whatever. Disclaimers are meaningless. The people that phone those psychic hotlines* do so because they are probably going to take in and believe what they are told, regardless.

*my stance is I dont like psychic predicting anyway. You're taking control and free will from the person involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

Although I realise that everyone has to make a living, I think the 'business' of medium ship somehow dirties the water. I certainly do not put it in the same catorgorie as being a doctor etc, you don't go to college and study to be a medium, you have the gift or you have not. Ironically, and I know this sounds stupid, but I wouldn't have a problem rewarding someone who had convinced me a loved one had contacted me. Unfortunately there are probably more charlatans than genuine mediums etc which just makes it harder for the genuine to be accepted as genuinely gifted. It's also probably a factor that some genuine ones are turned by the fame and fortune that can happen when the media gets a sniff.

6th, I can only speak for myself on the Tax matter, and it might get me into trouble but no I don't. There are a couple of reasons for this. Firstly, I already work two jobs, I know many people do and I am not using the amount of tax I already pay as an excuse, the reason I say this is because I am pointing out that I have very little time to be earning from healing. The second reason is because at the moment I charge only €30 per session (half usual as while I am qualified I am still only new to it, I also don't accept money until I'm finished and the client is happy with the service) and am lucky if I get 1 paying client per week so really how much tax can you pay on €30? :D However I would imagine that someone who has made healing/reading etc their main would have to pay tax? I know very little about business but wouldn't they have to hand in their books at the end of the year too? Personally, when I have enough experience to charge normal rates and perhaps a few other skills under my belt (I am learning to read cards and am thinking of doing a colour therapy course) I will pay tax. It is not worth the worry IMO, however I do understand that there are probably loads of people who dont declare everything.

Dubtom, I understand your stance, but when I compare healers/readers to doctors etc I dont mean it in a learning capacity, I mean it in a "calling" type of way. I do feel that people see it as having a gift or not but this is not true, everybody has the same gifts, it's whether or not you choose to develop them and the lerning and personal growth is huge!! You have to examine aspects of yourself most people dont even like to admit they have, such a jealousy, ego, anger etc. You never stop learning or studying. I would never compare myself to a doctor, ever, it's a dangerous thing to do. And I understand that healing could never take the palce of a conventional doctor.

As for the media, these people are few and far between to be honest. About a year ago a medium I know was involved in a high profile case which was featured on a radio show (quite a big one but I dont know what the rules are for naming) she was interviewed for a countrywide show but would not give her name as she did not want the attention. People like the host of most haunted give all mediums a name as media hounds!! :)

I think your standing on paying if you are happy with the service is very fair, most people are happy to work like this.

6th, I can only speak for myself on the Tax matter, and it might get me into trouble but no I don't. There are a couple of reasons for this. Firstly, I already work two jobs, I know many people do and I am not using the amount of tax I already pay as an excuse, the reason I say this is because I am pointing out that I have very little time to be earning from healing. The second reason is because at the moment I charge only €30 per session (half usual as while I am qualified I am still only new to it, I also don't accept money until I'm finished and the client is happy with the service) and am lucky if I get 1 paying client per week so really how much tax can you pay on €30? :D However I would imagine that someone who has made healing/reading etc their main would have to pay tax? I know very little about business but wouldn't they have to hand in their books at the end of the year too? Personally, when I have enough experience to charge normal rates and perhaps a few other skills under my belt (I am learning to read cards and am thinking of doing a colour therapy course) I will pay tax. It is not worth the worry IMO, however I do understand that there are probably loads of people who dont declare everything.

Ah i'm not getting at readers (there are a few readers I know well and respect them loads) or calling them tax dodgers, all I am trying to get at is that if readers where a bit more legit they might get more credibility. I know its been suggested on here before that maybe they need to be registered ... but then what do they register as? Entertainers? Therapists?

how much tax can you pay on €30?

If you are in the higher tax bracket then you pay 42% (I think) so thats €12.60 :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

what do they register as? Entertainers? Therapists?

If they can prove they have paranormal abilities and use them to help people they would possibly register as therapists. Otherwise as entertainers.

But, yes, they should of course charge for their services, so long as the customer is happy to pay, whether as therapists of entertainers. All services should be paid for. You wouldn't ask a musician to not charge for his work.

On the subject of media Im a bit embarrassed to throw my hat into this debate (you know my history 6th ;)) the only reason I would court any publicity is so that I can do the work I want to do. For nothing. I think any medium or psychic who works in the media does become an entertainer first and foremost. That doesnt take from the fact that they are still mediums or whatever, but their main focus does become providing entertainment to the masses. Any Ive met or seen who have shows as their main earner have better stage presence and showmanship than most up in RTE! I think problems only arise when the ego becomes bigger than the man.

This may need an alternate thread, but Im putting it here anyway. Does Ireland have a Fraudulent Mediums act similar to the UK one? Over there any psychic who falsely predicts or fakes readings can be sued. And in spite of this (or maybe because of this) the spiritualist movement is HUGE over there.

The SNU line on charging seems to be, yes you should.

http://www.tonyyouens.com/fma.htm

Although I think the the act of 1951 has or is to be updated.

I cant seem to find anything in relation to Ireland having a Fraudlent Mediums Act. I dont know how such matters could be governed but it would be in my opinion anyway not a bad idea as it would hopefully ensure that frauds could be put to prision and fined if caught and it could or hopefully allow people who want to train in this way a guideline line to do it.

Oh KtK now I wanna know your history!! You cant throw in a nugget like that and not elaborate. Especially when someone as nosey as me is around :D

I agree that while they become entertainers they are still psychic but, as humans, I'd say it's dangerously easy for the ego to take over. I think, though, that when that happens you're readings become less accurate as it is really your ego reading if you know what I mean. Sort of like "oh this will sound better if I.........." you know. very often when reading you aren't sure if the info is coming from yourself or "higher", I think thats what differs between good and not so good readers. You learn to distinguish between the two.

As for the registration think............. very difficult to call. I consider myself a healer first, if I get info during a session I will pass it on, and this happens during a lot of sessions but is secondary to what I'm doing. So for me to be considered an entertainer is not an option. And I think a lot of readers would not like that either as it trivialises things. To be registred as a therapist is not right either as it implies guaranteed results, which no respectable person would do.

How does the fraudulant medium act work?? I think thats terrible, I mean if someone says "you will get pregnant in a year" and you decide "oh nooooo, I'm gonna be extra extra careful" can you then sue, even though you've made an effort to not get pregnant. And if the reader had not told you, you might have gotten pregnant as you wouldn't have been so careful. It's a catch 22. Must be very hard to rule on as you have to take peoples free will into account?

6th I will make sure I pay tax on my €30 from now on, but I'm only in the lower bracket so that'l be 6.30 per session. Write off my expenses such as phone calls planning it, petrol when calling to clients, my plinth, tea, coffee, water bikkies etc and I guess I owe about €1 per session, thats about €45 per year :eek: oh no, do you think they'll come after me ;)

kshiel wrote: »
    and it could or hopefully allow people who want to train in this way a guideline line to do it.
    Great Idea, a set way of training would be fantastic (so long as it's not too restrictive) it would also add some credability to psychics!

Hi helena. My historys all recorded on here. Lets just say I had my 15mins of fame, thanks very much. :)
    very often when reading you aren't sure if the info is coming from yourself or "higher", You learn to distinguish between the two.
    That is without doubt the hardest part to master.

I wouldnt call myself an entertainer. Hell, I cant sing. But I do try and work with a sense of humour and fun. The subject I deal with is highly emotional, so having a lighthearted moment keeps people uplifted. Im trying to make people happier, after all. But to this day have no title for 'that stuff i do'.:)

As for the FMA, mediums dont predict. At all. Its simply not part of it. If you work psychically as well, thats your thing. I read psychically sometimes but never tell anyone whats going to happen, because at best I only have the vaguest sense of what 'might' be.

But if you can predict, I would appreciate knowing if Im going to get a tax audit. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 White Light

Hi all.

Psychics and Mediums are not entertainers or therapists.

A therapist is a person who treats emotional or psychological disorders.

An entertainer is someone who tries to "please" or "amuse" an audience such as Keith Barry pretending to be psychic.

The use of the word "entertainer" comes from the communication regulators. In our case "Comreg" who state that all psychic phone lines and tv ads/appearances come with the line "for entertainment purposes only" due to legal reasons.

As for a medium charging for their services...
    First there is quite an amount of time put into studying, learning and opening up.
    Someone who is a well developed psychic or medium has sacrificed themselves in that they are more open to the other side whether good or bad. So even after your reading they still have to mindful of people and energies around them.

As for psychics paying taxes.
    If they were to pay them they would have to charge 21% VAT on top of their fee. Then they would have to pay taxes on their wage taken from the business 20% lower, 42% higher..

As for registering as a psychic or medium..
    In the UK there are tons of spiritualist churches where psychics and mediums are members and references of genuine psychics/mediums can be found.

Unfortunately we don't have a spiritualist church over here :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Aisling&M

Yes they should charge. And anyone who uses the argument that "if they want to help people they shouldn't take money" should really think about all the gifts and talents that they have that they are not donating free of charge themselves.

I think we ALL should do some charity/voluntary work just to contribute to society but to end up broke but helping people is not somewhere I would like to be.

Lastly, I've learned from experience that if you give your services and expertise for free the client treats it like it is worthless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭witchywoman

yes, of course they should charge. If theyare professional there is no reason why the service is expected for free. as to the claim that psychics dont pay taxes, your wrong there, I work for revenue and I can tell you that any of the ones in the media spotlight do indeed pay vat like everyone else, that goes for psychics who offer internet services via website domains too.There are a few who operate outside the norms, but you are talking very small fish.I was recently asked to do some background work on these holistic fair events, for a case file being prepared, and i found that most of the psychics working at fairs were totally anonomous . most of them were working under stage names and had no contact details whatsoever, apart from a mobile number.I would advise people who are looking for a psychic, healer etc to steer clear of the psychic who doesnt have contact details, as they are obviously chancers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭heirenach

Helena.ryan. About 15 years ago, i attended a seminer in the Arthur Finlay college Stanstad in which a topic came up on whether Mediums and Healers should charge for their sessions.The outcome was that they should only accept donations given to them . Most of the great mediums,healers etc did not charge and it was against spiritual ethics to do so.Spiritual teachers throughout the world would agree with this.I knew alot of mediums and healers who did charge who were at this seminer,it is very easy for material gain to outweight spiritual.Most of us live in a material world.

heirenach wrote: »
    Helena.ryan. About 15 years ago, i attended a seminer in the Arthur Finlay college Stanstad in which a topic came up on whether Mediums and Healers should charge for their sessions.The outcome was that they should only accept donations given to them . Most of the great mediums,healers etc did not charge and it was against spiritual ethics to do so.Spiritual teachers throughout the world would agree with this.I knew alot of mediums and healers who did charge who were at this seminer,it is very easy for material gain to outweight spiritual.Most of us live in a material world.

Ive just come back from AF College and the feelings there on the topic of charging seem to have changed completely. Every tutor said, yes of course you can charge. They did leave the option of whether you should as a personal thing as they realise that not everyone is comfortable charging. But the consensus seemed to be that it was perfectly ok.

KtK wrote: »
    Ive just come back from AF College and the feelings there on the topic of charging seem to have changed completely. Every tutor said, yes of course you can charge. They did leave the option of whether you should as a personal thing as they realise that not everyone is comfortable charging. But the consensus seemed to be that it was perfectly ok.

I got the same over there KtK and I feel that putting out that they shouldn't charge leaves people to believe that only real mediums and healers dont and this is simply not true, why should people who have choosen this as there career be subject to starve and jibs. I do also think its a personal choice on a case to case for some people. I personally have not charged for any reading I have done but I am still in training and this is my personal choice........

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Personally i feel that charging should be more like a "donation". I know its not going to be a popular ascertion of mine in this thread but thats how i feel.

If someone thinks you are up to scratch, they will be more willing to give a donation.

But then again its a greedy world, and often people who want to help, charge you for the privilege.

If i was a genuine healer, i wouldnt charge. I would be dead set on helping as many people as i could.
    If i was a medium, donations would be more appropriate imo
    A reader, hmm, i guess im ok with someone charging for this as it doesnt carry the same weight as the previous 2.

faceman wrote: »
    If i was a genuine healer, i wouldnt charge. I would be dead set on helping as many people as i could.
    A reader, hmm, i guess im ok with someone charging for this as it doesnt carry the same weight as the previous 2.

100% agree with this.

But then again its a greedy world, and often people who want to help, charge you for the privilege.

The world is indeed a greedy place, suggested donations? You would end up with nothing. "people who want to help, charge you for the privilege" ??!!?!?! it's you they are helping, if you can afford to pay then you should be charged, not asked for a donation, and it's often the more well off people who complain about paying and would give you the smaller donation (this goes for everyday life too IMO). I dont know of any healer who would turn you away if you were in need of help and couldn't pay (hence the swap I do with a lady who teaches me a language instead of giving me money) if they cant pay you surely they can do somthing else. And if this is impossible, by all means treat them anyway. But only if they are unable to pay. Why should you study for years, spend hours almost every day bettering your ability and not get paid by people who can afford to???

No other profession is expected to do their work for nothing all the time. A lot of people donate their time to charity outside of their work hours, a lot of healers do this too. So whats the problem? I know one healer who spends all her free time in an animal shelter healing, another who regularly visits a hospice. Why should they also do what is effectively charity work all the time?

Personally i feel that charging should be more like a "donation". I know its not going to be a popular ascertion of mine in this thread but thats how i feel.

If someone thinks you are up to scratch, they will be more willing to give a donation.

I can understand your point faceman and I think a lot of people who do this sort of work get a lot out of it besides money. But a lot of people doing this work are always studying and enhancing there ability to enable help for others and lets face it these types of studies dont come cheap at the best of times. Do you think they should have to bear this type of cost out of their own pocket after helping as much as they can. Not everyone out there who has recieved good readings or messages or healing that would be worth a donation do donate money or other forms of gifts, it would be nice if that method could work for everyone but it simply doesn't in this real greedy world.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I guess where im coming from, particularly with healers, is that if you have such a powerful gift, then use it on those who need it the most. Namely, the less well off. The same principle applies to doctors. many talented doctors chose to spend a good portion of their time in the third world, working for little or nothing. I guess maybe its a moral question, but im not judging anyone who does it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭heirenach

Faceman I totally agree you about donations and alot doctors and volunteers give their time in the third world,I respect them.If the AF college views has changed regarding mediums,healers etc chargeing for services , its sad.The college was built on spiritual ethics and the promotion of spiritualism.I know that Gorden Higgenson,Beasly and Arthur Finlay did not agree with material gains made from spiritual healing.Alot of healers and mediums i knew did not charge,tarot card readers did.Times have changed.Their spiritual gifts come from the spirit and when lost they turn to alternative healing,Reiki, Chinese , etc. So many Karmic paths are damaged by wrong interpetations ,many people hurt by false hopes. I believe what goes around comes around ,like the wheel of many lives in a path of spiritual evolvement in the wheels of time.

I guess where im coming from, particularly with healers, is that if you have such a powerful gift, then use it on those who need it the most. Namely, the less well off. The same principle applies to doctors. many talented doctors chose to spend a good portion of their time in the third world, working for little or nothing. I guess maybe its a moral question, but im not judging anyone who does it at all.

Why only on the people who are more well off...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Gillybean72

Aisling&M wrote: »
    Yes they should charge. And anyone who uses the argument that "if they want to help people they shouldn't take money" should really think about all the gifts and talents that they have that they are not donating free of charge themselves.

I think we ALL should do some charity/voluntary work just to contribute to society but to end up broke but helping people is not somewhere I would like to be.

Lastly, I've learned from experience that if you give your services and expertise for free the client treats it like it is worthless.
    I agree with you there Aisling, for some reason people believe better if there is a charge. As you may know ;) I do distance healing, although I dont tell people round here I do it, but when I am onto friends and the other spiritual forum, I will do it when asked.

I do mostly free to get my confidence back, but I have done a couple of parties where I never asked for money, but was given money at the end as everyone was very happy with the readings.

But why SHOULD I do it for free? I was exhausted reading 9 people back to back. it takes a lot out of me and I cant really heal myself and at a party, dont have a friend to send energy etc.

But its good to help people, and its a gift at the end of the day we were given and its nice to use it for people that cannot afford it otherwise.
    As for healing, I have NEVER charged for it.

heirenach wrote: »
    Faceman I totally agree you about donations and alot doctors and volunteers give their time in the third world,I respect them.If the AF college views has changed regarding mediums,healers etc chargeing for services , its sad.The college was built on spiritual ethics and the promotion of spiritualism.I know that Gorden Higgenson,Beasly and Arthur Finlay did not agree with material gains made from spiritual healing.Alot of healers and mediums i knew did not charge,tarot card readers did.Times have changed.Their spiritual gifts come from the spirit and when lost they turn to alternative healing,Reiki, Chinese , etc. So many Karmic paths are damaged by wrong interpetations ,many people hurt by false hopes. I believe what goes around comes around ,like the wheel of many lives in a path of spiritual evolvement in the wheels of time.

I dont think the college has lost any of its spiritual ethics I think its more or less a topic away from the spiritual ethics side of things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭solas

really depends on the circumstances. I don't think I would ever feel right handing cash over to someone purely on the basis of the claim of mediumship.
    However, some people do have genuine ability which can help bring comfort to people and I don't see why it shouldn't be used to support an income, relatively speaking.

I'd have no qualms paying to see a counsellor or therapist and if they happen to employ solvent understanding or can communicate with greater empathy as part of that role so be it. (thats what they are trained to do)

Healers are often found working in areas where they can apply their own unique abilities, there are plenty of care givers out there in a variety of fields and most of them are smart enough and grateful too to be able to employ their skills in a way that can use to support themselves.

Most regular folk who use their own skills have developed them to work in trade, whether they are IT engineers with a flair for design or barmaids with the abiltiy to just listen, a skill is a useful thing to have but is rarely a trade in its own right, it just needs to be applied somewhere.

edit: oh..and I think if people have genuine psychic abilties which could help solve murders and such, they should become police officers and apply their knowledge to their trade. I don't think it's necessary to be titled 'psychic' detective, if they could just be very good ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭solas

I wonder if I could find employment punching 'psychic readers' for being idiots.

Hey, just a quick one.

Most of the people here who are saying there shouldn't be a charge is saying based on the idea that these people have "gifts". I have two issues with this, models, singers, actors etc have "gifts" god given ability or talent??

Secondly, if it is a "gift" then it is one we are all born with. It's just a choice of whether you develop it or not. So really, the people who are saying that we shouldn't charge for healing should be ashamed that they were also given this gift and have chosen to ignore it.

solas wrote: »
    Most regular folk who use their own skills have developed them to work in trade, whether they are IT engineers with a flair for design or barmaids with the abiltiy to just listen, a skill is a useful thing to have but is rarely a trade in its own right, it just needs to be applied somewhere.

edit: oh..and I think if people have genuine psychic abilties which could help solve murders and such, they should become police officers and apply their knowledge to their trade. I don't think it's necessary to be titled 'psychic' detective, if they could just be very good ones.

Thats a really good way of looking at it, its too easy for conversations like this to go around in circles with "yes", "no" & "depends".

If people really want to help they should be willing to work to put themselves in a position to help like someone getting into politics to make a difference.

Solas, you dont post enough here anymore but when you do it stands out ;)

Secondly, if it is a "gift" then it is one we are all born with. It's just a choice of whether you develop it or not. So really, the people who are saying that we shouldn't charge for healing should be ashamed that they were also given this gift and have chosen to ignore it.

But thats your opinion that everyone has it, so to say people should be ashamed for not using it is very unfair.

I am sure you were/are capable of being a doctor/garda etc if you had put yourself on the path but you chose not to, are you doing all you can to help people? I know I aint.

I am sure people who have trades as well as have developed their ability would use it to their advantage but there are those who are either not academicly gifted or simpily not in a finanical position to either study or train in the area of which there ability would be of use or maybe they have no interest in becoming a garda or a doctor. And to say this is where they should be using there ability is unfair to them......

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

How can you con somebody without taking their money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Gillybean72

kshiel wrote: »
    I am sure people who have trades as well as have developed their ability would use it to their advantage but there are those who are either not academicly gifted or simpily not in a finanical position to either study or train in the area of which there ability would be of use or maybe they have no interest in becoming a garda or a doctor. And to say this is where they should be using there ability is unfair to them......

I find I use my gift when I play poker, not that Im reading minds, but intuition and reading skills come in handy. Is this unethical?????

I meant in trades such as the garda or doctors or other trades where they find it helps in the greater good of the person / case involved and not for personal gain.

(Mental note) dont play cards with gillcar1972 he/she will take all my money :D But I am sure most people would use there intution in most situations in life without even noticing they are.

But thats your opinion that everyone has it, so to say people should be ashamed for not using it is very unfair.

I am sure you were/are capable of being a doctor/garda etc if you had put yourself on the path but you chose not to, are you doing all you can to help people? I know I aint.

6th it's less of an opinion and more of a belief, I know I sound like I'm nit picking but there is a difference. Almost everyone I know well has had some sort of experience, even if it's just the phone ringing and they know who it is (and not coz of caller id :rolleyes:). I firmly believe that everyone has the same gifts. Some just ignore them.

The ashamed comment was really a tongue in cheek pop at the people who say that it's wrong to charge in any situation because it's a gift that you're born with. These people obviously know nothing about the amount of learning that goes into being a healer or reader so for them to say that, in my opinion is a ridiculous as me saying they should be ashamed. Do you know what I mean? I'm very bad at saying what I mean, makes perfect sense in my head though :D Sorry I probably should have been clearer on the fact that I was being sarcastic. :)

Garda - too short would not be accepted, Doctor - I faint at the sight of blood. :) My 9-5 job does not involve helping people, but outside that I do as much I can while still leading a (semi) normal life yes. More for animals than people mind you but I assume it counts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 633 ✭✭✭IncredibleHulk

As for psychics paying taxes.
    If they were to pay them they would have to charge 21% VAT on top of their fee. Then they would have to pay taxes on their wage taken from the business 20% lower, 42% higher..
    Is that not true for every business? Most original excuse yet. You might also say that if the psychic did not charge then the 'client' would not have to work as long to earn the fee and so would pay less tax