Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Bank Casino Cork

• 05-12-2007 9:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭

I feel its only fair to this establishment to post a report after its shaky start re rake and tourney structures under previous cr manager.
    The poker room is now run by Graham(caboose) and is a pleasure to be in.The surroundings are lovely the staff competent and friendly and the waitress service excellent.Grahams enthusiasm and openness to new ideas is a joy to behold.
    The club is running a festival next week with 2.5k added over 4 days so it deserves to be supported.
    Btw i have no vested interest in this establishment Im just a regular live player looking to see a second nice club take off in our fair city.Nor am I a macau knocker in fact Im a happy regular punter.
    Competition can only be a good thing for us players as seen with these sort of initiatives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Headspace

I attend the bank regularly and find the cash game excelent with decent money on the table espacially, when we get the 2-5 game going. I,m not really one for donkaments but I really feel it could become the premiere cash game casino in Cork, everyone should check it out for themselves, the up coming festival will be a well attended I hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Sirtoyou

I'll be making my debut for the mini festival next week.
    Looking forward to it, i've heard great things.
    It looks fab from the outside too.... now all i need is a roll. :)

They spread a 100nl cash game min buy in 25 max 100 good for the roll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Sirtoyou

Bump, starts tuesday night with free entry 20euro rebuy first three levels 500 added

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭corkie123

got my first look of the bank casino the other night and was surprised by the place .
    there was a good 2, 5 cash game going and another holdem only going it was like playing with the old macou crew again haha . but in all fairness i had a good night there nice club and friendly staff .
    hope they keep it going as a choice of places to play is good .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭sitout

i have yet to play there, and seeing as i missed the macau festival last week il be trying out what the bank has to offer . By all accounts its come on leaps and bounds from when it first opened .
    siobhan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 AcesFull

I play in the bank casino bout two times a week and i have to say i think they run the cash games very well, over the last 3 to 4 weeks there is almost always 2 tables going and there is usually a crew of about 6 or 7 players who play 2-5 omaha, you usually get sideshow bob, gavin stevens , trevour o sullivan, stu ungar and eoin grace and non of them buy in for less than 500 and on occasions ive witnessed games with about 10k plus in play. I play the macau usually but the games there dont come close to the size of the games in the bank now, and from what i saw on friday night when zeke and namir joined the game it was huge there must of been over 12k in play also the 1-3 holdem game is no limit which is a nice change.

So looks like the card room manager is doing a good job in making poker a priority.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 vodochilie

I'm a low stake blackjack player and I had a good laugh in there mon night, that guy graham is sound out, I think there is alot of assholes in the maccau who make low stake players feel unwanted, my friends and I just go in for a good night without drinking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Flipper

AcesFull wrote: »
    non of them buy in for less than 500 and on occasions ive witnessed games with about 10k plus in play. I play the macau usually but the games there dont come close to the size of the games in the bank now, and from what i saw on friday night when zeke and namir joined the game it was huge there must of been over 12k in play
    The size of the game was precisely the reason the game stopped in the Macau. Most people ended up doing their brains and left the game with no players. Cork's a small place and doesn't have a pool of 100-odd rolled PLO players like Dublin.

Btw, I've only been once but I was most impressed. Me and Grahem always had a bit of friction between us but I think we've both chilled out a little. Hope it goes well for him.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

So I take it the Bank is where the Macau barred heads have ended up - Lee Murphy, Trevor etc?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭Caboose

Hey guys

I was gonna stay out of this one but there are one or two issues that need to be addressed.

First off thank you very much for the kind words everybody. I appreciate any and all support. As has been mentioned I want to just concentrate on the poker for now. It is my main priority as are the players. I will also take on board any and all suggestions and advise.
    Flipper wrote: »
    The size of the game was precisely the reason the game stopped in the Macau. Most people ended up doing their brains and left the game with no players. Cork's a small place and doesn't have a pool of 100-odd rolled PLO players like Dublin.

This is very true and this is why I dont want to run the game everynight. It could be a weekly or bi-weekly game. There are plenty of other lower stakes, both omaha and holdem games available. If ye need any info please feel free to PM me.

Btw, I've only been once but I was most impressed. Me and Grahem always had a bit of friction between us but I think we've both chilled out a little. Hope it goes well for him.

Again I have grown up a little as I believe we all have :D. No axes to sharpen, no bones to pick. Congrats on the win on your one night btw ;). Thanks for the well wishes Flip.
    jayteecork wrote: »
    So I take it the Bank is where the Macau barred heads have ended up - Lee Murphy, Trevor etc?

As I believe there has been a general amnesty offered in the Macau which is great for the poker scene. Now I have only heard this through a few people so I apologise if that information is incorrect. I'm hoping the Macau and the Bank can offer Cork all it needs to help Poker flourish again. Our schedule compliments theirs and I will continue to do so. Variety is the spice of life and the more we can offer between us the better.

Thanks again guys

I hope to see ye inside or across a table somewhere soon.

Sincerely
    Graham

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭LARDO

Maybe this explains why u dont play anymore flipper! When u are paying 8 euros an hour rake your need good money on the table to justify your expences ie if you get 9 players buying into a game for 50 euros each and paying 8 euros an hour rake plus 1 euro for the league plau tips well there can only be one winner..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭BLAZIN ACE

Played the tournament last night and was very impressed with the place the atmosphere was great, dealers were very good and service was excellent. I would highly recommand this place to anybody who plays poker, the cash table was flying with plenty of loose money around. I would like to thank Graham for making me feel very welcome as he did with everybody I will definitely be making a return trip, now if i can only stop running into aces i would be fine.........

FLIPPER does make a good point about the size of the game but you must remember the players that are now making up the big cash games in the bank are the precise players that have been barred from the macau ie gavin stevens, owen grace , trevour osullivan, sideshow , stu, to name but a few and as i have been a player playing around for over five years in cork a big reason the game ended in the macau was the barring of the players because people like zeke and namir did not go in there as often and as i saw in the bank on the few occasions i have been in there these players are playing simply because there is a place to play. Its just unfortunate for you that you blew your whole roll which is the percise reason you dont play anymore.:D

Its just unfortunate for you that you blew your whole roll which is the percise reason you dont play anymore.:D
    LOL i assume this is a joke yes?

Yes of course its a joke;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭PokerPissTaker

It was my understanding that the big game died when you stopped playing it Flipper............As the value was gone from the game:D:D:D

when did flipper play the big game lol no one knew who he was untill he won his tourie .

he never played any cash games in macou untill he won a few bob now he did try to say different but if he lost or not thats his own business he can always go into money changing . shucks he offered me a good rate back in june:mad::mad::mad:

now that he free again he might be left out again more often :D:D:D:D thats if the cash is left or did the boss leave because its not there nomore :D:D:D o well who cares

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

corkie123 wrote: »
    when did flipper play the big game lol no one knew who he was untill he won his tourie .

he never played any cash games in macou untill he won a few bob now he did try to say different but if he lost or not thats his own business he can always go into money changing . shucks he offered me a good rate back in june:mad::mad::mad:

now that he free again he might be left out again more often :D:D:D:D thats if the cash is left or did the boss leave because its not there nomore :D:D:D o well who cares

you come across as being a really nice peson :eek: :eek:

kakak1 wrote: »
    you come across as being a really nice peson :eek: :eek:

why tu very much a lot of people who know me say that :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

I think this thread has run its course. I personally know Flipper is a very good player who wins a lot of money and all this mud slinging is totally unsubstantiated. I will be locking the thread in a couple of hours.

Sean, you really are a sad, pathetic old man. Congratulations on being the only man in Ireland who was building houses in the 90's and is still broke today. WP sir. WP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

This thread has serious potential. No lock, please.

i agree. played in the wed and thur events (both like a complete donk), have to say though, it was a very weel run event. everyone was in fine sprits and were made feel welcome . the structures were very good and though the clock was atad fast for the thur event (not that it made a diff to me),i understood their thinking ! wp bank. keep it up!

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Back on topic please. For anyone who is unclear, Flipper's bank account is not the topic.

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 836 ✭✭✭OilBeefHooked2

Played the 150 f/o last night, and thought the structure was spot on.
    It was my first visit to the Bank and most definately wont be my last. I look forward to playing the 150 f/o once amonth and if I was living in Cork I'd play a lot more tournies and cash(last night when I left at 2.30 there were 2 cash tables in full swing)

Fair play to Graham and all involved.

Results from last night Graham?

Cheers

David

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭Caboose

hey guys

Thanks for making the trip to everyone.

David the results are on the festival thread in the tourney & events section. WP last night.

right then about to start the scalp so I'll see ye all later

cheers again lads

Graham

Sean, you really are a sad, pathetic old man. Congratulations on being the only man in Ireland who was building houses in the 90's and is still broke today. WP sir. WP.

less of the old man flipper u are the nice person who try to screw people when u get a chance . not all people are like u .

just to make it clear to flipper i often wonder why you have to lie in your blog i know you i play with you and i still wonder why you have to make things up about games you play in, i know you are a very decent young man i just hope you start telling the truth about your poker from now on because we the people that play with you know that you are a liar.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭dougee19

im now regularly(every night) playing a live cash game in cork...
    all i can say is...
    YAYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!
    its been tough playing online for so long and i must say i honestly would have played any and every game that was going, missed the thrill of it
    and to be honest, i do miss playing in the macau with all the old characters.. i know i wont get that chance again but with half of the people ive played with before showing up here on a few occasions it does bring it back into the mind somewhat..
    the poker in the casino is run very well, have no complaints about the dealers really.. in fact, they're even ones that used deal when we were in the macau... :), and the fact that there are people who are actually buying in for a decent amount is always good

hope everything keeps going well for you graham, will be seeing you most nights.. i apologise for that in advance :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭Only Aces

just to make it clear to flipper i often wonder why you have to lie in your blog i know you i play with you and i still wonder why you have to make things up about games you play in, i know you are a very decent young man i just hope you start telling the truth about your poker from now on because we the people that play with you know that you are a liar.:mad:
    Wow love to know what he thinks of this one.

What can I say? Yoy seem to have yourself convinced of this... I don't lie in my blog and you should really question why I would even do that? I obv isn't to make myself feel good cos I feel fine! So tell me...

wow this is really uncalled for .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Yeah Flipper. I love the way you must spend hours sitting there using paint to change the figures on your PT screenshots to make your stats look more impressive....Have you nothing better to do..........

Go back to playing $15 HU with nicnicnic and see will he throw a few of them to help build your bankroll...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

DeVore wrote: »
    Back on topic please. For anyone who is unclear, Flipper's bank account is not the topic.

DeV.

Nor is Flippers Blog, I'll just lock this thread up after the next off-topic post that comes in.

Ste05

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Feck it, why wait, Locked.

If anyone would like to start another thread about the Bank Casino feel free, but it won't develop into a Flipper thread.

Ste05