Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Other Names for Stuff....

• 05-12-2007 2:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭

In my effort to start at least one pointless thread per week, here goes....

Looking for the different names we have on things here in good auld Ireland....

For example....the bed, also know as the leaba, the scratcher or the cot.

The car - The jammer, the motor etc etc....

Anyone got any interesting ones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

Drinklink

best I can do at 4am :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Feelgood

marcsignal wrote: »
    Drinklink

best I can do at 4am :D

Yeah dude you need to go to bed, its only 3am.....

Feelgood wrote: »
    Yeah dude you need to go to bed, its only 3am.....

You mean the Scratcher don't you ?

Maybe in Dublin its 3, I'm in Dachau, Germany ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭Vertigo100

clicker - remote

apple juice - bulmers

many more but you are right this is a pointless thred :cool:

juice - petrol

cow juice - milk

wagon - Mary Harney

skanger - person from a disadvantaged area

tallaghtbahn - luas (belgard line)

joe maxi - taxi

fightlink - Night Bus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

For example....the bed, also know as the leaba, the scratcher or the cot.

The car - The jammer, the motor etc etc....

Anyone got any interesting ones?

Can't say I've ever heard of bed being refered to as the scratcher or the cot...

Never heard of the jammer either.... and isn't the motor a very English thing?

Anyway... Are we the only country that says 'runners' and 'jumpers'?

They say sneakers in the US and trainers in the UK.

juice - petrol

cow juice - milk

wagon - Mary Harney

skanger - person from a disadvantaged area

tallaghtbahn - luas (belgard line)

joe maxi - taxi

fightlink - Night Bus

Very good....I'm impressed....Hail Hitler....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭SirLemonhead

Isn't the dole refered to as the scratcher?

Extra curricular work - a nixer....

Very good....I'm impressed....Hail Hitler....

Tut Tut :( six months in the slammer if you say Heil Hitler to anyone over here ;)

Bum Grapes - Piles

Cacks - Underwear

Minge - Vagina
    Isn't the dole refered to as the scratcher?

Yep, AKA the scratch

Female genitalia - pi$$flaps, muff, lovebox,

Pregnant - up the duff, up the pole,

Male genitalia - knob, langer, tool,

slammer/clink - jail

on the raz - getting drunk

minging - smelly/ugly

pedal and crank - ****

rock n roll - dole

pedal and crank - ****

haha, quality never heard that one...:D

The Gallops / The Trots - Diarrhoea

Thrupenny Bits - Tits

Battle Axe - Mother in Law

Trolley Dolly - Air Hostess

Sister Fister - Lesbian (if thats allowed ??)

Feminazi - Militant Feminist

off to the scratcher now myself. I'd have a pedal & crank too, only the aul bum grapes are at me again :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

ossified/paraletic - drunk
    gee - vagina
    gob****e - idiot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Flootered->Drunk.
    Eejit->Idiot. Gobsheen can also be used. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

do people still say, Shift = Kiss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Senna wrote: »

:D Haven't heard that since primary school.

Senna wrote: »

Yeah hear my young niece saying that now!....

Also heard flanged in Cork at one stage think that means the same thing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Ruu wrote: »
    :D Haven't heard that since primary school.

I remember telling my cousins (from N.Ireland) that i had shifted a girl at the Confirmation dance, they just stood there listening intensely with their mouths open, was only later i found out they call shifting 'having sex'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭condra

Beer = Britney
    We go for a few britneys?

**** = Sherman
    Hahah look at the monkey, hes havin a Sherman

Female orifice = "Gowl"
    He tore the gowl off her

Meself and my friends also have a few which I have no idea about the origins, some of them are daft, and I suppose some were just ased as codewords.

For example:

a taxi is a "kebab".
    Feck this, we just get a kebab down?

Although it can be confusing after a night on the beer, for obvious reasons.

Amphetamine is "quick" :p
    Not that I touch that crap anymore.

My friend who lives in the USA, rather crudely refers to black people as "Canadians". :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

Press = Cupboard
    Feck = acceptable version of F8ck
    Bud = abbv Buddy, used by
    Knackers = individuals from socially deprived areas
    Gee = female genitalia
    Hammered = inebriated
    To score = kiss someone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Gowl = Female Genitalia.

But can also be used as a name, a bit like eejit.

"Yer man is an awful gowl bag"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Gee eyed/W*nkered/Sh*t faced - Drunk

Hoop/Ring - Your anal hole i.e. "Ah that's a loada me hoop"

Box/Beef Curtains - Female genitalia

One eyed warrior - Male genitalia

Fun bags - Breasts

Bleedin massive - Absolutely brilliant

Barse - The bit between your balls and your arse. Also called your 'tisn't cause 'tisn't quite your balls and 'tisn't quite your arse.

Not really used everywhere but

Toilet- jax, loo, lavatory, bathroom (for some reason when I was in New York and asked someone where the toilet was, they had no idea what I meant until I called it a bathroom), rest room, john, sh1tter.

An eastern European girl I work with got really confused when someone used one of the above, maybe jax, as she had never heard of it before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

gemma hussey=obvious

nat king cole-swiss roll=obvious

jimmy mcgee's=keys

napper (tandy) or sallynoggin= head

lid=helmet

the jerry lee or daniel day seeing as how its Luas week here

The j edgar, more of a cockney thing though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭jacko

Female genitalia(frequently visited) - clowns pocket/wizards sleeve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

hippos yawn too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

Communal Arial / pipe - tv reception thingy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Basically most of the expressions (but not all) in RO'CK. I enjoy them.
    For Example;
    Donald Trump = Dump
    Cheikas = Eddie Rockets
    Etc. Etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

BrightEyes wrote: »
    Cheikas = Eddie Rockets

Also commonly known as 'Empty Pockets'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭KingOfFairview

Stolen from elliot from Scrubs

Fanny = Bajingo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Dandelions - Pissy Beds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

The ultimate word is yolk, works in every situation. Where's that yolk (requires hand gestures) got any yolks, them yolks on me car are broken, Them yolks in me head are at me again, can even be used on people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Bed = The **** Chariot!.

My gay mate = The manhole inspector!.

My Teddy bear = Mohammed (this one is real as of yesterday).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭tampopo

ScumLord wrote: »
    The ultimate word is yolk, works in every situation. Where's that yolk (requires hand gestures) got any yolks, them yolks on me car are broken, Them yolks in me head are at me again, can even be used on people.

I also use 'ting' (thing) for a spatula, or something I can't think the name of at that moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭KingOfFairview

Fanny = Justice-hole - "show me your justice hole"

Mickey = disicpline-stick - "Get your disicpline stick out there, Rolando"

Ears = Britneys - "I've a ringing in me Britneys"

Earings = Britneyspearings - "I got a pair of Britneyspearings for Xmas"

Eyes = Mincers - "Keep your mincers peeled for snipers, Sarge"

Eyebrows = Mincepiebrows "I singed my minepiebrows on a crack-pipe"

Eyelashes = Mincepielashes - "Johnathon R-M: Fake Mincepielashes?"

Flute = Sorrowstick - "Accept thee my sorrow stick, Mr Wilde?"

Testicles = Hobgoblets - "My hobgoblets burst like grapes between her thumb and forefinger"

Toes = Joe-go-brokes - "A steamroller ran over my joe-go-brokes"

Bum = Mannequinn that Eddie, Chandlers roomate from Friends, appeared at the window with one - "Would you look at the Mannequinn that Eddie, Chandlers roomate from Friends, appeared at the window with one on Kimerley Walsh"

Soap = Flakedrop - "Dont drop the flakedrop, alan"

Wee = size 12 Bookman Old Style, justified - "Mind my pint. I'm going for a size 12 Bookman Old Style, justified"

4skin = Opening of Popeye's pipe "I caught my Opening of Popeye's pipe on her grannies dentures"

Doggystyle = Rapscallions' misfortune - How do you want it tonight, Rebecca?" "Rapscallions misfortune please"

Condom = Minstrel - "I have made a pin hole in every second minstrel in Ireland. Take that, Boyzone reunion audience"

Semen = Clown tears - "Clown tears dripped down the sad clowns face. but at least he wasnt crying"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

Anyway... Are we the only country that says 'runners' and 'jumpers'?

They say sneakers in the US and trainers in the UK.

gutties