Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Funny gym antics / accidents

• 30-11-2007 2:54pm
    Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,586 Mod ✭✭✭✭

What sort of stuff have you seen going wrong in the gym?

1) A few weeks back there was a fellow beside me doing standing military press with the EZ curl bar. He didn't bother putting clips on as the plates piled off one side they nearly nut another fellow doing dumbbell bench beside him. The look on the first fellows face was priceless.

2) A guy in the smith machine squatting 240kg. He wasn't actually moving more than 1 inch up or down.

3) Two guys dumbbell benching too close together. One touches the other, they both stand up and start screaming at each other almost coming to blows

4) Another guy in the smith machine squatting with industrial welding gloves on up to his elbows.

5) A fellow sprinting full pelt on the threadmill with his laces open. I was waiting for him to fall off and go through the back wall like a rocket, but managed to alert him before hand.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

BossArky wrote: »

3) Two guys dumbbell benching too close together. One touches the other, they both stand up and start screaming at each other almost coming to blows

Sounds like something I'd hit the roof over. There's no excuse for it imo. It's so dangerous and so unneccessary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

Was on the treadmill in a hotel gym about 2 years ago. I had my jumper hanging on it and while running (fast pace) the jumper fell and my immediate instinct was to pick it up (while running). And with that as I bent down, I flew off the back of the treadmill, banged into a pyramid of weights, knocked it over and they all fell on my head.

Last week, with a personal trainer, he told me to sit down on one of the hip abducter machines but I didnt know which way to sit on it and so just said "eeeh!?" and he showed me (taking the piss), cuz when I sat on it the way he showed me he burst out laughing along with 2 other trainers beside him. The embarrassment...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

This isn't an accident but it's funny.

There's this guy in the gym who just seems like an attention seeking crazy person. He's always listening to his music and just before he starts any of his lifts he starts to sing whatever song is playing out really loud and sometimes breaks out the oul air guitar in front of the mirror with face all scrunched up in concentration. He then goes and does his thing but makes the loudest groans ever, every time. He never fails to make me laugh my ass off whenever I see him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Leon11

the usual group of 6-7 teenagers all gathered around a bench in my old gym. All admiring each other lift, anyway one of them who in fairness was lifting well for 17/18 think it was 90kg or so starts screaming at the top of his voice when he's lifting, honest to god it sounded as if the ****er was giving birth it was that bad. I was doing dips at the opposite end and seen a gym instructor leg it from another section to see if someone was hurt, I laughed told him not to bother. Best part was a taxi driver who came in from the dumb bell section and lifted the bloke out of it for screaming like a woman. As he put it, "if you want to scream like a bitch go inside and use the ****ing machines!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

A few things:

1. I hopped off the treadmill and forgot to hit the pause button and stationed meself on the exercise bike (this was back when I used machines!), I watched in emabrassment as a lad hopped up on same treadmill (still moving) and planted his face on the bar. still cringe to this very day

2. Can't stop staring at stereotypical character doing 28 types of bicep curls (every damn day!) and laughing

3. wonder why me rather attractive other half can squat as much as I can! (ok, it's only 50-odd Kg, Only a beginner, I swear!)

4. cringe in sympathy for the knees of the guy who "squats" 200kg with his thighs 45 degrees from terra firma

5.wonder why the regulars say hello

6.wonder why the regulars and I say hello to folk we've seen a few times before.

7.damn!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

Doing a bench press, with like something so light about 30 kg, and when I was finished I was stuggling to put it back on the rack, some guy came running to my rescue, followed by a sly smile. Then I put on my confused face, and proceeded to get get up, when my head smashed against the bar to the absolute amazement of the guy.

Some guy telling me to get a fitness plan. I would have no problem with him giving me advice, but he was just being an asshole. I replied....'No'....then he got awfuly upset and went off crying. The guy was about 50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

I always thought this thread was longer, is there another one knocking about?

Anyways, on Monday evening I forgot to bring my shaker bottle home from work so come yesterday morning I had no bottle for my protein. Easy solution, I lined the inside of a mug with cling film and poured my two scoops of Syntha 6 into the mug, lifted up the cling film gave it a couple of twirls- job done the protein was nicely sealed up inside the cling film. Just to be safe I then put in into a zip lock bag. So I got to the gym, did my various stuff then went and had a shower as I was getting changed after the shower there was another guy beside me also getting dressed but I noticed that he kept looking into my bag. I didn't think much off just he was being nosey.
    Soon as I got into work I grabbed my shaker bottle and took the protein out of my bag, it was only at that stage that I realised what the guy was looking at- the protein neatly wrapped up looked like a massive amount of heroin, the lads in work pi$$ed themselves when they saw it.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Was on the treadmills alongside another girl who was doing a brisk walk while watching Corrie on the tv. All of a sudden she stops and sails off the back of the machine and ends up standing on the floor looking shocked. When I asked her what happened she said 'I got so involved with the tv I forgot to walk!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Scottty2Hottty

And Womenfolk pride themselves on thei ability to multi-task :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭ems_12

hehe This really isn't v. fitness related but happened in a gym....anyways......my little sis was at the gym with her class, and she had her shorts under her trakkie bottoms. Her friends and her were messing about, so she decided to pretend to moon her friend (knowing her shorts were under her tracksuit bottoms) but managed to pull down both, exposing her lovely granny pants to the world! :D

....and I'm such a nice big sis that I post it on the web!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,570 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

I'm half blind without my glasses and managed to step on an unoccupied treadmill which was running at full speed (I wanted to talk to the trainer who was standing in front of it, and stepped up to get within speaking distance).

I got a 9, 10 and 9.5 from the judges for the backflip (I think I lost points for the landing, but I'm not sure). :D

Moving away from my own misfortune, there is one guy who is in there most lunchtimes who goes through a posing session in front of one of the mirrors in the main gym - he does a hulk hogan style flex, and a few bicep flexes (rolling his t-shirt up to his shoulders first). Every day, like clockwork. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I've never really seen anything funny that I can remember.

But I have squeezed out expected farts in the company of females, esp. at Judo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Mairt wrote: »
    I've never really seen anything funny that I can remember.

But I have squeezed out expected farts in the company of females, esp. at Judo.

I'm gonna give you the benefit of the doubt here Mairt and assume you meant "unexpected" - cos otherwise that's just plain bad manners! ;)

There's some right gas divils in Citywest. Me and my mate like to make up funny nicknames for them...

Wonder if anyone in there has a funny nickname for me that I don't know about actually?? Sh*t... just made meself a little paranoid...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

The skinny kid who comes in, looks around nervously, and gets on the bike for aaaaaaaages. Then gets off, walks around the weights, decides not to lift, and goes back to the bike. kinda sad really!

I know what you mean, I always feel for those guys. I always try be nice to those kids. A busy gym can be an intimidating place when you're in there for the first time. Especially as free weights areas usually have their share of fellas who like to make themselves feel big by makin other people feel small...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭cold_filter

Back a few years ago myself and a mate use to go to the gym 3-4 times a week, anyway we decided to use the bicep curl bar to (sorry cant for the life of me remember the name but here's a link so you know what i mean http://farm1.static.flickr.com/125/365678513_0054150b01_o.jpg

Anyway had been hitting the gym pretty hard I loaded up the bar with a lot of weight lay down on the bench my friend lifted it up to me.

I'm not sure what happened(i had forgotten the clips on the bar) but the bar tilted to one side and a pile of weights almost crushed my friends foot, as soon as the bar was empty one one side the weights on the other pretty much ripped the bar from my hand, It made a lot of noise and I was very embarrased!

Aye - I think I'll go up to him if I see him again... but all I can think of when i see him on the bike is that he's working off the 8stone he has!

:D:D

Terrible to laugh, but that was funny... Ask the poor li'l dude if he wants to work in with ye on the bench or something. Once he does it once he'll see there's nothin to be afraid of...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

I have been known to pee (just a teeny lil bit) when I'm doing heavy, heavy deads.

I usually announce this to the gym though thereby removing any embarassment and replacing it with unadulterated and unabashed pride that my lifting causes me to lose control of my bodily functions.

Farting in the squat rack is commonplace at this stage.

g'em wrote: »
    I have been known to pee (just a teeny lil bit) when I'm doing heavy, heavy deads.

I usually announce this to the gym though thereby removing any embarassment and replacing it with unadulterated and unabashed pride that my lifting causes me to lose control of my bodily functions.

Ladies and gentlemen, we have a winner,,,,

G'em, phone call for you, it's your date for Valentines Day - he said he can't make it, something came up. Sounded a bit freaked if you ask me... :p

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    Ladies and gentlemen, we have a winner,,,,

G'em, phone call for you, it's your date for Valentines Day - he said he can't make it, something came up. Sounded a bit freaked if you ask me... :p

Its true, I am a bit freaked out :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

g'em wrote: »

I used to go to yoga classes and all the girlies looked very pristine and dignified at the beginning.

Twenty minutes into the class farts would be ripping left, right and centre and the smell would waft around the room.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

WHIP IT! wrote: »

When my bf first saw me I was squatting with an 80kg bloke lying across my shoulders. He's known from the start what he was letting himself into :D

Granted, I wasn't farting at the time, but after spending the next three weeks living together in a tent exchanging bodily gases was a relatively regular occurence.

I'm guessing I must sound teh sexah right now eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Leon11

women don't fart, it's just a myth!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Pen1987

I was benching about a week ago and was trying to go up 5kg from my max so i was trying to push my max 5times before taking a break a nd loading more, but the gym was empty except for me and this eastern european fella, so Id no spotter...

so I get to four and Im not sure Ive got 1 more left in me or not, I decide to try it, bring it down and push for the rep, I get stuck and my sticking point and look around for yer man, he LEGS it from the far side of the (small) gym, but doesnt go to the spotters place...

instead he runs around to the body side, throws one leg over my waist and lifts the weight in a bicep-curl-type-manner... so hes standing penis-to-penis over me looking down at my shocked face... I was in total disbelief... I did some serious bicep work after that to try and reassert my masculinity to my own pysche.

Pen1987 wrote: »
    I was benching about a week ago and was trying to go up 5kg from my max so i was trying to push my max 5times before taking a break a nd loading more, but the gym was empty except for me and this eastern european fella, so Id no spotter...

so I get to four and Im not sure Ive got 1 more left in me or not, I decide to try it, bring it down and push for the rep, I get stuck and my sticking point and look around for yer man, he LEGS it from the far side of the (small) gym, but doesnt go to the spotters place...

instead he runs around to the body side, throws one leg over my waist and lifts the weight in a bicep-curl-type-manner... so hes standing penis-to-penis over me looking down at my shocked face... I was in total disbelief... I did some serious bicep work after that to try and reassert my masculinity to my own pysche.

That's the sort of thing great inter-racial love stories are often made of... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I've done that more than once my self if I'm to be honest!.

Usually when I'm feeling a little down/depressed and less than motivated, so I don't knock other's for doing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Ladies and Gentlemen, for your viewing pleasure, and much to my embarrassment, I give you...Man hitting self in the groin with weights

A bit of background, I had fashioned a neat device using a kids kratty belt to do weighted dips. It had worked fine on the set before- but unbeknownst to me, I had tied the knot slightly higher so it hit my belly. If you watch it, they nearly hit me 3 times and then on the last one they love tap me and I have to stop!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭neuro-praxis

I was in the gym the other night and there was this young skinny guy across from me, strutting about the place with mock-confidence. I actually felt sorry for him. He had a brief stroll on the treadmill (2 mins?), a brief go on the bike (30 seconds approx) and a quick circuit of the weights machines. He did 3-5 repeats on each weight machine on the lowest setting...not a bead of sweat on him. :) He wanted to give the appearance of being familiar with everything so didn't look at any of the instruction panels, with some hilarious mistakes. The highlight was when he climbed on the standing leg-curl machine backwards and despite nothing being right, persisted in working out on it. I'm surprised he didn't destroy his back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭wasabi

One of the funniest things I've ever done to myself in the gym is catch a clean with my weight too far back on my heels. This resulted in me toppling back onto my back, still holding the bar in rack position. As if that weren't embarrassing enough, a couple of powerlifters ambled over to me to inquire if I were doing a novel new exercise called the clean and floor-press.

Another amusing incident occurred when I was doing barbell step-ups onto a box. I was using a 50kg bar, which I'd loaded in the squat rack, gotten onto my back, and then in order to get to my box I walked back out of the rack about 3 steps and then a step to my right. Towards the end of my set another gym user appeared with an empty bar he'd been using, looking for a place to put it away. He proceeded to put it on my rack, leaving me with my bar on my back and nowhere to put it (until I informed him in no uncertain terms the rack was in use, that is!).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

syncroised lunges....3 gaa heads....funny out....

seen few people fall off threadmills....

i knocked a young fella out one night....i was squatting 140 and he decided it was a good idea to walk in arounf the powerrack....promtly hit him with 3 20's down on the head...which caused me to drop to the floor....needless to say i missed that squat...

lads benching with a texas power bar....i can never get that...

fella doing t-bar rows with farmers walk cylinder...

paul o connell clearing a entire weights area by doing one handed dumbell cleans with 50kg....little people running everywhere...

Seen a PT showing some 60 year old guy how to squat in Northwood there last week. All well and good, except she was showing him IN A SMITH MACHINE USING ONLY ONE ARM!! :eek:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,586 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

What was she doing with the other hand? Smoking a pipe?

BossArky wrote: »
    What was she doing with the other hand? Smoking a pipe?

No, she was standing there while he did it!! Poor old chap, I'm sure it knocked a few years off his life and there didn't look to be that many remaining as it was!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭uprooted shane

funniest few things i did in the gym have been:

north wood: using a bench and a cable machine, was doing lying cable tri extensions, so im sitting on the bench, leg either side, and lift the cable to a place thats comfertable to enable me to lie on my back, so then i start to leen back and onto the bench, my grip slips, and the cable pulls me off the side of the bench, making me do a face plant onto the gro0und, and then the weight slaps causing a big bang for every one around to see :D

a gym in offaly!:
    doing sit ups with a bar under my toes. i was lying on the edge of a bench so i could go below horosontal (bad idea i know but it was when i was starting). so any ways, the weight on the smith's bar was allowing me to keep my balance. one of my friends thinks its great to take the weight off between sets so the next time i go to do it, the bar flys up, and im left flat on the ground when he is pissing himself!!!

good times:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭rediguana

The cables snapped on me one day in Westwood Sandymount (Seated Chest Press?) and scared the balls off everyone around me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭bwardrop

Used to work as a fitness instructor in Dublin - usually trained in the afternoon before work in the evenings. Arrived a little late one day and was in a rush - got changed, strutted out saying hello to a few regulars on the way and hopped up on a bike for a warm up... It was only after about 5mins of cycling that I noticed I had forgotten to put my shorts on and was pedaling away in my boxers.... Absolutely mortifying!!! Still do not understand how I did it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭Nordwind

syncroised lunges....3 gaa heads....funny out....

That just sounds brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭SUNGOD

this is not funny or an accident but what the hell ...........
    what i just cant understand is people bringing newspapers to the gym there is two in paticular who read the paper when using the threadmill or bike and the speed they are going is an absolute snails pace. fair enough they can say they spent an hour in the gym but sitting on a bike barely moving your legs while reading the paper is not really going to do the trick,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭markk06

SUNGOD wrote: »
    this is not funny or an accident but what the hell ...........
    what i just cant understand is people bringing newspapers to the gym there is two in paticular who read the paper when using the threadmill or bike and the speed they are going is an absolute snails pace. fair enough they can say they spent an hour in the gym but sitting on a bike barely moving your legs while reading the paper is not really going to do the trick,

Westwood on a Sunday morning by any chance? I've even seen people just sitting on the bikes not pedalling while reading away. Probably just to tell the wife that they were in the gym for an hour.:eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

There's a bloke in my gym who has an ipod but insists on belting out random choruses when he feels he's done something astonishing.For example he was pelvic-thrusting his way through some light ez bar curls when he belted out "heartbreaaaker" on the last rep.Loud.Its quiet disconcerting to say the least.

Malteaser! wrote: »

He's always listening to his music and just before he starts any of his lifts he starts to sing whatever song is playing out really loud and sometimes breaks out the oul air guitar in front of the mirror with face all scrunched up in concentration. He then goes and does his thing but makes the loudest groans ever, every time. He never fails to make me laugh my ass off whenever I see him.
    Degsy wrote: »
    There's a bloke in my gym who has an ipod but insists on belting out random choruses when he feels he's done something astonishing.For example he was pelvic-thrusting his way through some light ez bar curls when he belted out "heartbreaaaker" on the last rep.Loud.Its quiet disconcerting to say the least.

I have a feeling we're talking about the same person there Degsy!!! :D

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,586 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

SUNGOD wrote: »
    i just cant understand is people bringing newspapers to the gym there is two in paticular who read the paper when using the threadmill or bike ....

I do this sometimes. If I am going to do 45-60mins reading a book then I may as well do it on a gym bike rather than sitting at home on the sofa. Note I only do this as a light recovery session to get the blood flowing when I'm in bits from the day before, and wouldn't consider it a proper workout.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

I was doing decline db bench press on the crappy benches in UCD a few years ago. My feet slipped out from under the heavy weights I'd used to stabilise myself and I slowly but surely slid all the way down the bench onto the ground on my ass, aided by the towel I'd put under myself.

Thank god it was a Saturday morning & not that many people were there. *blush*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Seen a PT showing some 60 year old guy how to squat in Northwood there last week. All well and good, except she was showing him IN A SMITH MACHINE USING ONLY ONE ARM!! :eek:

eh they all do that, I wouldn't trust any of the PT's in northwood to be honest they all seem to be as bad as each other

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I have a feeling we're talking about the same person there Degsy!!! :D

Skinny bloke with a completely bald head,has a wild look in his eyes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

If any of you had have seen me in the DCU gym a few years back, I'm sure I provided a few laughs...

Degsy wrote: »
    Skinny bloke with a completely bald head,has a wild look in his eyes?

Aye same guy. Always good for a few laughs!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Aye same guy. Always good for a few laughs!!

And as far as I know the brother of one of my old managers in work, and also the brother of an ex-armagh GAA team player....

We can guess which one got dropped on their head as a child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭sharkDawg

Our Gaa club were doing weights in the local Community centre a few years ago, at the end all of the equipment had to be put away, two lads were putting away the bench press, one of them took all the weights off one side of the barbell, needless to say that side of the bar flew up and nearly took the other guy's head off and the side with the weights on it put a nice hole in the wooden floor! Priceless