Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Period Q

• 28-11-2007 9:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭

Morning ladies, Pighead here in his weekly quest to try and find out more about the inner workings of you women creatures.

Pighead
    : Jesus, Louise is in foul humour today isn't she
    Pigheads workmate: Must be her time of the month, ha ha ha.
    Pighead: Is that really true, do the chicks get grouchy when its their TOTM?
    Pigheads workmate: I don't know, why don't you raise this issue on an internet bulletin board and find out once and for all?
    Pighead: Hmmmm, maybe Pighead will do just that.

So ladies, is all that TOTM putting you in foul humour true or is it just an old wives tale designed to excuse the cranky chicks? Pighead has lived with many women and to be honest there wasn't any one particular time of the month that they were noticeably grouchy.Actually they were always grouchy so it was pretty hard to tell.

Anyway TOTM putting you in bad humour, Truth or Myth?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Depends on the person actually...and if they're on the pill or not. Some wimmins hormones are stronger than others. I used to be the nicest person ever that week of the month. Sometimes now though, I'll get snappy before it - its just you're hormones are out of balance (in some wimmin) and they can affect you in that way.

Plus boys can be grouchy for no reason either I've noticed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

star-pants wrote: »
    Plus boys can be grouchy for no reason either I've noticed.
    Boys are never grouchy. Windswept and mysteriously moody sometimes but never grouchy.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,110 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dizzyblonde

Oh Pighead - run and hide!! Are you deliberately trying to incite violence?

As a matter of fact, Premenstrual Syndrome is a bit more complicated than just 'being in bad humour'. Some women suffer greatly with this and if they're 'slightly tetchy' as a result it's because of their fluctuating hormones over which they have no control.

Having said that, some people -male and female- are just grumpy anyway.
    The real question here is 'why does Pighead always go for grouchy women?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Jules

In short to answer your question Pighead,

Yes... but TOTM for all women is different.

Some have really bad cramps, like, doubling over make you cry in pain cramps, and some
    have just a little twinge, and the very lucky few, don't have any at all.

But they might feel other things.

Headaches, again some have just a bit of a headache that doesn't require taking something. But some have head splitting migranes that makes you want to curl up and die in a very dark room.

Lots of women also suffer from pain before and after the actually period. Back pain is the most common i think or sometimes a womans breasts can become very tender.

Then all i will say is... Bleeding. No matter what way you put it, its not nice. Then you have the hormones flying all over the place. Oh the hormones.. the biggest culprit of the mood swings.

You know menopause is sounding better and better every day. But as i said some women are different to others.

So i would say menstral tension, pre, post or during, is not a myth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

It doesn't make any difference to me....maybe get a bit more emotional but I'm a sap anyway....never makes me extra moody or cranky or anything like that, don't think it ever has either. But I know some girls suffer terribly from PMS, they can't help it. Must be horrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭missmatty

I occasionally display strong tendencies to kill people around that time. The thing is, I forget what it is and I think I'm going insane for a few days, and then it's like.....oh yeah it's that :D

Guys don't know how lucky they are really. The whole thing is an effing nightmare. And I haven't even had kids yet. Maybe never hehe.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

missmatty wrote: »
    Guys don't know how lucky they are really. The whole thing is an effing nightmare.
    We live with PMS infected wimmin, how is that lucky?
    My missus is a lovely woman but for 4 days a month I feel like moving into the shed for my own safety/sanity.

Hagar wrote: »
    My missus is a lovely woman but for 4 days a month I feel like moving into the shed for my own safety/sanity.
    Here here, Hagar. These chicks are all to quick to play the "you don't know how lucky you are "card. They don't realise the hurt and stress we feel when we see our precious wonderful soft skinned ladies turn into hideous snarling scream monsters. Men have it easy? Not on your nelly ladies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Pighead wrote: »
    Boys are never grouchy. Windswept and mysteriously moody sometimes but never grouchy.

Ahhh I see... my mistake sir

this is true.... it can be taxing on the people around us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

My bf and I were talking about this the other night after watching Knocked Up. At one stage he shouts I know it's the hormones not you, so I just want to say you're a crazy bitch hormones. I used to have bad PMS and my bf said I was just like that. For just 1 day I'd be really teary or irrational and he'd know i was just hormonal and that the real me was in there somewhere!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

missmatty wrote: »
    I occasionally display strong tendencies to kill people around that time. The thing is, I forget what it is and I think I'm going insane for a few days, and then it's like.....oh yeah it's that :D

haha, i'm the same. I don't get grouchy at people though, I just get a bit weird and emotional for those few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,746 ✭✭✭✭Misticles

i get snappy and very demanding ie. if its not done in 1 second im shouting!!! only thing i hate about it is the lack of sex!! :(

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

i've got PCOS, it went undiagnosed for ages and some pills just drove me completely batty because of the already uneven hormone levels in my system. So yes Piggy some women do get crosser at TOM and its all down to hormone levels.

Plus periods are a total annoyance, tampons and towels and thinking the thing has gone only for it to make a surprise reappearance. Anyone who says its all lovely and natural and womanly needs a hatchet to the head.

The real question here is 'why does Pighead always go for grouchy women?'
    Is there any other type?
    Sometimes you have to take the rough with the smooth. Its like if Pighead buys an Ice Cream on a sunny day, he knows the creams gonna melt and get all over his manly hands and fashionable shirt but he's willing to accept this as he knows the delicious Ice Creamy taste will make it all worth while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭Endasaurus

My missus goes feckin' crazy, its a nightmare :(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

YES. Have you got a f*****' problem with that?

In a few days I may answer in a more rational manner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Jules

maple wrote: »
    i've got PCOS.

It's a pain in the arse!

no jokes please

I don't get those anymore :)

I can remember one particular bad cramp. Where I spent hours on the bathroom floor crying from the pain. Convinced I was going to die and it became totally rational that GW Bush should suffer death for not having periods.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tree

painkillers painkillers and more painkillers, far too much, so some months you end up w/ a stomach that may be ulcerated, but at least you can walk.
    the swinging hormones all month are a balls too. somedays yer angry, somedays yer delighted and other days you just want to murder the nearest person who breathed funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭Rhiannon14

In this thread I must share an analogy I've given to my guy friends before.

Imagine that one of your tender and squishy organs was lined with Velcro. That's right, the kind with the extra strong glue. Now imagine that said Velcro is being slowly, but persistently pulled away from the lining of said organ. Now you're getting it...and you still can't imagine the pain of it for some women.

Love us or leave us :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

God I feel like a bloke reading this thread!! :eek:
    I guess I'm very lucky!

Jules80 wrote: »
    It's a pain in the arse!

no jokes please

its brutal. have to watch diet constantly so hormone levels are correct and everything works properly. once didn't have period for 6 months.,skin was dreadful, weight shot up.

its a royal pain in the arse. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Pigletlover

Don't really suffer from PMS but I got a right dose this month. My boyfriend had to put up with me giving out to him for absolutely nothing the whole weekend. I felt so bad then because I knew he hadn't done anything wrong so I had to keep running upstairs to cry. I really thought I was going crazy. And in case I wasn't feeling sh!tty enough I had a spot outbreak and really bad cramps to contend with. And don't get me started on the chocolate cravings... Bloody hormones :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

I get moody and really emotional - but worst is the week beforehand I cant stop farting. Its like Im working for an bord gais - id be running up the stairs at home and farting all the way up the stairs. F**king halarious at home but not in work - ahhh

My sister and I have a name for it - Rusty hanger.
    Cos it feels like someone sticking a rusty hander in you and giving it a good scraping inside- beats the velcro thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,658 ✭✭✭old boy

used to suffer badly from em one time, thankfully the old girl is gone past all that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Hahahah! I don't get them anymore. Good oul contraception. Well, I do get some symptoms but really mildly. Just teary and all schmushy over anything remotely sweet or romantic on the TV and a bit snappy and staaarrrrrvving! Horny as Hell too ;)

I used to be a demon, just crippled in pain and so hot and uncomfortable in all my clothes. Couldn't walk or anything. Luckily, I never had the vomiting/ fainting like some wimmins in my family.

My boyfriend was recently reminding me of when I was in the Buttery in TCD one time, and mood swings were literally seconds apart. All hugs and tears and roaring in space of 30 seconds. I was just like "Hey you! Why don't slurp your soup a little louder there! STOP BREATHING BESIDE ME! ARGGHHH *sob*" :rolleyes:

Boy, am I glad they're gone!

I think the only way the lads will understand the pain is if they've ever gotten punched in the kidneys. Repeatedly. It feels like that. With loads more side effects.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Sindub

BOYS GO AWAY - Q FOR GIRLIES ONLY.

Ladies, quick period q for you.

Do you find that ;

1. Hangovers are a lot worse during your period esp on day one
    2. You pass wind like mad during a period esp towards the end

And if anyone knows why please enlighten me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭robo

Oh aren't these lovely ladies questions??? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Yeah, just as lovely as 'what is your favourite thing to **** into' type questions in ah and beer guts. Oh and eh....:rolleyes:

Op, the answer to these questions is always hormones ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Mrs. MacGyver

I'm evil for a week , have no patience and have bad pain for the first 2 days. And for that week all men are ***** in my little world. The hormones are terrible - and i live with fellas who have no idea whats going on for one week each month!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Sindub

WindSock wrote: »
    Yeah, just as lovely as 'what is your favourite thing to **** into' type questions in ah and beer guts. Oh and eh....:rolleyes:

Op, the answer to these questions is always hormones ;)

How can hormones make one pass wind ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

I get drunk a lot quicker!! And hornier!!!

Dont know about the farting thing though.....:confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Satan sends themadchef mail asking if she can cover him for those four days, he fancies a break and thinks shes well fit for the challenge once a month :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tree

there's a difference between period time poop and normal proper poop, prolly related to yer wind issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

I don't know how or why, but I definitely feel more confident and attractive during my period. Probably hormones too? I nearly always meet nice guys at the time as well which doesn't happen the rest of the month:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

My period stops if i go out drinking and it comes back the following evening...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Pigletlover

Sindub wrote: »
    BOYS GO AWAY - Q FOR GIRLIES ONLY.

Ladies, quick period q for you.

Do you find that ;

1. Hangovers are a lot worse during your period esp on day one
    2. You pass wind like mad during a period esp towards the end

And if anyone knows why please enlighten me.

1. Yes
    2. Yes, as anyone who has been around me today will confirm

Today I have the inner RAGE! :mad:

Everything, everyone is annoying the absolute sh1t out of me. Thankfully I recognise these to be symptoms of the TOM and keep my mouth shut.

But inside my head its a warzone. Rage, rage, rage. There are bruised, battered and bloodied bodies all over the gaff.

*Bam*, you're breathing too loud.
    *Biff* you are a complete cabbage and deserve to die.
    *Thump* I've already emailed you that report you fcuking moron
    *Roundhouse kick*You signed off on it, don't start whinging that its all wrong

**Maple wanders off with mad glazed look in her eye to rid the vending machine of all its chocolate**

Yes, I get drunk so much easier and absolutely die the next day.

No to the passing wind tho. I've enough hardship with my bloated camel tummy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

Yes to both. I also get clumsier and drop things a lot.

i presume the farting issue is to do with the bloatedness you get, or vice versa. I'm not too sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

I don't get the emotional side affects, but on the first day, my lower back hurts SO BADLY, and that's usually enough to be put me in a pouty mood.
    But contraception helps out a lot with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Ever go shopping with a womon for clothes weather it's time of the month or not ? they can be so tetchy when they cant find what they want and at home waiting for them to get ready ??? my god :eek:

It's simple ,men get dressed and wimmin get ready LOL :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

I am farting about the shop today - WMD defo

Get v horny when hungover per boyfriend
    Also find that get vv horyn when studying - strange and satisfying at the same time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭Rhiannon14

Mine doesn't last long enough for me to notice a difference with the drink, but I definitely get hornier right before it. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

When yoru womb is bloated with your period it will put pressure on your bowel and hence you fart more. Also towards the end of your period your womb contracts to removed the last of the lining of the womb and the muslces that hold your bowels inside you are connected to those that hold the womb and hence the muslces contracting will make your bowel contract more and there for cause more farts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Schlemm

I think the farting is also due to prostaglandins or some such.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Apparently, there's a scientific reason for being more horny when you have your period, but I can't remember it. It's defo true though.
    LouOB wrote: »
    I am farting about the shop today - WMD defo

Get v horny when hungover per boyfriend
    Also find that get vv horny when studying - strange and satisfying at the same time

I do too, but I'd just call it frustrating. Studying for 12 hours a day isn't conducive to getting laid :(.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I don't have periods anymore since I got the Mirena to stop periods that were going on for four months, but the mention of the farting made me laugh.
    It's definitely true.

I used to find when I drank regularly that I got drunk much more quickly while having a period.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭MayMay

What's a Mirena?? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭Harpy

yes to both questions
    i hate going out drinking on my period cause i can't move the next day its a bad time