Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you work at?

• 29-11-2007 3:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭

So what is your Occupation, not everybody is in a dull Office, me im in Sales. You?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

I dont work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

I'm a medical writer, spend most of the day writing about diseases and therapies. Quite interesting and I don't get my hands dirty.

I used to be a lab scientist but these days I don't have to deal with large quantities of infectious organisms and highly dangerous chemicals...I like my new life :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭kev_s88

gonna get this outta the way

YORE MA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Qualified journalist, worked in sports before I left Ireland. Now a feckin retail worker due to the lack of media jobs over here :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭SlinkyToo

Raconteur

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

im an international spy......

na i work in a travel agents:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Steyr wrote: »
    So what is your Occupation, not everybody is in a dull Office, me im in Sales. You?

Ah, another post-whore-fest useless thread.

I don't work, I'm in the army :D

I like cake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Mairt wrote: »
    Ah, another post-whore-fest useless thread.

It's AH, what do you expect? High-brow intellectual discussion?

I work for a small-ish ISP, tracing all kinds of abuse of our network, from Spammers to child pron if it ever crops up.

Had to help the Gardaí with some Credit Card frauder a couple of weeks ago. That was interesting.

I'm usually bored out of my tits though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

I'm one of the Elder Brothers of the Most Distinguished Yet Corrupt, Brutal & Unconspiring Conspiracy of Mods :cool:

Rob_l wrote: »
    I like cake

is that a job??

i like cake too--- hate cheese cake tho.. like whats up with that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

I go to foreign language school, and work weekends mucking out pigs and horses on a farm, they're the only ones that understand my German grammar so far :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

I work very hard at being a student.

I also clean offices for a living. :|

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

IT Security Specialist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I'm currently in the proccess of starting my own cult, then it's easy street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

desktop support...eh....specialist!! :D

I work in a cinema.. it pays my rent :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭SlinkyToo

I love that word specialist, it translate to low level menial desk mover.

Also like IT Consultant which actually means data processing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I had a girl drop in CV to me the other day. On it she had Subway listed as a previous employer. Her role? 'Senior Sandwich Artist'. I nearly pissed myself!

emo!! wrote: »
    is that a job??

i like cake too--- hate cheese cake tho.. like whats up with that!

cheese cake is great
    I like cheese and cake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭kodute

Software Tester for a large tech multinational. DesF's job sounds like fun, you get some good torrent speeds then? ;)

I make porn movies for blind people

• Subscribers Posts: 32,858 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I work in a boring IT office for a bank doing mainframe stuff. Tasty!!

On a different note, whatever happened to banning tards who posted 'yore ma' as a response to posts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭babyguinnessfan

Medicine-related admin. And a Bond girl in my spare time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,413 ✭✭✭Archeron

I'm a government based and trained Lizard overlord and co-founder of the New World Order. The hours suck, but the pay and the free flies are great.

In my spare time, I'm in construction sales.

kodute wrote: »
    DesF's job sounds like fun,
    Believe me, it isn't.

kodute wrote: »
    you get some good torrent speeds then? ;)
    heh, my home isp isn't the one I work for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Xavi6 wrote: »
    I had a girl drop in CV to me the other day. On it she had Subway listed as a previous employer. Her role? 'Senior Sandwich Artist'. I nearly pissed myself!
    Lol.. That's a classic. I wonder was that just her interpretation or is it the company's line? I'd hate to go in to a subway asking for the senior sandwich artist only to be met with blanks stares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭MonkeyWrench

Contract Software Test Lead in a large telecoms company. Bored as fook most of the time. Boards is my saviour..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭jd83

student and part time helpdesk support(basicly a receptionist:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

It's a laughable title but I don't really care about titles when looking at a CV, I need people who can work under pressure, produce consistent results and make sure the client is happy with the product...a good sandwich maker would have all of those skills :D Large queues, consistent flavour, style and look to the sandwich and the client should be happy providing it's done right :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

5starpool wrote: »
    On a different note, whatever happened to banning tards who posted 'yore ma' as a response to posts?

OP asked what we were working on, I don't see that post as off topic. But we should ask for pics and a high res video with good sound production to be sure.
    The_B_Man wrote: »
    desktop support...eh....specialist!! :D

I think thats what my contract has me down as, increasingly my job has nothing to do with that. I suppose thats a good thing, but I was a damm good techy.

Rob_l wrote: »
    cheese cake is great
    I like cheese and cake

ewww!! those to should not be mixed-- worst thing ever...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Video Post Production - Assistant Editing - TV - Media, what ever you want to call it, my "Official" job title is, Post Production Assistant. I enjoy it, since it's what I've always wanted to do. :)

John

Lump wrote: »
    Video Post Production - Assistant Editing - TV - Media, what ever you want to call it, my "Official" job title is, Post Production Assistant. I enjoy it, since it's what I've always wanted to do. :)

John

Junior Infants Teacher : So, Lump, what would you like to be when you grow up?

4 Year Old Lump : I would like to be a Post Pwoduction Attistant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

I'm a services engineer apparently but i only started a few weeks ago and no one's given me anything to do so i'm basically an internet browser

Does the internet still work then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

im a chef

my mate used to work on a petrol station forecourt and called himself a 'fuel injection technician'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

Recruitment....for the HSE *cringes*

Nightwish wrote: »
    Recruitment....for the HSE *cringes*

At the moment they are paying you to do nothing?

http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/1001/hse.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

ScumLord wrote: »
    Lol.. That's a classic. I wonder was that just her interpretation or is it the company's line? I'd hate to go in to a subway asking for the senior sandwich artist only to be met with blanks stares.

I'm pretty sure it's the company that gives them that title. I've heard it from a good few people in different countries. I prefer to call the woman who works in my local Subway 'chick who can't make sandwiches for sh*t and who can't understand the words 'double cheese''
    I work in a cinema.. it pays my rent :)

Free tickets and popcorn please??;)

I'm a student teacher, so I teach, but don't get paid. I get paid when I supervise though. I get a ridiculous amount of money for sitting there doing nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

i spruced my cv up about 2 years ago.

i worked for texaco. when i put down my duties, i was a fuel injection technician. :D

as for me, im studying cybercime and forensic science.

but working in security for a pharmacutical company.... dont mind it as we sleep on the night shift and get paid fairly decent money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Self employed, online software sales, I can work where I want and when I want, sweet freedom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Currently retired/unemployed.

I thought the OP was in d'army with a user name like that. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,957 ✭✭✭trout

I work at improving my poor social skills and remarkable lack of tact, delicacy or common sense.

and my timing.

I have a business card. It says Information Security Specialist (that's not my name).
    Really I am an IT cowboy/gangster/despot. I hate my job ... but it pays the bills.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

I work in the customer services department of the countries biggest insurance broker.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I work as a magic marker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Photographer, accompanied by being an art student. Hard life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

I'm a floor monkey - which means i scratch myself whilst stacking shelves and making rolls for big polish people in reflective vests.

Only till I'm out of college though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

kev_s88 wrote: »
    gonna get this outta the way

YORE MA
    Absolutely no context.

Doing yore ma, riding yore ma, yore ma's dildo would have been fine.
    This was not.
    48 hour ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

I manage a fleet of 1000+ cars. It used to be interesting, but not anymore. Thank God I'm leaving next week :D