Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just need to clear something up.

• 29-11-2007 12:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭

Hello, i was recently arrested for drink-driving, well not arrested i crashed then phoned the police they arrived, asked question.... and breathalized me and i failed so i was taken to the garda station to give a urine sample.

I heard nothing for 2 and a half weeks, then today the letter came

and it had on it.
    The specimen contained a concentration of 78 miligrammes of alcohol per 100 millilitres of urine.

I just got one document with my name address etc and nothing to say i was cleared of the charge or failed or whatever.

The limit is 107mg per 100millilitres of urine so does this mean i am ok??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭SlinkyToo

You are far from ok!

At which point did you think it was wise to post a message on here telling everone you are degenerate who drives while drunk and puts all decent folk at risk.

The fact that you called the police knowing full well you were drunk, says a lot of about your mental skills as well.

Not to mention that you have now admitted the offence in a public forum.

Nice one dumbass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

Johnerr wrote: »
    Hello, i was recently arrested for drink-driving, well not arrested i crashed then phoned the police they arrived, asked question.... and breathalized me and i failed so i was taken to the garda station to give a urine sample.

and it had on it.
    The specimen contained a concentration of 78 miligrammes of alcohol per 100 millilitres of urine.

I just got one document with my name address etc and nothing to say i was cleared of the charge or failed or whatever.

I thought it was 35mg?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

SlinkyToo wrote: »
    You are far from ok!

At which point did you think it was wise to post a message on here telling everone you are degenerate who drives while drunk and puts all decent folk at risk.

The fact that you called the police knowing full well you were drunk, says a lot of about your mental skills as well.

Nice one dumbass

He didn't say he was drink driving and even if he was it would be much better to call the police after an accident so really it says more about you.

Also according to the info you have there it would seem you were under the limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Johnerr

was actually asking here for advice, knew i'ed get an answer like this,

to clear things up i was not actually drink driving, i was giving a friend a lift home,
    Came home from town at about 2 of clock slept and i gave my friend a lift home in the morning at about 7 o clock.(because he had to go to work)

As far as i was concerned i was sober, and i just want to know am i clear.

Please dont respond to post again. If you've nothing good to say dont say it at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Legal limit:

•Blood = 80 mg/100ml
    •Urine = 107mg/100ml
    •Breath = 35ug/100ml
    http://www.rsa.ie/NEWS/upload/File/DrBedfordsPresentation.pdf

So it appears you were under the limit. Cancel the moral outrage!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Just need to clear something up.

Go to your local chemist and ask for some knobrot-be-gone. That should sort it good and proper.

Yeah thats what i was thinking but had convinced myself that i would be over the limit (even though i only had a few) because you hear about so many people getting caught in the morning so i prepaired for the worst,

Then when i got the results i could'nt believe it so posted here to make sure

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I'm just trying to grasp how someone could crash their car (i presume it was a wall or something?) knowing that they've been drinking and THEN call the guards? I mean wtf?

it was down the country on a back road, the car hit a ditch turned sideways on the road (so was blocking the whole road) on a blind corner and if a car came around the corner they would hav crashed into the car and been seriously injured or even died,

I was panicing and did'nt care about the car or my licence and phone the police who came to the scene and a tow truck came a good bit after so was safer and better knowing that everything was ok.

And from the urine alcohol concentration results it looked like it was the right thing to do, worked out for the best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Well John you know that you narrowly missed a conviction for drink driving even though it was the next day, next time don't take the risk.

You failed the breath test, thats not a party trick its a sign of drink driving. It would seem you have neither the moral compass or the apptitude to feel bad about what you have done.

ye i know after i had giving the sample i was thinking why did i do that etc, i could of done this, but after the crash i was pretty shook up and was'nt thinking straight,

And next time.... there will defentily not be a next time learned my lesson the hard way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

I'm just trying to grasp how someone could crash their car (i presume it was a wall or something?) knowing that they've been drinking and THEN call the guards? I mean wtf?

Did you actually read any of the above posts ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

and it had on it.

Sounds to me like a very lucky escape, if the station had been fitted with an intoxylizer you would probably have failed the 2nd breath test and as they say that would be that. Count yourself lucky that

a You didn't kill or maim someone

b You got away with it this time

Next time suggest that your mate uses a bus or a taxi

when i failed the breath test i asked them wot does this mean, and they said its only an indication that i was drinking and can not tell how much i was over the limit, so i had to give a urine or blood sample (because i dont think they had the breathalizer machine that can tell you straight away how much you are over the limit)

I hav;nt really done anything slinkypoo

Spook_ie wrote: »
    Sounds to me like a very lucky escape, if the station had been fitted with an intoxylizer you would probably have failed the 2nd breath test and as they say that would be that. Count yourself lucky that

a You didn't kill or maim someone

Next time suggest that your mate uses a bus or a taxi

Yes defintly will never happen again, and it would be hard to get a taxi where we were, but could of been done,

The most important thing is that noone was injured so i did'nt really care about the drink driving charge,

And i read on the internet that the alcohol urine samples are the worst ones to get because even if your sober it can still say your over the limit because all the toxins are still in your baldder

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

I hav;nt really done anything slinkypoo

I think you did.
    i failed the breath test
    breathalized me and i failed

You failed a breathalyser test. If you have enough alcohol in your system to fail one of those, coupled with the fact you did actually crash, then you should not have been driving.

But at least you may have learned from this.

part of the crash was from not knowing the roads, im from dublin and was dirving in west cork.

Yes i have learned my lesson and and will never make the mistake of drving in the morning after drinking.

Thanks for the help guys.gals

Good luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭andyl222

so you failed the initial breathalyser, which in some cases just shows that alcohol is in your system, not whether its a level over the legal limit or not. the follow up tests, urine/blood/ or the more sophisticated breathalyser are there to confirm you've exceeded the legal limit of alcohol. For all intents and purposes that letter clears you of driving while over the 'legal' limit. However like anyone else, i would say next time, get your mate to hop on a bus or order a taxi. Does anyone else not remember how the gardai caught tonnes of people the monday after ****** a few years back, everyone still had alcohol in their system from the night before but were sobered up, thought it was ok to drive and were pulled.

moral of the story, drink stays in your system longer than the intoxicating effect it produces,...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

No, obviously much better to leave it blocking the road and kill someone.
    SlinkyToo wrote:
    You failed the breath test, thats not a party trick its a sign of drink driving. It would seem you have neither the moral compass or the apptitude to feel bad about what you have done.

"An aptitude is an innate, acquired or learned or developed component of a competency to do a certain kind of work at a certain level " - not really sure that's relevant.
    Besides which, did he say at any point he doesn't feel badly?

And if failing the breath test is a sign of drink driving, how come the guards don't seem to think so? since he's below the blood test limit.

The fact that you think it would be better if you were drunk to leave a car blocking the road on a blind corner than call the police and take the consequences says a lot about your mental skills and moral compass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Silverfish wrote: »
    you did actually crash
    it was down the country on a back road, the car hit a ditch turned sideways on the road (so was blocking the whole road) on a blind corner

Most country roads that I've been on involve a small ditch, and a road in the middle. One of my mates had a bird hit his windshield, so his reaction was to use the hand brake (didn't know what he had hit), but as the road was wet,t eh car slid into a ditch, and flipped over. My friend was stone cold sober at the time.

My point: it's f**k easy to crash on a country road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Why would you have done a legger? I don't think you have to report an accident where no one was injured or no property damaged but if the cars obstructing the road then he did the decent thing.

A good breakfast may have been enough to clear up any drink in your system.

the_syco wrote: »
    Most country roads that I've been on involve a small ditch, and a road in the middle. One of my mates had a bird hit his windshield, so his reaction was to use the hand brake (didn't know what he had hit), but as the road was wet,t eh car slid into a ditch, and flipped over. My friend was stone cold sober at the time.

My point: it's f**k easy to crash on a country road.

WTF He used his Handbrake, why was he trying to do a handbrake turn or was his car an NCT failiure with no footbrake?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

You are far from ok!

Nice one dumbass
    Infraction given for personal abuse.

MOH wrote: »
    No, obviously much better to leave it blocking the road and kill someone.

Can you tell the time? If you could, you'd realise that i said that before the OP replied. There's a good little boy, now run back to mammy:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Dr Lektroluv

OP - you're not by any chance going out with the girl who started this thread are ya? :D

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055188638

Can you tell the time? If you could, you'd realise that i said that before the OP replied. There's a good little boy, now run back to mammy:rolleyes:

Yes, I can tell the time. Don't really see how the time the OP replied is relevant - since you're willing to make random presumptions, you don't seem particulalry interested in the facts of the matter. Now, off back to yore ma.

it was down the country on a back road, the car hit a ditch turned sideways on the road (so was blocking the whole road) on a blind corner and if a car came around the corner they would hav crashed into the car and been seriously injured or even died,

I was panicing and did'nt care about the car or my licence and phone the police who came to the scene and a tow truck came a good bit after so was safer and better knowing that everything was ok.

And from the urine alcohol concentration results it looked like it was the right thing to do, worked out for the best

I would've just gotten out and pushed TBH

Moh - nice cut and paste from the dictionary that neither explains or excuses drink driving.

Websters defines Aptitude as - capacity for learning
    Answers.com defines it as - Quickness in learning and understanding
    The Free Dictionary defines it as - Quickness in learning and understanding; intelligence

In this case he had no aptitude for assessing that drink driving was illegal and that he had no aptitude to learn from one mistake and not compound it with another by calling the cops while drunk.

It is easy to see from this thread just how many people condone drink driving.

Yes, I can tell the time. Don't really see how the time the OP replied is relevant - since you're willing to make random presumptions, you don't seem particulalry interested in the facts of the matter. Now, off back to yore ma.
    Ah yes, the facts of the matter that were not actually present at the time of me posting. How clever of you. Give yourself a gold star.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Did you actually read any of the above posts ?

Have you ever read any of MagicMakers posts brother Slo-Mo?..

Never makes an once of sense with any of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

and it had on it.

Your grand, don't sweat it. But I bet you got a fright!.

Mairt wrote: »
    Have you ever read any of MagicMakers posts brother Slo-Mo?..

Never makes an once of sense with any of them.
    Persactly.

Moh - nice cut and paste from the dictionary that neither explains or excuses drink driving.

Websters defines Aptitude as - capacity for learning
    Answers.com defines it as - Quickness in learning and understanding
    The Free Dictionary defines it as - Quickness in learning and understanding; intelligence

In this case he had no aptitude for assessing that drink driving was illegal and that he had no aptitude to learn from one mistake and not compound it with another by calling the cops while drunk.

I actually don't condone drink driving at all. Or speeding, or accelerating through amber/red lights, which I think are just as dangerous. I wouldn't get in a car with someone who I thought was likely to do any of these.

Thanks for the definitions, I was too lazy to use a dictionary so just wiki'd it. I still don't think it's the right word for the context, but AH isn't the place for the grammar police, so I'll join in:
    You apparently don't have any aptitude for dealing with the facts.

- The OP never said he was drink driving. He was arrested on suspicion of drink driving, and then cleared on the basis of his urine sample.
    - He believed he was sober when he drove, and given that you have absolutely know way of knowing how much he drank the night before, you've no basis for questioning that assumption.
    - You've no way of knowing that alcohol had any part in the incident.
    - He called the guards as soon as the crash happened to remove an obstruction from an extremely dangerous location. You seem to feel this compounds his crime if he thought he was drunk (which he didn't anyway). To me calling the cops in such a situation if I knew I was drunk would at least show some level of responsibility, that I was prepared to face the consequences rather than possibly have someone come around a blind corner and be killed.

Anyway, I'm off to get the gold star MagicMarker has awarded me for being so clever.

What font did you type that response in? All I could see is blah blah blah if you can drink and drive and get away with it blah blah blah

Was that to me? If you're problems reading it why not refer to the dictionaries you quoted previously?

[invisible]
    Ah well, since you're not worried about facts getting in the way, I'm going to assume your whole drink-driving rant is due to the fact that you used to do it regularly before you got caught and now you want to drag others down to you level
    [/invisible]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

- The OP never said he was drink driving. He was arrested on suspicion of drink driving, and then cleared on the basis of his urine sample.

Actually he did:
    Yeah thats what i was thinking but had convinced myself that i would be over the limit (even though i only had a few)

He may not of had many, or even enough to impair his driving, but he still had alcohol in his system.

calling the cops while drunk..

Who says he was drunk?..............Certainly he didn't think so, and he was proved correct after the results of the urinalysis.

Alcohol in your system does not equal drunk.
    Failing the breathalyser does also not equal drunk.

It is just as easy to see that the OP should be praised for his responsibility in calling the pigs after the accident when he'd had a few the previous night, when he knew full well that he'd be under suspicion (sp?) because his was the only vehicle involved in the accident.

It is also obvious to me that you saw the words "arrested....drink driving" and immediately assumed that the OP was guilty as hell and should be burned at the stake.

As has already been pointed out, it says more about you than it does him.

OP: I'm sure from the tone of your posts that you've learned your lesson. Fair play for doing the right thing. You may well have saved a life as opposed to taking one.

Lesson learned and everybody's happy.

humanji wrote: »
    Actually he did:

He may not of had many, or even enough to impair his driving, but he still had alcohol in his system.

Looking back through all the posts, I got the impression he thought he was sober at the time he was driving. He then called the police and failed the breathalyser, and did the urine sample. It was at that point he then thought it would show that he'd be over the limit - not when he was originally driving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Some people have no aptitude for assessing that drink driving is, in fact, legal.

Some people have no aptitude for assessing that the OP did the right thing by ringing the Guards.

When you make one mistake (crash) you compound it by making another (not ringing it in). Compounding, in this case, means to make things worse. The OP did the right thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭l3LoWnA

and it had on it.

Must have been a nasty morning for you! You won't be doing your friend that favour again!! Is the car ruined? It's dead easy to crash on a country road (have done the same myself before - well a lad in the passenger seat aided me by pulling up the handbrake when I was goign around a bend on a wet road but yeah, the car spun and went backways up onto a ditch - scary as hell)

Poor you, and then having to go to the garda station! Christ! Wouldn't have been the best hangover cure! :(

You're lucky to have gotten away with it though, I'd say you were brickin it with all the stories you hear of Mary down the road who HAD one drink a week ago and was caught yesterday over the limit when she was on her way to mass :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

allow me to share a poem I got emailed: perhaps some of you will get the chainmail as I perpetuate it along (or already have):
    I went to a party,

And remembered what you said.
    You told me not to drink, Mum
    So I had a sprite instead.

I felt proud of myself,

The way you said I would,
    That I didn't drink and drive,
    Though some friends said I should.

I made a healthy choice,

And your advice to me was right,
    The party finally ended,
    And the kids drove out of sight.

I got into my car,

Sure to get home in one piece,
    I never knew what was coming, Mum
    Something I expected least.

Now I'm lying on the pavement,

And I hear the policeman say,
    The kid that caused this wreck was drunk,
    Mum, his voice seems far away.

My own blood's all around me,

As I try hard not to cry.
    I can hear the paramedic say,
    This girl is going to die.

I'm sure the guy had no idea,

While he was flying high,
    Because he chose to drink and drive,
    Now I would have to die.

So why do people do it, Mum

Knowing that it ruins lives?
    And now the pain is cutting me,
    Like a hundred stabbing knives.

Someone should have taught him,
    That it's wrong to drink and drive.
    Maybe if his parents had,
    I'd still be alive.

My breath is getting shorter, Mum

I'm getting really scared.
    These are my final moments,
    And I'm so unprepared.

I wish that you could hold me Mum,

As I lie here and die.
    I wish that I could say, 'I love you, Mum!'
    So I love you and good-bye.

you gobsh!te. Thats all I will say [for now] else I'll succumb to a full blown rant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭l3LoWnA

(Personally, this song has a bit more impact - used to listen to it on an antiquated old record player in my parents house when I was a kid and it made cry every time)
    Friends, my name is Ferlin Husky.
    I'd like to tell you 'bout a man that let alcohol
    destroy everything that God gave him

I saw an accident one day that would chill the heart of any man
    It would teach them not to drink a drop
    While the steering wheel's in their hand

This awfull accident occurred on the 20th day of May
    And caused two little children to be sleepin' beneath the clay
    These two little kids walked side by side along the state highway
    Their poor old mother, she had died
    And their daddy had ran away

As these two little children walked arm in arm
    How sad their hearts did feel
    When around the curb came a speeding car
    With a drunk man at the wheel
    The drunk man saw the little kids
    And he hollered a drunked sound
    "Get out of the road you little fools"
    And the car, it brought them down

The bumper struck the little girl, takin' her life away
    While the little boy, in a puddle of blood
    In the ditch, lyin' there did lay
    The drunk man staggered from his car
    To see the damage that he had done
    And then he let out a yell you could hear for miles
    When he recognized his dyin' son

Such mournin' from a drunken man, I've never heard before
    While kneeling down by his car he prayed to heavens door
    Sayin', "Oh God, please forgive me for this awful crime I've done"
    And his attention then was called away
    By the words of his dyin' son
    He said, "Daddy, why did you do this to us
    How come you run us to the ground?
    It was you and Mummy we were talkin' about,
    When the car, it brought us down
    And I was just tellin' little sister
    That I knew we'd see you again someday
    But, Daddy, why did it have to be like this
    Why Daddy, Why

But the OP wasn't even over the drink-driving limit so chances are he had his wits about him and was just unlucky (or speeding?) :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭cazzy

I dont agree with drink driving, even after just one drink where you are under the limit but you are kinda giving the OP a hard time.
    If he is telling the truth in his post, it was the next day and he did call the guards as he was worried about other road users. I'm sure he has learner his lesson and will be more careful on country roads and when drinking and driving in the future. You were dead right to call the guards and own up to what you did. Maybe the breakfast idea that another poster made is a good one !

Overheal wrote: »
    allow me to share a poem I got emailed: perhaps some of you will get the chainmail as I perpetuate it along (or already have):

you gobsh!te. Thats all I will say [for now] else I'll succumb to a full blown rant.

Idiot.

Ye car is wrote off hit a tree only had it 3 weeks, but sure these things happen every day just happy no one was injured. Had to get the bus home from cork to dublin that was very depressing ha.

Yea heard all the stories about mary and the likes so though i was fuked,
    Guards was the best thing to do, they were fairy ok, they said i'ed probaly be ok since i only had about 6/7 pints.

and the country road was failry bad loads of corners and trees, where i crashed was practially like a hairpin bend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Note to self.
    Infractions for overheal and johnerr in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Spook_ie wrote: »

I don't understand. He was under the legal limit, and therefore legally allowed to be on the road. He didn't get away with anything. He crashed his car as a result of poor driving mixed with a bad country road.

Had he been over the limit and the Guards had chosen to look the other way - then he would have 'got away with it'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 570 ✭✭✭BrandonBlock

Drink Driving ftw \o/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

JohnErr wrote:
    though i was fuked, Guards was the best thing to do, they were fairy ok, they said i'ed probaly be ok since i only had about 6/7 pints.

Great attitude from the Guards towards drinking and driving. Nice to see those expensive ads are changing the public's mindset. Money well spent alright.
    JohnErr wrote:
    and the country road was failry bad loads of corners and trees, where i crashed was practially like a hairpin bend.

You have to watch those roads. There's lunatics operating them I'm telling you...

connundrum wrote: »
    I don't understand. He was under the legal limit, and therefore legally allowed to be on the road. He didn't get away with anything. He crashed his car as a result of poor driving mixed with a bad country road.

Had he been over the limit and the Guards had chosen to look the other way - then he would have 'got away with it'.

In all probability if the law didn't stipulate that a test taken 3 hours after an offence had been commited
    Section 49 of the Road Traffic Act 1961 as inserted by Section 10 of the Road Traffic Act 1994 created four separate drink driving offences in Ireland. These offences are as follows:

• An offence of driving or attempting to drive a mechanically propelled vehicle in a public place while under the influence of an intoxicant to such an extent as to be incapable of having proper control of the vehicle. (Section 49(1));
    • An offence of driving or attempting to drive a mechanically propelled vehicle in a public place while there is present in your body a quantity of alcohol such that, within three hours after so driving or attempting to drive, the concentration of alcohol in your blood exceeds a concentration of 80 milligrams of alcohol per 100millilitres of blood. (Section 49(2));
    • An offence of driving or attempting to drive a mechanically propelled vehicle in a public place while there is present in your body a quantity of alcohol such that, within three hours after so driving or attempting to drive, the concentration of alcohol in your body exceeds a concentration of 107 milligrams of alcohol per 100 millilitres of urine. (Section 49(3));
    • An offence of driving or attempting to drive a mechanically propelled vehicle in a public place while there is present in your body a quantity of alcohol such that, within three hours after so driving or attempting to drive, the concentration of alcohol in your breath exceeds a concentration of 35 microgrammes of alcohol per 100 millilitres of breath. (Section 49(4)).

he would have in all probability failed ( borderline or not). The law should be amended so that the alcohol level is taken ASAP from the time of suspicion of an offence...