Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things to get in NYC?

• 28-11-2007 8:06pm
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭

OK - I know there was a thread on this already but I'm looking for some suggestions for things worth getting in NYC.

I'm already going to ask for some DS games (and maybe a DS Lite), some general requests in terms of clothes/runners etc. and the odd book etc. but can't think of anything else.

I'm not interested in an iPhone or a laptop but other than that I'm looking for advice on anything at all - any bargains... clothes, gadgets, games, dvds/cds, stuff, whatever.

Thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭sinjin_smythe

definate get some of those cheap NYPD t shirts and hoodies in the markets, there really good qualtiy and so cheap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Typhoon.

As much Genuine North Face stuff as you can carry....!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

Go to either Jersey Gardens or Woodbury Common and buy, buy, buy. There's a really good Nike store in Jersey, plus all the other outlets you'd expect.

In terms of gadgets, check out B&H for things like iPods or MP4 players, they're a lot cheaper over there.

I've not seen anywhere with great prices on CDs or DVDs in the US any time I was there. Usually you can get them as cheap, or cheaper, here or online.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

Lots of American Eagle stuff, very nice clothes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭armour87

Got a coca cola slushie when i was there

mmmmm :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭kendragon

Just make sure you discard all the tags or anything that proves that you bought them there. I'm hearing a lot of stories of people getting caught for money off customs because they took off the tags but left them in the bag etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭Kristok

could get a ps3 and save a few quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

Well...you could buy a camera lenses that would pay for the cost of your flight to NY... save a few thousand euro compared to Irish prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭Canonfan

Hi if you can get me the Spyder2express Color Calibration System from B&H, I'll pay you €15 reward.:rolleyes:

426718.jpg

Canonfan wrote: »
    Hi if you can get me the Spyder2express Color Calibration System from B&H, I'll pay you €15 reward.:rolleyes:

426718.jpg

Whats with the rollie eyes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

ooh ooh put me down for a f1.8 50mm Nikkor lens :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

If you can get me a nice cashmere three quarter length overcoat, Id be happy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Kristok wrote: »
    could get a ps3 and save a few quid.

And put yourself over your baggage allowance - those things weigh a ton.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

Woodbury Common - Full day out there - 220 outlet shops with all the big names levi, Wrangler, Nike, Timberland. 4 pairs of Levis - $84.
    We spent all day there from 10.30 am to 4pm and still didn't get to half the shops. Get the MTA bus back, last one leaves at 9pm, and buy the book of discount vouchers when you get there, belieeve me, you'll use them.

Unless you like Rugby and shopping mixed, avoid Century 21 at the WTC like the plague.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

I got a pretty cheap lapdance in NY a few years back. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Dades wrote: »
    I got a pretty cheap lapdance in NY a few years back. :D

I still can't believe you had to pay yore ma!
    kendragon wrote: »
    Just make sure you discard all the tags or anything that proves that you bought them there. I'm hearing a lot of stories of people getting caught for money off customs because they took off the tags but left them in the bag etc.

back on topic. Ye I have heard that nearly everyone is being checked coming back so just be careful and discard all boxes, tags etc that may indicate that you bought it in the states

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭majiktripp

jsb wrote: »
    back on topic. Ye I have heard that nearly everyone is being checked coming back

When we came back to Shannon in July, albeit at 6am the two customs guys were huddled in a corner nursing cups of tea waiving us through..god bless them, I hope you arrive back early in the moring! Best time to avoid 'em ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭cupthehand

iPods
    Digital Camera's
    PSP's
    Aftershave and Perfumes
    ear-phones
    timberland boots

The list is endless of what to get

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Stepherunie

I definately recommend the trip to Woodbury Common - they'res a few charter buses that go - 30Dollars including the discount booklet.

Nine West was great out there - 2 pairs of shoes for around 50e
    Also the seiko shop did very good deals
    The Quiksilver shop was probably the best though - I take large in there stuff so had loads of choice and picked up four t shirts for 40 dollars, worked out about the same as buying a cheap pennys one here.

American eagle as was said is great value for good quality stuff.

Steve and Barrys is fab - it's near macys. Like pennys here but better quality and they have line designed by Sarah Jessica Parker and Amanda Bynes

Century 21 is okay if you're there early in the morning - there luggage section is really good though and the guys who work in that section are really helpful and don't necessarily recommend the most expensive stuff there. I saw the big quiksilver luggage that sells for well over 100e here for around 60 there.

If you're going before Christmas Macy's are offering 20% discounts to Irish customers because of the customs thing when you get your discount card in there.

Finally Sephora or dept. store for cosmetics etc - I got my mum lancome make up which was a about half the price of it here. Same with clinique, though the saving were bigger on that.

Oh and if you can find a TJ Maxx - I went to one out in East Hamptom (a bit of a trek admittedly), got amazing value in there and it's much better organised than TK Maxx here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭mell61

Personally, I stock up on Burts Bees toiletries, especially the lip salves, gym gear (leggings, Tshirts, hoodies, trainers), jeans of course, bed linen (check out anything with 400+ thread count). I tend not to buy from Gap, preferring Old Navy for selection. Workwear I like Liz Claibourne, Jones NY, JC Penny...
    As for getting caught at customs, I'm hearing its mainly in Shannon that people are being pulled in, so fly from Dublin - in fact try and factor your flight at the same time as lots of other ones come in (ie avoid 5am arrival when only US flights are arriving, try for the ones getting in at 9am ;)
    A friend stocks up on the selection of gluten free products she can find there....
    To be honest, I'd say only buy something you would buy at home, hopefully you'll get it at a much bettere price... Its like the sales, only buy if you'd pay full whack at home for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

majiktripp wrote: »
    When we came back to Shannon in July, albeit at 6am the two customs guys were huddled in a corner nursing cups of tea waiving us through..god bless them, I hope you arrive back early in the moring! Best time to avoid 'em ;)

no I think (well hope as i am off to NY for paddy's day) that this is more a seasonal hit as they know a lot of people are going to try and smuggle stuff in without paying customs on it due to it being chrimbo so hopefully it will clear up after so that I can get a new lense and mp3 player when I go over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 gmailer

the old man just got back from orlando and had loadsa stuff with him, had an ipod video and a ds and some 3 golf clubs (drivers) he was stopped in dublin and they opened his golf clubs and asked how much he paid for them, he told them he got them in a flea market and only paid $40 for them, and on his way he went.. but be warey, cos they are stopping more people and i even heard they are checking how many bags you board with, ie-1 bag and if you come home with two they check them? dont know how true this is but just be clever and no boxes, and keep recipts in wallet!

Not that I would, or anything.... but were I to return from the US, I certainly wouldn't keep receipts or Visa slips in my wallet.... into an envelope and post it home! I might keep a few items with tags on them, so if I'm stopped at least i look like yes I have shopped but no I'm not shopping for ireland!
    But for me anytime I've been i'd estimate that I've spent less than $300-400 in all on shopping, all you need to do is find the right places, and there are plenty of discounts. And I'm looking for gym stuff and jeans, not big brands, so its not like I've a chanel bag or armani suit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Stepherunie

I learnt the good one of they don't check what you're wearing.

Thus had the zen for my sister in the pocket and watch for my dad on my wrist.

I also went via London, though in saying that I did look a tad odd with my 50kg of luggage compared with everyone elses 20kg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭ceidefields

For ANYONE looking to go to Woodbury Commons or Jersey Gardens in the weeks before Christmas - starting the day after Thanksgiving, the wait to drive into Woodbury Commons was approximately 2-3 hours because there's so much traffic. I-87 North was backed up for miles.

Jersey Gardens is very busy too, maybe a little less hectic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭irish.rugby.fan

An iPhone

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

He said he didn't want an iphone......................................

Be careful not to get screwed by DVD / Games Regions........

Make sure anything electronic you purchase has a 220/110v 60/60hz compatible adapter / charger...

And go see a Jets game :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I brought a guitar back in January and customs officers were no where to be seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭wingnut32

would an iphone work here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Ouijaboard

Be sure as has been said above to get a voltage downconverter for nintendo ds to drop the voltage from 230 to 110 when you get back over here, it'll cost another $20 so add that into the price. the adaptor charger on nintendo ds only accepts 110v. Most other stuff like cameras have universal 100v-240v adapter, all you need is 2pin-3pin plug adaptor.

Definitely goto woodbury common, amazing bargains to be had there, also surprisingly found century 21 to be excellent for certain stuff, formal shirts, shoes, and i'm a bloke who had heard it wasnt worth the visit unless you're a woman looking for handbags! Found jersey gardens okish but its much the same stuff as the above, once you've visited woodbury you wont really see anything new in jersey, one shop i.e. tommy hilfiger had slightly better discounts in jersey than in woodbury.

Macy's is overrated! Nice looking store and huge but overrated! The savings are to be had in the outlet shops even with Macy's visitors discount!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Ouijaboard

iphone wont work here, network restricted to the us with iphones...the european ones will have an exclusive contract with o2. But an itouch might be worth getting even if its just to sell it on ebay for 100euro more when you get back :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Couch Potato

cougar1 wrote: »
    iphone wont work here, network restricted to the us with iphones...the european ones will have an exclusive contract with o2. But an itouch might be worth getting even if its just to sell it on ebay for 100euro more when you get back :)

The older iPhones do work here (when unlocked :)) but all iPhones sold in the US now have 1.1.2 firmware out of the box with a new bootloader which has not been hacked - yet. Still mine worked out at 309 euro !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Ro-76

20% printable discount coupon for Niketown:

http://click.nike.com/r/QMNYC3/DXPB/S36WL5/LQVYA/KZRG/HK/h

The coupon is valid until Dec 23. I just used one at NikeTown Chicago. They stock a lot of the higher end nike gear, and have a number of running shoes etc which are not available in other chains.

There's one on 5th avenue in Trump tower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 gmailer

that link above for the nike store isnt working?
    any chance of another one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Ro-76

gmailer wrote: »
    that link above for the nike store isnt working?
    any chance of another one?

http://www.nike.com/renov/nikestore/us/v3/us/en/assets/coupons/Coupon_holiday.pdf

http://tinyurl.com/ysetvz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

armour87 wrote: »
    Got a coca cola slushie when i was there

mmmmm :D

I am intrigued. Where :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭cupthehand

Where would anyone recommend to buy some fragrances?

Is aftershave/perfume cheaper in the outlets - for e.g. La Parfumeria in Jersey Gardens, Macys or Sephora in Manhattan, Duty Free going out or Duty Free coming home?

Also NY Sales Tax is it on everything or just clothes and electronics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭green123

cupthehand wrote: »
    Duty Free going out or Duty Free coming home?

was over to usa recently and im almost sure that the duty free on the plane was cheaper going out. can anybody confirm this ?

Woodbury common for the perfume is pretty good, but limited only by the selection of brands. In Cosmetics store got good value on the Estee Lauder ranges of perfumes (it was Jan, got the Xmas perfume + body lotion / hand cream / etc...) for a really good rate. From memory they also do clinique / bobbi brown / origins... but its hit or miss on what you pick up. There is also a perfume stock called somethng like perfumania or something like that, I got himself his davidoff cool water aftershave 125ml for aobut $27 (i really can't remember if that was with or witout tax...) I had priced it as around €38 in dublin duty free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭Kristok

eth0_ wrote: »
    And put yourself over your baggage allowance - those things weigh a ton.

Tell me about it i put mine in a backpack and carried it on the plane nearly broke me back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭davork

green123 wrote: »
    was over to usa recently and im almost sure that the duty free on the plane was cheaper going out. can anybody confirm this ?

American Airlines charge USD 26 (or 28 - been a few weeks(!)) for 200 ciggies - definitely cheaper than duty free in Dublin and w-a-y cheaper than Duty Free in London. A few dollars cheaper than duty free at EWR/JFK or Owhore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

For great deals on CD and DVDS go to Discorama. There area few of the stores dotted around Manhattan. The shops are very small but great bargains to be had http://www.discorama.com/