Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Contender Asia

• 27-11-2007 3:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭

Really looking forward to this. Air date is 16th of January. Here's a leaked clip...

For those who don't know: Contender Asia's a reality show about a bunch of Thai boxers in a competition. Not sure what the rules etc. are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

2 muay thai guys having a scrap, looks deadly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

jaysus....youtube has taken the video down. Bummer. Anyway, for those of you who missed it, two of the lads in the camp got into a row, words were exchanged, then all macho, then thumps and kicks swinging. The height of entertainment tbh. Better than O'Connell street on a Saturday night. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭paddyc

not just any thai boxers some of these guys are rated in the best in the world at present or have been some of the best in the world in their day...

cant wait for it, my moneys on the magodoveo brothers trained with them and they **** **** hot

paddy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭Dawei

The video is no longer available , any other related videoes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Its supposed to be good, shows lots of training and fights not just bullsh1t. Reckon I might try and get it early on.

Roper wrote: »
    Reckon I might try and get it early on.

Share the wealth. Some of the episodes have been leaked (that's why the clip is gone....breach of copyright etc.) but I haven't seen them anywhere yet.

I'm up for some betting on this. Maybe if we got enough people on here to chip in a tenner, everyone could get a fighter. Winner takes all? I could write a program to match people with fighters randomly.

Anyone interested?

edit: There are 16 fighters listed on the site. At a minimum we'd need 4 people for it to be any kind of craic. 8 or 16 would obviously be better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 maccavelli

A friend of mine Sean Wright is on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭Im2Lazy

Khannie wrote: »
    Really looking forward to this. Air date is 16th of January.

What channel is it going to be on?

The internet. ;)

Not sure it'll make it to a tv station near you for a while. I could be wrong though.

First episode of this aired two days ago. Gonna watch it this evening. Anyone seen it yet?

NO SPOILERS PLEASE!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭RedRaven

First episode of this aired two days ago. Gonna watch it this evening. Anyone seen it yet?

NO SPOILERS PLEASE!!
    Where is it being aired Khannie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭paddyc

I know whos in the final... needless to say i didnt win :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Andrew_M

Saw it, very impressed...

paddyc wrote: »
    I know whos in the final... needless to say i didnt win :)

Paddy....keep that **** to yourself man!!!!!! I don't want to know anything about the show. Though I'm not entirely surprised you didn't win. :) 1 down....7 to go. :D

RedRaven:It's being aired on AXN in asia. Of course, mere mortals like us have to wait on some kind asian soul to stick it on the internet. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭RedRaven

Maybe somebody from Navan or Louth will have it...since they are always AXN questions n stuff!!;)

Hang your head in shame RedRaven.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭j.griff

From episode 1:
    Can't believe yod and JWP are on the same team!!!!! Real pity as that would have been a class final. I'm assuming people on the same team wont face off....but I suppose that could change.

lol@yod slagging jwp with the belt. :D

also lol@french knob calling JWP fat.

overall this looks class

edit: Just watching the actual fight now.....
    I'm blown away by the thai corner man...."feel sorry for him. Don't use your elbows.". Big big big respect for that. Once the fight is won, he's telling his man not to damage the other guy too much.

Anyone else been keeping track of this? I just saw episdode 3 (you know who you are...thank you). Best fight yet, though they tend to make them a bit sensational with the moving cameras and all that jazz.

I saw a "director's cut" of the 3rd episode. So it wasn't the whole fight....

I just saw the 4th episode, vgg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,190 ✭✭✭cletus

Best fight yet, though they tend to make them a bit sensational with the moving cameras and all that jazz.

I actually find the camera work really annoying, and they keep going to slow mo, shaky cam, all sorts of crap, why not film it as if it were any other ring sport

Yeah, totally agree with that cletus. You get a sense of how the fight is progressing, but they should just stick the whole bloody thing in there. I wonder if it will be possible to get unedited versions after the fact maybe. I'd like to see episode 3's fight again without the funny camera stuff.

I think it would be cool if they had about 8-10 (or more) cameras in a Thai or MMA fight and after the event they released a version that showed the best possible angles as the fight progressed and even doing slow mos for the big shots and stuff. Like not cut away or edit the fight but just do it matrix style.

I just saw the 4th episode, vgg.

Enjoyed the episode on the whole. Thanks to the kind gent who supplied the link. I think the series is turning out very well so far.
    Thought the fight was rubbish though. Totally one sided. Fairly amazed at the power and speed of yods kicking. Bruce ran away the whole time which was a real pity. Also, absolutely zero clinch which surprised me somewhat.

Just watched episode 5. Most enjoyable fight to watch yet IMO. That camera buzz is still very annoying.
    Some nice elbows and solid knees from Soren

Anyone else watched it yet?