Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone going to the Christmas Boards Beers?

• 26-11-2007 11:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭

Since the summer a few of us having been meeting up for our own GAA Beers. On one of those occasions, Boards were having their own beers, so after a few where we were, we headed up for a few more at that. It was funny that on that night, with all of us wearing Dublin jerseys, we were the only forum that could be instantly identified. :)

Anyway, the Christmas Boards Beers is on the 15th of December in the Mercantile on Dame Street. I'll certainly drop in and I hope a few others from this forum will too. Our GAA Beers group has been a small but select group up to now. I hope more of you will join us as we head into 2008. December 15th will be a chance to meet some other GAA folk and the wider Boards.ie community. So if you are free on that night, even for a while, try and drop in. You might be lucky enough to meet some of the below individuals that includes some GAA Boards folk and friends.

GAABeers.jpg

GAABeers2.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

Ahhh my eyes:eek:..all then Dublin Jerseys..uggghh!!!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

A beautiful sight, aren't they? Anyway, not all of the now regular members of the GAA Beers people are from Dublin. So any of you can come, whatever county you may be from. We are keen to grow it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 NoMercy

A beautiful sight esp. thanks to the brunette chick of the first pic :D
    If she's there I might drop in...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Stuck in Glasgow so that is a no for me, but I will be around for GAA Beers before victories for Wexford in both Leinster finals next summer ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

NoMercy wrote: »
    A beautiful sight esp. thanks to the brunette chick of the first pic :D
    If she's there I might drop in...

Yes, indeed Mrs Blackbelt is a fine sight to behold, compaired to Mr Blackbelt certainly.

I'm all done for going up to Dublin this year so cant make it. However, I understand a jaunt to Cavan next Spring has been mooted..........:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Yes, indeed Mrs Blackbelt is a fine sight to behold, compaired to Mr Blackbelt certainly.

I'm all done for going up to Dublin this year so cant make it. However, I understand a jaunt to Cavan next Spring has been mooted..........:cool:

Mrs Blackbelt fell on her feet when she met me.:D:D:D

I can also assure you that the second picture does me no justice whatsoever.God my teeth look like they are falling out in it.:eek:

NoMercy wrote: »
    A beautiful sight esp. thanks to the brunette chick of the first pic :DIf she's there I might drop in...

Yep that is a beautiful sight alright.

Jealous?:)

Who knows,if you sweeten up Mrs Popebenny now,you might be able to go.We're expecting a rare appearance from herself next Summer.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

blackbelt wrote: »
    I can also assure you that the second picture does me no justice whatsoever.God my teeth look like they are falling out in it.:eek:

I look like i have a dislocated shoulder in the second pic....and i look hammered in the first one! (which i was) :D Ill try and make it out for this anyway. Should be fun.

Incidentally,the pictures aren't in order.The first pic was taken in Messrs and the second picture was in Madigans.We met in Madigans first before heading down to the General Meeting.

Yes Nalced,you do look like you have a dislocated shoulder and my teeth look really crooked,must have been that ambush on Jones Road by the Derry fans after the game.:D

Anybody remember what the joke was in the second pic?...we couldn't contain ourselves.

I wasn't there, but I am guessing that somebody said that Dublin would win the All-Ireland :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

I shall be attending said Chrimbo Beers with bells and all that yack.

Can't remember meeting any of the GAA folk at the Halloween one.

Lads, lads, control yourselves. This is about GAA Beers and Christmas Beers, not Mrs. Blackbelt Beers. (She is nice isn’t she?:)) Stop that at once.:mad: (Sorry:(). Now, I don’t know if Mrs. Blackbelt will be there or not, but if she is and you aren’t then you’ll miss out, and not just on seeing her. You’ll have the pleasure of meeting me for one thing. Being the photographer, I am not in the photos above. Also, it will be a good night and it will be a chance to meet some of the GAA people and other people.

As already mentioned, us GAA folk plan to travel a bit next year, and not just to Cavan. So even the non-Dublin-based folk will get a chance to join us on occasions. If any of you are around on December 15th, do drop in. GAA jerseys are not essential. That way the Meath fellas will be able to get in past the bouncers. ;) We’ll find a table or two, and if Mrs. Blackbelt isn’t there, we’ll find some other way of you recognising us – like a card on the table.

...folks it's a christmas beers; GAA jerseys are OUT! ffs! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭funloving

Hi Flukey,
    I don't know if I, Mrs Blackbelt, will be in Ireland on the 15th but I hope I can come and meet you all again,esp you and Popebenny...

I wasn't there, but I am guessing that somebody said that Dublin would win the All-Ireland :p

Hey come to think of it,if memory serves me correctly,we might have been discussing the Wexford double blunder on 1st July when they got beat twice in the same day.:D :p

Nah but really,what was the joke?

Anyway from left to right,

Nalceds brother,Nalced,Blackbelt,Mrs Blackbelt,Mrs Blackbelts friend and Popebenny.

Ruggiebear quickly disappeared after he got accosted by myself and Flukey when I forgot this wasn't the thunderdome and Flukey posted the controversial scoreline which I call the "Portlaoisegate affair".:D

kaimera wrote: »
    ...folks it's a christmas beers; GAA jerseys are OUT! ffs! :p

Hehe,this means you may get accosted by Flukey twice on the same night.After you escaped the first time,Ruggiebear took your medicine too.:D

Ok,no Laois jersies at the Xmas party.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭JayoCluxton

Flukey wrote: »
    So even the non-Dublin-based folk will get a chance to join us on occasions.

Is that the non-Dublin-BIASED folk - ie the other 31 counties?

Also ...folks it's a christmas beers; GAA jerseys are OUT! ffs!

Whaaaaaaatt!!! I haven't got anything elso to wear! Alright I have a Val Doonican type aran cardigan with brown buttons and the Arnott's logo on the front which a kindly old lady in Spittle did for me for Xmas last year. Is this OK to wear. Are Dublin socks and shorts out too? If so I can probably dig out my Homer Simpson boxer/sock set.

I really didn't imagine there would be a huge dress code going on here with only a few Xmas beers at stake! :rolleyes:

Now I can understand certain jersies being banned in the interest of good taste - hard to keep 12 Heino down looking at certain colours!:):) Any how would the Mayo lads find their jersies at this stage not having worn them for so long! :)

Ah I think I'll go in the buff!

The no jerseys thing was in jest :rolleyes:

Hey come to think of it,if memory serves me correctly,we might have been discussing the Wexford double blunder on 1st July when they got beat twice in the same day.:D :p

That was old news by then ;)

You guys should have a good time, I will be over in Dublin for beers for some of the Wexford games this year, well unless Celine Dion wants to play every weekend

Hehe,this means you may get accosted by Flukey twice on the same night.After you escaped the first time,Ruggiebear took your medicine too.:D

Ok,no Laois jersies at the Xmas party.:p
    :boggle:

What did I do?!!!?

Anyone showing up in a Santa suit and heading for the GAA section, may be barred on account of the similarity to the Cork colours.:) We'll have to think about Louth in particular and also Derry and Tyrone. However, given that one of the stalwarts of the GAA Beers has been a Tyrone man (brave, given that he is always surrounded by Dubs:)) we will make an exception for him.

I will be over in Dublin for beers for some of the Wexford games this year, well unless Celine Dion wants to play every weekend

I never knew she was eligible to play for Wexford. Is she a hurler or a footballer? :)

Flukey wrote: »
    I never knew she was eligible to play for Wexford. Is she a hurler or a footballer? :)
    She is a dual player and plays in goal. After you place her ass in goal there isnt much room for a ball to get by, plus she can start singing and suddenly the full forward line has retreated back to the dressing room.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 235 ✭✭Mullet

You mean Mrs Popebenny has given you a pass to travel to cavan: Thats forward planning:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

I cannot go, I have exams. I'll go to one in the new year. Good luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭semibluff

any1 who wears a carlow jersey should get free pints all time

Mullet wrote: »
    You mean Mrs Popebenny has given you a pass to travel to cavan: Thats forward planning:D:D

erm........ she dosnt know about it yet.......

You wouldn't want to suffer and feel the wrath of Mrs Popebenny.Me thinks you better put on your metal helmet and go tell her now.;)

semibluff wrote: »
    any1 who wears a carlow jersey should get free pints all time
    for jaysus sake, ill wear a Meath jersey if i get free booze for it. Ill tattoo a meath jersey over my whole body!! Ok, no i wouldnt but you get the point :D

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 235 ✭✭Mullet

erm........ she dosnt know about it yet.......

I thought as much. May i suggest you break the news to her over Christmas Dinner along with all the other dates you will be missing along our epic journey of doing the double in 2008.:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Is that the non-Dublin-BIASED folk - ie the other 31 counties?

Also ...folks it's a christmas beers; GAA jerseys are OUT! ffs!

Whaaaaaaatt!!! I haven't got anything elso to wear! Alright I have a Val Doonican type aran cardigan with brown buttons and the Arnott's logo on the front which a kindly old lady in Spittle did for me for Xmas last year. Is this OK to wear. Are Dublin socks and shorts out too? If so I can probably dig out my Homer Simpson boxer/sock set.

I really didn't imagine there would be a huge dress code going on here with only a few Xmas beers at stake! :rolleyes:

Now I can understand certain jersies being banned in the interest of good taste - hard to keep 12 Heino down looking at certain colours!:):) Any how would the Mayo lads find their jersies at this stage not having worn them for so long! :)

Ah I think I'll go in the buff!

Spiddal ya eejit :rolleyes:

Typical Dub doesn't know any Geography past the Naas Road :D

I wouldn't mind making it along to one of these beers things, have not been yet. Though te sigh of all those Dublin jerseys :eek:

Mullet wrote: »
    I thought as much. May i suggest you break the news to her over Christmas Dinner along with all the other dates you will be missing along our epic journey of doing the double in 2008.:D:D:D

I'll just blame you as usual.

No jerseys? Ok everyone, lets make a pool and make a mass purchase of training tops instead :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 934 ✭✭✭C-J

Can I come?! I will be wearing a Mayo jersey Im afraid... :)

All are welcome so of course. Mayo jersey is a no tho :D

harsh!! I'll wear it with pride! the men might not be able for it but mayo women certainly are !

Ah the wounds are still there from last year :D You guys made the first day of my travels in Oz a day to forget so your not forgiven just yet! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

C-J wrote: »
    Can I come?! I will be wearing a Mayo jersey Im afraid... :)

And it was going so well up until the second sentence. :p Judging from that pic though, you'd even look good in a Carlow jersey! :D

haha cheers!! Ah sitting in the Hogan and watching Ciaran Mac raise his finger to the Dubs with one kick of the ball, poetry in motion!!

Law masters in NUIG. Loving it! Ya unfortunately this year was a disaster but we're just pacing ourselves for Sam this year will be our year.. Love hate relationship with Mayo it starts off with love but hate.. im always brought back to love them though the lovable rogues!! :L

Oh now CJ, you got a fan in An Citeog (altho i must warn you he is a northsider! Keep away!!!) :p

Loveable rogues??????....Andy Moran is captain Caveman and Conor Mortimer is "no good anyway"...ask a certain pundit from Derry.:rolleyes:

Yeah I'd like to see Mayo win the All Ireland if Dublin get knocked out before the final but Mayo simply don't win finals.They had five chances during the last 11 years and squandered them all whether they snatched defeat from the jaws of victory or didn't come out to play,like Villains77 wallet in Kitty Kiernans.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

Loveable rogues??????....Andy Moran is captain Caveman and Conor Mortimer is "no good anyway"...ask a certain pundit from Derry.:rolleyes:

Yeah I'd like to see Mayo win the All Ireland if Dublin get knocked out before the final but Mayo simply don't win finals.They had five chances during the last 11 years and squandered them all whether they snatched defeat from the jaws of victory or didn't come out to play,like Villains77 wallet in Kitty Kiernans.:D

Wtf, did you not post that yesterday? :confused:

Ah, I'm so confused and couldn't find a suitable cat picture to express it! :D

Some posts removed for the time being to allow time to investigate some claims.

Leave it at that.

Whats going on Kaimera?

Incidentally I deleted a post by accident when I clicked the delete button instead of edit when doing a spelling correction.Thats why C-J replied on going to NUIG.

On a side note,my friend Tir Eoghan got a threatening PM from a certain poster a few weeks ago.I'll PM you the name of the poster involved.I'll try and get him to forward the message concerned.He forwarded it on to me so I'll try and forward it to you.

An Citeog wrote: »
    Wtf, did you not post that yesterday? :confused:

Ah, I'm so confused and couldn't find a suitable cat picture to express it! :D

I did.:)

Villains77 is a mate of mine and new to Boards.Thought I'd throw the reference of the aul wallet in KKs and Mayo because at that time it was synonymous.:D:D

It will always be the "The Happy Knackerman" to me.:D

Leave it at that.

Think we sorted that out very nicely Kaim.:)

back to the beers whats the story!!

You're buying the first round. :)