Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A few noob questions

• 24-11-2007 5:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭

I'm new to airsoft. I've just bought a JG AUG and an Army R85 from Tony. Just waiting for delivery. I'm keen to get involved in airsoft but I have a few questions.

Maintanence: What do I need to do? Alot of websites mention to use silicon spray to lube the thing. Where do I lube(excuse the pun) and is there a specific type of silicon spray to use. I have stuff at home I use to protect my motorbike from corrosion, is that alright to use? Also, cleaning the rifle. I know my yokes will come with a cleaning rod, but is there any specific kind of rag to use or will anything do?

Skirmish: Do I need to be a member of a club or can I just turn up on a day and take part? Also, I see alot of team\squad names on the forum, is there a list of them and whats involved in joining? Is there a fps limit on all sites and what is it? How many BB's am I likely to go through during a days play?

Protective equipment: Goggles or full mask? Is there a requirement for a full mask or are goggles fine? How damaging are the BB's to your skin?

sorry for the flock load of questions but I'm new... :(

Jay

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

you can get answers to most of the above on the forum, the limit is 318fps for any place in ireland, you dont need to be a member of any clubs to skirmish, just show up on the day. Use only silicone oil, you can get it from maplin, hardware shops and all the airsoft retailers, face masks are available for renting or buying at HRTA, rent for €1 and buy for €10., and bbs might hurt a little but they wont cause you any damage other than maybe a red mark on your skin at the most.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Arcto

vtec wrote: »
    you can get answers to most of the above on the forum, the limit is 318fps for any place in ireland, you dont need to be a member of any clubs to skirmish, just show up on the day. Use only silicone oil, you can get it from maplin, hardware shops and all the airsoft retailers, face masks are available for renting or buying at HRTA, rent for €1 and buy for €10., and bbs might hurt a little but they wont cause you any damage other than maybe a red mark on your skin at the most.,

Thought it was 327 with a .20? Meh.

And if your unlucky you might get cut open by a 1J aeg if its close enough. Seen it happen to a few foreheads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭AirsoftEire.com

Hi Jay.
    You can easily fire over 10,000 without having to lubricate and components in your AEG, so that's only a worry further down the line. Essentially you have to lubricate any part that moves, so basically the parts inside the gearbox.

With gas pistols, its recommended to lubricate them regularly. You'd want to lubricate area where slide meets the frame so it moves freely fowards and back. You'd also want to lubricate the internal hammer assembly, which is very easy to do. Just pop off the slide and give it a small spray.

Don't use any lubricant that is petroleum based, like WD40, as this will corrode plastic over time. Always use a silicon based lubricant.

With airsoft sites, you don't have to be a member, just show up on the day anywhere in Ireland and you can play away. If you want to use a rental gun, its best to ring ahead and let them know. A full face mask is recommended and there is talk of making them compulsory on some of the sites, however you can wear goggles if you wish. Airsoft glasses are the most unobtrusive yet offer the least protection.

All sites in Ireland adhere to the 1 joule limit, so you cannot use any airsoft gun that exceeds 328fps with a 0.2g BB. A BB hit also causes very little harm, a small red mark will be left for perhaps half an hour, they sting for a few seconds and then theres no pain at all. But of course it depends on how close you are. 1500 BBs would be more than enough for most people for a day of skirmishing.

Hope that helps. :)

Arcto wrote: »
    Thought it was 327 with a .20? Meh.

And if your unlucky you might get cut open by a 1J aeg if its close enough. Seen it happen to a few foreheads.

yep, was a typo, its 328 i think.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Is anyone experienceing Power cuts for 1/2 a second repeatedly this evening...Now have to type it again.

Yes, 328 fps is the limit with a .2gram bb, this equates to 1J. Heavier bbs must travel slower, see the stickies at the top. Also, the Tolerence is 0.03J.

Maintanance: J-cloh, Silicone Spray, Anything with petroleum/its distillates = Very Bad.

Skirmish:
    Just turn Up. 3000 shots(5000 in a bag for €15) on an average day. Depends on the games and your "triggerhappyness". FAce mask is good so you wont be sh1tting yourself out there. Teams, see about that when you've played a few times.

You may also wanna buy Camo Gear. Any kind of temperate DPM(?Distractive? Patern material) is grand, or others, just dont go tan or arctic.

Any kind of boots will do, waterproof is a good idea.

Food is a good idea. And plenty of water.

Oh, and do this.

Take your hand,
    Place it in front of your face,
    Flick your nose with a little force,
    Thats what a bb feels like:)

Any more jsut post it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭penguin-o7

DPM=disruptive pattern material
    recommend Fecktarn.co.uk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

Yes, 328 fps is the limit with a .2gram bb, this equates to 1J. Heavier bbs must travel slower, see the stickies at the top. Also, the Tolerence is 0.03J.

Erm ... where did you find this "tolerance"? Can you link it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭N.O.I.P.

I'll have to back Hivemind up on this (although on principal agreeing with him kills me)

The ONLY I repeat ONLY law governing airsoft fps is that once they are firing under 1Joule ( ie 328fps with a .20g BB) they are legal. Nowhere in the firearms act is it written that there is any tolerance limit. Whether or not Garda Ballistics operate with this supposed tolerance in mind is of no consequence. The law stands at exactly 1 Joule no more.

Quote Paul on that. Thats what he said to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭padmundo

Lethal there is no tolerance. 1 Joule is the law. End of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,597 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Doesn't matter.

N.O.I.P said it best -
    N.O.I.P. wrote: »
    Whether or not Garda Ballistics operate with this supposed tolerance in mind is of no consequence. The law stands at exactly 1 Joule no more.

The law says 1 joule. Therefore that is what we will tell people here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Alvin T. Grey

Jay TLR wrote: »
    I'm new to airsoft. I've just bought a JG AUG and an Army R85 from Tony. Just waiting for delivery. I'm keen to get involved in airsoft but I have a few questions.

Welcome abord.
    Maintanence: What do I need to do? Alot of websites mention to use silicon spray to lube the thing. Where do I lube(excuse the pun) and is there a specific type of silicon spray to use.

Silicon lubricant only.
    I have stuff at home I use to protect my motorbike from corrosion, is that alright to use?
    No. See above. Anything else will ruin an AEG. Silicone oil is quite cheap and lasts. It's available from most hardware/motorfactors/electronics shops, and of course, Airsoft retailers.
    Also, cleaning the rifle. I know my yokes will come with a cleaning rod, but is there any specific kind of rag to use or will anything do?
    Not really. Basically anything that is absorbant and dosn't leave threads or fluff in the barrel is fine. Someone mentioned J-cloths. That's what most people use.
    Skirmish: Do I need to be a member of a club or can I just turn up on a day and take part? Also, I see alot of team\squad names on the forum, is there a list of them and whats involved in joining?
    Nope. Just show up. But make sure you read the rules, and get the safety breifing. It's important. Nobody will have any problem going over these with you.
    Is there a fps limit on all sites and what is it?

Yes. It is 1 joule. Or 328 feet per second with the standard 0.2gBB. There is no tollerence written into the law, so this is the maximum power you can get and be legal. There is a sticky on the form explaining this.
    How many BB's am I likely to go through during a days play?
    How long is a piece of string? It depends on your playing style. one lot of BBs should be fine, but they are cheap. You'll know as you go along.
    Protective equipment: Goggles or full mask? Is there a requirement for a full mask or are goggles fine?

There is no requirement at the moment for a full face mask, however the eye protection must be suitable and it's manditory.
    How damaging are the BB's to your skin?
    Not much. It stings for a couple of seconds, but at 1J it won't break the skin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Alvin T. Grey

One other thing. If it is your own equipment you'll need to get it tested with a chronograph before you can use it on the site. You can do that when you sign in. It's to ensure that the equipment is safe and legal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

ammo at HRTA is now 18 for a bottle of 5500 of bbs ,nonex isnt doing the bags anymore ,his words not mine

Gatling wrote: »
    ammo at HRTA is now 18 for a bottle of 5500 of bbs ,nonex isnt doing the bags anymore ,his words not mine

I'm gonna try Beast's ammo, see if its up to scratch.

*Beast has had his own bbs manufactured in asia and is retialing them here:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭nonex

we are are born with two ears and one mouth, if you do not now why this is, then dont ask, as you might hear why some day if you use your two ears and not your mouth;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 982 ✭✭✭RC car fanatic

I'm gonna try Beast's ammo, see if its up to scratch.

*Beast has had his own bbs manufactured in asia and is retialing them here:D

what are they called?????

nonex wrote: »
    we are are born with two ears and one mouth, if you do not now why this is, then dont ask, as you might hear why some day if you use your two ears and not your mouth;)

Yep, I really need to learn to STFU.:p

http://www.airsoftireland.com/forums/index.php?showuser=545

Thats his Profile, they only just arrived in the last few days i think. PM and he'll give you any info you need. One sec.....have some pms here.

Heres the thread...
    http://www.airsoftireland.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=9260

Lethal.

http://www.airsoftireland.com/forums/index.php?showuser=545

Thats his Profile, they only just arrived in the last few days i think. PM and he'll give you any info you need. One sec.....have some pms here.

Heres the thread...

Lethal.

cheers but where do we get them from?????????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭2347

Here he says

"To order - Give me a PM or Email - (his email addresss here) Website should be up in 2 weeks."

http://www.beastairsoft.com/ = Under Constuction!

Pm and you can probably pay him Via Paypal. He claims they are as good as excels but i have yet to see any so dont hold me to it.

right cheers!

looks like good prices, will be interesting to see a few reviews on them though.,

No prob RC.

Vtec: exactly:cool: