Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worried my jobs not good enough

• 23-11-2007 2:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I am with my partner 4 years we met in collage,He is now a banker whereas i worked in a bank myself up until recently.I hated it i REALLY hated it,it was soul destroying,the thought of going in every day made me want to cry.

With my partners support I left that job and while looking for other suitable roles i took on a job as a waitress in a hotel just to have some money myself.Anyway its 6 months down the line and i LOVE it, its so much fun ive made so many friends there and everyones so nice.Its so great to wake up and think"Yay i have to go to work"

Last weekend my bfs annual party night was held and I tagged along.We were talking away to some people and he introduced me and they asked what i did,When i said i was a waitress they seemed abit taken back, one man sniggered and walked off.My bf didnt notice as he was talking to someone else.

I left that group and moved over to the bar and over heard a conversation that i cant get out of my head

Woman 1 "Did you see Brians girlfriend,She a right scrubber,Works as a waitress it seems- left a 40g a year job to work as a slave in a hotel,Has she no pride"

Woman 2 "If he keeps seeing her he will be demoted,she doesnt fit in and it will show"

I feel sick to my stomach,I have not told my bf about the conversation and i dont know if i want to.I love my job and im so happy in it.But i dont want my bf being put aside just because of my job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

this sounds like a very bad scene from Fair City.

Tell your bf and then forget about it. Everyone has to do a job and if you like it then its a bonus. You are happy in your job, your harming no-one so f*ck those narrow minded gobsh*tes.

I really thought people like that died off years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

I really thought people like that died off years ago

I'm not sure what gave you that impression, since the mid 90's they seem to be multiplying all over the place.

To the OP I'm not really sure what your issue is.

You have a man that loved you as a "40g" banker and who still does as a waitress, you have a job that you love. Sounds to be like you're a lucky woman.

What do you have to fit into? you don't work with them your boyfriend does why on earth would his promotions be based on who he goes out with?

I just feel sorry for your BF that he has to work with grown adults that think like that.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

what a pack of stuck up begruding asswipes!!! take no noitice of them,I know that easy for me to say,seeing as it was'nt me they were talking about,but if your happy with your job,well then **** the lot of them!nothing at wrong with working as a waitress,as long as your happy thats all that matters!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Mike...

nice friends...let them f**k off,
    oh and on another note get them to come to where you work,serve them and "do stuff to their food" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭vandermeyde

ah you can't beat a bit of jealousy...

you're happy, your boyfriend's happy so where's the problem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭MayMay

Jesus I hate snobs!

Look at it this way, you're happy, you were miserable working as a banker (who's to say they aren't??!!) and money isn't everything, it obviously isn't to you so fair fecks. People like that are just idiots. You're the happy one and ignore what a bunch of tossers have to say, their opinion doesn't matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭CrazyNoob

OP Two bitchy women gossiping????????

I'd just shurg it off, why do you care what they say

Brian wont be demoted based on what you do in life, he'll be demoted or promoted on his merrits and certainly not on the recommendation of those two gossips

Fcuk them, you're happy , he's happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭Catch_22

Just to allay any concerns you might have over your boyfriends career,
    some wives might like bitching about how someone fitting in might have impact on someones career progression, but the only factor thats going to matter is the money he generates for the company and thats it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭newestUser

Finance jobs attract status-conscious snobby w@nkers. Fact. I don't care if you throw the 'that's a generalisation' line at me. If you mix socially with people who work in finance, you're going to get this kind of treatment. I'll guarantee it. You need to develop a shell, and let it bounce off you. The important thing is to have respect for yourself - if you're proud of your choices, and happy with your life, you won't care what people like this think.

It's unlikely your boyfriends career will be affected by your job, those women are being ridiculous.

You're lucky- you love going to your job. That's more important than any amount of money. You're also more likely to be successful in a job you love. As for calling you a scrubber because you gave up a 'Forty G' job to be a waitress...sigh I think this is tuppence ha'penny looking down on tuppence. 'Forty G' isn't even that much money. Seriously, 'Forty G' will get you a shoebox one-bed appartment in commuterville (some village in Westmeath!), a small car...it's not exactly a bling lifestyle. I'd rather have a job that I loved, than the 'Forty G' lifestyle. These people are idiots. You'll make that kind of money easy in most lines of work these days if you're in any way passionate about your job, and good at it.

You're doing the right thing. Stick at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭bogman44

Good on you for making the move. Most people wouldn't have the balls.

Pure bitchiness on their behalf. Aren't you glad you don't 'fit in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

How many people can wake up and think, "Yay, I'm going to work today!"? You're very lucky to be in that postition, don't ever let anyone take that away from you. Those ridiculous stuck up idiots are the ones with the problem. Maybe they hate their jobs, feel stuck there because they care about other prople's opinions more than thier own happiness and are therefore jealous of you? Keep your head up, you have alot to be proud of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭astraboy

First of all, well done on having the will to leave a job you hated and do something new you enjoy. The people you overheard are small minded and I would pay no attention to them. Who knows, in a few years you might have your own restaurant!:) Regardless, I would never look down on someone doing any job especially if they enjoy it. That can be worth far more then money. How many poor plumbers or carpenters do you know for instance!?:p I would really not worry what these people think, their small minded attitudes will keep them stuck where they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭monkey tennis

lukndown wrote: »
    "If he keeps seeing her he will be demoted,she doesnt fit in and it will show"

Not going to happen.

I think you should tell him about it - he should know what kind of people he's associating with. If they're that bitchy, they might even try to stab him in the back somewhere down the line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

Not going to happen.

I think you should tell him about it - he should know what kind of people he's associating with. If they're that bitchy, they might even try to stab him in the back somewhere down the line.

I think the company he works for will care more about whether he can make them money and lots of it, rather than who he is going out with. Don't worry about it OP. Mention it to the boyf if it makes you feel any better. Whatever you do - don't let it have any effect on you.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,110 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dizzyblonde

Well done on finding a job you love, job satisfaction is so much more important than what you earn or what your 'title' is.
    The thing I hate the most in this world is people judging others on what they earn/work at/what material things they own. Sadly, instead of dying out years ago, this attitude has gotten worse in the last few years.
    You sound as if you're really happy and maybe that's what got up the noses of that pair of hags. Good luck to you and hold your head high.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭cashback

Not much else i can add, except to say I have more respect for someone doing what they enjoy than something others just tolerate for the sake of a few extra quid.

Don't bother going to your boyfriends work things anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭SarahSassy

newestUser wrote: »
    Finance jobs attract status-conscious snobby w@nkers. Fact. I don't care if you throw the 'that's a generalisation' line at me. If you mix socially with people who work in finance, you're going to get this kind of treatment.

Total trash!!! Ireland is overrun with new money and new money has brought new snobs..... Its in every area of life... I know plenty of teachers who look down on people who are not as educated as them. People who work in 'alternative' jobs look down on those who have 9 to 5 jobs.... Its everywhere... The country is a sham - its all about what you have, what you wear and where you work (meaning how much money you earn). Its the most shallow country in the world and priorities are all in the wrong order.

OP, you seem to have your priorities in order and you know that people who take a swipe at others are only doing it cos they are not happy within themselves. They probably envy your ability to make a move. Plenty of older women are in the banks 30 years and have never had the balls to move.... This could be a cause of their nasty comments about you i.e. jealousy....

Hold your head up high and stay happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭WildIrishRose

Well Im in the hotel and catering industry as a career and i wouldnt knock it at all. Im Proud to be a hospitality assistant. Those women who said those things are just plain down right rude. They would be the ladies coming to reception saying......excuse me miss, you didnt tell me i had to pay for the parking... yet, there is a huge big sign saying parking charges apply. So you cant win with these people. Try to put it to the back of your head....... Good Luck! Be pround of yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I am a member of management in a bank and I find it very hard to believe that anyone would say that .

Dont know what bank your bf works in but its nothing like the one I work in .

Are you sure you didn't mis hear what was said ?

Also noone would be demoted on basis of what their partner does and I know people working in other banks in Ireland (through my job) and Ive never heard the likes of that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭radioactiveman

Don't bother going to your boyfriends work things anymore.

+1 I'd just avoid those kind of work occasions. It was just an annual party anyway, work dos are not the same as going out with friends of your own choosing and having a good time..

I used to go out with a person that earned a good bit more than me and would quietly hint that I needed to change job and get paid more (most importantly). This even though I really like the job I'm in (I'm still in it) and it's what I want to do long term. The job was well paid at the time - by my standards anyway! There's a lot of snobbishness about wages these days.. not everyone can be suited to that kind of high earning job. You're probably not missing much by not knowing them anyway

SarahSassy wrote: »
    Total trash!!! Ireland is overrun with new money and new money has brought new snobs..... Its in every area of life... I know plenty of teachers who look down on people who are not as educated as them. People who work in 'alternative' jobs look down on those who have 9 to 5 jobs.... Its everywhere... The country is a sham - its all about what you have, what you wear and where you work (meaning how much money you earn). Its the most shallow country in the world and priorities are all in the wrong order.

In fairness Sarah, I never said this behaviour was exclusive to people who work in finance. Finance jobs do tend to be where materialistic, petit-bourgeois types concentrate. I know teachers who are snobby as well. But, in contrast to lots of other jobs, in my experience, in a group of people who work in accounting/finance roles, there's *always* an element of this behaviour. I've had people who I knew from college who were trainee accountants come up to me when I was working part-time in a shop during my masters to tell me that 'this was a sign of how far I.T. had fallen'. I've had trainee accountants ****e-ing on at house parties about how much money they were making/going to make, proceed to ask me what I did for a living, then laugh at me as they say 'there's no jobs in computers'. I've had accountants belittle me for doing a PhD, because 'it's a waste of your life doing a PhD, would you not consider your career? Maybe if you were a real doctor, women might be interested in you." I've had accountants ask me if my parents were ashamed of me for doing a PhD and not earning money. These are all different people by the way, not the same dickhead trying to continually rile me up. You get this snobby, arrogant, superior attitude from people working in financial services more than from any other class of people (though yes, you do also get a bit of it from people in permanent, pensionable, public sector jobs).

I'd advice the OP to either develop a tough skin, or to avoid social outings with her boyfriends finance buddies altogether, because in my experience the kind of treatment she gets isn't uncommon from people working in finance, and if she mixes with these people, she's going to keep on being on the receiving end of it. She's untermensch in these guys eyes - and they're not going to let her forget it. She'll need a tough skin.

Finance jobs attract status-conscious snobby w@nkers. Fact. I don't care if you throw the 'that's a generalisation' line at me. If you mix socially with people who work in finance, you're going to get this kind of treatment. I'll guarantee it.

This is what you said.. IF you mix socially with people who work in finance etc etc. Total rubbish. I have a few friends who work in finance and I have often been out with their colleagues and to my experience they are as varied and open minded as any people....
    I never said this behaviour was exclusive to people who work in finance. Finance jobs do tend to be where materialistic, petit-bourgeois types concentrate.

As opposed to jumped up shop assistants in Brown Thomas or ignorant, arrogant cops... We can all generalise but your comments come across as pure dumb and uneducated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭fantasma

what a pack of stuck up begruding asswipes!!! take no noitice of them,I know that easy for me to say,seeing as it was'nt me they were talking about,but if your happy with your job,well then **** the lot of them!nothing at wrong with working as a waitress,as long as your happy thats all that matters!

I agree. I used to work in Banking and there was too much politics to the point where people thought the banks money was theirs. Fair play to you for getting out. Feel goos about yourself. Good people will always see the positive in the move you have made. Be Happy.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭fantasma

Goos....meant good;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭joePC

That is really sad, people like this are pathetic - I love to think of it like this - As of today Everyone on the entire planet will be dead in 100 years so who really gives a fook. If your happy with who you are and what you do and are proud of what you do then fair play, enjoy it...

It made me laugh looking at all the 20 somethings in town on a Saturday night, the majority of which earning less than 25K a year but think there Paris Hilton.
    Or the best one ever,

Sister - "so where are you staying"
    Paris Hilton'alike - "uuh "D" "4"
    Sister - "Really your still living with your parents"
    Paris Hilton'alike - tumble weed...... (Funny Times)

This is what you said.. IF you mix socially with people who work in finance etc etc. Total rubbish. I have a few friends who work in finance and I have often been out with their colleagues and to my experience they are as varied and open minded as any people....

As opposed to jumped up shop assistants in Brown Thomas or ignorant, arrogant cops... We can all generalise but your comments come across as pure dumb and uneducated.

I'm only posting my personal experiences. Apologies if your friends (and their friends) who work in finance are nice people (and I'm not disputing they are), but in my personal, subjective experience, the kind of petit-bourgeois snobbery is particularly evident in the finance sector. I'm not saying it's exclusive to it. I'm not saying it's endemic within it, and that if someone works in finance, it automatically follows they're a knob. I'm not saying it doesn't happen in other walks of life. And I acknowledge that maybe I've just been *really* unlucky, and the few mega-fvckwits working in finance have randomally clustered around my life, and the behaviour that I've described isn't representative of people who work in financial services as a whole.

Anyway, this isn't about the chip on my shoulder, it's about the OPs problem. She needs to bear in mind that she's very lucky to have found work she enjoys. I think she should be proud that she's a strong enough character to go against the other "monkeys in the tribe" and do what she wants to do, not what other people think she should be doing. Confidence in her own judgement and choices, and the satisfaction of knowing she's happy with what she does for a living will deflect the poisonous insults of begrudgers/snobs/etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭MonsieurD

Life is pretty short and if you have a job that you like, its a big bonus. Who gives 2 fux what those snobs think. As was said earlier, your partner wants you regardless of your job.

There is a part of Irish society who are full of their own importance and rate everything in monetary terms or how fast they can rise up the "ladder" at work - feel sorry for them! They're missing out on the really good stuff in life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭seraphimvc

OP,i have seen this kind of people even when they are not making money!!

obviously i am a foreigner ;) just here to state that,every place will have different kind of people,same in US,UK(needless to explain),even in those poorest countries...

maybe it's due to the nation culture of ireland,because this kind of stuffs are fairly known by people since secondary school already!example like i have seen those people ,they feel great spending their pocket money(about 2k per month maybe?) on things like clothes ,car(ye,sport car on a teenage,ya seen before?).you can say they are shallow or materialistic or whatever,but thats the way.and sadly ,most of the rich people has something to do with finance:p and thus you may know how important of the word 'money' in their lives...just imagine when this kind of people grow up...

so?just learn a lesson then,people are different,thats it.ignore them if you dont like them,fight them back if you are happy,kick their a** if you feel like you need to.(all responsibility will be yours tho;))good luck!

and oh,maybe what you want to hear,they just are envy of you!your partner must be doing fine enough and they really envy of that girl of his,just slagging to balance their imbalance in heart-they are not lucky/happy as you!:Dif i were you as a woman,i would feel great when i heard something like that,their dialogue proved that they envy you that badly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

How could someone be snobby about working in a bank? It requires exactly the same qualifications as a waitress, nothing.

Sangre wrote: »
    How could someone be snobby about working in a bank? It requires exactly the same qualifications as a waitress, nothing.

In reality thats not the case. A friend works in HR in one of the banks and he said that they do not look at bringing people for jobs, even to work on the cash desk, unless they have minimum a college diploma...

OP. people are fools and there is no way your job will reflect on your boyfriends career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,113 ✭✭✭mada999

Too true !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

In reality thats not the case. A friend works in HR in one of the banks and he said that they do not look at bringing people for jobs, even to work on the cash desk, unless they have minimum a college diploma...

Haha, this is so wrong.

I've taken time off college, which to the bank was seen as me dropping out as I told them I'd be there permanently, and I walked straight into a job.

Those at the lower levels of the banking industry, the cashiers, customer service reps etc. are mainly people without a college education. They're usually dumb fooks and without over generalising, people from a poorer background. Then there's those who've dropped out or are taking time off college, who don't take the job seriously and will be gone within 8-12 months and certainly wouldn't be snobby about the "working in a bank and earning X per year", like myself.
    So it's a lively mix of people without an education who are trying to make a career from it, and then those who couldn't give a f*ck and just need some cash to get by on until they find something they actually want to do.
    Hence there's a very high staff turnover in banks.

Those at those levels have nothing to be snobby about, their pay (in some banks, not all) is decent around 25k starting off, but in others it's 17/18k.

The qualifications come in around the mortgage advisor level, some who've been to college and walk straight into it, some who go and start at the bottom and work their way up through the banking exams etc.

In short, banks will hire just about anyone for their entry level positions, and it certainly isn't restricted to those with a "minimum of a college diploma".

OP: Next time tell them you're a stripper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

You'll always be able to find someone by whose standards you are a loser.

The important thing is whether you're successful or not by your own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

OP i find that sickening. those people are scum, pure filth not fit to lick your boot. i'm getting annoyed here even thinking about it. i would certaily have confronted them with a smile and asked them to continue their coversation in your presence. ai hope that their 'prestigious' 'high power' jobs will lead to stress, heart conditions, the break up of thier relationships, the errosion of thier family life, the onset of depression and mental breakdown. they are callous crude small minded people and from what they were saying it is plain to see that they are very deeply unhappy in their lives already, why else would they feel the need to belittle another human being so? dickheads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

lukndown wrote: »
    I am with my partner 4 years we met in collage,He is now a banker whereas i worked in a bank myself up until recently.I hated it i REALLY hated it,it was soul destroying,the thought of going in every day made me want to cry.

With my partners support I left that job and while looking for other suitable roles i took on a job as a waitress in a hotel just to have some money myself.Anyway its 6 months down the line and i LOVE it, its so much fun ive made so many friends there and everyones so nice.Its so great to wake up and think"Yay i have to go to work"

Last weekend my bfs annual party night was held and I tagged along.We were talking away to some people and he introduced me and they asked what i did,When i said i was a waitress they seemed abit taken back, one man sniggered and walked off.My bf didnt notice as he was talking to someone else.

I left that group and moved over to the bar and over heard a conversation that i cant get out of my head

Woman 1 "Did you see Brians girlfriend,She a right scrubber,Works as a waitress it seems- left a 40g a year job to work as a slave in a hotel,Has she no pride"

Woman 2 "If he keeps seeing her he will be demoted,she doesnt fit in and it will show"

I feel sick to my stomach,I have not told my bf about the conversation and i dont know if i want to.I love my job and im so happy in it.But i dont want my bf being put aside just because of my job

I used to work as a chef and changed carears and now work in a bank, ok they money is regular and the hours are also but what a bunch of shallow self abosobed assholes. I'd do anything to change back to my old job but with a family and kids its just never going to happen.

I wouldnt worry about them much though, I'm sure your B/F thinks its best for you that your happy! So long as you're who cares!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

The people OP describes are the sort you would expect to find in London or maybe New York but in Dublin ? deary me , i would hedge a bet that 20 odd yars ago those same people were the ones who were in the Q for a job at Mcdonalds and Considered it a good career move ,why ? because there was feck all on offer except emigration ,and thats no disrespect to anybody working in Mcdonalds but that was then not now .As sombody said ' that's whats wrong with the country money ' .Any fool can be a snob with money, but real class and humanity is somthing you cant buy into ,your either born with it and have it or dont .Snobishness is somthing the brits do much better than the irish anyway ,they have centuries expierence at it ..imo

As long as your happy OP ,sod that lot :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭stolenwine

joePC wrote: »
    That is really sad, people like this are pathetic - I love to think of it like this - As of today Everyone on the entire planet will be dead in 100 years so who really gives a fook. If your happy with who you are and what you do and are proud of what you do then fair play, enjoy it...

It made me laugh looking at all the 20 somethings in town on a Saturday night, the majority of which earning less than 25K a year but think there Paris Hilton.
    Or the best one ever,

Sister - "so where are you staying"
    Paris Hilton'alike - "uuh "D" "4"
    Sister - "Really your still living with your parents"
    Paris Hilton'alike - tumble weed...... (Funny Times)

What? Your post has nothing to do with the OPs problem. You are just creating a little class war. North siders can behave like snobs as well believe me snobbery is not exclusive to one side of the liffey. The only place your stereotyped world exists is in the D4 in your head.

I've been sneered at by people I used to go to school with because I worked in retail. A job that I still view with great affection. They weren't doing great by any means but I wouldn't point that out because I'm not like them. These women are pathetic chalk it up as experience you can support your partner without going to these work parties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭echosound

OP-it all comes down to how people define themselves - you have a happy private life, with a BF and friends, and to boot you also have a job you love, hence you're happy. These bints are unhappy with their lot, they define themselves by their job as they've nothing else worthwhile to define themselves by, and the only way people like this can make themselves feel better is to slate those who are doing well, trying to bring them down a peg or two so they can feel better about the empty vapid lives they are themselves living.

I would say a shade of jealousy could be coming into it too - I know plenty of women who through huge financial burdens (big mortgages, loan repayments etc to have the keeping up with the joneses lifestyle) HAVE to work long hours in jobs they don't like to pay the bills, and would jump at the chance to take a job they enjoyed more but was lower paid, but they are tied into their crummy jobs due to having to pay for the materialistic trappings which they use to define themselves. Hence they are extremely jealous of those of us who chose life over career and money, and will try in vain to look down on some aspect of our lives to make themselves feel better about themselves and their crappy lot.

Hold your head up high, you should be pitying them for their empty soulless lives, and their complete lack of personality or any meaning beyond "what they do" for a living, and their twisted little thoughts. My main motto in life is "work to live, not live to work" - when you look back at your life when you retire, will you be thinking "shoot, I should have worked longer hours in a job I hated to make more money and had fewer friends and enjoyed life less and spent all my time worrying about what other people thought of me" or will you be thinking "yeah! I loved going to work every day, I had tons of good friends, and enjoyed myself, I did what I wanted to do and didn't give a hoot what stuck up plonkers thought of me, go me!".

Perhaps also mention it to your BF just so he knows what kind of people he's working with, and don't worry about his prospects - I have yet to meet an employer who gave promotions based on what their employee's partner was like or did for a living rather than the employee's own merits.

Edited to add - you definitely don't need qualifications to gain entry level positions in a bank, any joe soap off the street can get a job, starting salaries in some banks are around the 18k mark, ie pretty much minimum wage, so if the people looking down on you are in these positions, well just sit back and think - you are probably earning more than them anyway but with the added bonus of loving your job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Quote-Echosound work to live, not live to work"
    Or in some cases ' eat to live ,not live to eat ' . :)

• Wow, I can't believe people like that actually exist. I thought this thread might have been a joke at first. I know Ireland is full of snobby, nouveau riche wannabes but I can't believe people would say that out loud at a party! What b*tches! Saying that, I'm just back from New York where I worked as a waitress and on the reception of a hotel and loads of the Irish guests would look down on me, assuming I was thick and uneducated (not sure why - most of the American receptionists had a college degree). I had one woman from Ballsbridge come to the desk with her two teenage daughters and start chatting to me about how long I'd been in New York etc......the girls were nice but the mother was condescending. She said her eldest daughter was starting at DCU soon, I said very good, hope she enjoys it etc. She then said I seemed like an intelligent girl, and wouldn't I consider going to college and getting a diploma or something so I could get a better job than in a hotel. I sort of froze in shock and then I said 'well yeah actually I've just finished at Trinity, I'm taking a year or two off to work abroad and travel before my Masters. I really like working here though, I'd love to stay longer.' She looked so embarrassed! Serves her right.

Just ignore those idiots. A good salary does not make a happy life. It doesn't take Einstein to see that a job where you meet loads of people every day might be much more fun than sitting at a desk all day looking at figures.

I agree, my dad works in finance and he isn't like that at all. He'd like me to have a job where I'll be happy and wouldn't care at all if I wanted to be a waitress, or be embarrassed about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭spinandscribble

you probably got unlucky and hit a snob mine at that party. these ppl are in banking of course they value money, they're job is to give and take money ect. you probably just overheard a couple of bimbos who only value money not happiness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭TomMc

OP, as the saying goes its not what we do in life thats counts but how we do it.

Also ... we (those upstarts cos that is what they are) are never so disposed to criticise as when we are dissatisified with ourselves.

That German diplomat! spoke a lot of truth about these coarse people in Ireland. They are an embarrassment to those of us who were brought up to respect people no matter what they did and that where the material things in life are concerned, moderation is best.

Anyway, a persons dignity cannot be calculated on a balance sheet.