Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Investigation 14/12/07

• 20-11-2007 12:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭

OK so it looks like we have confirmed the 14th. for a Boards Charleville Investigation that we have been discussing for a while. Well done to Stormkeeper for getting the date.

So far we have (in alpha order)

dib
    dib's other half
    Grimes
    Grime's 3 historical friends
    Kshiel
    Ladybird
    Lou
    monkeyfudge
    Monkeyfudge's previous Ross Castlers (3 number)
    Poltergoose + other half
    Stevenmu
    Stoner
    Stormkeeper

(hopefully I left no one out)

the Date is 14th Dec 07, its more or less closed off numberswise but this is boards and if someone has a genuine interest in attending there may be some level of cancellation (for example dib :D) and we might be able to work something out, but it's already a large number.

6th and Odonnell are sitting this one out.
    Plan is to be there for about 19:30 on the Friday so make sure work and kids are sorted.

Same old rules (will be posted later on) that were posted by Stevenmu & 6th before.
    There is a cost involved but it is dictated by the Castle I have mailed most people with the cost, note this is not a competation with the 15 Dec investigation, we have been planning something for a while, we wanted to get one in before Christmas the 7th did not suit some and the 22 is too near Christmas, hopefully there will be two great investigations in the Castle on that weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Thanks for doing the leg work, Stoner.

Should be a good night.

But it will of course be COLD!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Conditions

OK so it is going to be cold, and maybe wet, so dress / prepare accordingly.
    The castle will more than likely ask you to sign an insurance doc, if you have a porblem with this then they wont let you take part.
    Remember if anyone suffers from asthma, epilepsy or other medical conditions that may require some level of care, please let it be known ASAP.
    This will be an over nighter and beds are not plentyful in the castle, so I am bringing a sleeping bag, you might want to think about that.

So lets start a discussion about our own pre investigation meeting, Stevenmu is free after this weekend, that time frame suit me too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭kshiel

Looking forward to it, should be good. Bring on the spirits :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

I have all the relevant forms etc on my computer so if anyone needs then let me know and I'll dig them out.

This pre investigation meeting will prob take place in Dublin and I douth you will need me there so as you already know what you agree is fine with me, as long as it doesn't incur nudity or the likes :D

Yep... no nudity this time around... it's far too cold and ends up being unflattering for the males.

kshiel wrote: »
    as long as it doesn't incur nudity or the likes :D

Christ! That was one time and I already said sorry!! WTF?!

And we cannot prove it as we didn't catch it on camera. ;)

Sorry to hear 6th and Ed cannot make it, awh well Monkeyfudge/stoner/grimes etc etc the nudity is up to you this time, little treat for the ladies :D

Monkeyfudge/stoner/grimes etc etc the nudity is up to you this time, little treat for the ladies :D

Seriously with the Action Monkeyfudge gets up to , it must be a big treat

Stoner wrote: »
    Seriously with the Action Monkeyfudge gets up to , it must be a big teat

I just fixed that for you there....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,633 ✭✭✭stormkeeper

I don't know whether to be excited or scared!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭Poltergoose

This will be my first time doing an investigation with the board, looking forward to it.
    Just a few quick questions, what should I bring? can you cook there? Should I wear thermal underwear? and are there any unsavoury characters to should watch out for (not just dead ones)?
    Anyway should be class, just have to inform Mrs.Poltergoose now that i'm bringing her off to sleep on the floor of an old haunted castle in the middle of december.The nutcrackers christmas could come early for me :eek:.

You'll enjoy the trip poltergoose, make sure to wear warm clothes, sleeping bag and a pillow if you wish, bring a big torch and plenty of spare batteries and what equipment you require or wish to bring which I am sure the boys will fill you in on , and your wits about you, as for spirit ones to watch out for well you will just have to wait and see what happens on the night.

I have met most of the list and can assure you all are pretty good guys and girls, poor stoner has had to listen to me rattle on a few times when i got the hibby gibbies so dont worry just listen to what the plan is of the night when we get there and use your head and common sense for the rest.

Food wise, there is a kitchen but the electric's in the place last time we were there were not the best, or maybe we just couldn;t work them or just to lazy to figure them out, so bring snacks to munch on in the night, and what food you like as I am sure if its nice we will help you eat it :D

It will be great to met you and I am sure you will have a blast and your better half also.

kim

all kshiles said is bang on

Poltergoose,
    as long as you have the correct clothes , food , a small first aid kit, sleeping gear and a tourch you should be ok. The rest of us will pick up any shortfalls you may or may not experience.

However a rough list as follows that I'm sure will be added to.

A torch (and a spare one for Kshiles, she flys through them)
    Sleeping bag
    Wet and Warm gear
    Spare batteries for all your gear
    The castle is dry and in reasonable knick its not open to the elements
    If you want to bring a camera with nightvision if you have one.
    You may want to bring some level of recording equipment, I have spare digital recorders if you want to borrow one, or magnetic tapes if you want to bring one, I dont have any of them.
    Also I have spare EMF meters that you can use, in fact I'll give you a present of one as it is your first trip.
    Bring some food and drink, there are cooking facilities for tea etc but sambos and other munchies are a necessity, although there is never ever a shortage of food, ever, thats the one thing i can guarantee you, there will be food!
    I tend to bring a flask with coco most peole like coffee, but i'm not allowed to use it.
    Hopefully you have a means of transport, if not some basic networking at the meet up will address that, we will not head out until everyone is sorted with a lift, dont worry about that, but if you are mobile you may be required to take someone else down :)
    http://www.charlevillecastle.com/welcome.html
    I will be asking for a mobile phone number and proper name for everyone, (I've lost ,my phone again lads sorry so I'm a bit short on numbers)
    So print this list off and bring it with you along with a charged mobile phone
    A small first aid kit is also a good idea , although I will be bringing a 40 person kit.

The most important and basic thing that most ghost hunter books recommend is a notebook and pen to document anything you pick up or hear.
    A watch that can be seen at night is also a must.
    As kshiels says pillows are a good idea, although she usually hands them out FOC.

I am based in Dublin 15 and have a number of ghost hunting books if you would like to read over them before you go (although you may have read every book under the sun and be an expert , its just something I can offer if you want it)

The thing to remember is that its a bit of interesting fun, no one can claim to be a real expert and people tend to go down a line that interests them the most, i.e. poeple find their own way.

More info will follow, just busy in work at the moment.

The truth been know I actually do have to buy a new torch :D, about the 6th this year. The joys of having two little boys I am afraid as it doesn't matter where I hide them they always find them. :confused:

of the list and can assure you all are pretty good guys and girls, poor stoner has had to listen to me rattle on a few times when i got the hibby gibbies so dont worry just listen to what the plan is of the night when we get there and use your head and common sense for the rest.

Remember! The castle is absolutely riddled with cats.... under no circumstances leave the door to the kitchen open... they'll be in like a shot and have a little cat feast for themselves...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Ahh! too late, if there are any more openings, lettuce know ;)

WindSock, there could be a spare slot, we'll keep you in mind

Of course there is a spare slot....

Remove one of my slots there, stoner. I probably only need 2.

Windsock would be a great asset to an investigation imo.

sound monkeyfudge, ok so your in WindSock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

I see it says "Grimes' Three Historiticians. Whos are they again? Why am I so ****ing stupid lately. Im not joking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭dib

Um Stoner, I mentioned that it would be my other half + 2. If there's a problem with that will you give me a shout asap as I'll have to let them know.

Cheers!

Niall

That text was from me

6th wrote: »
    Windsock would be a great asset to an investigation imo.

Yep, I have my own car :D
    sound monkeyfudge, ok so your in WindSock

Deadly, thanks

19/20 people? Just as well the place is fairly big!

How long are people going to be staying for?

Also, how many have already signed a membership form?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭ghosthunter73

Best of luck with the investigation lads. I was talking to Danny from Leinster last night and he told you guys were going down. I hope you have great success. As you all know we are doing a public investigation the next day. Should be interesting to see if anything happens either nights.
    I don't know if any of you have been down there lately but Bonnie has been getting rid of most of the cats but keeping a few of her fav's.
    Again best of luck and have a safe and fruitful night maybe we'll see you in the afternoon.

Thanks Ghosthunter73, like I said it does look a little dodgy with the two groups going down so close, but I'm sure that we have both been planning it for a while anyway, hope your trip goes well too. :)

Ok so dates for the meet up,

this weekend is out for Stevemu.

so any day bar wed next week for me,
    I understand that some of the stage coaches would not get some of the more savage element of the group down, but as discussed these people know the score already, and we'll e mail the plans
    so mon, tue, thurs, fri, sat, sun night
    The Oval pub in the city centre.
    So get picking a date.
    Grimes, you asked about bring down 3 thats fine, I think there may only end up being seomwhere from 12 to 15 on the night (this would suit IMO), this matches our last visit there. So we should have the correct cancellation contingency figure.
    Anyway Dib, if you want to bring a third person I think that would just about work,
    So I dont think we should take on any more people this time.
    I have recieved no PMs from anyone else looking to go anyway, but extras will still be considered as it is very likely that dib will cancel again :D

So please started on a date ASAP!!

Ok,

So i need the full names of everyone going along with a mobile number. Please e mail or PM me, as we will need to tick some boxes on the night and I need to know the real names some some people and the people others are planning on bringing.

So please get e mailing and PMing.
    Stevemu, Ladybird, Grimes, Monkeyfudge I know you think i have your numbers, but I have had yet another change of phone, so please get the information over.

Monday or Friday suit me next week... if it's Tuesday I won't be able to make it in until late... oh wait... Friday just booked out on me earlier actually... So just Monday... possibly Thursday if something cancels....

Like I said I will be asking people to sign some insurance doc etc on the night, they are standard cover our backsides documents.
    I will have a sign in and out sheet too. I know you know we are making nothing from this, its a bit of fun and interesting for most of us, and a few bob for the castle, but we need to box things off by siging off that you are big boys and girls and responsible for your own H&S and actions etc.

To my knowledge there has never been an issue with this, but no one is taking part unless they sign off, castle and investigation rules!!!!! so let the others you are bringing know this too please,
    That includes you Grimes!!

Monday or Friday suit me next week... if it's Tuesday I won't be able to make it in until late... oh wait... Friday just booked out on me earlier actually... So just Monday... possibly Thursday if something cancels....

I'm sure Andy would agree that that is a comment worth of himself.

So Monday or Tuesday if we want monkeyfugde to go.

Ok,

I have 4 places in my car

Stoner
    Monkeyfudge
    Stormkeeper

Who wants the last spot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭dib

Anyway Dib, if you want to bring a third person I think that would just about work,

Great stuff thanks Stoner. I'll PM you my number and the details of who I'm bringing.
    as it is very likely that dib will cancel again :D

Ah now that's enough of that!! I'll be there this time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭Poltergoose

I've got my own method of transport for getting down, could give anyone who needs it a lift ,thats if they dont mind hitching with weird strangers they never met and whether or not they could stand the constant bickering between herself and meself in the front about speed limits and my need to flick through radio stations and change songs half way through on the ipod :D.

Yeah, Anyone is welcome to come with me also. If you don't mind taking the 'scenic route' several times then hop in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 TerriCastle

19/20 people? Just as well the place is fairly big!

How long are people going to be staying for?

Also, how many have already signed a membership form?

Hello Stormkeeper,

I'm just checking that the date has been confirmed with Charleville Castle - I am assuming you have been setting up the investigation with the Managing Trustee - if you could please copy me on any prospective investigations you would like to hold as well.

Everything looks in order in terms of guidelines from what I can see -
    just a reminder that new visitors to the castle must have a fully filled out and signed membership form and have signed the access agreement form provided by your group leader before arrival. It is very important for insurance purposes. The appointed Health and Safety Officer and group leader is in charge of briefing you on accessible and non-accessible areas within the castle as it is not fully restored.
    The castle reserves the right to not recommend drink be taken during investigations as to promote any kind of mishap. Any kind of mishap that threatens the safety of any visitor involved and they will be removed from the site.

Also, the more attending requires a stronger Safety Team which I can discuss with Stormkeeper. I wouldn't go over the number you have at present.

Stormkeeper if you could please forward me the details through my email of the prospective date and we can discuss the plans further.

thanks

I probably wont stay the entire night. Ill be leaving around 3am to get back to Dublin. Looking forward to it.

OK so from Terris post we can see that the places are closed off.

Latest List

dib
    dib's other half
    dib's other half's other half
    Grimes
    Grimes's friend no 1
    Grimes's friend no 2
    Kshiel
    Ladybird
    Lou
    monkeyfudge
    Monkeyfudge's friend no 1
    Monkeyfudge's friend no 2
    Poltergoose
    Poltergoose's other half
    Stevenmu
    Stoner
    Stormkeeper
    Windsock

Ok so thats 18, we had 17 at the last one, once we have about 12 or over I think we should be ok. (dont think i left anyone out, PM me if I have , monkeyfudge has yet to confirm his two friends and has indicated that it is not a necessity that they go, I remember when 6th and Stevenmu left me off their list before, it was a difficult time for me back then)

Of that 18 , only 9 have been there and signed up before, so thats 9 people who will have to have signed up with the castle and have the form printed off and signed with them when they arrive.

Ok can people try to make the weekend of the 7,8,9 of Dec, any night here would suit me, hopefully this is far enough away for people to plan for it and near enough to the night for discussions etc.
    We can get people signed up then too.

So lets get picking a date!!

7th or 9th would suit me.

The 8th is the night of the boards YouTube thing.

Oh... and one of my +1s is Ursula.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭DANNY22XX

well lads the best of luck,,,,,,,
    any chance of doing a small hello video for leinster paranormal tv,,,,,and we will put it up there,,,,with the rest ,,,,

if you need contact details ask K SHEILS,,,,,,,,,

I'd love to go along to drinks if they are on the 7th even though I can't make the investigation, nice to see ev eryone again.

I'll sort the hello Video Danny

OK so from Terris post we can see that the places are closed off.

There's always been some places that are closed off though... I can find out what places those are when I talk to Terri.

With regards to what Terri said, I'll send out an email tomorrow with the details of what I was discussing with Dudley, been a little busy with uni, but I should be able to get stuff sorted before I come over in December.

I'll be heding over to the Castle a couple weeks later for the Glimmerball as well, so I get to have a double dose of Castlamity (and also get to pick up my charger)!

yeah stormkeeper, sorry what i meant by closed off was that there were no more slots free for people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭DANNY22XX

I'll sort the hello Video Danny
    thanks stoner ,,,,,cant wait to see the footage,,,,have good investigation;)

yeah stormkeeper, sorry what i meant by closed off was that there were no more slots free for people

Oh, sorry... I thought "closed off places" meant areas that are unaccessible by people.

Anyway, I've just shot off an email to Terri elaborating on things a bit more, so I'll be working with this over the next few days, so it should hopefully be sorted soon.

NP Danny,

Anyway everyone, get sending me your e mial addresses, only half of you have done so, i need one from
    everyone going, even you monkeyfudge sir, lost your mobile, so for everyone i need
    1) proper name (no code names julie)
    2) Proper phone , pref mobile
    3) Proper e mail.

With this i can properly finish the contact list,
    I'll also need some docs filled in and sent back to me.

Terri has asked for this and is watching in on the thread :eek:

So get like Nike and Just Do it.

I'll burn the list afterwards (in a fire nerds)

finially there is no drinking or smoking in the castle, new rules . :)