Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Being left with the bill

• 16-11-2007 4:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭

Sooooo p*ssed off right now.

Basically i bought flights for 4(me,best mate and 2 friends not that close) to amsterdam a few months back for this monday the 19th until friday fairly cheaply and to book now would cost 200 quid more. and heres the kick to the nuts the 2 lads have pulled out leaving me with the bill on my credit card.
    i never even thought this would happen, which is why i wasnt to pushed about collecting the money but im ready to start smashing things up right now.

anybody have suggestions of wat to do or have you ever been landed with a bill for someone else????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Hrududu

They should pay for their tickets even if they arent going. Anything else is pure wankery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Tell them they committed to the trip and owe you the money anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

Did they know you were booking the tickets?

If so - ask them to pay you for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

stewie01 wrote: »

Basically i bought flights for 4(me,best mate and 2 friends not that close) to amsterdam a few months back for this monday the 19th until friday fairly cheaply and to book now would cost 200 quid more. and heres the kick to the nuts the 2 lads have pulled out leaving me with the bill on my credit card.
    i never even thought this would happen, which is why i wasnt to pushed about collecting the money but im ready to start smashing things up right now.

anybody have suggestions of wat to do or have you ever been landed with a bill for someone else????

Eh they still owe you the money. Get them to pay up. Their own fault imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Well if someone won't take their place, the really should pay for the tickets. I would demand the money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

if they said they'd go you should get the money off them regardless...put the foot down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Might be an idea to actually ask the lads for the money before you go smashing things up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭Statso

Tell them the big bad men with the pain inflicting tools are on the way unless they pay you the money they agreed to. Or failing that see if you can find two other people who would want to go and then they'll be paying for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭blah

This is the problem with loaning money to people with no collateral. You should have broken their legs in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

These so-called friends are dickheads.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

its happened to most people at some stage. They aint your friends if they dont cough up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Now you can see if these are real friends. If they committed to the trip then they have to pay you the money. If they don't then forget about the *****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭lezizi

Forget about smashing things up smash them up instead cheeky bastards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

if your 'friends' don't think they're obliged to pay for their own tickets because they're not going, i fail to see how they could think you're obliged to pay for theirs.

if your friends leave you with that bill they're scum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

Might be worth sticking up on adverts if you can get someone to take the two tickets and pay the fee for changing the details (assuming you can).

But definitely, the other two should pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

and heres the kick to the nuts the 2 lads have pulled out leaving me with the bill on my credit card.
    You should have got the money upfront but either way they owe you money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭stewie01

lesson being learnt the hard way. i've done the same before once or twice with no hassle getting the money at the airport but this will be the last time i ever do anything like this again.
    I've been asking every1 i know but theres no takers out there with such short notice.

any1 know if your allowed put it up on adverts now or is there still a ban on tickets sales?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

I'm not suggesting this route at all, but if a verbal contract exists they may be legally obliged to pay you the money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

They're c*nts of they don't pay you. Get some new mates.

Or if you'd rather just take it and grin, then you're a p*ssy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭Poppy Cock

lesson being learnt the hard way. i've done the same before once or twice with no hassle getting the money at the airport but this will be the last time i ever do anything like this again.
    I've been asking every1 i know but theres no takers out there with such short notice.

any1 know if your allowed put it up on adverts now or is there still a ban on tickets sales?
    Right - so you're just going to ignore all the advice you have been given in this topic, and all the questions you have been asked?

DID YOU ASK THEM FOR THE MONEY?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭qwertz

Where's the fücking money Lebowski?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Live and learn.

Pester them for the money and shame them into coughing up.

Tell everyone you know what they did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭A-Trak

Terry wrote: »
    Live and learn.

Pester them for the money and shame them into coughing up.

Tell everyone you know what they did.

Yup, I think we've all been stung in a similar sitution before.

Dogged pestering and shame always will open the wallet for lads.
    Make sure you bring it up amongst females, preferably ones they're interested in, about what tight bastards they are, cos the laydeez love love that in a man.

Hasty repayments will be forthcoming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

A-Trak wrote: »
    Yup, I think we've all been stung in a similar sitution before.

Dogged pestering and shame always will open the wallet for lads.
    Make sure you bring it up amongst females, preferably ones they're interested in, about what tight bastards they are, cos the laydeez love love that in a man.

Hasty repayments will be forthcoming.
    Nail on the head there, A-Trak.

Hit them in the balls. Figuratively, of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭d22ontour

Live and learn to not book tickets without some sort of deposit from all involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Lesson learned I suppose.

Something similar happened to me a few years when I was doing Best Man duties for my mate by organising his Stags. One of the lads just decided he didn't want to go about 2 weeks before we were due to head off but refused to pay for his ticket so therefore I was stung.

Luckily enough I could cancel his ticket but there was still the cancellation fee which I had to pay (about half the original ticket price).

The thing is, some people are just pricks and sometimes you have to learn this the hard way. I'm no longer friends with this guy as a result of other reasons as well as this one.

As for the OP, you either chalk it down to experience or if you want to go uber psycho on your mates you could take it to the Small Claims Court as I'm sure your mates would find it difficult to convince a judge that they don't owe you the money for said tickets. But probably best to shame the two of them in front of your other mates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭Morbid.Angel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

If they don't pay up, send them a link to this thread so they can see what everyone else thinks of people like this and tell offer to tell all their friends like others have suggested.

Your mistake was not getting the money in advance. They were probably only half interested in going so if they had to pay in advance with their own money they'd have waited until they knew they wanted to go to pay or just said no thanks in advance.

Money is a great way to ruin a friendship IMO. Best to keep it to buying each other pints.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

If I end up being stuck with a bill for something I'll be pretty pissed. Things do go both ways and sometimes you get ****ed and sometimes your mate ... but if they've just pulled out of the flights having agreed to them and knowing full well you're footing the bill now - they aren't mates. Dump the shower of them.

This assumes of course you've mentioned your issues to them and aren't just whinging.

Oh, and if you have one ticket for yourself anyway then go enjoy your trip! **** it ... you might as well, even if it's on your own!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Laslo

I don't really get this. Obviously these blokes aren't your mates. You bought tickets for them, they've pulled out and they're not handing over the cash. The dignified thing to do here would be to realise that they're not your friends, stop hanging around with them and learn your expensive lesson. If you continue to hang around with these idiots then it's you who's going to look bad. And telling other people about it to get them to cough up is a bit childish. Although certainly feel free to do so in the natural run of conversation if you think it'll make them look bad without you looking like a div.

I very much doubt that you have a leg to stand on legally. All the other guys need to say is that they never agreed to go away with you and you got over-eager and booked in before asking them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

Go over and steal their tvs, baliff style.

No , their women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭chakotha

If they said they were definitely going and knew you were buying the tickets before you bought them then they should pay. This is standard stuff.

Have they actually said they wouldn't pay? It really is out of order scummy behaviour if they try to get out of paying.

However if they just hypothetically sounded up for it when you suggested it in the pub 2 months ago and you went out and bought their tickets that is a bit different. Good friends would still cover it though.

Ask them to cough up! You are a mug if you don't!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Could make for a grand one-liner when next in the pub. "Free tickets to Dam. All you birds have to do is dress up to look like these two lads..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

qwertz wrote: »
    Where's the fücking money Lebowski?

you're obviously not a golfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

Op you got raped
    To get even I suggest breaking into their homes and stealing their TV's this always make me fell happier when people try to rob me, it also means i have a house full of TV's I dont watch but thats life eh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭qwertz

Actually I am. A pretty good one as well, thanks for enquiring.
    you're obviously not a golfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

People sometimes carry out actions without thinking about the potential consequences.

Unleash a vulgar and disproportionate display of power and make them feel the consequences. Make them cry for their mother and regret the very second they even thought about f**king with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭irishfeller

You said that ye didn't know these guys very well - are they friends of a friend...if so complain to yer mate and he will put pressure on them to pay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

You said that ye didn't know these guys very well - are they friends of a friend...if so complain to yer mate and he will put pressure on them to pay.

Was in a similiar situation, but I was the mate and the other two were my mates, I made their life miserable until they coughed up to my mate. Things like when I saw them in the pub "Oh you can go on the piss but you haven't paid xxx yet !", in front of the rest of the mates, they came up with the goods shortly after as they couldn't enjoy a pint in the local without me strong arming them (verbally that is).