Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dealextreme - one stop shop.

• 15-11-2007 10:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭

www.dealextreme.com

What a site! I ordered loads of stuff from them in the past month, including a green laser.

Its possibly one of the coolest things ive ever bought. Has a huge range, more than a mile. Be careful where you point it as its superbright. Lights up my room! Only slight issue is the button is a bit wobbly, but its not going anywhere.

I ordered 10 items, some came in one package with a letter saying the rest is on the way. Got 2nd package few days later and Im waiting on one more item. Took 2 weeks for delivery.

Has anyone ever bought anythin from them? If so, let us know and give a short description of what its like. How can they sell stuff so cheap?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 johnnypanic

Have brought several items from dealextreme and always well pleased with the service and the price :)

Recently brought a wii component cable and was amazed how they could make money, but I'll not complain.

Johnnypanic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

They've been mentioned a few times in this forum - do a search.
    I'm wondering whether or not one or two items I'd like will get through customs... }:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭Loobz

Karoma wrote: »
    I'm wondering whether or not one or two items I'd like will get through customs... }:-)

Yeah, Im in the same boat =)>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭chris85

im liking the look of the laptop cooling docks, really wanted one, not sure which one, decisions decisions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,850 ✭✭✭Fnz

Don't praise them with a thread! You'll jinx a good thing... just look at what happened here.

They doubled their delivery charge to Ireland shortly after this thread. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭Loobz

Fnz wrote: »
    Don't praise them with a thread! You'll jinx a good thing... just look at what happened here.

Wheres the delete key??? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,195 ✭✭✭✭Basq

I've seen this site pop up more and more here on BA.. but never looked at it.

Jaysus.. they've some great stuff on there. Could have ordered loads but would have spent days trawling through the site so for now, i ordered a 4 Port VGA switcher for under €6. Cheapest i could find elsewhere was €15 for a 2 port switcher on EBay.

Book-marked that puppy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭Wisesmurf

nice site.

Im a bit of an impulse purchaser so I'll have to stay away from this.
    Bought a dvi to hdmi cable. $10 which is a steal.

must stay away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,366 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

You baxstard, I've just hammered my credit card on that site! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭pissed

Have bought lots of stuff from their site and always very pleased with both the price and service. They originally came to light on bargain alerts with the R4 card for the nintendo ds and some were complaining of slow shipping but I think that was due to a worldwide shortage on the R4 itself. You could spend a day trawling through their site its excellent :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭Pyridine

Saw this site linked on bargain alerts a couple of weeks ago.

Had a look at some of their bike lights as I needed one and found
    this

It arrived after about 2 weeks as said and it works a treat. No more buying batteries for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭1stimpressions

brill site, just got the wii docking station 4 1 third the rrp.. sweet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

I've bought a couple of R4s off them for friends. As long as you bear a couple of things in mind, it's a great site :

1. Delivery will take 2 weeks or more. Expect it and you won't be disappointed - you might even be pleasantly surprised and get your item in 10 days or so, but it's usually 2-3 weeks.

2. Packaging is minimal. Everything is shipped in jiffy bags, which is fine for a lot of the smaller items but if there are lots of complaints about, for example, the remote control helicopters arriving with crushed rotors blades and shafts. It's the same for free or paid delivery. A lot of this is down to the shoddy packaging on the original products too, but all the same don't buy anything that a jiffy bag can't protect or it's Old El Paso Serving dishes all over again! They will replace anything damaged in transit, but the replacement is equally likely to get pulped.

3. If anything goes wrong with your order, remember it's going to take at least 24 hours to get a response because of the time difference between here and Hong Kong. If your ticket isn't getting actioned, go on the forums and very calmly draw attention to yourself with a new thread, don't go spa. At least, not straight away. The support staff are also the Sales staff, so they may not be able to sort out your technical issue straight away. Also, english is a second language for them, so keep things simple in your ticket.

My last order from them went south - they didn't ship one of the parts but had marked it as shipped. Took about a month of back-and-forth to fix with the delivery time delays, but I got it in the end. They also gave me a couple of free gifts to keep me sweet, but no one copped that one of the free gifts was the same as one of the parts off the order... Also, they didn't tell me that there was a gift coming, so when it arrived before the bit I was waiting for I thought they'd screwed up the order again! They're well intentioned but they just don't think :)

I'd still use them again though - it's always best to measure a company by what they do when things go wrong rather than when things go right, and in my case the owner of the company jumped in and made sure my issue got addressed within about 30 minutes of me starting to scream and stamp my feet. They maintain a good presence on their forums and they don't bull**** people too much when you ask questions about items in stock that they can't answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭shortys94

Would the FM transmitters work here?

Such as this:
    http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.625
    Looks pretty good for the price but I dont know how to find th ecost of shipping to Ireland. Never used them before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,340 CMod ✭✭✭✭Davy

shortys94 wrote: »
    Would the FM transmitters work here?

Such as this:
    http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.625
    Looks pretty good for the price but I dont know how to find th ecost of shipping to Ireland. Never used them before.

shipping is free and comes registered post

and ye would work here same channel range that we use here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭Phibsboro

Just another experience - I ordered two main items, a USB world charger with interchangeable plugs and a car multi charger with extra 12v sockets and a USB out. Both for a great price.

As mentioned above the delivery takes ages - over two weeks in my case. When they arrived the world charger was fully sealed up but minus any of the extra world plugs :S Given that the default plug is US, this wasn't much good to me. It took 6 days to get a response out of Hong Kong, but the first response was that they had shipped an extra set of plugs so wasn't too unhappy. That was on the 5th Nov. Just checked my account there and it looks like there is a delay on the plugs.

The car charger also had an issue, the USB output wouldn't charge my ipod. I figure this may well be just that its not outputting enough juice so I just gave up on this one...

So, I'd use them again for cables etc but anything more than $10 I'd use someone more local..

C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

basquille wrote: »
    Jaysus.. they've some great stuff on there. Could have ordered loads but would have spent days trawling through the site so for now, i ordered a 4 Port VGA switcher for under €6. Cheapest i could find elsewhere was €15 for a 2 port switcher on EBay.

Book-marked that puppy!

Good spot! Just picked one up myself...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭milltown

Fnz wrote: »

Does that mean it might be twice as free?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Just wanna bump this to ask;

i. Is it really free post to Ireland, on everything?
    ii. Do you need to pay customs, VAT, or anything like that when it arrives?

Cheers. Looks like a gem of a site.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,477 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

post is included and I've never been subject to any customs/vat etc across many purchases

That's crazy... some ridiculous prices on that site!!! :D

And some awesome gadgets too; case in point -- mp3 player sunglasses :cool: Oh the possibilities!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

It's a great site, no doubt. I bought one of the lasers for a mate for Christmas and was so impressed with it I bought one for myself as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Bought a load of gear a few weeks back, some awesome bargains. Stand out stuff for me was a digital scales (¬¬) for $11 and a 3m HDMI cable for $10. Other sh*t like lighters and various knick knacks you can't get here. Bookmarked; I will be buying from them again...
    Stuff arrived in two envelopes, 10 days after shipping, no VAT, no ship fee....outstanding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭bus77

That's your ma's Christmas present sorted anyway :D teehee

Seriously though, how it's economically viable to charge such low prices, I'll never know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

Look at their bulk pricing and you'll see why shipping is included :-)

I've spent SO MUCH money here in the last 4 months or so it's unreal, just beware that it might take weeks, nay months, for it all to get delivered and you're grand.
    Bought a load of the cheap iPod earphones (from their 'best sellers' page) and they're better than the 12 euro earphones i usually buy from HMV, etc. Seem to be lasting just as long, too.

(and if they weren't, it's cheaper to throw out a pair of these every 3 weeks than buy the 12 euro headphones every 6 months :P)

lol... headphones will be my first purchase actually. My creative ones have lasted long enough (2 years?), but they're on their last legs at this stage!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

Ordered one of those green lasers.

What for? Absolutley nothing. To shine in a field at night, can't wait!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭311

I ordered stuff about a month ago ,I have to say I agree with Banjo about being careful what you order.
    All the stuff I bought had the boxes squashed ,the stuff looked like it had been put through the washing machine.

small sturdy stuff ,would be a better buy.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

DaveMcG wrote: »
    Just wanna bump this to ask;

i. Is it really free post to Ireland, on everything?
    ii. Do you need to pay customs, VAT, or anything like that when it arrives?

Cheers. Looks like a gem of a site.

Yes,it appears so.
    I didn't get charged but everything was under 25 euro.

I found postage quite slow,about 3 weeks, the other 3 items went out of stock in the meantime so I had to cancel one yesterday as it won't be here by christmas.

Their prices do appear amazing and I have found their customer service and website very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭sirpsycho

Forky wrote: »
    Ordered one of those green lasers.

What for? Absolutley nothing. To shine in a field at night, can't wait!

Bought one meself and it arrive a few weeks later. No idea what it's use will be but it's great for shining into fields as another poster said!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Another green laser ordered here, I can see the month of january being spent trying to attach the Laser to my rifle MaGyver style for some night shooting! Great site.

All of ye go for the 30MW one or anyone splash out on the 50/100/200 ones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,150 ✭✭✭Passenger

The iFone they have is only approx e100. Decent value regardless of questionable build quility.

Do you need an account to buy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

I can't get off this site!
    Anyone for this???

http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.2583

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Karoma wrote: »

Are you referring to this

http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.7428 :-{)