Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Big Mystery of Dublin GAA

• 15-11-2007 2:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭

In thirty years, yes, THIRTY years, we have not, since Jimmy, produced one, not one single inside forward who you can say give him the ball in the corner or on the edge of the square and he WILL score. None.
    Think Canavan, McDonnell, Fitzgerald, Cooper, Joyce, Browne, Forde, Topmkins, Murphy, Flynn, Linden, Bradley, Munnelly etc etc etc...

We have produced Brogans, Redmond, Duff, Rock, Jayo, Keaney, Galvin all TOP CLASS players (maybe a bit kind on ol Micko there ;)) but you get me. All top men but none of them, not even Barney could you turn to your mate at the start of a game and say "That fella will score all day"

Why...........................:confused::(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Sorry Liam,have to cut you off there.

Joyce,Forde and Munnelly are not forwards that will score all day.Parkinson is starting to establish himself as the main scorer on the Laois team.Forde is Wexfords all-star hero but again he really shines against teams that are weaker or on a par with Wexford.Otherwise he'll score 2-3 points against stronger opposition and then disappear.

Joyce may have substance but he's declining big time.Terrible season by his usual standards.Linden...theres a name that I haven't heard in a few years.Make sure no Tyrone folk are on here.:D

Incidentally,the rest are from Kerry and Tyrone and are players who are reliable.Declan Browne from Tipp yeah?

I think Vaughan and Keaney are becoming those forwards that you can rely on to get lots of scores.Other names would be Mossy (albeit out of form for Dublin in this years championship) and Alan Brogan who had one bad game (by his standards) this year against Meath in the replay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭EoimarMuppet

Sorry man but I would have taken an in-form Joyce or Forde ahead of any of our inside forwards in the last 20 years with absolutely NO hesitation
    I wouldnt let Parkinson near our under 21 team.
    seriously man dont compare Mossy to that list i named.....your doing the lad himself no favours there......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

Sorry man but I would have taken an in-form Joyce or Forde ahead of any of our inside forwards in the last 20 years with absolutely NO hesitation
    I wouldnt let Parkinson near our under 21 team.
    seriously man dont compare Mossy to that list i named.....your doing the lad himself no favours there......

Liam, you did include Munnelly in that list! :p

Players like Canavan and Cooper don't grow on trees. We've had some top class forwards over the years, but special players are born that way. Dublin's forwards tend to share the scores between them aswell. Look at players like Mark Vaughan with Kilmacud. They're the focal point of their teams attack and everything goes through them. The same can be said of the likes of Mattie Forde and Paddy Bradley (and to a lesser extent Joyce and Canavan). These lads score so much because every single ball is pumped their way. I'm not doubting their ability, just the ability of the players around them. If you do that to Conal Keaney or Alan Brogan, they'll get scores. It doesn't mean it's good for the overall team though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

until every county team bar Dublin's is jam-packed full of these rare creatures, I won't lose a hell of an amount of sleep over it.

In the last 20 years, we've had our decent share of the best forwards in the game at various times so i don't see a huge difference (bar that old population chestnut) between dublin's output as against that of other counties

Why not compare Mossy Quinn?He was the top scorer in the championship for Dublin last year.This year he wasn't playing anywhere near his best for Dublin.I'd rate him higher than Munnelly and Forde anyway.How you could include them in a list of forwards that are guaranteed scores is beyond me.

Blackbelt, Holymoly and a few others here will tell you, I used to have war with culchies on Hoganstand defending Mossy. I rate him, highly and I believe if we are to win Sam next year he will be central...BUT....I am sorry man, he is not in the same class as Munnelly or Forde. He is not on the same sphere as Mattie Forde, whatever about Munnelly.
    Like I said I like Mossy, fine player, great for Vinnys and has done the business for the Dubs on manys an occassion but I think if you asked 5000 REAL Dubs fans whe they think in all honesty was the better player.....well, There is only one answer man.
    Be honest. And its not Mossy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 668 ✭✭✭mise_me_fein

Maybe Dublin focuses too much on fitness and not on football. They could have the players but the way Dublin play might not cater.

MMF you are hitting on what Micko said. That we over train our lads, turn them all into super athletes and robots and basically rob them of their individual skill and raw talent........he may have a point, but The Brogans must have missed that Session. Speaking earlier of Mossy and Matty, Alan Brogan is as good if not better than Matty. The only forward in Ireland right now I would take ahead of Brogan is Cooper. Brogan is pure sheer class.
    But even HE is not a garanteed 5 points a game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 668 ✭✭✭mise_me_fein

MMF you are hitting on what Micko said. That we over train our lads, turn them all into super athletes and robots and basically rob them of their individual skill and raw talent........he may have a point, but The Brogans must have missed that Session. Speaking earlier of Mossy and Matty, Alan Brogan is as good if not better than Matty. The only forward in Ireland right now I would take ahead of Brogan is Cooper. Brogan is pure sheer class.
    But even HE is not a garanteed 5 points a game

Wow, I didn't actaully hear Micko saying that. Proud of myself so I am now :D

Dublin should win Sam in the next 3 to 4 years.

Leinster is becoming a strong province again and Dublin are always there or thereabouts.

any chance of ure boys coming again any time soon to put it up to us in a Leinster final?
    Always had some fine players up there. Cathal O'Hanlon, Stefan White, Darren Clarke etc etc.....
    what was the name again of that classy corner forward ye had in the 90's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Blackbelt, you're talking nonsense. Joyce was a scoring machine in his day, one of the top forwards of his generation. Hit 1-9 for Killererin last Sunday aswell, of which 1-6 was from play. Mossy Quinn nowhere near the same class, you're having a laugh. Liam shouldn't have included Munnelly either, a very good player but not in the class of Joyce, Cooper, Canavan etc. And how can you say that Forde isn't guaranteed to produce scores?? When in form the guy bangs over 8 - 10 points per game. Has won games singlehandedly for Wexford. 2-10 against Offaly a couple of years ago, 0-12 against Meath, hit 4-5 against Galway in Tuam etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

Liam, are you really a red head from Cabra now living in Raheny, man?

It's just that, you sound like a man I know, man.

Who always ends sentances with man, man.

I agree with the assesment of Joyce by aidan. However, in the current style of play that we use (constant rotation) you have to tend the entire forward division as having to fullfill a similar criteria - hnce no specialists along the lines you are speaking of.

Also, you have to admit that your own list is not the longest in the world. Fine, we may be coaching such a position out of our game, but many other teams have been successfull over those 30 years without one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭The Chessplayer

blackbelt wrote: »
    Why not compare Mossy Quinn?He was the top scorer in the championship for Dublin last year.This year he wasn't playing anywhere near his best for Dublin.I'd rate him higher than Munnelly and Forde anyway.How you could include them in a list of forwards that are guaranteed scores is beyond me.

Quinn was only top-scorer because he takes frees. In my opinion Brogan is top-class, best Dublin forward I've seen in donkeys years. I don't buy this 30 years business. I think there has been a hat load of class forwards. What about Dessie Farrell?

Padraic Joyce granted, but I don't know where you're going with one-hit wonders Ross Munnelly and Mattie Forde.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Slightly off-topic but I've just seen that the RTE programme 'Scannal' will be doing a documentary on the Galway-Dublin final from '83 on Monday November 26th, should be interesting!

I watched it on TG4 a while back and it's unbelieveable how Galway threw that game away, with one terrible wide after another.

Mattie Forde is a great player like Quinn but 2004 was Matties year,an all star.Since then his form has dipped although he was influential against Louth this year.However,I do think Mossy is a better forward and I'm not talking rubbish either,thats my opinion.People seem to have this simplistic view that Mossy is just a free taker.He scored crucial goals against Tyrone,Westmeath and the likes from play as well as points too.

I think Liams assessment is off the mark.Alan Brogan is better than Munnelly hands down and Forde and I'm confident that Bernard will prove too in time.If you watch the Dublin v Kerry match,Alan Brogan smacks one over the bar from far out near the sideline by the Cusack into the Davin Stand.I can't see Munnelly doing anything like this.

Think you are being too harsh on the Dublin forwards Liam.People compare Brogan or Vaughan to Redmond so they can't be doing much wrong there.I'm open to debate on Joyce but not on Forde or Munnelly.