Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taxi.ie maybe in breach of the Prohibition of Incitement to Hatred Act

• 15-11-2007 11:47am
    Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭

http://enn.ie/article/10123435.html
    The paper also says that the State's advisory body on racism is to report to the Gardai a website aimed at taxi drivers for carrying racist and offensive material about immigrants in Ireland. The National Consultative Committee on Racism and Interculturalism (NCCRI) believes comments posted on a forum linked from the website www.taxi.ie are in breach of the Prohibition of Incitement to Hatred Act.

Anyone have more info on this?

Nice to know Taxi drivers are once again keeping within the law...keeping in mind this site is FOR Taxi drivers :D

There certainly not trying to stop it or hide it on there website, as posted by robert de biro
    http://z11.invisionfree.com/TAXIDOTIE/index.php?showtopic=1869
    KEEP RACISM OUT OF WORK KEEP COONS OUT OF YOUR CAR!

Some excellent moderating going on on that site of there's :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

Yeah, hope they throw the book at them. That site is a disgrace with all the talk about "NNs". People should start reporting racism to the regulator too. Always take a receipt. www.taxiregulator.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,858 ✭✭✭paulm17781

Please tell me "hubcap" is a troll! If not I hope he and Robert DeBiro are involved in a high speed head on collision with each other. People like that have no place serving the public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

There are an unfortunate number of trolls on the taxi.ie forum, the problem being that there is no requirement for authentication of email address's. Plus there is NO moderation. The moderator appearing to have gone on an extended vacation ( missing )

The opinion of several genuine taxi drivers on there is that two or three of the most prolific trolls are one and the same person(s) and that they are not even taxi drivers, however, this does not excuse the site and maybe the complaints will get the moderator acting again.

As for getting a receipt, if you feel the need for one, by all means ask, a genuine taxi driver will provide one from the printer but not even the honest taxi drivers are going to force you to take the receipt or hand you one with your change

If you do get unsavoury comments from a driver, be they racial or sexual in their tone, then report it, just don't start the craic of leering at some girlie on the pavement and not expect most drivers to comment!

If you realy want to sort out the taxi industry then take a few notes from other threads about drivers NOT displaying their ID's on the dash and not having the round yellow taxi license stickers on the front and rear screens

The Taxi Regulator can't do anything without your input.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Navan Junction

Spook_ie wrote: »
    drivers NOT displaying their ID's on the dash and not having the round yellow taxi license stickers on the front and rear screens
    Sorry, missed that on other threads - are these guys really taxi drivers?

If they don't have their ID on display, photo visible to passengers, area licensed to work in visible through front windscreen then they are either ignorant of the legislation or have something to hide ( not licensed for the area they are working in, springs to mind )

If the taxi/hackney/limo doesn't have the round yellow stickers on the front and rear screens then you can't tell the date that the vehicle license runs from/to and it shouldn't be in use as a taxi/hackney/limo

As for the site probably 80-85% are taxi drivers the rest, well who knows?

( not licensed for the area they are working in, springs to mind )
    As in county, or which

As in the side that should be showing to the outside of the windscreen should say the area they are licensed to "ply" for hire.

e.g My license says Dublin, this means that I can ply for hire in the Dublin area, someone elses may say Louth/Meath they would be able to work in the areas such as Navan, Drogheda etc. but not legaly in Dublin.

However, just to complicate things, when the Taxi Regulator changed things around the driver licenses were ( in theory ) tied to the Garda Divisions, which in effect means that before I was licensed to work in Balbriggan and Skerries ( both in Co. Dublin ) now I'm not ( both in Louth/Meath Garda Division )

Garda Divisions Here

Neither here no there, but can drivers not just transfer from one division to another?

Not without obtaining a "SPSV" drivers license for the area they want to work in, hence a license for Dublin isn't useable in Louth/Meath and vice versa

Please note that I am refering to the drivers license not the vehicle license.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Screwthe unions

Hiya doin spook......from day one of posting on Taxi.ie I complained about the racist comment. In fact only about 2 weeks ago I told the members that I wouldnt post there untill a member using a rather distasteful login had run his course and dissapeared.

In fact I even mentioned in the thread "the root of deregulation" that the comments being posted would land the site in trouble and the medias attention.

The poster hubcap is a genuine taxi driver but I have to say...I really dont think he ever posted anything racist.

Robert de Biro was just immature.....never had anything to add to the site.

Anyway...my bets its gonna be closed.

Spook...I left a rather flatering comment for you on the taxi.ie site so see you on your forum i suppose!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

There are an unfortunate number of trolls on the taxi.ie forum, the problem being that there is no requirement for authentication of email address's. Plus there is NO moderation. The moderator appearing to have gone on an extended vacation ( missing )

The opinion of several genuine taxi drivers on there is that two or three of the most prolific trolls are one and the same person(s) and that they are not even taxi drivers, however, this does not excuse the site and maybe the complaints will get the moderator acting again.

E-Mail confirmation when reging is not a big job to implement and this still leaves taxi.ie open to being brought up regarding comments

As we've seen with boards.ie, if a company etc wants to go after a site for comments on it they can and they often will.

Either they start to introduce e-mail auth and mod the site correctly or it should be shutdown imho

I'm glad not everyone is a muppet posting racist comments, but from what I've seen the trolls seem to outnumber the legit users.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

does the guy running the site know how to ban ips??/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

as a Moderator/admin on a couple of forums myself, have to say Im disgusted both in the lack of control and at the opinions expressed...I would have nipped it in the bud, but fortunately Ford owners are more civlised and never had a problem like this yet....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Cionnfhaolaidh

Board Closed
    This board has been closed for Terms of Service violations.
    The Terms of Service

So much for that.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

So much for that.

Thing is taxi.ie didn't get off the arse and do anything, it was there host InvisionFree that killed the board http://invisionfree.com/index.php?p=tos

Pathetic!

I was one of the more prolific posters on taxi.ie

the site had lots of other problems aswell. One poster (hubcap) was bit of an IT wiz kid and tracked websites a couple of us were viewing. It got to the point where one poster who also posts on boards had a photo of his house posted. The guards in Harcourt St were investigating that one...but they seemed to be more concerned with the threatening e-mails that were being sent. And the CDP (data protection) were looking into the site and confirmed to me an offence of disclouser had been observed.

the site self destructed in the end. Alot of us normal posters are now just going to use Spooks site to have more normal conversations.

Cabaal wrote: »
    Thing is taxi.ie didn't get off the arse and do anything, it was there host InvisionFree that killed the board http://invisionfree.com/index.php?p=tos

Pathetic!

The mod vanished!!!...he was around for a bit after the first time Taxi.ie appeared in the Hearld...but then abandoned the site. I tried contacting him a number of times regarding the site...but he never replied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,107 ✭✭✭John R

The mod vanished!!!...he was around for a bit after the first time Taxi.ie appeared in the Hearld...but then abandoned the site. I tried contacting him a number of times regarding the site...but he never replied.

People start boards and then lose interest after a while when they realise that it is alot of (thankless) work to constantly moderate muppets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭PRND

They are trying to get it started again.

Look at this http://taxi.ipbfree.com/index.php?act=home

If you go into "Questions, Suggestions and Concerns" it is all about NNs.

It is set up by the person who calls himself hubcap and is also posting as "Admin" in there.

He also tried to do a parody of the Taxi Regulator's website and registered the domain names www.taxiregulator.com and www.taxiregulator.biz for that purpose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭OTK

It's a breach of his host's terms of service which you can report here:
    http://ipbfree.com/home/Contact_Us.html

I'd say that as long as there are racist taxi drivers, there will be racist taxi websites.

All around the world, immigrant populations have turned to taxiing as a source of income. Just look at New York as an example.

Dublin taxi drivers have had things on their own terms for years and are finally facing competition from people who will work harder and for longer.

The response from the existing drivers is to attempt to spread groundless rumours that taxi drivers who weren't born in Ireland or who have a different skin colour are poorer drivers, less trustworthy etc.

The internet is the easiest way for them to do this. I am sure the report in the Irish Times sent hundreds of people looking at that website and the disgusting messages of its members.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,025 ✭✭✭Ham'nd'egger

PRND wrote: »

It is set up by the person who calls himself hubcap and is also posting as "Admin" in there.

He also tried to do a parody of the Taxi Regulator's website and registered the domain names www.taxiregulator.com and www.taxiregulator.biz for that purpose.

The guys on Taxi.ie's board have set up a few alternative forums over the last month so it is no surprise to see yet another one online. This time, it isn't linked to anywhere so the hit counts and member lists will be very low, Thank be to Jesus.

The sites are back up for sale, BTW.

Darn right we've set up other forums

theres seems to be three major players for the leading irish taxi drivers web site

in no particular order ...honestly lol

www.dublintaxi.net

http://taxi.ipbfree.com/index.php?act=home

and a forum under

www.irelandfirst.net

O, I am not saying that taxi drivers should not have a board elsewhere but that there are other sites set up specifically for taxi drivers to be racist.

Perhaps boards should set up a taxi page.

IRELAND FIRST!!!!!....thats not a taxi forum...its a forum for psuedo-intellectuals to discuss the best way to stop immigration...in a guise of forming a political party....that just happens to be made up of a couple of taxi drivers.

and http://taxi.ipbfree.com/index.php?act=home ....thats a forum set up by a certifiable headbanger...whose off his bean!!

this is another forum he set up just to gather e-mail address

http://z3.invisionfree.com/Taxi_Slaughter_House/index.php?act=idx

Spooks site is probably gonna be the only Taxi forum...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭tinofapples

It was for the most part a pathetic site. I registered and posted a few times on it mostly to get information on the job/industry.

As with most things in life a minority few fcuk things up for the majority.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 daja

PRND wrote: »

How do you know this information? Are you a police man? As far as i know having talked to john in the past about things like this its dangerous to make ref to domains... i do hope a mod makes note of your ip and email address for legal reasons.

As far as i can see this is the board that the main posters of taxi.ie are posting on.

http://z3.invisionfree.com/Irish_Taxis/index.php?act=idx

Again its invisionfree board and again i hope its removed.... they should never be allowed anonymous use of internet services or make comments that are unproven.. just like you made.

People who own domain names like boards.ie or the domains you named are accountable as are those who bring domain names into disrepute.

daja wrote: »
    How do you know this information? Are you a police man? As far as i know having talked to john in the past about things like this its dangerous to make ref to domains... i do hope a mod makes note of your ip and email address for legal reasons.

As far as i can see this is the board that the main posters of taxi.ie are posting on.

Again its invisionfree board and again i hope its removed.... they should never be allowed anonymous use of internet services or make comments that are unproven.. just like you made.

People who own domain names like boards.ie or the domains you named are accountable as are those who bring domain names into disrepute.

Excuse me for butting in and going on a rant while in transport...

If you had been on the board http://z3.invisionfree.com/Irish_Taxis/index.php?act=idx you would realise that thers is a MAJOR difference between the two, one had no moderator or moderation the other does. Also http://z3.invisionfree.com/Irish_Taxis/index.php?act=idx is linked to dublintaxi.net

For Mod... Sorry just noticed that Daja is probably a troll ( join date Today, number of post 1 ) please delete or amend this post as you see fit

daja wrote: »

......you mean like http://taxi.ipbfree.com/index.php?act=home ???

Just because a certain site was taken away from a certain person doesnt mean a certain person has the right to ask for another board to be removed!

isint that right

....by the way whos John....cause its not John who operates http://taxi.ipbfree.com/index.php?act=home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,579 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Oh. I feel a banning or 10 coming on. :)