Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crysis Reviews (Wow! GS - 9.5, IGN - 9.4, 1up - 8)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,406 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Hmm, not convinced. It seems to me that the strength of the graphics is dictating the high scores. It seems the game goes down hill once the aliens start showing up which is exactly the same problem with Farcry when them stupid mutants showed up.

Or maybe I'm just jealous that my PC hasn't a hope of running this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I don't have a lot of faith in reviews. They usually give a big thumbs up to the latest flavour of the month, so I'll reserve judgement til I play it. (But I'm still excited :D ).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    Hmm, not convinced. It seems to me that the strength of the graphics is dictating the high scores. It seems the game goes down hill once the aliens start showing up which is exactly the same problem with Farcry when them stupid mutants showed up.

Or maybe I'm just jealous that my PC hasn't a hope of running this.
    Half.life's aliens weren't the best either.

More fun blasting marines tbqh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭LookingFor

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    Hmm, not convinced. It seems to me that the strength of the graphics is dictating the high scores.

In fairness, I think its technical strength might elevate the overall experience though. At least, playing the demo, playing with everything at very high, it gave me a sense of 'being there' and immersion that I've never really had in a game before. That kind of experience can add a lot.

Graphics etc. can count for a lot!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,406 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

kaimera wrote: »
    Half.life's aliens weren't the best either.

More fun blasting marines tbqh

Well Half-Life 1 only fell apart right at the end. Up until Zen it was superb. Farcry well apart quite early. However Farcry was long game and you were fighting mercenaries and having fun for far long than with most modern FPS games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭sebastianlieken

yeeeeeeeeey...in the process of installing now...im soooo happy:D:D:D:D

screw reviews, thats sumone elses perspective. i have my own opinions

yeeeeey...crysis....hoooooooooow sweet it iiiiiiiiiis!!!!!

yeeeeeeeeey...in the process of installing now...im soooo happy:D:D:D:D

screw reviews, thats sumone elses perspective. i have my own opinions

yeeeeey...crysis....hoooooooooow sweet it iiiiiiiiiis!!!!!

My head...going...to...explode. Too...many...Voooooooweeeeeeeeels!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭dazftw

I don't like it played the demo, I think the only thing its got is graphics, I didnt like the gameplay much ill just wait til I can get it by other means.... :eek:

Network with your people: https://www.builtinireland.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Grim.

daz do you ever like any new game? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

To be honest when I played the demo I thought I was playing Farcry...it was so similar...only difference was the graphics update...still pick it up though as I'm hoping the multiplayer will be interresting this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭The Freeman

i am jelous of all ye chaps with a machine that'll play it, all i gots is a 9800 pro and a 3 gig processer!!! hopefully theey will bring it out on the 360 early enough next year(fingers crossed)

i hear on the grapevine its been leaked on to the torrents and what not also!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 569 ✭✭✭Ice_Box

I've been out of touch for a while. Does this game make use of Direct X 10 and all that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Joeface

well i too am hoping this will be GREAT. but i have some big doubts about it.
    played the demo.Graphics are awesome .but it was the little things that annoyed me .Like the suit settings .(select strength mode to jump six inches) and cloak don't get me started on that. I found it way to similar to FarCry in game play, thats not really bad thing, its just i expected so much more.
    I was more impressed by COD4 , but then again I wasn't expecting as much for that as I got.

the other thing I didn't like was when Crytek came up on load followed BY EA, they fubar everything . Prob should have read more about it and I would have expected to see it but i came as a surprise to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

right I have played the full version, I have not noticed much of a difference in frame rate over the demo. My rig is a 8900\640MB, Q6600, 2GBs Ram.

I am playing at 1280x1024 in DX9 mode all on high and frame rate is smooth as butter.

Very high dx10 settings are out of the question at 1280x1024, I just think its just out of the question for todays hardware & I believe quad core support is not enabled yet but there is rumor of a patch coming on release day.

Oh the game itself its great. Now to put this on context I hated COD4 all that frantic "run here" "do that" sort of thing pisses me off no end, I like to take it easy scout out a position and work out how I am finally going to approach it.

A.I can be good and bad in equal measure, it really is Far Cry part 2 with a better story line.

But it has been well worth the wait. anyway back to play again

Ice_Box wrote: »
    I've been out of touch for a while. Does this game make use of Direct X 10 and all that?
    No. If you have Vista, you can use DX10, otherwise you use DX9.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

I'm being a bit lazy, but to save me finding out elsewhere:
    Can you map keys to control the suit functions? Just played the demo and that middle-click gesture thing bugged me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭steviec

I found the demo quite interesting. Driving through the hut in the jeep was fun and watching it all fall apart. As was using the suit to go invisible and trying to find imaginative ways to kill baddies. I can see that being fun throughout the game.

The graphics were obviously quite nice though I still don't see what all the fuss is about. I had it all on high at a nice smooth framerate and everything but it didn't wow me all that much. Not in the way videos of Assassin's Creed have, or even the Uncharted demo. I don't think technical excellence can make up for great art direction and well animated characters. Or maybe it was just my own expectations being over-inflated going into it because I'd heard so much.

Overall I'd pick it up cheap but it's certainly not at the top of my list. It seems to have much more flexible gameplay than the other big FPS games like CoD4 and Halo 3 which has got to be a good thing, though I'd take CoD first because of its great atmosphere which is something independent of great graphics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭grimm2005

really wanna play it but the demo played like crap on my laptop with any half decent graphics options.
    i was hoping with a 2ghz dual core and a 256mb 7900GS i'd get something out of it but apparently not. the default settings (1024x768, everything at medium) was very choppy. hopefully with an upgrade to 2gb of ram itll run better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭tba

To get a decent frame rate I had to drop the settings real low and thus it looked crap, and you need a good frame rate for twitch games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

New Nvidia driver out for Crysis Version: 169.09

This driver:

* Adds SLI support for Crysis
    * Fixes a water reflection bug in Crysis
    * Adds Control Panel anisotropic filtering support for Crysis

With this driver, SLI will deliver 40-50% speedup over a single GPU for Crysis. In addition, Crytek will release a patch in the next week or two that will improve SLI performance further.

XP 32
    XP 64
    Vista32
    Vista64

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,478 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

My 3.2ghz Quad core & 8800GTX is chomping at the bit for this one! Roll on Friday, straight into Smyths to buy it, should come in around 41 euros

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭bambam

Apparently you can enable 'very high' on XP (it is only normally selectable in vista/DX10)

http://www.actiontrip.com/link.phtml?http://www.crysis-online.com/forum/index.php?topic=11837.0%20msg203789

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭-TK^Creator

My 3.2ghz Quad core & 8800GTX is chomping at the bit for this one! Roll on Friday, straight into Smyths to buy it, should come in around 41 euros

is it not out tmz? the 14th?

hehe this is a game that i would bother to Oc my quad core to get best out of it too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

LookingFor wrote: »

IGN pisses me off, when you go to it all the text is covered by a dark red background and it doesn't turn white for a few seconds so you are straining to read it while it loads, its a pain in the arse, just had to get that off my chest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Been playing away for the past few days, the AI is very poor, barely react to anything going on around them, massive explosions won't even stur the enemy standing 20 meters away, and I'm playing on Hard. some enemies take AGES to kill, used up 2 clips (Single shot) on a guy 30 meters or so away, he was twiching with the bullet hits but just wouldn't die, this seems to happen regulary. i've had enemies just randomly coming out of nowhere, and even groups of men appearing directly behind me that to my knowledge were not there before.

Apart from that its a solid game and I'm enjoying it.

hey pyro, that whole takin a million bullets to the torso thing can be solved by removing ur silencer. its designed so ya dnt overuse ur silencer, that u only use it for accurate headshots or wat not. but ya, AI can be THICK sumtimes, i do like how they take cover tho... BIG EXPLOSIONS....they go BOOM!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Two clips was taking the piss though !! Just finished it there, leads to way for Crysis 2 anyway !

finished?...cool.

didnt like the zero-G level...was jus like swimming...very disorientating and confusing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭Geff

So you thought this game would just be graphics over substance? The same could've been said about Cryteks debut FarCry which turned out to be one of the best next gen FPS after HL2 I had nothing but high expectations for this game and it met those expectations the only gripes I do have is that the guns need to be majorly tweaked for accuracy and damage or maybe its just playing the perfection that is COD4 for gun mechanics plus you need a serious system to play this game. Unlike other companies who optimise their games for an audience with lower end PCs Crytek didn't bother and even with everything on low you still need a fairly modern PC. I will be upgrading soon but the game is great so far. Extremely challenging, almost open ended (for an FPS) and no other major gripes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Geff wrote: »
    The same could've been said about Cryteks debut FarCry which turned out to be one of the best next gen FPS after HL2

I can only imagine there are two different versions of FarCry out there, because the one I played is not even remotely of the same caliber as a game like HL2, and nowhere near one of the best FPS games of recent years.

I'm not expecting much from Crysis, other than gorgeous graphics, so if it's good it's a great bonus. As long as it's better then FarCry, I'll be happy, but from what I've read it suffers from a few of the same problems that game did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

That sounded harsher than I intended it (re:Crysis), I am really looking forward to playing the game, downloading the latest GFW podcast atm. I just think FarCry has gotten more praise than it deserves, but pretty much everyone says Crysis is better so far, so that's promising.

Also, lol giant chickens!
    http://shacknews.com/featuredarticle.x?id=652

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

Anyone care to comment on the multiplayer?
    Im genuinly interested to see how that fairs out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

humanji wrote: »
    No. If you have Vista, you can use DX10, otherwise you use DX9.

Did I not read somewhere on boards that XP can be configured for dx10?? (maybe just 64bit)

Fizman wrote: »
    Did I not read somewhere on boards that XP can be configured for dx10?? (maybe just 64bit)

yes it can be, there links all over the place by this stage!

im really stuck on one level, (the one with the aircraft carrier)....where the hell do i get the TAC cannon to take that big mother of a yoke down????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

Fizman wrote: »

Nope, DX10 is Vista only. But some of the features that where touted as DX10 only in Crysis will run in DX9.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,478 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

is it not out tmz? the 14th?

hehe this is a game that i would bother to Oc my quad core to get best out of it too

Have my QX6700 overclocked to 3.2ghz (so far), with 3gigs of OCZ Platinum memory and will use my overclocked OCZ GTX profile and see how we get on, hope they release the patch for the quad sooner rather then later.. Won't need any heating on whille playing this fecker :)

jus finished it there...farcry > crysis..... crysis = meh (in saying that, farcry is my all time favorite PC game)

still good, jus not mindblowing......storyline sucks.

i really rushed thru the game tho, (college is eating me alive, it needs all my time).

it very re-playable tho in the sense of freedom and the nanosuit. theres a huge number of ways to approach most missions. id definatly play it again a few times, but id really have to have the time to dedicate to it.

didnt like the ending, it woz bollox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

jus finished it there...farcry > crysis..... crysis = meh (in saying that, farcry is my all time favorite PC game)

I really fail to believe how anyone can rate Farcry as their favorite pc game ever. I find that to be an astonishing statement. Farcry wouldnt even be in my top 50 pc games ever. It was pretty. It was also pretty average. (see what I did there?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭Paddy@CIRL

Has anyone begun to sell this early ?

First PC game I'll buy since last Christmas !

Auvers wrote: »
    New Nvidia driver out for Crysis Version: 169.09

This driver:

* Adds SLI support for Crysis
    * Fixes a water reflection bug in Crysis
    * Adds Control Panel anisotropic filtering support for Crysis

With this driver, SLI will deliver 40-50% speedup over a single GPU for Crysis. In addition, Crytek will release a patch in the next week or two that will improve SLI performance further.

XP 32
    XP 64
    Vista32
    Vista64

FYI, the Vista 32 and 64 links are mixed up :)

• Moderators Posts: 5,580 ✭✭✭Azza

I be another that would rate Far Cry well above Half Life 2. Thus I'm really looking forward to Crysis.

What puzzles me about some of the criticism about Crysis is that after a while Crysis reverts to a more linear gameplay approach with less open ended gameplay which gives me deja vu as I remember that is exactly what Far Cry got criticized for.

This would seem like a fair comment as I have always believed open ended gameplay makes the best type of FPS game. But why do games like Half Life and Halo get away being with being so damn linear. I can't recall a single review of Half Life and Half Life 2 that mentioned how completely linear those games are. The game play of both is simply Point A to point B to Point C lead by an invisible hand of a narrow path, its not like valve had a great story to tell by you doing this as Half Life barely fills in any plot gaps. It brought nothing new to the genre except a decent physics engine. Now I'll admit the Half Life games are still excellent games overall, with good atmosphere, good gameplay, and good graphics but I don't believe except in once instance does it match the satisfaction of Far Cry's jungle combat. Its not that Far Cry was totally open ended even in the out door early levels but the sense of space and freedom to try different paths makes it a superior game in my opinion and probably a substantial minority as well feel the same way.

I would also point to all the praise heaped on the ending of Half Life 2: Episode 2 which many regard as the series finest moment which was not only really tense with the time constraint but the most open ended in terms of freedom of movement in the entire Half Life series history.

The thing with HL is that it is brilliant because of its linear nature, not despite it.

Well thats a matter of opinion I suppose. I'm not saying linear gameplay is a totally fatal flaw in any game, the Call of Duty series for example is extremely intense and fun to play in its linear and scripted form and but I believe it is still inferior to freedom of choice games such as Far Cry, Oblivion and the godly Deus Ex which offer a more rewarding gameplay experience as well as a higher replay value.

Half Life has other weaknesses I would contend as well though. Its too easy even on the highest difficulty levels. Its story telling technique of telling us bugger all is annoying. Their is so many gaps in the storyline for example, why in Half Life 2 are the vortigaunts now humanity's allies and why do they speak English, wheres Sheppard from Opposing Force gone?, the central villain your suppose to already know but don't (Dr Breen) why did the G-Man want Alex to get to White Forrest alive when you could of done everything she did when you finally arrived there. I could go on a lot more but hopefully you get the point I'm trying to make. A lot of explanations do exist but they actually exist on websites on the net and not actually in game.

Gameplay wise its still good fun but I was bit underwhelmed in certain contrived sequences where combine troops kept using the endless amounts of exploding barrels as cover (why is their like a zillion exploding barrels in City 17:eek:) Both Half Life's have poor endings with the Zen platforming annoying most people in the original Half Life and then the meh ending in the second one where the supped up gravity gun makes things way too easy and the complete lack of a proper final battle subtract from the overall package.

The AI in Half Life was really good for its time but Half Life 2's AI was nothing spectacular (not terrible either). I can say the human AI of Far Cry was superior to that of the HL series that and the fact the guns where more satisfying as well made the combat more enjoyable and combined with the open ended gameplay and beautiful graphics made Far Cry such a joy to play. While I admit the second half of the game is weaker (I still enjoyed it though) and the plot is silly and voice acting cheesy I believe its merits outweigh that of the Half Life games which I will accuse of being a one trick ponies in offering only linear scripted gameplay, while Far Cry and from what I hear so far Crysis will offer both linear and open ended gameplay.

Azza wrote: »
    Well thats a matter of opinion I suppose. I'm not saying linear gameplay is a totally fatal flaw in any game, the Call of Duty series for example is extremely intense and fun to play in its linear and scripted form and but I believe it is still inferior to freedom of choice games such as Far Cry, Oblivion and the godly Deus Ex which offer a more rewarding gameplay experience as well as a higher replay value.

Half Life has other weaknesses I would contend as well though. Its too easy even on the highest difficulty levels. Its story telling technique of telling us bugger all is annoying. Their is so many gaps in the storyline for example, why in Half Life 2 are the vortigaunts now humanity's allies and why do they speak English, wheres Sheppard from Opposing Force gone?, the central villain your suppose to already know but don't (Dr Breen) why did the G-Man want Alex to get to White Forrest alive when you could of done everything she did when you finally arrived there. I could go on a lot more but hopefully you get the point I'm trying to make. A lot of explanations do exist but they actually exist on websites on the net and not actually in game.

Gameplay wise its still good fun but I was bit underwhelmed in certain contrived sequences where combine troops kept using the endless amounts of exploding barrels as cover (why is their like a zillion exploding barrels in City 17:eek:) Both Half Life's have poor endings with the Zen platforming annoying most people in the original Half Life and then the meh ending in the second one where the supped up gravity gun makes things way too easy and the complete lack of a proper final battle subtract from the overall package.

The AI in Half Life was really good for its time but Half Life 2's AI was nothing spectacular (not terrible either). I can say the human AI of Far Cry was superior to that of the HL series that and the fact the guns where more satisfying as well made the combat more enjoyable and combined with the open ended gameplay and beautiful graphics made Far Cry such a joy to play. While I admit the second half of the game is weaker (I still enjoyed it though) and the plot is silly and voice acting cheesy I believe its merits outweigh that of the Half Life games which I will accuse of being a one trick ponies in offering only linear scripted gameplay, while Far Cry and from what I hear so far Crysis will offer both linear and open ended gameplay.

.....what he said :D

couldnt agree with you more, although i would go as far to say that half-life although in its earlier days was immensely impressive, the half-life series is getting stale and repetitive with improvements in graphics and new engines becoming merely a gimmick. to be honest, i found the graphics in far cry appeasing, but not so much so that the graphics stood out prominently as the main highlight of the game, in fact farcry never struck me as a game with graphical godliness. it was simply the storyline, the environment, the atmosphere, and the bloody good sound of the guns that earned its place as number 1 for me.

although i do like crysis, i think farcry still reserves that number 1 spot for me, i just find crysis ....lacking... in a few areas.

Most people like either far cry or Half life, fact is they are very different games, one is a storybased shooter, the other is a tactical shooter. One has a first class script with subtle clues to the plot and the other is like getting slapped in the face by an exploding childrens dictionary.

One emphasises its gameplay and pacing over pure visuals allowing low end machines to run it, one puts uber graphics to the front relying on emergent gameplay, while crippling all but the best machines.

One is **** one is good.

I like both but I prefer Far Cry. They both are FPS games so direct comparisons can be made.

Half Life 2 does not have a first class script not even close. The story is deeply lacking.
    Subtle clues ??? You referring to those Breen Casts (which are merely good mood casters and rarely give away much relating to the plot) and that one (note the one) clipboard in Eli Vance's lab with reference to the seven hour war which I missed on my first play through. I found that really lazy storying telling from Valve. They could of fleshed out the Combine a lot more, how they where able to conquer earth so quick and what their connection is to the original Half Life aliens. Its not like I have not seen 1,000's of movies and played through lots of games. I got those subtle clues you refer too (except the afro mentioned clipboard) but they still don't add up to anywhere near a complete storyline even if it is the middle chapter in a trilogy.

As I said about Far Cry that plot is retarded but it did give me one or two giggles. But I'm willing to forgive that as I'm having so much fun playing the game. Its gameplay easily match its visual qualities.

True Half Life does not require a beast of a machine to run and still looks good. But at least Far Cry players did not have to put up with requiring a net connection (which was an issue for many Irish players), problems with steam and the unfixed looping sound bug that prevented me from finishing episode 1.

If I was to be really cynical about the HL franchise I might say that this episodic content system from Valve is a pure money maker for them. Instead of paying for one Half Life 3 game (which is what exactly the 3 Half Life 2 episodes are, valve even said that) they can charge us for 3 games while not have to bother developing a new graphics engine and only make minor cosmetic changes and extremely minor gameplay changes. As the Escapist review and Sebstainlieken pointed out above the series is starting to repeat itself quite abit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

soooo.... ? .... anymore reviews of Crysis? Those who finished it or are playing through it at the moment, is it as good as we expected? Is it as good as Far Cry or just more of the same?

How are the weapons?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Not fussed over single player in games,anyone got comments on multiplayer?

I'm playing it now. Can't be arsed with MP, but the SP is pretty good. The AI is better than I thought. There's been a few good firefights so far. They get quite intense, and where as in other shooters, you tend to take everyone out and then move on, I found myself being heavily out numbered and just turning invisible and legging it.

The maps are pretty cool, and give you a bit of variety as to how you get to your waypoints. But this variety in basically, go in the front, or go in the sides (and occasionally, you get to go in from the rear.

It really is an updated Farcry, which is good news for some and not so good for others. It looks amazing and plays great, but it really is pretty much the same type of thing. And what kind of went against it (and it can't really be blamed for it), was the fact that last week I was playing Call Of Duty 4, so going from that to Crysis was a bit of a let down. COD4 is so much more fun and Crysis' more subdued playing style kind of bored me a little.

But it's still fun, and I've yet to feck around with the editor :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,352 ✭✭✭Ardent

humanji wrote: »
    I'm playing it now. Can't be arsed with MP, but the SP is pretty good. The AI is better than I thought. There's been a few good firefights so far. They get quite intense, and where as in other shooters, you tend to take everyone out and then move on, I found myself being heavily out numbered and just turning invisible and legging it.

The maps are pretty cool, and give you a bit of variety as to how you get to your waypoints. But this variety in basically, go in the front, or go in the sides (and occasionally, you get to go in from the rear.

It really is an updated Farcry, which is good news for some and not so good for others. It looks amazing and plays great, but it really is pretty much the same type of thing. And what kind of went against it (and it can't really be blamed for it), was the fact that last week I was playing Call Of Duty 4, so going from that to Crysis was a bit of a let down. COD4 is so much more fun and Crysis' more subdued playing style kind of bored me a little.

But it's still fun, and I've yet to feck around with the editor :D

Good review. That pretty much sums it up for me too. I'll be playing COD4 for a while more before I go back to Crysis, so much more fun. Not ready to play Far Cry 2 just yet.