Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Honest/Decent Taxi Drivers?

• 07-11-2007 3:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭

Are there any out there?

I've always assumed the majority of taxi drivers were decent folks until recently,whereas I now believe the decent ones are a minority.

A number of incidents have made me change my mind recently.

Firstly,I was taking a taxi home from leopardstown pavilion after an event on Sunday morning. As I got out of the cab at my house,my camera fell out of my pocket. When I realised,I called my friend who was staying in the taxi after me. He said he had found my camera,and told the driver that he had found a camera and thought it might be mine,but he wasnt able to look at the photos. The driver,instead of asking my friend to call me and check if I had lost it,or trying to turn the photos on himself,simply demanded that my friend give him the camera because he 'had to drop it in somewhere', like lost property.

My friend gave him it...and I've rang the carriage office everyday since,and there has been no sign. So,the taxi driver,in full cold-blooded knowledge,tricked my friend out of rescuing my camera,and now has a new one for himself. If it had been almost any other form of transport,or situation where a worker had found something clearly holding value,both emotional and otherwise,would've handed it in somewhere. There needs to be some kind of regulation on this sort of thing,if you can't trust the person driving you.

As well as this,over the last 3 weeks I've taken around 10 taxis,and no exaggeration, I've heard the term "black ****/bloody ******/" 6 times out of 10.

All this being said,there are numerous lovely taxidrivers,and i think its a shame that they can be tarred with the same brush.

Any one able to restore my faith in taxi drivers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

zuchum wrote: »
    There needs to be some kind of regulation on this sort of thing
    There is.
    As well as this,over the last 3 weeks I've taken around 10 taxis
    If you dislike taxis so much, then why do you use them so frequently?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭zuchum

djpbarry wrote: »
    There is.

there is,but it's useless,because they have no control over the individual taxis.

And because I have to get them to work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

I got a taxi last week. I had to stop at an ATM on the way home to get money out to pay for the taxi. While I was at the ATM he stopped the meter. Then when I went to pay him, he charged me less than what was on the meter.

It's a pity about the camera. Did your friend get a receipt? It should have the license number printed on it.

nope,unfortunately, my friend was a drunken fool unfortunately,and didn't get any sort of info on the taxi,which is a shame.

I still live in hope that he hands it in,but I was talking to another taxi driver yesterday, who told me it was as good as gone,because,a decent bloke would've told my friend to call me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,025 ✭✭✭Ham'nd'egger

There is.

Lost property in taxi's is still dealt with by the Carriage Office, or by a local carriage officer outside of Dublin. Most cab drivers who turn out some lost property will try return it back to the rightful owner as far as possible as a trip into Dublin Castle tends to take far longer than tracing steps to a house/office the day after. I'm shocked that the cab driver pulled such a stunt though in fairness, I'd say a great many passengers would quietly pocket something of value as well; a case of both ways.

With regards to complaints about a taxi, the only way to register same is via the Taxi Regulators office, fill out a form and await word back. I would suggest you do so, but please have some information to identify the driver (Name, plate, drivers name, if the car was booked try the radio firm or even type of car will help) otherwise you are unlikely to get far.

there is,but it's useless,because they have no control over the individual taxis.
    From The Commission for Taxi Regulation:
    By virtue of section 34 of the Taxi Regulation Act 2003 the Commission for Taxi Regulation is empowered to make regulations in relation to the licensing, ownership, control and operation of small public service vehicles (SPSVs), the licensing and control of small public service vehicle drivers, and the standards to be applied to such vehicles and their drivers.
    And because I have to get them to work.
    You have no alternative?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,858 ✭✭✭paulm17781

Its pretty much time taxis were brought up to a minimum standard. Uniforms for one, perhaps even a standardized car. I couldn't give a toss if LFC are his favorite team, I'm not paying him for the privilege of this knowledge. Another wonderful one is when they listen to the radio, on the back speakers, so loud that you can't speak to the person sitting beside you. I didn't realize I was paying the driver to listen to his choice of radio. Don't get me started on racism...

That said I have met some really decent taxi drivers. It is just a shame the racists / rude ones are what come to most people's minds first.

penexpers wrote: »
    I got a taxi last week. I had to stop at an ATM on the way home to get money out to pay for the taxi. While I was at the ATM he stopped the meter. Then when I went to pay him, he charged me less than what was on the meter.

It's a pity about the camera. Did your friend get a receipt? It should have the license number printed on it.
    From The Commission for Taxi Regulation:

You have no alternative?

Can they do anything in this situation though?

Work pays for the taxis,I have to get them,as there is no other way for me to get to Lucan from where I am in rush hour traffic,so no,I there is no viable alternative.

I never said I hated the service,I was just questioning the decency of taxi drivers,and the racism is just unpleasant,and awkward.

the racism is just unpleasant,and awkward.

Mildly drunk I gave one a lecture about it once. His complete ignorance of other races / religions is what really got to me. I was quite amazed how he shut up afterward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭Chris_533976

Some taxi drivers are great, after a good night of drinking one asked me what I was doing in College (this was the night of the end of the final exams). When I told him, he was like "thats fantastic, fair play to you, should be more people like you out there". He charged me less and wouldnt let me leave without shaking my hand and wishing me best of luck :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 538 ✭✭✭SickCert

He charged me less and wouldnt let me leave without shaking my hand and wishing me best of luck

Did you get your watch back yet?:D

Can they do anything in this situation though?
    You won't know unless you try. I always make a point of noting a taxi's license number as I get in, just in case I need it.
    I never said I hated the service,I was just questioning the decency of taxi drivers,and the racism is just unpleasant,and awkward.
    Racism should always be reported. You would not tolerate it from a bus driver, so why tolerate it from a taxi driver?

As it happens, I lodged a complaint with the Taxi Regulators last week. They sent me an acknowledgement a couple of days ago to say they would investigate. We'll see if anything comes of it.

You should definitely report these things - too many people in this country are prepared to "put up" with substandard services. Nothing will change unless people complain.

That is an excellent point. I never even thought of that. :confused:

Who do you report them to, the regulator?

paulm17781 wrote: »
    Who do you report them to, the regulator?
    Yep. You can download a form here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

I think taxi drivers are on average the same as other people, but the spread is greater. You have really decent salt of the earth types who help old ladies and organise the outings for children and the like. These would stop and help you if you broke down. Then at the opposite end there are scumbags that would cheat you as soon as look at you.

You won't know unless you try. I always make a point of noting a taxi's license number as I get in, just in case I need it.

I know,and I see what you're sying but I have tried,and it was unfortunate that neither myself nor my friend took the number or got receipt..quite frustrating,especially having lost my photos...now all I have is these stinking memories!
    And good point about complaining,I will do it,but not without feeling a slight tinge of guilt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭Keith186

I've a mixed experience to be honest.

A good few are sound and have a bit of craic, I even had to pay less than the fare twice.

Once got taxi home and fare was £14 back then and he only charged me £10, that was Fitzers. Then another time very recently got a taxi for what would be 15 min walk and there was two of us and my mate paid his half but when I got to my half I only had a score and fare was a fiver or less and he said it was cool.

That's some faith restored.

Don't have enough time to tell you about the bad times, namely getting ripped off, dropped off early because they don't want to go, kicked out for **** all and so on.

I wouldn't be racist, treat people with same respect I get from them but I've noticed a few (2/3) Africans were trying to charge my friends €60 to get home when it's about €30 on meter, told them about new rules etc but they didn't bother gettng licence plate number which you need to if your gonna bother complaining or otherwide it's just a generalisation. Have a good laugh with most of them though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭redved

About a year ago I dropped my bike into a mechanic in Crumlin to be serviced.
    This meant I had to get a taxi home to Sandyford on a Friday afternoon.
    After about 15 mins walking I managed to stop a taxi. The driver dropped me off and refused to take any money as he was on his way home anyway and thats the way he was going. Sound man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,025 ✭✭✭Ham'nd'egger

Keith186 wrote: »
    I've a mixed experience to be honest.

A good few are sound and have a bit of craic, I even had to pay less than the fare twice.

Once got taxi home and fare was £14 back then and he only charged me £10, that was Fitzers. Then another time very recently got a taxi for what would be 15 min walk and there was two of us and my mate paid his half but when I got to my half I only had a score and fare was a fiver or less and he said it was cool.

That's some faith restored.

Don't have enough time to tell you about the bad times, namely getting ripped off, dropped off early because they don't want to go, kicked out for **** all and so on.

I wouldn't be racist, treat people with same respect I get from them but I've noticed a few (2/3) Africans were trying to charge my friends €60 to get home when it's about €30 on meter, told them about new rules etc but they didn't bother gettng licence plate number which you need to if your gonna bother complaining or otherwide it's just a generalisation. Have a good laugh with most of them though...

Interesting points Keith. Occasionally, I have trotted people about for free and they are appreciatative of it. Some punters on the other hand, just moan from the minute they enter the car and are looking for an excuse to take it out on you (I almost got assaulted in my first week on the job for putting all of €1 in extras onto a fare).

On occasion I have heard some tales of drivers getting hopelessly lost, running on charges for "odd" reasons, shall we say, drivers putting on meters while looking for houses, bags etc etc. Evidentally, either people don't care or know what they should be charged, inspite of the rate cards being in front of them (Well, ought to be in front).

On the issue of non national drivers, there is some stories of overcharging from them and drivers having no idea where they are going; personally I have only heard of one such incident but no doubts it is going on. There is a few urban myths about test score of these drivers being far lower than for "Irish" drivers but personally I think it is sour grapes from a few bitter drivers.

Keith186 wrote: »
    I've noticed a few (2/3) Africans were trying to charge my friends €60 to get home when it's about €30 on meter, told them about new rules etc but they didn't bother gettng licence plate number which you need to if your gonna bother complaining or otherwide it's just a generalisation.
    I have had no more problems with black taxi drivers than I have had with white - let's not start generalising please. I find that people are far more likely to take note of unpleasant incidents with black drivers than they are with white and far quicker to share them with other people too!

If you get ripped off, irrespective of the driver's race, colour or creed, complain to the taxi regulator. No need to mention the driver's skin colour - they're all just numbers to the regulator anyway.

I totally agree and that's what get me with taxi drivers (and others too). You'll get some story like "such and such did whatever, they were... eh... foreign."

It's as though an Irish person has never done any wrong in their lives.

Sorry, totally OT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

SickCert wrote: »
    Did you get your watch back yet?:D

No he lost that on yer bus, did you not give it in yet.....

As a Taxi Driver its shocking to read the horror stories that still go on, but FFS will you ever wise up and cop on, the status won't improve while you merely rant and rave to each other on here.... Typical moaning but will you do anything about it. Snowball in Hell comes to mind.

The Taxi Regulator spent x,000 euros on advertising campaigns TELLING you of your RIGHTS, did you bother to listen or read, maybe a few did, the rest were " Too busy getting ready for a night on town"

Now for those that can be bothered go to

www.taxiregulator.ie and read up, it might save you a lot of problems later.

Now for the real insider tips....

If you get a Taxi and they say the fare is €60 or whatever and they are NOT running the meter, get them to stop off at a Garda Station on the way and pop in on the pretence of "whatever" ( don't leave anything too valuable as security, if they ask ) and get the Gards to roust him. No meter, No fare, No proof

If you get in a car and his ID isn't on the dash ( Big Yellow laminated Official looking thing ) then demand to see it, if he can't/won't show it, then get out. You'll get a good cab driver sooner or later. If everyone did it then all drivers would comply because of not getting fares.

If the car is dirty inside/outside allowing for conditions, then tell the driver why and walk to the next cab on the rank....Again they will soon get the message

When you get in a cab look for the Round Sticker on the front and rear screens, it will have info on the plate number and the EXPIRY of the license if its out and he crashes ...NO insurance...

If you're going out don't get so Pi**ed that you don't know what you're doing, not only Bad Taxi Drivers but lots of realy BAD people roam the streets at night

Get known by your local cab company, you would be surprised how often a suburban company has taxis in town who would love a fare back to civilised society, FFS it only costs €2 on the extras.

If you insist on trying to hail a cab when its busy,

don't lean on a post it means "too drunk to stand up" to a taximan

don't get over excited, jumping up and down waving like a madman, means "high as a kite on something"

don't wait on the street in a big crowd ( unless it's a rank ) means " If I stop here I'm gonna get grief over people saying I'm 1st"

When you do get your cab then

don't eat/drink/smoke in the cab, most real decent taxi drivers will tell you to stop or pay up and get out and walk ( BTW it is an offence to refuse to pay if your evicted from a cab for a valid reason )

don't complain if you puke in his car and he demands €125 soilage plus the fare, you're the one that made the mess, he's the one who'll have to pay a valet company or wear his marigolds while he should be out working

don't complain if he only wants €20 or so for a carwash if you puke out the window, no-one wants to get in a car with puke all down the side and he's losing money going to a carwash and getting it cleaned off instead of working

DO complain if the taxi driver is overcharging or putting extra extras on the meter

DO complain if he seems lost, but try and be nice about it, we all get lost sometimes, most decent drivers will discount the fare if they do get lost.

DO ask for a receipt if you genuinely feel the need, just don't litter with it as it's traceable to the cab

DO note the number of the cab

DO check to make sure you have everything when you leave

DO complain if there is something dodgy about the taxi

Above all else....... Don't have nightmares, despite the foregoing thread MOST taxidrivers are OK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Well I ****ed up today by falling asleep on the bus and missing my stop for college, got a bus as close as i could and then hailed a taxi for the last kilometre or so and I told the driver what had happened and he refused to take my money when he dropped me off. If that's not decent I don't know what is.
    As plenty have already said, there's some sound drivers, some wánkers and most in the middle, same as any job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

There was a nice little taxi driver story on the Gay Byrne Hour radio show many years ago.

A girl, who is the key holder for her office, over-sleeps and is running 30 minutes late. She gets a taxi and when approaching her office, is mortified to see her colleagues and bosses standing outside. She explains her predicament to the taxi driver as he pulls into the right hand side of the street in front of the office.

"Tell ye what love" he says, "go round to me winda when you're payin' me"

She duly gets out of the car looking very embarrassed and goes to his window and pays him. As she is walking away he calls:

"Listen love, sorry again about that oul puncture, second one I got this week".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

Ive had mixed experiences, most of them seem like decent folk, for example i left my mobile in a taxi one night and i sent a text to my phone leaving a contact number, the driver rang it the next day and drove out to DCU to give it to me, which was class of him.

Another time this one driver went the longest way possible out to DCU which would usually cost about 12 or 13 euro ended up as about 18/19 euro, got his id number but i didnt bother reporting him in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,083 ✭✭✭✭Stark

It's the same as any other profession, there are dicks and there are good 'uns.

One thing I've noticed is that every day when I have to turn left and squeeze into a queue of cars who've been driving illegally in the bus lane is that it's *always* a taxi driver who lets me in.

Then again, the other week I was dropping a friend off somewhere, so indicated, pulled into a lay-by, then left him out and as he was getting out a taxi driver started beeping the horn at me as he drove past. Oh the ironing... So yeah, you definitely have the nice ones and the ignorant ones.

He was trying to get you to smile as he took your photo with zuchum's camera? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭LostinBlanch

Spook_ie wrote: »
    Now for the real insider tips....

If you get a Taxi and they say the fare is €60 or whatever and they are NOT running the meter, get them to stop off at a Garda Station on the way and pop in on the pretence of "whatever" ( don't leave anything too valuable as security, if they ask ) and get the Gards to roust him. No meter, No fare, No proof

If you get in a car and his ID isn't on the dash ( Big Yellow laminated Official looking thing ) then demand to see it, if he can't/won't show it, then get out. You'll get a good cab driver sooner or later. If everyone did it then all drivers would comply because of not getting fares.

If the car is dirty inside/outside allowing for conditions, then tell the driver why and walk to the next cab on the rank....Again they will soon get the message

When you get in a cab look for the Round Sticker on the front and rear screens, it will have info on the plate number and the EXPIRY of the license if its out and he crashes ...NO insurance...

If you're going out don't get so Pi**ed that you don't know what you're doing, not only Bad Taxi Drivers but lots of realy BAD people roam the streets at night

Get known by your local cab company, you would be surprised how often a suburban company has taxis in town who would love a fare back to civilised society, FFS it only costs €2 on the extras.

If you insist on trying to hail a cab when its busy,

don't lean on a post it means "too drunk to stand up" to a taximan

don't get over excited, jumping up and down waving like a madman, means "high as a kite on something"

don't wait on the street in a big crowd ( unless it's a rank ) means " If I stop here I'm gonna get grief over people saying I'm 1st"

When you do get your cab then

don't eat/drink/smoke in the cab, most real decent taxi drivers will tell you to stop or pay up and get out and walk ( BTW it is an offence to refuse to pay if your evicted from a cab for a valid reason )

don't complain if you puke in his car and he demands €125 soilage plus the fare, you're the one that made the mess, he's the one who'll have to pay a valet company or wear his marigolds while he should be out working

don't complain if he only wants €20 or so for a carwash if you puke out the window, no-one wants to get in a car with puke all down the side and he's losing money going to a carwash and getting it cleaned off instead of working

DO complain if the taxi driver is overcharging or putting extra extras on the meter

DO complain if he seems lost, but try and be nice about it, we all get lost sometimes, most decent drivers will discount the fare if they do get lost.

DO ask for a receipt if you genuinely feel the need, just don't litter with it as it's traceable to the cab

DO note the number of the cab

DO check to make sure you have everything when you leave

DO complain if there is something dodgy about the taxi

Above all else....... Don't have nightmares, despite the foregoing thread MOST taxidrivers are OK

Fair play spook. There's a few good tips there.

What do you say about the best way of getting a taxi* from town at the weekend after all the pubs have closed?

Walk out along the quays hoping to get a taxi coming to town? Or have you got any other ideas?

*Assuming your local co doesn't have any spare cabs in town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭trellheim

Great post Spook

Best advice in weeks.

Taxi drivers

a: get licenced by the council/regulator/Pie in the Sky
    b: are insured by a company
    c: get checked by coppers a lot
    d: pass a PSV test
    e: have a full licence

so compared to your average punter the taxi driver is kept an eye on more than most.

As for taxis at night...

walk back the quays westbound on northside

or stand outside Connolly LUAS

or stand outside Flannery's on Camden St or anywhere on Harcourt usually.

there are 2 normal nights no-one can get cabs [ i.e. not including Xmas Day etc ] cuz everyone's on the lash.

1: Stephen's night
    2: last Saturday before Xmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

trellheim wrote: »
    As for taxis at night...

walk back the quays westbound on northside

or stand outside Connolly LUAS

or stand outside Flannery's on Camden St or anywhere on Harcourt usually
    ...or just go into the nearest 'nice' hotel and tip the concierge/night porter! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭roy123456789

What do you say about the best way of getting a taxi* from town at the weekend after all the pubs have closed?

Walk out along the quays hoping to get a taxi coming to town? Or have you got any other ideas?

All the information you need is here; :)
    How to get a Taxi in Dublin between 2 and 5am on a Saturday

Main tip is......

Don't look as though you're going to give any grief, wait on O'Connell bridge and ask any of the empty cabs as they stop at the lights, as long as you look ok and aren't too boisterous (remember, what you think is great craic might not be the drivers idea of fun, like winding the window down and abusing people who haven't gotten a cab yet!) it won't be long before someone says ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Interesting observation from Spook concerning the behaviour of passengers AFTER they get a cab...

Has anybody else noticed the increasing amount of young `wans who travel about the City in Stretched American Limousine`s whilst bellowing and screeching through the open windows ?

Worse still is the fact that most of it is simply ragged gutter abuse of the sort which these "howya`s" used to screech at each other while they assembled outside Dr Quirkeys.

Quite what the rest of Dublin has done to deserve being imposed upon in this way by "Outside Dr Quirkeys on tour" is beyond me.

It must be a real deadener for the driver to have to sit in close proximity to what is,by the sound of it,a fair representation of a Bernard Manning Turkey Farm at flu vaccine time.......Any thoughts from the ranks.......(Taxi ranks,that is ) ;)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

AlekSmart wrote: »
    Interesting observation from Spook concerning the behaviour of passengers AFTER they get a cab...

Has anybody else noticed the increasing amount of young `wans who travel about the City in Stretched American Limousine`s whilst bellowing and screeching through the open windows ?

Worse still is the fact that most of it is simply ragged gutter abuse of the sort which these "howya`s" used to screech at each other while they assembled outside Dr Quirkeys.

Quite what the rest of Dublin has done to deserve being imposed upon in this way by "Outside Dr Quirkeys on tour" is beyond me.

It must be a real deadener for the driver to have to sit in close proximity to what is,by the sound of it,a fair representation of a Bernard Manning Turkey Farm at flu vaccine time.......Any thoughts from the ranks.......(Taxi ranks,that is ) ;)

To be fair it's not confined to one " group " of people, you get Northsiders and Southsiders and they can both be as "skangery" ( just invented a new word ) as any of the best skangers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭LostinBlanch

Spook, John,

cheers for that. It's the kind of thing I would've done anyway. But it's always good to get confirmation.