Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best GAA Songs

• 02-11-2007 10:42am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭

What are the greatest and worst in this category.
    If you can back up your theory with the artist and some lyrics from the song it would be great.
    'So What is the Story Martin Storey?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

Dancing at the Crossroads, Wexford's All-Ireland song in 1996, has to be one of the greatest... you can hear it here

Though I've never actually heard it, one of the worst GAA song decisions ever has to be the Kerry five-in-a-row song from 1982 (which Google tells me was sung by Galleon)... counting chickens and all that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Listening to Dancing at the Crossroads now, will put on the Purple and Gold after that. We won't mention Dancing at the Crossroads '97.

I think the worst one I have heard was the Mayo song from 1996, lyrics were something like "Mayo, Maaayyooo - Sam Maguires coming back to Mayo-oo"

This list might be better for more traditional songs http://www.anfearrua.com/story.asp?id=1004

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭johnnyrotten123

yahoo_moe wrote: »
    Dancing at the Crossroads, Wexford's All-Ireland song in 1996, has to be one of the greatest... you can hear it here

Though I've never actually heard it, one of the worst GAA song decisions ever has to be the Kerry five-in-a-row song from 1982 (which Google tells me was sung by Galleon)... counting chickens and all that

That song will always take me right back (Dancing at the Crossroad I mean, not Kerry's brutal five-in-a-row song, I'm not that old). Whatever happened to the Wild Swans?? They may have the best AND worst...remember The Purple and Gold'? I think it went something like this....

Oh the Purple and Gold,
    is my heart and my soul,
    From the men of today,
    To the heroes of old

Oh the Purple and Gold,
    Is a dream I'm still told (?)
    Oh it's a beauty to behold,
    When you see the Purple and Gold!

Still, I remember belting it out as Sean Flood and Tom Dempsey gave a rendition from the steps of the Hogan after 'The Billy Byrne' Leinster final win in 97!! Ah, the memories....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Green Giant

After Clare won the 1995 Munster final:

In the year of 1995 in the middle of July
    All of Munster suffered sunstroke and the grass had all run dry
    We've waited 63 long years, we're waiting around no more
    You ain't heard nothing yet til you hear the Banner roar
    (deafening roar)

Ah happy days!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Tomthepost

Tried to find the lyrics of the Kerry five in a row song but can't
    I know it went
    Five in a row
    Can you believe we've won five in a row.

Did find this however

Choose offaly....

Choose pain, heartache, depression....
    choose whether or not to wear your county colours for fear of ridicule should you be at the wrong end of another hammering...
    choose false hope at the start of each championship

Choose laois as the enemy, Westmeath as an annoyance, Dublin as soccer heads, mayo as your favourite underdogs....
    choose to wish dessie dolan was born our side of the border....
    choose the o connor park as mecca, o moore park as a hay shed, mullingar as a hell hole....

Choose whether to travel up to Croker the day before or the morning of the big match...
    choose whether or not to take home that laois girl you met in butches.....
    choose a big mighty fry before the match in friends cousins ex boyfriends place....
    choose too many pints before the match.....
    choose the Big Tree,quinns or gils after the match....
    choose to go on the piss even though we lost again

Choose to hope that McNamee is on form and finally gets it right,
    choose to forget shaper but thank him for the final in the league .....

Choose to be a Garda,bogger, Civil Servant, plasterer, carpenter, plumber,
    electrician, nurse....
    choose a flat in tullamore, edenderry or clara....
    choose to buy a house in Birr or ferbane,
    Lucan....
    choose The bridge, hole in de wall, No.1, Melbas,
    THE HARRIERS.....

Choose to leave your place of birth at the tender age of 17....
    choose to go to college in Galway, Sligo, UL, UCD or get the start with the big brother in Dublin....
    chose only to return home for Christmas, Easter, the local town festival, leinster Championship fixtures....
    choose whether or not to apply for a job in the one local factory and accept half your current wage in the hope that life will be better than the rat race in the big smoke

Choose the bog train, clonmacnoise, grand canal....
    Choose tullamore dew, sherwood, dunnes, tesco, county council to work.....
    choose the Bridge house to get married....
    Choose Banagher for holidays....
    choose the offaly express, tribune and the offaly indo to read

Choose long summer days in the bog, driving a tractor at 12, going to the local mart as a big day out....
    choose your first car a souped up Jap import, on your mothers insurance, don't tax it until you are caught....
    choose the site your father leaves you and to build a
    unimaginatively designed mansion on it

Choose the two teacher school for primary education, the big school in town for secondary....
    choose to go down town durin study, play pool in the pub, hope the teachers dont notice you....
    Choose getting a pint in the local at 16, seeing your father in the local disco, thinking you scored because you kissed a girl in de harriers....
    choose to stand outside the church at Sunday mass
    choose, to always be a BIFFO even though you get abuse all the time for it

Choose Niall McNamee as your God
    Choose Offaly GAA as something that actually made you proud to be from offaly
    Choose Birr as your second mecca
    Choose Reds
    Choose Kearns bus to bring you to school
    Choose the deep end and the bridge

Choose 103.5 fm
    Choose to understand the fact that theres a high posibility of offaly being the bridesmaids again this year
    Choose The Dooleys nd seamus Darby as the men who inspired you to love GAA
    Choose lying to a taxi man telling him you'r from rhode when you are really from edenderry
    Choose to get sick in the taxi on the way home from bridge

Choose to get delight from the look of fear on peoples faces when you tell them your from offaly
    Choose to play loud dance music from your massey
    Choose the Bridge Centre for all your shopping needs(Go on christy Maye)
    Choose fellow BIFFOs as your friends

Choose life as a BIFFO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

C'mon you boys in blue is by far the best!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭JMULL

What about "Sam Maguire is Coming home to Mayo" by Tom Tom and the Byrne Babes. So Sad its funny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭eddiehobbs

After Clare won the 1995 Munster final:

In the year of 1995 in the middle of July
    All of Munster suffered sunstroke and the grass had all run dry
    We've waited 63 long years, we're waiting around no more
    You ain't heard nothing yet til you hear the Banner roar
    (deafening roar)

Ah happy days!

Yeah The banner roar!! Wish i had that on cd!!. Definatly the best Gaa song ever. There was loads of Clare songs back in 1995. There was another one called Come on the banner 1995. The lyrics escape me for that one but those were happy days. If i can think of all the lyrics il put them up for the banner roar, memorys a bit patchy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭coolhandc

heffos army!the jacks are back,jacks are back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

What about "Boom boom boom, let me here you say Jayo" for Dublin in 95? :D

Although not exclusively GAA songs, "Molly Malone" and "The Rare Auld Times" both send a shiver down my spine on the odd occasion that the Hill starts singing them.

Kilkenny fans have a fair few songs about Waterford but I don't think the Waterford lads on here would be too pleased to hear them! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭d6

star of the county down! what a song for the team of 94'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭coolhandc

An Citeog wrote: »
    What about "Boom boom boom, let me here you say Jayo" for Dublin in 95? :D

yeh but that wasnt really a dublin song we just changed the words from "wayo" to "jayo"!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 883 ✭✭✭moe_sizlak

perhaps a more appropriate title for this thread would be , WHATS THE BEST OF A BAD BUNCH of gaa songs , seeing that there all so awfull

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Rare Old Times definately if it counts as a GAA song.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Green and Red of Mayo

Not really a GAA song although it is often sung. More to counteract the awfulness of that Sam Maguire is coming home to Mayo song

• Closed Accounts Posts: 668 ✭✭✭mise_me_fein

I remember Mayo had mayo mayo, Sam Maguire coming home to Mayo....that was pretty good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭johnnyrotten123

I remember Mayo had mayo mayo, Sam Maguire coming home to Mayo....that was pretty good.

Sarcasm I take it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 668 ✭✭✭mise_me_fein

Just remember it being good when I heard it on the Late Late.

Not wanting to be outdone, their close neighbours came up with their own piece of lyrical genius.

Ge, ge, ge, Galway...

It's still not as bad as those in Tipperary. Tipp, Tipp, Tipp, Tipp, Tipp....to infinity! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Not wanting to be outdone, their close neighbours came up with their own piece of lyrical genius.

Ge, ge, ge, Galway...

It's still not as bad as those in Tipperary. Tipp, Tipp, Tipp, Tipp, Tipp....to infinity! :D

In fairness to my adoptive hometowners (and dirty b*stards) they didn't come up with that it was on an add

I can take losing 4 All-Ireland senior final in 10yrs, I can take being disappointed half the times I go to Croker, I can even take the whole county being branded as losers but that song makes me embarrassed to be from Mayo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Jeapy

JMULL wrote: »
    What about "Sam Maguire is Coming home to Mayo" by Tom Tom and the Byrne Babes. So Sad its funny

Lol. Did anyone hear the mayo ladies song from this years campaign? So so so bad! :eek: Cant find the lyrics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Kerry On Tour

Lesson: Never release a song entitled "here we go, 5 in a row" and you have only won 4 and still have to play a team with Seamus Darby named as last sub!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭JayoCluxton

I had the Mayo song from their last win but its a 78 so I can't play it on anything!;)

Jacks are back was a great song - some of the lyrics were

"Oh the Jacks are back, the Jacks are back
    Let the Railway End go barmy
    Cos Hill 16 has never seen
    The likes of Heffo's Army.

We'll be marching down from Ringsend
    And from Ballyfermot too
    From East Wall and Marino
    To support the Boys in blue

For 11 years we've waited
    Now there's nothing left to prove
    Lets hear it now for Dublin
    Heffo's Army on the move

Jacks are back, Jacks are back etc."

Jesus innocent days! Unfortunately we've now waited 12 years ... and counting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭The Chessplayer

Was at another insignificant leinster hurling final a few years ago where Wexford got their customary almighty hiding off Kilkenny, and having been teased by a bunch of Kilkenny heads, a group of Wexford fans sang "I'd rather be a Paki than a cat."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭EoimarMuppet

ok this is an old ditty i remember from my days in "The Hill" as a garsun!! ;)

Trevor (YOU KNOW WHO) is illegitimate
    He aint got no Birth Certificate
    He's got nits and cant get rid of it
    Trevor (g) is illegitamite

Disgraceful................i know ;)

Wheres your father, wheres your father, wheres your father Geraghty,
    You havent got one, you havent got one,
    your a ba*ard geraghty...!!

Truly shocking stuff altogether!
    Those Dubs!!!!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

kevmy wrote: »
    In fairness to my adoptive hometowners (and dirty b*stards) they didn't come up with that it was on an add

:rolleyes::confused::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

The rendition of The West's Awake by Joe McDonagh when Galway won the Liam McCarthy in 1980 was quite moving. Also does anyone remember "Galway Are Back" by The Conquerors back in 1979 I think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Mikey Reale

Have any of ye heard the song the full backs daughter??? one of the lads i was in college with used to sing it. cant think of any of the words hough!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 nakedlykeenthen

Ge, ge, ge, Galway...

Tipp Tipp Tipp etc is clearly not a song, its just a chant from the terrace :rolleyes:

chant (chnt)
    n.
    1. a. A short, simple series of syllables or words that are sung on or intoned to the same note or a limited range of notes.
    b. A canticle or prayer sung or intoned in this manner.
    c. A song or melody.

Right back at you! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭enda_4

'Walking Tall in Donegal' by Margo for the '92 final. A classic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭mrstpatsfc

whats the name of the song they play after matches in croker?

mrstpatsfc wrote: »
    whats the name of the song they play after matches in croker?

Theme song from the special olympics in 2003, it is called "May We Never Have to Say Goodbye"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭mrstpatsfc

new it was familiar,cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭CyberDave

"Mayo, Maaayyooo - Sam Maguires coming back to Mayo-oo"

Sounds like it was written during the game by a Mayo player shouting "Mayo" and then he was hit by a flying Meath player to add the -oooo at the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Back in 1979 Dublin were playing Offaly in the Leinster Final. Jimmy Keaveney got sent off. Offaly were leading in the latter stages of the match, but Dublin were coming back at them. With time running out Offaly led 0 - 9 to 0 - 8. Then up popped Bernard Brogan, father of the Brogans of the current team, and got a goal. It was Dublin's sixth consecutive Leinster title. I remember being at the game. I was in the Canal End, which the goal was scored into. There was a huge crowd coming out when it was all over. All in all, it was quite a game, and it even had a song written about it:

14 on 14 was off

On hill 16 we never gave up hope,
    Without Jimmy Keavney the man we call the pope,
    The last six minutes the hill was going mad,
    But Offaly and the Hogan they were looking very sad.

Chorus
    There was 14 on 14 was off,
    Jimmy on the sideline havin a gawk,
    Heffo and the boys were working out a plan,
    How to beat the Offaly lads without the extra man..

Oh,of the second half oh Dublin should be proud,
    We put it in the net twice to get the goal allowed,
    Oh dubs may come ,and dubs may go,
    But history was made six lenister's in a row.

Chorus,

And then came the goal,it came from centre-field,
    Briany fists a tall ball down to Pat O’Neill,
    Anto O’Toole’s past I never will forget,
    Bernard Brogan hit a bomber and it landed in the net.

Chorus

Were with them when we win,were with them when we lose,
    Roscommon and Kerry watch out for superblues,
    We won’t be easy beatin as long as we can yield,
    As long as there a man to kick the ball upon the field.

Chorus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Thank God Flukey didn't post that up as an audio link.A warning about Flukey,if you ever have the misfortune or fortune,whatever the case may be,of hearing Flukey sing,you'll be watching and listening to the most funny auditions for X-Factor going.:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

Slievenamon is the Tipp song, by the way.

anyone posted the 12 apostles yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

I don't think so, but there will need to be a 2008 version after our win over Meath in the league this year. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭rm_2008

the funniest has to be dig deep aim high the waterford song i think it was made a few years ago. they always play it after we win a match in the nightclub. everyone immitates the process of a jabroll and the next line is ''pull and let fly'' so they all swing the invisible hurl!!

http://www.upthedeise.com/deise/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=102&Itemid=58

oh sorry there's also the remake they did of that 'its coming home' world cup 98 song but its called 3 ships on a shirt. heres the link

http://www.upthedeise.com/deise/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=103&Itemid=58

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭RichTea

eddiehobbs wrote: »
    Yeah The banner roar!! Wish i had that on cd!!. Definatly the best Gaa song ever. There was loads of Clare songs back in 1995. There was another one called Come on the banner 1995. The lyrics escape me for that one but those were happy days. If i can think of all the lyrics il put them up for the banner roar, memorys a bit patchy

Somebody needs to find this on mp3. The good times are coming again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭daraghmack

Theme song from the special olympics in 2003, it is called "May We Never Have to Say Goodbye"

Apparently they play that in Croker after a game cos it has a calming effect and mellows the crowd out before releasing them back onto the streets!

rm_2008 wrote: »
    the funniest has to be dig deep aim high the waterford song i think it was made a few years ago. they always play it after we win a match in the nightclub. everyone immitates the process of a jabroll and the next line is ''pull and let fly'' so they all swing the invisible hurl!!

http://www.upthedeise.com/deise/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=102&Itemid=58

A what?:confused::P

Nothing beats those kind of songs in the summer that get everybody up on the "dancefloor", just like Fairytale of New York at Christmas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

Sung to "Que Serra Serra"

John Mullane, Mullane,
    He plays with Dan Shanahan,
    His head doesn't take a tan,
    John Mullane, Mullane.

deisedevil wrote: »
    Sung to "Que Serra Serra"

John Mullane, Mullane,
    He plays with Dan Shanahan,
    His head doesn't take a tan,
    John Mullane, Mullane.

that has to be the best song when ur bombed out in the terrace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Repolho

Best song ever! To the tune of thats Amoré
    Can't remember all of the lyrics but heres a sample:

"When the balls in the air
    who's that man on the square
    thats Joe Dooley.

When the Balls in the sky
    in Croke Park in July
    Thats Joe Dooley.

When the balls in the net
    and the Banner are beat (in heavy Offaly accent; pronounced Bet)
    Thats Joe Dooley"

There was another song that I have a vague recolection of, it was a Clare song but all I can remeber is:

(to the tune of Gone till November)

"January, February, March April May,
    It doesn't matter, its the league anyway,
    We'll be playing in September,
    We'll be playing in September......"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭mobby

Flukey wrote: »
    Back in 1979 Dublin were playing Offaly in the Leinster Final. Jimmy Keaveney got sent off. Offaly were leading in the latter stages of the match, but Dublin were coming back at them. With time running out Offaly led 0 - 9 to 0 - 8. Then up popped Bernard Brogan, father of the Brogans of the current team, and got a goal. It was Dublin's sixth consecutive Leinster title. I remember being at the game. I was in the Canal End, which the goal was scored into. There was a huge crowd coming out when it was all over. All in all, it was quite a game, and it even had a song written about it:

14 on 14 was off

On hill 16 we never gave up hope,
    Without Jimmy Keavney the man we call the pope,
    The last six minutes the hill was going mad,
    But Offaly and the Hogan they were looking very sad.

Chorus
    There was 14 on 14 was off,
    Jimmy on the sideline havin a gawk,
    Heffo and the boys were working out a plan,
    How to beat the Offaly lads without the extra man..

Oh,of the second half oh Dublin should be proud,
    We put it in the net twice to get the goal allowed,
    Oh dubs may come ,and dubs may go,
    But history was made six lenister's in a row.

Chorus,

And then came the goal,it came from centre-field,
    Briany fists a tall ball down to Pat O’Neill,
    Anto O’Toole’s past I never will forget,
    Bernard Brogan hit a bomber and it landed in the net.

Chorus

Were with them when we win,were with them when we lose,
    Roscommon and Kerry watch out for superblues,
    We won’t be easy beatin as long as we can yield,
    As long as there a man to kick the ball upon the field.

Chorus.

Yeah I remember that one Class :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭Conbro

Laois Laois Laois Laois Laois Laois Laois Laois [descending gradually into a totally unintelligable grunt] Laois Laois