Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cudda clipped a cop!

• 01-11-2007 11:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭

97737206vv1.jpg

Going from the yellow lower arrow to the exit of the upper yellow arrow, I was in the left hand lane with a squad car right beside me in the right hand lane. We both went around in sync and I started to indicate as I pass the 1st exit, no indication from garda and she cuts me off.

So what would have happened I wonder if she clipped me?

Funnily enough, there is another roundabout just down the road from the upper yellow arrow and she got a good bit of distance on me as I kept to the limit and I could see her slam on the brakes as she was on the next roundabout and as I got around I saw she had pulled someone over so I'm guessing she had another near miss at the next roundabout. Hmmm.

Has anyone else ever been involved in a knock with the law and did they accept they were at fault?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

cormie wrote: »
    Has anyone else ever been involved in a knock with the law and did they accept they were at fault?

The nearest miss I've ever had was when a Garda patrol car shot out of an alley from the right just to go in front of me in Dundrum about 5 years ago. Hitting full brake and turning into the curb (thanks for ABS), there was about an inch to spare if that. Garda stopped me a bit down the road and he couldn't have been more apologetic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭skibum

I fVcking hate that roundabout at the graduate pub, I have had one minor accident and countless near misses there. Between "straight liners" who don't keep to their lane, the "will i, or won't i's" who never use indicators, and best for last "if i pretend not to see you, you don't exist" fVckers who pull straight out on to the roundabout. But the main issue that I have with it is the proximity of the lights, especially the one on the avondale road exit. Rant over :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Haha, yeah, the lights are way too close to the roundabout for the upper yellow arrow too if a pedestrian is crossing.

Just so I'm not doubting myself, I was in the right, yeah? :o 99% sure I was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Haha, yeah, the lights are way too close to the roundabout for the upper yellow arrow too if a pedestrian is crossing.

Just so I'm not doubting myself, I was in the right, yeah? :o 99% sure I was.

Yes you were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

I too hate that roundabout with a passion after the number of near misses just like yours that I've had. I'm not sure what the reason is though. A lot of people, presumably locals, use the right hand lane on entering the roundabout to go straight on, and I can't figure out why. Maybe it's the lights just before it, resulting in people getting 'stuck' in that lane when traffic's heavy, maybe it's the way the first exit is laid out that makes people think it's two separate exits, maybe it's the traffic lights just after the first exit that cause tailbacks on the roundabout when traffic is heavy, are there any (contradictory) road markings on the entrance (I haven't seen any), I just don't know.

No road markings to say what lane you should be in nope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

I'm not 100% familiar with that roundabout, only driven around it a few times but can't you use either lane as there is 2 lanes at both the entrance and exit. Still it's no excuse for not using your mirrors or indicating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

Maybe its the kind of women that join up, I don't pretend to know. All I do know is that loads of cars have been written off since the Traffic Corps expanded and more women joined. That's a fact, I'll let the rest of ye draw conclusions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

Its a grey area but I'd always use the right lane in that situation.
    The way I see it you are making a right turn.

ROR is vague as (if I remember correctly) it only depicts your classic cross-shaped r'bout and says left lane is for left turn or straight ahead.

At the Graduate, the first exit is (to my mind) straight ahead. The second (and third) exits are to the right, so you should be in the right lane on approach.

Like I say that's an interpretation, I'd always be sure to indicate and watch out for people to my left; then I'd cut the feckers up & leave them for dead! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭unnameduser

stir the pot maoleary!!

The upper yellow arrow lane is really only 1 lane, if 2 vehicles exited it at the exact same time in the right and left lane, one would have to brake immediately to let the other go.

In my view the upper yellow arrow is straight ahead, like if say from the point you pass the traffic lights before you approach the roundabout, the upper yellow road is the one that you'll be facing straight on. It's also the 2nd exit so you should really be in the left lane.

I take your point; but I differ in mine.

In your diagram the line between the first yellow arrow and the first blue is damn near straight. Whereas the line between the two yellows is definitly a right turn.

As far as first & second exits go I'd put more importance on the position of the exit. Imagine a r'bout like the one above but the exit in question didn't exist. Then the Avondale road exit would be your second exit. I wouldn't approach that exit using the left lane all the way round.

I'm not saying you're wrong, my way makes sense to me so I'm sticking with it.
    What would make sense is if the lanes had proper arrows to clear the confusion. Looking at your pic, in front of your first yellow arrow; is that two white arrows pointing straight ahead? Big help, lads, thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭jameshayes

going down the greenhills road 2 nights ago, a motorbike copper had a guy pulled over and was giving him the pointed finger(while still sitting on his bike talking into the window)

Nothing coming the other way so I indicated, checked mirrors and overtook, indicated to go back in, checked my mirrors, started to pull in, checked my mirrors again and I see the copper pulling off while still saying his final words to the guy, not looking where he was going, he nearly ended up my exhaust pipe! Then he tailgated my all the way home. Obviously never heard of the 2 second rule! Lol

cjt156 wrote: »
    I take your point; but I differ in mine.

I see what you mean alright. If the upper yellow arrow exit didn't exist, you should be in the right hand lane for the avondale exit (which WOULD be the 2nd) as this is "after 12 o'clock".

They should really have directional arrows in the lane, the little white markings above the bottom yellow arrow look very like arrows alright but I'm pretty sure there's no arrows at all on the road. And surely the one in the right hand lane should have a straight and right type arrow instead of just straight if it was?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭landcruiserfj62

im pretty sure u should hve been in the right hand lane tho? the left lane is for when you are taking the first exit. going str8 through, or exiting at any other exit, you should be in the outside lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

Left hand lane is for exiting at the first or second exit only. Right hand lane it for exiting at the second or third exit.

Ciaran500 wrote: »
    Left hand lane is for exiting at the first or second exit only. Right hand lane it for exiting at the second or third exit.

Yes, this is the way I see it, but the upper yellow arrow exit does not have two lanes. It has a wide lane at the exit that quickly narrows which as far as I understand, means you should stay in the left hand lane unless there is a 2nd lane to exit onto if you were in the right lane.

Skibum and Alun, since you both use this regularly, which lane would you both be in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

skibum wrote: »
    I fVcking hate that roundabout at the graduate pub, I have had one minor accident and countless near misses there. Between "straight liners" who don't keep to their lane, the "will i, or won't i's" who never use indicators, and best for last "if i pretend not to see you, you don't exist" fVckers who pull straight out on to the roundabout. But the main issue that I have with it is the proximity of the lights, especially the one on the avondale road exit. Rant over :o

i thought it was that roundabout the moment i saw it. that exact senario you described from yellow to yellow arrow i encounter nearly every day. i am frankly amazed that i've not seen a maojr crash (or 5) at this roundabout.

i think that the major problem is that if you are coming the opposite way you can be in either lane as the 2nd exit has two lanes and the immediate right onto Churchview so to take the right you need to be on the outside. So many many people just assume it the same the other way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Skibum and Alun, since you both use this regularly, which lane would you both be in?
    I use the left lane. It's the second exit and there's only one lane on the exit.

The only time I'll use the right hand lane to go straight on is if I know for sure that there are two lanes on the exit, or if I'm in the UK and know that if they mark the two entrance lanes with straight-on arrows, then there are actually two lanes on the exit, unlike here where they mean nothing, usually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

Alun wrote: »
    I use the left lane. It's the second exit and there's only one lane on the exit.

The only time I'll use the right hand lane to go straight on is if I know for sure that there are two lanes on the exit, or if I'm in the UK and know that if they mark the two entrance lanes with straight-on arrows, then there are actually two lanes on the exit, unlike here where they mean nothing, usually.

Agreed, sounds like the way to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

maoleary wrote: »
    Agreed, sounds like the way to go.

Third that definitly.

though it's still a bit of a risk:rolleyes::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭blah

Sounds to me like the guard should have indicated given that she was in the right hand land and there was only one lane on the exit.

Alun wrote: »

Exactly my thoughts too and what I was following in the original story too. I'd love to know what happened up ahead at the next roundabout when I saw her jam on.

The next r'bout is a mess. Too many entrance/exits for the space. 6 if I remember correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Yep, had a mirror taken off by an unmarked car. I was stopped in heavy traffic, they bombed up on wrong side of road, bit of a squeeze. I thought it was a stolen car, blasted the horn but not in a postion to give chase or even get number.
    They pulled in to a block of flats, then one got out and came over to me as traffic moved up a bit. Was only then I realised who hit me. Very apologetic, were responding to urgent call, gave me number to ring etc.
    Rang later, said to get quote and let him know. Got quote, said go ahead, then found another half that. Got it replaced, brought receipt to station, met officer in question who was delighted at the cheaper price as it was
    coming out of his own pocket.

Apparently if they have a small knock and go through the official procedures they automatically get put off the road for 6 weeks. So better for everyone all round.

As for your situation, would be a bit difficult arguing they were in the wrong when they usually have a police passenger as a witness also.
    I reckon they were chasing someone, but should have put on their blue lights.

Over the years I've seen some pretty bad near misses with pedestrians
    Garda van straight through pedestrian crossing, pedestrian had to jump back.
    Unmarked car nearly reversing on to pedestrian (handprints on boot affair) as they suddenly responded to a call from stationary. They never noticed
    Myself and kids in pram taken by surprise as unmarked plainclothes car came wrong way out of oneway side street.
    Gave me narky comment too when I exclaimed what the hell they were doing. Took me a second to realise who it was and not to bother taking it further.

By and large most gardai are fine but most dont get any more driver training than you or me, too expensive, so considering how most learn here, I am not surprised at the odd incident. Even those who really needed it, ie expected to do pursuit driving had difficulty getting trained.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Usually the cop is always right even if they are wrong. Always give them a very wide berth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Johnny Storm

skibum wrote: »
    I fVcking hate that roundabout at the graduate pub...:o

Old thread but I had a near miss today at this roundabout, recorded it here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4NhegFec4iE&fmt=22 and it was actually a lot closer than it looks there. Just last week aswell I was with a friend who's just learning to drive at the moment and he said an instructor told him to go in the right hand lane approaching from the same direction I was in the video, I showed him this thread a few days ago for why not to listen to the instructor :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭*Tripper*

Old thread but I had a near miss today at this roundabout, recorded it here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4NhegFec4iE&fmt=22 and it was actually a lot closer than it looks there. Just last week aswell I was with a friend who's just learning to drive at the moment and he said an instructor told him to go in the right hand lane approaching from the same direction I was in the video, I showed him this thread a few days ago for why not to listen to the instructor :pac:

How many penalty points do you get for listening to such atrocious music?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭return guide

The other car should have indicated left, but you should not have sped up to try and beat them to the exit.

"hoist with one's own petard" methinks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭BoardsRanger

When at this roundabout i always approach from the right hand lane. It is a poorly designed roundabout in that many cars are forced to jam on on that exit as 2 lanes lead into one. It would not be a problem, however, if all drivers were aware of 1) where they are and 2) where everybody else is.
    So in your video above, the volvo(i think) cut in much 2 soon. He should have used his mirrors and known you were there. I am convinced though that many people just put the car where they want it and hope others around them will either back off or take avassive action.

*Tripper* wrote: »
    How many penalty points do you get for listening to such atrocious music?
    Excuse me! Dire Straits - On Every Street, one of the best riffs known to man!
    The other car should have indicated left, but you should not have sped up to try and beat them to the exit.

"hoist with one's own petard" methinks

The reason I was going that speed is because he actually came from behind me in the left hand lane and went into the right hand lane, with his lack of indication, I presumed he was going the way he should have been going by going to the right hand lane ;)
    When at this roundabout i always approach from the right hand lane. It is a poorly designed roundabout in that many cars are forced to jam on on that exit as 2 lanes lead into one. It would not be a problem, however, if all drivers were aware of 1) where they are and 2) where everybody else is.
    So in your video above, the volvo(i think) cut in much 2 soon. He should have used his mirrors and known you were there. I am convinced though that many people just put the car where they want it and hope others around them will either back off or take avassive action.

There's not really 2 lanes at the exit I was going to, it's just a wide space to go into and so people think it's 2 lanes, coming from the direction I was, the lane is single, then splits to two, the right lane should be used by those going to the 3rd exit (the one after the one I took above), but people hop in it to get to the exit I was going to faster. This exit is before 12, 2nd exit, with only one lane, so it should be the left hand lane approaching and indicate once you pass exit one. It is a poorly designed one indeed and they should put a few signs up and arrows on the road. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭BoardsRanger

Yeah, it is certainly in need of signs and some road markings. I do, however, maintain that you can be in either the right or left lane on approach. The exit does have 2 lanes for about 3-4 car lengths. Look at your video at 11 seconds in and you can see the white line( albeit short) seperating the two lanes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭Fiona500

One of my friends had some bad luck. The day after she passed her driving test, she was driving to work and got stuck at a garda checkpoint, they were just checking her tax and such when some lunatic came out of a side road going way over the speed limit. He was heading straight for the garda car didn't have time to stop, swerved to avoid the cop car and slammed straight into her.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,235 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Old thread but I had a near miss today at this roundabout, recorded it here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4NhegFec4iE&fmt=22 and it was actually a lot closer than it looks there.
    You were definitely in the wrong there!

You were driving a white transit :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

Reminds me of the small roundabout at Liffey Valley near the cinema. Drivers on the inside lane cutting straight through to go to Marks & Spencers.

Car horn is worn out with the amount of idiots I've nearly had a collision with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,084 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Excuse me! Dire Straits - On Every Street, one of the best riffs known to man!
    Known in the trade as 'On Every Shelf' due to low sales! :D

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭McSpud

Years ago Garda in unmarked car cut me off going from High Street turning right to Upper Bridge street. Two lanes go right & I was in the left one. He was in the right lane of the two that go straight ahead.

People always in the wrong lane there & look to sneak in so I gave him a few blasts of the horn but when I turned left at next turn he followed me & came up to my window shouting at me & waving badge when stopped at next junction. I promised myself if anything like that happened again I would get his ID & make a complaint.

maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=dublin,+high+street&sll=53.344104,-6.267494&sspn=0.166022,0.492325&ie=UTF8&ll=53.343519,-6.276079&spn=0.002594,0.007693&z=17&iwloc=A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭plissken

im pretty sure u should hve been in the right hand lane tho? the left lane is for when you are taking the first exit. going str8 through, or exiting at any other exit, you should be in the outside lane.

Wrong, ra-wrong, wrong, wrong.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

plissken wrote: »
    Wrong, ra-wrong, wrong, wrong.:pac:

Well its wrong now...but was it wrong when it was written in 2007?
    The ROTR used to state exits by number, now it says left, straight, right etc.

Its exactly situations like that that I think numbered exits or road markings work better. Before you get to that junction it looks like the exit the OP took was straight ahead, but the road turns at the roundabout entrance to make that a right turn in my book.

Silly rule "clarification" IMO.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I had a near miss couple of years ago but I was on my motorbike at the time, as was the copper. We were doing a charity bike trip and at the time were travelling between Clare and Kerry. The copper, one of our escorts, came bombing up the side of us and i heard the whizz as his wing mirror just missed mine.

Me heart stopped and i almost pee'd my pants!

GreeBo wrote: »
    Well its wrong now...but was it wrong when it was written in 2007?
    The ROTR used to state exits by number, now it says left, straight, right etc.

Its exactly situations like that that I think numbered exits or road markings work better. Before you get to that junction it looks like the exit the OP took was straight ahead, but the road turns at the roundabout entrance to make that a right turn in my book.

Silly rule "clarification" IMO.

It was as wrong two years ago as it is today

Apologies Inspector Anal, it was actually end of '06 when they "clarified" it.:pac:

GreeBo wrote: »
    Apologies Inspector Anal, it was actually end of '06 when they "clarified" it.:pac:

Every day on the road, clowns who have no idea how to use roundabouts come danderously close to colliding with me. So I dont believe im being anal for one second by correcting your flawed knowledge of the rules of the road if it deters you from being one of said clowns.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

My brother nearly had a crash with 2 detectives in an unmarked car last week.

He was driving down his side of the road and the gentlemen in the other car were looking out at something and not watching the road.

Only for my brother watching the road they would have crashed into him! He beeped them at the time and gave him a stare !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭orlyice

Best close call with the guards i heard was from a girl i went to college with. She was a learner and driving back from a hurling match in cork with her dad and her uncle when a garda car pulled out halfway across her lane in front of her. She swerved to avoid it, nearly hitting oncoming traffic and the squad.

Cue siren behind her.

She pulled over and the garda demands to see her license and she hands it over and he starts shouting at her about the accident she could have caused and how she was speeding and whips out his notebook. she protested but he was having none of it. Her uncle joins in telling him he was in the wrong and the garda continues to ignore him until he tells him he is very familiar with the rules of the road being a superintendent and that she was definitely under the speed limit. the garda muttered something and drove off!!!

Every day on the road, clowns who have no idea how to use roundabouts come danderously close to colliding with me. So I dont believe im being anal for one second by correcting your flawed knowledge of the rules of the road if it deters you from being one of said clowns.

Oh lordy.
    My knowledge of the rules of the road pertaining to roundabouts is not flawed. Please show me where I stated the rules incorrectly?

If you'll be so kind as so hop down from your high-horse you will see that the post you quoted was from 2007. You can also see that I have stated "now is says left, straight, etc". Before they changed it towards the end of 2006 it referred to exits by number.
    A much clearer solution. First exit is the first exit whereas straight to you may not be straight to someone else. You can use the handy map image above as an example.

I give up, unless otherwise stated the left lane of a roundabout is for going left or straight ahead, the right (unsurprisingly) is for going right. its perfectly clear from the image the op posted that he was irrefutable in the correct lane. Why this is so hard for some to grasp i'll never know :rolleyes:

He most certainly took the second exit, but I would also say he went past 12 o'clock. Both of these things mean he should be in a different lane (assuming one exit lane and no road markings to the contrary)

I totally disagree that its perfectly clear that he went straight. the exit 180% from his entrance was the first exit, not the second one.

I freely admit that even with the (much simpler) "first, second any subsequent exit" rule there were still idiots in the wrong lane. I just think this straight or 12 o'clock **** only works with the example in the ROTR, not in real world examples like this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭VanhireBoys

I know we shoulnt have done this sort of malarky but about 10 years ago My brother had a Honda Civic rally car. The fuelling map in the MBE brain got corrupted. I had to then start from scratch with a base map and get the car running again. The car ran on 101 octane fuel and to get the map right we had to do a lot of testing. It was a case of map the car then test. We had no access to a rolling road to do it properly so it was between 1 and 3 am we tested.

This night we were out light pod on - harnessed in and going damn hard over the back roads. I had the laptop on my knee. We came over a crest about twice the speed limit and about 18" off the road when I spied a reflective coat in the distance. It was too late to stop and the bro kept the toe in. The poor Garda was blinded by the light pod and was trying to flash us down with his torch. He stood out a bit too far and we managed to knock the torch out of his hand with the RH windscreen pillar.

We never tested again after that - If the Garda would have been forward 3 more inches we would have killed him for sure... Lesson Learnt