Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trick or Treaters - Welcome or Not?

• 30-10-2007 8:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭

Hi people. With tomorrow coming far too fast and not a sweet thing in the cupboards, I was wondering what all of ye do on Halloween for the trick or Treaters?

Personally, I'm now living with my parents and between us we buy sweets, buts, fruit, chocolate, lollies, crisps etc and make up little halloween party-bags for whatever children call on the evening! We put up (a few) decorations, although mainly just beside the door where the children who call will see and we (I) enjoy listening to their horrid little songs/poems/jokes! :D

What about you lot? Do you give out rotten apples, money, sweets or nothing at all?!

When I lived alone with my daughter and was completely broke, I simply turned the lights and the TV down low and ignored the doorbell :mad: felt horrible and miserly doing that but really had no choice.

Do you vacate your home or pretend not to be there (come on - ADMIT IT!!!! There's bound to be SOME of you that do!!)

Trick or treaters?!? 80 votes

Love them - Give them goodies and even participate by dressing up myself!!
    0% 0 votes
    Don't pass much heed - They might get something if they're lucky!
    55% 44 votes
    Loathe them - I never answer door to them!
    45% 36 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

Live in an apartment block with no kids...should be fine

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Since when did halloween become soo much like xmas with all these decorations?

Anyway, when i lived at home we just ignored the little fúckers who knocked on the door.

I live in an apartment now though so won't be getting any knocks this year though, woo hoo!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

doesn't bother me......i love halloween:D, better craic than christmas imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

just pretend not to be in, wont answer door unless expecting someone,

kids round here put in very little effort at halloween and xmas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

The greedy bastards just throw away all the fruit these days.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I hope mum has bought lots of sweets so I can gorge on them. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

eirebhoy wrote: »
    The greedy bastards just throw away all the fruit these days.

We did it in 'those days' too :D

I'm al for it. I stocked up on sweeties today, only expect about 5 kiddies though, what with all the paedos lurking behind every tree.
    I shall jugde each of their costumes, if deemed unfit, they get the apples with the sharp surprise ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭lynnlegend

12 gauge shotgun, trick for them, treat for you, the true def of a win win situation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭l3LoWnA

Since when did halloween become soo much like xmas with all these decorations?

I think it's since the Celtic Tiger roared into town and people, in general, had a little more disposable income (or thought they had, ie. credit cards) and also since everyone started speaking like the "Friends" characters and wanted to be more like the Americans!!! :D:D

We don't over-do it. Usually a pumpkin with a candle (and had those back in the 80s) and a witch that laughs and lights up (bought to humour my small daughter) - that knid of thing you know!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

boreds wrote: »
    We did it in 'those days' too :D
    Which wouldn't have left me with very much. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭dame

There's millions of kids call around here on Halloween. They literally start at about 4.30 and keep going til 9. They do 3 or 4 estates easily. You'll see them lugging shopping bags full of treats before the night is out! I'm a bit annoyed that the hour long Coronation Street will be interrupted by the little f's tomorrow though (yes, I know, very sad).

I've a load of little treat-size things and usually give 3/4 to each kid. Mind you, if I recognise any of the little ****s who've been letting off fireworks for a month now they'll be lucky to get one measley sweet before the door slams.

Two years ago a group of teenagers came to the door trick-or-treating at about 10pm with barely a mask between them, and I offered them the few lollipops that were left after the younger ones. They were not best pleased and asked "Have you no money instead?" Ckeeky little sh1ts....I took the lollies back and shut the door on their spotty faces.

I used to love Halloween growing up out the country but since we've been living in the town I've grown to hate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭besty

Be careful how you deal with trick or treaters or you might find out their troublesome streak first hand a la Larry David in Curb Your Enthusiasm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

Live in a flat, not going to be a problem. Last year I gave them sweeties and popcorn though. I also pigged out. We had a party. Someone scared a child by pretending to be a priest...but how and ever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

I'm currently in the middle of boiling my pot of oil to "welcome" any door knockers tomorrow night.
    I'm also going to stand outside tesco tommorow and laugh at people paying 8 quid for pumpkins just so they can cut holes in them.
    I hate halloween, or rather I hate this americanised bullsh*t event that it's been turned into...
    Bah. Humbug. etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

It used to be all kids coming around with their parents and in groups and i'd only be too happy to open the door, compliment their costumes, guess who they were and give out sweets.

...not any more.

...not ANY more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

They've started already, called to my door as I was coming home so I couldn't avoid them. I had nothing for them though, nor will I tomorrow!! I'm a starving student dammit, they should be giving me sweets!!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Turn off the lights and unwire the doorbell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,472 ✭✭✭highlydebased

I hope mum has bought lots of sweets so I can gorge on them. :)

I hope likewise.

Personally I think Halloween is a load of crap. Don't know what all the fuss is about! I mean, WTF, kids dressing up as ghosts or whatever. Why not do that at Christmas, or during the summer or whatever! Why have a goddamn holiday dedicated to dressing up! arghh!

Rant over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

"Trick or treat", God be with the days when it was "Help the Halloween Party".
    Bloody Americans, why do we accept their influence on a Celtic festival?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

robinph wrote: »
    Or rewire the doorbell... badly.

/furtive

Heh (attachment).

I don't mind people coming around, although everyone always skipped my house due to it having an uncommon long driveway for the estate I live in. Must get a predator costume when I've money to add to the theme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭lynnlegend

robinph wrote: »

or rewire it 50,000 volts..........crispy:cool:

I wouldn't begrudge a child a few sweets, but the whole americanized trick or treat thing annoys me.
    And then none of them want to go on the wren anymore :S

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Muff_Daddy

No problem with it at all.....sure fond memories of myself pissing off neighbours I didn't like, egging their houses if they gave me only monkey nuts.

To all the people who voted 'Loathe them', whats wrong with youse all? You're all a bunch of er....whats the Halloween equivalant of Scrooge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

I hope likewise.

Personally I think Halloween is a load of crap. Don't know what all the fuss is about! I mean, WTF, kids dressing up as ghosts or whatever. Why not do that at Christmas, or during the summer or whatever! Why have a goddamn holiday dedicated to dressing up! arghh!

Rant over.
    Ummm Halloween was known as "All hallows eve" and various other names, across the world.
    It was the time when the gates between our world and the next were thought to be at their weakest, and so to avoid being kidnapped by ghouls and goblins, you dressed up as one to keep safe. So ghosts, witches etc, all fit it. The newer ones....not so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

They are more than welcome, am I glad that my next door neighbour moved a few weeks ago though (8 kids!). My wife and I always go out and buy heaps of sweets and very little come to the door. :)

Muff_Daddy wrote: »
    No problem with it at all.....sure fond memories of myself pissing off neighbours I didn't like, egging their houses if they gave me only monkey nuts.

I hated when the monkey nuts and the apples mixed with the perfectly good bars of chocolate and made the wrappers all sticky and gross. And I hated people who threw in loose jellies. Why would you do that?? Who is going to eat a jelly covered in monkey nut shell?

Remember your heart sinking when you felt that heavy thud in the bag and just knew it was an apple?

And remember wishing you lived in a 'rich' estate so you could get the good sweets and the proper size bars of chocolate??

I want the kids of today to feel my pain, and since I can't afford apples, they'e getting nothing!!

Seriously though, I will buy a bag of bars, but ones I like because my doorbell doesn't work and I can't hear people knocking on it so I don't expect many trick or treaters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I love halloween... I usually take my nephew out around the doors... but he thinks he's too old for it this year.. so no sweeties for me.

I usually dress up to answer the door too... Have to work late this year though.. so there won't be much fun to be had for me..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Dinxminx

I feel sorry for little kids that come around all dressed up and excited and then have to turn away with nothing. I remember the uncharitable thoughts I used to think about people who wouldn't participate in the halloween spirit when I went trick or treating. Considering the amount of effort I used to pour into my costumes I thought it was only fair that I get repaid in sweets!

And so now I'd feel horribly guilty if I didn't give out treats to the kiddies...

• Subscribers Posts: 16,616 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Hagar wrote: »
    "Trick or treat", God be with the days when it was "Help the Halloween Party".

+1 for help the halloween party, any kid that says that is getting some extra goodies... old skool.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

If any kids come to the door, they shall be getting chocolate. Laxative chocolate :D

feylya wrote: »
    If any kids come to the door, they shall be getting chocolate. Laxative chocolate :D

You know what would be worse than laxative chocolate?? Normal chocolate covered apples. Because then they couldn't even eat the chocolate. At least with the laxative chocolate they'd get some pleasure before the......badness.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

The college students that came to our door last year had a different definition for "Trick or Treat!";)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭TheThing!

Knock Knock

Me: Who the fu@k is tha???

Kiz: Trick or Treat?

Me: Trick or whaaa??!!?!!

Kidz: Trick or TREAT

Me: Yiz can all fu@k off yiz shower bastards, yil get a cock in the face and yiz can decide for yerselves what heading that goes under

It'd be wasted on them.....they'll probably puke anyway from eating too much! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Where's the "I'm a paedophile" option?

Chill out mon, its a joke

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Ninja_scrotum

I only might open the door. It's the cheeky scummy feckers that are ruining it for the daycent kids.

One halloween in galway, I opened the door to about 40 scumbags from age 4 to 15, loads of em didn't even bother dressing up, they were just sittin on their bikes, all saying "give us supm give us supm" and all I had on me was a euro.

I gave the euro to the smallest kid, who was dressed up and seemed like a nice lad, and the rest of them started shouting abuse. A little girl, who couldn't have been older than six, stuck her middle finger up and said "fcuk you ya c*nt haha". The mothers were in the background havin a laugh.

Then they all saw that my neighbours front door was open and ran inside for divilment.

Feckin brats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Where's the option for "Pour boiling water from the top window"? ie. trick ;)

I don't mind them really... I usually eat the sweeties.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

You miserable shower.

I have toblerones, crunchies, caramel bars etc all ready.

Were ye never young yourselves?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Gauge

Thanks God I won't be here :) I don't mind giving out treats to kids dressed up all cute-like in costumes, but all we seem to get now is little chancing scumbags who don't even bother to dress up.

Silverfish wrote: »
    You miserable shower.

I have toblerones, crunchies, caramel bars etc all ready.

Were ye never young yourselves?

I have toblerones too but fatty mac fat housemate ate most of them

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

I have toblerones too but fatty mac fat housemate ate most of them

Hey, I've only eaten two. Whatever is left is left :(

Silverfish wrote: »
    Hey, I've only eaten two. Whatever is left is left :(

You are not Fatty mac Fat housemate as she is currently in the kitchen eating the rest of my toblerones.....and also you are a Top Gear mod and she is not cool enough to like Top Gear.

I have a bad feeling about tomorrow night, fatty mac fat housemate is heading home so I'll be stuck here alone to deal with the little.....bringers of joy!! Maybe if I lived in a nice area with nice children it might be ok...but I dont.

You are not Fatty mac Fat housemate as she is currently in the kitchen eating the rest of my toblerones.....and also you are a Top Gear mod and she is not cool enough to like Top Gear.

I have a bad feeling about tomorrow night, fatty mac fat housemate is heading home so I'll be stuck here alone to deal with the little.....bringers of joy!! Maybe if I lived in a nice area with nice children it might be ok...but I dont.

You should have a rumble with fatty mac fat housemate and then base your entire relationship on confectionary and ultimately get married in a chocolate chapel, called the chapel o love and choc, and then you could have chocolate children

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Ohh, can I've sum? I really need to clear the ol' in'tines :) Fab Idea. Chocolate...that makes you make more room for more chocolate

TheThing! wrote: »
    You should have a rumble with fatty mac fat housemate and then base your entire relationship on confectionary and ultimately get married in a chocolate chapel, called the chapel o love and choc, and then you could have chocolate children

Yes, but I am not a lesbian, nor do I like smelly people. And anyway, you pretty much just described where my see my actual relationship going.

My God, a chocolate chapel, that would keep the kids away from my house. They could eat it.

I'm thinking of putting up a sign on my door tomorrow night saying 'Santa isn't real, yore ma buys the presents'. I figure if I'm going to get egged I might as well give them an actual reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

What is the difference between 'trick or treating' and going door to door begging anyway?

I can see how it's fun for the kids but I'm glab I'm going to be down the pub tomorrow night. It's so ****ing annoying having the noisy little ****s calling to the door every two minutes - I'm busy FFS.

Though obiviously not not too busy to spend all night in the pub.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,883 ✭✭✭Poxyshamrock

we get like 3 trick or treaters a year so they get a fair handfull of sweets! :p
    it's really died out where i'm from.

They've started!