Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Women Barbers

• 30-10-2007 5:45pm
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭

What to you lot make of these strange creatures...?I used to like going into a barbers and be greeted by a woman,it was something different and maybe a bit of a novelty.After all what better way to brighten up your day than to have a strange pair of knockers bouncing around (and hopefully rubbing off) the back of your head,when I was younger I kind of taught of it as a poor mans lap dance and with contact.All for maybe 5 pounds.

As I got older and I am still in my 20s I have changed my mind about women barbers,I got thinking about it one day and I have never got a good hair cut from one of them in fact most of them have been crap.I always put it down to the fact that maybe they are just learning,but every one of them I have come across have been the same.They just don't give you the same cut,I get a nice clean cut raw at the back and cut nice and tight on top.Simple you would think,even for someone just learning.

The conversation with them was also how should I say it 'awkward'.Maybe I am old school but I like my Barber shop full with sports memorabilia and magazines,and the conversation to be normal everyday guy chat.I have now come to the conclusion that woman have no place in our Barber shops,they are getting in everywhere lads we need somewhere to chill and shoot the breeze.

So from today on wards I am boycotting any Barber shop who have a woman barber.Come and join the movement lads we have to make a stand somewhere and I think the front line should be our beloved Barber Shops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Dub13 wrote: »
    What to you lot make of these strange creatures...?I used to like going into a barbers and be greeted by a woman,it was something different and maybe a bit of a novelty.After all what better way to brighten up your day than to have a strange pair of knockers bouncing around (and hopefully rubbing off) the back of your head,when I was younger I kind of taught of it as a poor mans lap dance and with contact.All for maybe 5 pounds.

As I got older and I am still in my 20s I have changed my mind about women barbers,I got thinking about it one day and I have never got a good hair cut from one of them in fact most of them have been crap.I always put it down to the fact that maybe they are just learning,but every one of them I have come across have been the same.They just don't give you the same cut,I get a nice clean cut raw at the back and cut nice and tight on top.Simple you would think,even for someone just learning.

The conversation with them was also how should I say it 'awkward'.Maybe I am old school but I like my Barber shop full with sports memorabilia and magazines,and the conversation to be normal everyday guy chat.I have now come to the conclusion that woman have no place in our Barber shops,they are getting in everywhere lads we need somewhere to chill and shoot the breeze.

So from today on wards I am boycotting any Barber shop who have a woman barber.Come and join the movement lads we have to make a stand somewhere and I think the front line should be our beloved Barber Shops.

I haven't had my hair cut by a woman in a barber's shop for YEARS! Where are all these women you've encountered?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

I agree they are useless at cutting hair
    but even worse than the irish female barbers has to be my personal number one fear a polish female barber.

I have recurring nightmares about getting a hair cut from them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭Keith C

Gotta love the boobs at the back of the head, best ever pillow :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,233 ✭✭✭darkskol

I guess you used to get it cut in Lord Snootys. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

Barbers are like Chefs, all the best one are men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Rob_l wrote: »
    I agree they are useless at cutting hair
    but even worse than the irish female barbers has to be my personal number one fear a polish female barber.

One man's nightmare is another man's dream!!!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

eo980 wrote: »
    I haven't had my hair cut by a woman in a barber's shop for YEARS! Where are all these women you've encountered?

I don't want to name any shops as it would not be fair but they are out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

I have had one female barber - nice woman but took ages to cut hair as she was chatting (and I wasn't getting a lot done :) )

🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

An eyeful of bazoongas when they're doing your fringe ain't bad tho. Really, where am I supposed to look?

Sabre0001 wrote: »
    I have had one female barber - nice woman but took ages to cut hair as she was chatting (and I wasn't getting a lot done :) )

Thats the thing when I go for a hair cut I want a decent,fast cut and maybe a bit of a quick chat about the football or rugby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

a woman does my hair and does a grand job too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

Cut your own hair, save a fortune.

Got my hair cut for the first time in years a month ago and they tried to charge me 12 euro for 5 minutes work, GFY, boobs in my face or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Jaysus there's one who works in my old regular barbers and she's a cracker, has a great pair and even manages to talk about more than the usual girlie sh*te....poor girl can't do tight cuts though.
    I moved from using barbers to just skinning my own every few weeks, a fair while back so no longer have to worry about this issue....it is something that used play on my mind back then though: "So Wertz, decision time, decent haircut or titty massage?"
    Don't need to tell you what I normally opted for...

I started cutting Dad's hair because his barber (male) was making a dogs dinner of it. He came out one day looking like his head caught mange.
    I have no aptitude for this kind of thing but the results are much better.
    Maybe people become barbers because they suck at cutting hair.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Keith C wrote: »
    Gotta love the boobs at the back of the head, best ever pillow :D

Exactly, and when They are washing my hair, oh yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

Now that you mention it...

I never noticed before, but your damn right. Women never did a good job of my hair!

Cut your own hair, save a fortune.

MrsDub13 insists that I use a Barber she says I look like a 'convict' when I cut it myself.To tell you the truth she is right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭tampopo

Oh no, generally speaking I've found I had a good experience. One time in a basement barber's in the city centre, at the end she asked would I like gel, and ran her hands over my head. omg, it was orgasmic! Then the cheap place on the quays, a gorgeous Asian girl did a good job last year.

I only had one bad experience, an older woman, with a smell of onion sandwiches off her breath

tampopo wrote: »
    Then the cheap place on the quays, a gorgeous Asian girl did a good job last year.

LOL....that sounds illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭tampopo

lol, ah no she was good. She was from up near the Korean/Russian border, Daqing.

The Irish girl was cute too.

One time living in San Francisco, a russian scientist, down on her luck, or just recently immigrated, cut me hair. Not a bad job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

My regular barber is East European, with the worlds best ass.

She give's me great head ;) trim's my brow's and throws in a massage (scalp yiz durty ba$tards) and all for €12:50 but I give her a twenty and leave her with the change. She's worth every penny, and for the plug. She's the red head one in Tesco's Clare Hall S.C.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

my old barber died,:mad: cut your hair and never said a word unless to ask what cut and then next for his money.

Those were great days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

I had to change to a male barber cos I was in constant danger of poking someone's eye out. Used to go to the local (unisex) hairdressers years ago where they used to give the job of cutting the mens hair to the trainee lowest in the pecking order. They were all **** - you'd only get a half-decent cut about 1 in 4 times.

I changed to a barber's in town cheifly because they were open late on Thursdays so it was handy to drop in on the way home from work but it was run by two women. Even though they weren't particularly good looking, I'd always end up with a tent in my pants from them washing and cutting my hair. It never happened in the old place cos the women there were horrors. I had to change again - there was just something sleazy about going in for a hair cut knowing what was going to happen....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Stimpyone

Mairt wrote: »
    My regular barber is East European, with the worlds best ass.

She give's me great head ;) trim's my brow's and throws in a massage (scalp yiz durty ba$tards) and all for €12:50 but I give her a twenty and leave her with the change. She's worth every penny, and for the plug. She's the red head one in Tesco's Clare Hall S.C.

Yeah, I agree she's top notch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

There is a Romanian woman in Northwood gym in santry who I get mine cut by and I have to say she gives the best haircut I have had since growing my hair again (ye after 10 years of shaving my own head I finally started growing it again a few months back). Now I have only been to 4 barbers and 1 hair dressers in that time but she has been by far the best

I used to have the same theory, just about women pouring pints of Guinness, but it was disproven recently.

She's the red head one in Tesco's Clare Hall S.C.

Next time I am walking by that shop I will look in and check her out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

eo980 wrote: »
    I'm the opposite. Can't remember the last time a bloke cut my hair. I usually go to Grafton Barbers or the Mespil. They tend to want to do too much to my hair. They find it strange that I leave my hair down. A couple of weeks ago one of them asked why I don't shave my locks in some crazy triangular style. :confused:

I used to always go local but there's only one left and one of the lads there learnt to cut hair in Mountjoy. It's the Mespil or Grafton for convenience.

btw, what's that place like next door to paddy powers on Amien street? The guy who runs it seems to just go for the sexiest women in town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

My old barber was the some woman. Her son was going out with Chritsty Dignam's daughter. She asked me if I'd ever heard of him. I stupidly replied "yes" and from then on all I got were stories about them junkies. Needless to say I promptly never went there again.

eirebhoy wrote: »
    btw, what's that place like next door to paddy powers on Amien street? The guy who runs it seems to just go for the sexiest women in town.

I will be checking these out as well but no woman is getting near my hair again.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

There's a barber near my parents that I've used occasionally, and the staff is exclusively female. The quality of the haircut varies, depending on who you end up with, although I've never got what you would call a bad haircut there. But the thing that bugged me when I was there recently is that there's nothing to read while you're waiting. All the magazines are OK, Hello and the like, not a single piece of reading material for blokes. WTF is that all about???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Gekko

last place I went to had a moody trainee girl who seemed to resent the fact that I wanted a dry cut.

I gave her the benefit of the doubt and paid my €20, but I won't be going there again - it ain't worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭gerTheGreat

Women barbers are fine, they can see where your eyes wander, but women opticians....:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭ibh

I have had some bad luck with barbers in the last number of years. My hair is now reasonably long (kept short for about 10 yrs before this). Firstly i had a class barber who was really popular and kept busy, but for some strange reason everytime i went in there nobody would come in after me for ages, so we be bullsh!tting about football and music and he's be going and getting CD's for me to listen to a new song by someone up and coming. It used to take the guts of 45mins to get the hair cut due to all the stoppages. Then one day he just shut down the shop and fcuked off..
    And then the bad luck started. I had a succession of bad haircuts(from men and women), ending with a fcuking horrific job a few days before Christmas. So i decided to forget about letting these tools touch my hair again.
    So recently i decided to chance a new place in town for the first cut in about 11months and it was a woman doing it. Not only that it was an Eastern European woman. This seems to be a regular occurance but it was news to me at the time. I was seriously sh!tting it cause she didn't seem to be the best with the old lingo. But was pleasently surprised to find she did a smashing cut, did it reasonably quickly and didn't leave my hair looking like i used a Black & Decker on it. She was not fit however. Thats probably the sacrifice you have to make for a good haircut. The fit ones are nice to look at and might rub their tits against your head but cant cut for sh!t..

zaph wrote: »
    There's a barber near my parents that I've used occasionally, and the staff is exclusively female. All the magazines are OK, Hello and the like, not a single piece of reading material for blokes.

:eek: Thats a disgrace,you see lads this is what happens when we let them into our few remaining safe spots.

She's the red head one in Tesco's Clare Hall S.C.

I walked by this shop last night,if its the right chick I was looking at then yes she is fine.But I would still not let her at my hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭growler

if there is a woman working i'll politely opt to wait for the man to cut my hair so I can have a proper chat about football, cars, local criminals etc. Barber should always be stocked with FHM, Loaded , Top Gear , and Gadget type magazines, mine recently put in a few Playstations to keep us amused while waiting.

A haircut needs to be accompanies by trivial but interesting conversation , something women are incapable of doing, as are most of the "i really want to be styling elton John" type of barbers.

I also have a pet hate for women (of the more butch variety) getting haircuts in the barbers. .... outrageous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Wacker

The best haircut I have ever received was off a Chinese bloke in a place just off Capel Street. He kept on talking about how I would great for the party I was going to, even though I never mentioned anything of the sort. As someone said above, a good haircut requires sacrifices. In this instance, it was decent knowledge of the English language (beyond understanding haircut instructions).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭evil_seed

i used to go to one place and when she went to cut the top of my head she would go up on her tip toes and position her crotch on my hand :D it also helped that she was HOT

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

Eastern european girls seem to always do a good job from my experience. I had my hair cut by a beautiful estonian girl one time and she spent ages at it because she kept asking me about good places to go out.

Red Alert wrote: »
    Eastern european girls seem to always do a good job from my experience. I had my hair cut by a beautiful estonian girl one time and she spent ages at it because she kept asking me about good places to go out.

Maybe she wanted you to ask her out...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

I live in town, so I always went to a Barbers on Dame St, just a few doors down from the *******. Good cut for 10 quid and they seemed like nice lads (even though they were some sort of religious/bible thumpers)...

I'm in need of a cut now, and I walked past it the other day and it was gone. (I was away working in the states for 3 months, just back). Its now one of those salons for African women to get their braided hairstyles done.... I don't know where to go now.

I went to Sam's Barbers just across from the Stag's Head before and there was a female barber in there. She scares me though. I think she's a bit mad to be honest :o

Got a great haircut in a Russian barbers in New York over the summer. The barber's wife and daughter were working in there also... Both absolutely stunning. The wife cut my hair and I have to say she did an excellent job. I think I might go back there and get a cut, but it might work out a tad expensive ;)

It was hilarious. The queue of lads sitting waiting to get their hair cut. All of them drooling looking at the mother and daughter. It was like people watching a tennis game. Their heads moving in the direction of the the mother and daughter movement :D

growler wrote: »
    mine recently put in a few Playstations to keep us amused while waiting.

What a great idea,come on this fine establishment deserves a plug...were is it...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭growler

stoke newington, london

:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭redfacedbear

Red Alert wrote: »
    Eastern european girls seem to always do a good job from my experience.

I general, I've found the same. There was one who gave me the worst haircut I've ever had - she had a mullet though, so I should have seen it coming!

The best barber I've ever had was a woman. I've driven the 40 miles from Wexford to Waterford just to get her again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

tampopo wrote: »
    Oh no, generally speaking I've found I had a good experience. One time in a basement barber's in the city centre, at the end she asked would I like gel, and ran her hands over my head. omg, it was orgasmic! Then the cheap place on the quays, a gorgeous Asian girl did a good job last year.
    No no no. GF's for that, men for cutting yer hair.

There's a very well known barbers just off Camden street. Most days there's two Polish guys and an Irish girl.

I usually wait at the back for the chairs to come free and if it looks like I'm about to get the woman, I'll fake an urgent call on the moby till one of the Polish guys has an empty chair.

Why? Because I let her cut my hair a couple of times and she didn't do a great job compared to how neat and fastidious the Polish lads were.

growler wrote: »
    stoke newington, london

Dam...they always get cool stuff first in 'London town'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Poxyshamrock

My barber is a woman :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭TheThing!

I had a woman barber and she was hot and she kept asking me out and I just kept saying, "feel free to keep your dumb bitch mouth shut and concentrate on the hair, baby"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Timothy Bryce

Couple of hotties working in the Green Dolphin on Sth Anne St. I have it on good authority they're both total sluts.

RESULT!