Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Exhilaration !!!

• 29-10-2007 3:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭

Back home in Naas after my first marathon - very happy with my time of approx. 4:22 on what was a beautiful day weather-wise. So so glad the Met. Office got it wrong compared to their forecast last week !!

Crowds were fantastic all around the course - hope everyone finished in one piece and made whatever targets they had set etc.

Am feeling surprisingly pain-free and even managed to come down the stairs just now in the normal manner !! Now for next year !!

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

well done, you got a great day for it.
    Was at the top of the hill at roebuck near the drummers, didn't see too many really struggling for a good while..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭tenandtracer

Great day, happy with 4:02. Struggled just after Belfield flyover, the climb along Roebuck was tough enough.
    Really well organized for drinks, gels, baggage etc. I think the organizers have done themselves proud. The weather was just so brilliant.

Now time for an infusion of a (good) few pints of Vitamin G:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭earlyevening

Came in a little ahead of where I expected - clock was 3.30 so chip will probably be 2 mins better. Had to stop twice for a few mins due to cramp. Will deffo be back again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Good stuff lads glad to hear you all had a good time, it was a mixed experience for me. It took about 8 miles to get into my normal pace. However, things turned around for me and at the 20 mile marker I was on for a good PB, however, I behaved like an idiot and tried one of those high 5 gels. I'm experienced enough to know not to try anything on the day, but thought I would get away with it. I didn't. I had to stop a quite a few times dry-reaching, nothing to bad, but messed up my timings. However, I had been slacking on my training so I'm pleased with 3.46, but there is just that thought that I know a new PB was within reach [forgive the pun]. But all the same it was a good day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

First off I would like to say th organisation was superb. Jim Aughney and his team deserve huge credit. It's so easy to bitch and moan when something goes wrong but today was one of the most professionally run races I have ever competed in.

Second the weather was superb. The air temp was perfect but I found the wind a bit tough in places. Considering how bad it had been earlier in the week we can have no complaints though.

I myself ran the weirdest race ever in my whole life! Finished with 2.51, my second fastest time ever but I hit "the wall" at 100 miles an hour at 16 miles and ended up walking/running to the finish. After dishing out great advice about talking it easy the first few miles I headed off like a headless chicken so I've no complaints.

I feel like I should be peed off with my time but I'm actually dead chuffed with myself at having the ability to finish what was pure torture in the end for me.

Hope everybody else had a great day. I'm off to meet my friend Arthur G for a couple of pints.

Times are up on the website now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭jlang

First marathon down - definitely agree about the exhilaration. Anything under 4 hours was my not-sure-how-achievable target. Went out slightly faster than I'd planned but felt comfortable at that pace so continued. First half 1hr 49 and made it through 21 miles at 3 hour mark. But someone must have built a wall across the road at Clonskeagh Motors and I ran straight into it. Split times slowed dramatically but still extremely happy with 3hr53min as I reckon I only lost about 10 mins due to the slowdown and probably would have slowed even if I'd gone out at 9min pace - but it was hell - like running through water, being passed on left and right. Once I crossed the line I stopped and could hardly walk. After a bit of a sit and a dose of Mars bars I could move and now a few hours later, I can say I felt worse after the 4 hour training run.

Very well organised, no queues at start, water or finish. Great support from the crowd all round. And thank the gods it didn't rain. Not surprised the winner's time was a record - perfect conditions. On the marathon website I think the 20km times are actually those from 30km.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

I'd echo that appreciation for the organisers and all those who helped out on the day to make it a success. The crowds too were terrific.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

SJ how did you find the race, I seen a guy in the park with an I Amsterdam t-shirt and was wondering if it was you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 runningnev

Hey Really enjoyed the race thought it was a great event. I was interested reading about the guy taking the Gel. This was my first marathon so I suppose I have more of an excuse. I bought a t-shirt at the marathon expo it was called Kraft or craft. I had been running in a good Asics one but decided to treat myself at the expo. Turned out to be a bad move chaffed right under my arms within the first 3 miles, tried rubbing vaseline at one of the aid stations but it didn't work. It's amazing how one small change like a t-shirt can mess up your day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭lizanne83

Hey, also back in Naas now from my first full-marathon too. Was lucky enough to get into starting elites right up at the line and was all prepped + happy. Was trying so (too) hard that I tied laces v-tight that cut all circulation off at feet + had to stop twice to loosen laces – with freezing hands so I lost few mins. Was back on track at 8.5-9 mph pace + just coming out of Crumlin had a v-bad fall + roll (due to dangling lace!) Few of u might have seen the girl with the bloody shoulder/arm, knees + elbows (me!) Medic dudes told me not 2continue, limping on badly done knee but I insisted – I was furious. Was nearly going to throw the hat in with the pain for first few miles after but said fe*k it - I’ve trained so bloody hard 4 this so I gritted teeth + resumed normal pace after 3-miles of limp-running on knee + it got bit stronger. To cut long story short, I finished marathon in just under 3hr:26min. Was delighted (+ surprised) considering the events throughout! I put it all down to not just the fantastic cheering from supporters but the comradeship of fellow runners. Thank-you to those who asked if I was ok etc, especially those who picked me up off ground! Bring on marathon #2…. Less the delaying injuries!

good time even without your troubles. well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭A P

Well done to all that took part - I was at the KCR garage cheering ye on - have extremely raw hands from clapping to prove it! I would've loved to have been running it, but I enjoyed watching all of ye gritting the teeth and digging deep - it was inspirational. Sounds like everyone has a story or two to tell from their big day (Lizanne definitely won't forget her first marathon by the sounds of things!) but I hope everyone will be back for more punishment this time next year.
    What's your pb Roadrunner? 2.51 is a savage time, especially with tummy trouble. Tell Arthur G I was asking for him!
    Enjoy the celebrations - ye deserve it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭Peckham

What a race! Everything was perfect - weather, organisation, supporters, atmosphere. From my point of view, I ran exactly the race I wanted with dead even splits to give me a 3:06.

Thought the toughest part of the race was definitely Merrion Road - I just knew it was going to be tough when I rounded the corner at Nutley Lane to be faced with the wind....but I still can't work out how the wind can be into your face on both Merrion Road AND Shelbourne Road - that was just cruel of the marathon gods!

TheRoadRunner - 2:51 is a savage time if you were walking part of the race! You must have been on for an amazing time coming up to mile 20.

Lizanne - Hero of the day it seems! Doing more than half of the marathon with cuts and bruises is some achievement. What do the medics know about marathon running anyway! :)

Well done all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Congrats to everyone who ran the race, some pretty good times here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭deadlybuzz

Hi, Congrats to all fellow finishers... the weather gods showed us some mercy after all. We had near-perfect conditions. I thought the organisation was superb this year, certainly best that I have experienced in last 5 years, from the expo, to the signage, to the number of stewards on the course. All the same, I read that the leaders nearly took a wrong turn after approx. a mile, so it shows that one small occurence could produce all the wrong headlines. Well done to Jim Aughney and team for planning and running a fantastic event. Those Finisher Shirts are an improvement as well. I ran a PB of 2.57 yesterday, and will be back, but maybe not for a year or two. I'd like to try something different, a tri-athlon maybe. But first..... a few beers and a well-earned rest....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Abhainn

Heh folks
    I agree yesterday was a fantastic occasion. For me a great experience been a first timer. Ran even splits and came home in 3:14 which 6 mins inside my target time.
    Thanks to all the brilliant support on the route, it really gives you that extra will to complete the challenge that is the marathon.
    I just want to say to those that I passed on route, those who were trying to overcome cramps, that poor fella at the top of Roebuck rd who was puking his guts, those who fell and were cut and brusied (poor Lizanne)
    - "impossible is nothing".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭K2

I can only echo all the previous comments. My first marathon, and not my last...came into it with an injury and was so full of doubt as to whether I get out of the phoenix park so took it real slow and knew when I got to mile 10 that my legs would hold up all the way. It took 5hrs 24mins, a long way from my target of 4hrs 30min but I am still so happy and proud. The slogan on the back of one particular t shirt gave me a lot of encouragement " Pain is temporary, Pride is forever", this would appear to be such a cliche to anyone who hasn't run it but those of us who have will understand.

The organisation was excellent, as were the fellow runners and the crowd. Well done to all who took part and for myself I say Roll on Befast 2008!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

Definately agree with the organisation of yesterday. The crowd support at certain areas was great too. I was delighted with the race. I had no time planned, just run! In the end I finished in 2.46 so absolutely chuffed. 15 mins off my previous best. I decided on a no watch approach so I was well surprised to see the clock at the end.
    The legs are certainly feeling it today mind... never had a strained ass cheek before!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭depadz

Was hoping for a sub 3:30 - got in just under 3:19.

Hi I actually wasn't too far off my pb believe it or not. I thought I should have gone quicker on the day if the calves had of behaved but thats all here say!

Wow stupid private 15 minutes off your pb is very impressive but to go from 3hrs to 2.45 makes it even more so. Glad to see everybody else seemed to run quicker times than they expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,218 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

K2 wrote: »
    I can only echo all the previous comments. My first marathon, and not my last...came into it with an injury and was so full of doubt as to whether I get out of the phoenix park so took it real slow and knew when I got to mile 10 that my legs would hold up all the way. It took 5hrs 24mins, a long way from my target of 4hrs 30min but I am still so happy and proud. The slogan on the back of one particular t shirt gave me a lot of encouragement " Pain is temporary, Pride is forever", this would appear to be such a cliche to anyone who hasn't run it but those of us who have will understand.

The organisation was excellent, as were the fellow runners and the crowd. Well done to all who took part and for myself I say Roll on Befast 2008!:)

Great stuff mhate - congrats!!!

I too finished my first marathon yesterday and intend to do it again next year.

The race was superbly organised, huge credit must go to the organisers...

However, the real stars imo were the supporters. I honestly could not believe the boost that you get on the route from people just cheering you on, it was immense and such a lift at times. I could not believe the amount of them too. I was overwhelmed at the amount of complete strangers that would latch onto you and shout encouragement as you passed, an amazing experience!

Someone posted (Copacetic?) that they were at the top of Roebuck Road - the crowd were brilliant to me there.

People are incredible.

Someone posted (Copacetic?) that they were at the top of Roebuck Road - the crowd were brilliant to me there.

People are incredible.

yeah I went there as I knew from experience it was a tough spot and there was a big crowd and about 20 people with drums! obviously all with the same idea..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭stipes212

copacetic wrote: »
    yeah I went there as I knew from experience it was a tough spot and there was a big crowd and about 20 people with drums! obviously all with the same idea..

I was at Roebuck, but after an hour those drummers really got to me, I had to move nearer the bottom of the hill.
    still, congrats to all who finished, especially those who reached their targets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭DBK

Was aiming for a 4hour marathon. Only training 16 weeks, 2 maybe 3 times a week. I know now I should have put in more training. Finished it in 4:19. Didn't hit the wall but I had tried gels before and just on the day they didn't agree with me. Stomach was in knots. Didn't stop me but slowed me. Just like those bloody walkers at the start...if you're going to walk it, don't do it in the middle of the road and towards the front.

I have to say though, there was a guy on Nassau street in a blue tracksuit with white hair in a pony shouting people on and running along with some that were struggling. He even quickly massaged a guys leg that had cramped. These are the kind of people that give up their time to support the runners that made it all worth while. Thanks to all who came out to cheer us on. It really helped me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭Ohyeah

hiya everyone- I posted a few times in the run up to the marathon and can I just thanks very much for everyone who gave advice and help.

was aiming for sub 4hr and did it:) very very happy. wonderful day- I had a good run for a first timer- in the sense I did not hit the wall and I felt ok through-out.

it was very hard, but I think I just had one of those running days where you feel great and you don't get a stich early on, or feel tired very quickly etc etc- all the training must have worked:)

not going to do it again- cause its just too time consuming, but I would encourage other people to give it a lash because there is a great sense of achivement.

anyway its the odd 10 milers and half marathons now for me :D

the event was organised brilliantly and the people on the route shouting for us were stars- I just kept on saying thank you to everyone who clapped and shouted us on- I would not have believed beforehand that it would have made a difference- but it most definetly did.

well done to all boardises who did it
    KEEP ON RUNNING! :)

Was analysing my mile splits earlier, and it's interesting to see the impact of the course profile on the speed. My slowest miles clearly match up with the more difficult parts of the course!

1 0:08:30
    2 0:06:56
    3 0:07:00
    4 0:06:49
    5 0:06:36
    6 0:07:12 Chesterfield Avenue
    7 0:07:03
    8 0:07:03
    9 0:07:10
    10 0:06:52
    11 0:06:41
    12 0:07:21 Crumlin
    13 0:07:06
    14 0:07:11
    15 0:06:48
    16 0:07:03
    17 0:07:01
    18 0:06:50
    19 0:06:49
    20 0:07:14 Roebuck Road
    21 0:07:00
    22 0:07:12
    23 0:07:14
    24 0:07:29 Shelbourne Road
    25 0:07:30 Grand Canal Street
    26 0:07:02

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭SharkTale

Hi to all you runners, well done, must say very well organised event, drinks-gels-Garda-stewards- and "THE PEOPLE ON THE ROUTE", I found it very hard as a first timer but the people on the course were great around every bend shouting and cheering and the bands added to the occasion.
    Thought and was hoping to do a better time but the last 3 miles were really painful.
    Must agree with all the comments so far great day out and will definitely be back next year..and may even try a different venue.
    Body felt great today not too many pains or aches.
    Thanks to everybody who contributed to the posts over the last few months all advice helped me during the difficult times…from food to training to hitting the plateau during week 10 of training, to tape for sore nipples…all feed back was welcome

Well done again to everybody

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭shopaholic

Well done everyone!
    Was at holles street, then onto dolpins barn and back into the finish watching the race. If they stick to the same course next year I'll do the same thing!
    I know you guys would have suffered more but am soooo glad the rain arrived on Sunday instead of yesterday!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭daveyrovers

Thanks to everyone on this board. I may not have posted during the marathon but enjoyed reading everyones adivce.

To the likes of hunnymonster and amadedues to name but a few keep up the good work I hope to some day gather the knowledge and experience that the likes of you guys have and be able to give advice to marathon newbies like I was this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭aburke

A big thank you to everyone on the forum,
    My application to join the sub 3 hour club was accepted, with a 2:58:40 run, including a 1:30 negative split.

I actually thought the spectating crowds were a little down this year, but I still got plenty of "come on Athenry!" shouts from the crowds.

Organisation was top-notch.

This event deserves bigger support from the city council, and especially from our national broadcaster, RTE. They don't even have to do much work. The way the BBC cover the London Marathon is the ideal example to follow.

Anyway, I'll be back again next year, but this time as a supporter to cheer on my clubmates. A trip to Berlin might be worth a shot for next year.

Regards
    Alan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭brutes

well done aburke

back in training now for connemarathon 08 speedwork tonight??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭onekeaneo

Woooo hoooooo my first Marathon. And yeah I’ve been limping around for the past few days in pain but with the biggest grin on my face. The feeling of crossing that line was everything I hoped it would be and more.
    I found it pretty hard around the Stillorgan road and especially at the UCD flyover. The wind was right in my face but after I got passed that bit it was ok…..
    It was at this point that I came up on the guy at the side of the road. He was shot, gone.. I stopped to give him a bit of support but I could tell he was in a bad way and he was saying that that was it for him. I offered to run with him. We were so close I knew he’d be so annoyed at throwing the towel in at this stage. I said “lets just get over the flyover and see how you are then”…Then I said “look lets just get to the corner of Nutley Lane after that we’ll asses the situation”….we took the last few miles like that, baby steps, setting each small goal and thinking only of that..and so on. The support from the crowd was amasing!!!We both crossed the line just over the 4 hrs mark.
    The two of us just sat at the pavement after for 10 minutes or so, cramped up.
    I did it in 4hrs 1min to be exact. What a feeling! Could I have set a faster time if I hadn’t have stopped? Yeah I’m sure I could have but I doubt I’d have felt as good as I did at the finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭donaghs

Well done everyone. And thanks to the crowds and organisers urging us on. Only managed 4:55 myself but was so relieved to cross the finish line. Did overtake Tommy Tiernan and Fintan O'Toole though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭A P

Nice one OneKeano - you reap what you sow - might be no harm to do the Lotto this weekend! Fair play to you. Good time too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭lizanne83

Hi guys, firstly, all our photos from Mond are now online at: www.asiphoto.net. Thanks for all the support + encouragement from the whole marathon prep these months, the build up + the post marathon pats on the back after sharing my experience! I'm in even worst shape now than the day after marathon. The fall has bruised the ribs + my back is killing me! Trying to move or cough + every bone in my body aches. Can't even raise arms to swim... yet alone run. All I wanna do is get back out running again! :-( Is anyone out there who did marathon this week back out running again yet? Bib 8759

no not back running yet. I usually do go bacj a couple of days after a marathon but have decided to take a couple of weeks break and replenish my fat stores !

Just looked at my own (horror) photos and I looked every bit as bad as I felt.
    The stiffness is strating to ease now though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭daveyrovers

oh yeah I'm starting to feel a lot better now thinking of going for a run this evening. Just a very light one to see how it goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

I usually take a week off after but the legs are feeling alright today so I think its a slow jog tonight.
    Next week the hunt for a running club starts...

I went out and did 5 miles this morning. Felt some tenderness in the legs as I ran. I was happy enough with the way it went. I think I'll do 7 on Sunday on the back of it.
    I'm really keen to do another marathon. I know 3.20 is possible for me. Maybe I'll give Connemara a go in April. I did the half last year and it was fairly hilly, so maybe not ideal but at least its picturesque.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭jrar

Will try to get a 4/5 mile run in this evening or tomorrow morning - this cracking weather is too good an opportunity to pass up !

Fair play to all of you for getting back out.

Just a word of warning. Most experienced marathoners will tell you it takes one day to recover from every mile you run in a marathon (roughly a month). So by all means get out and run just don't burn it up as it may slow down your process of recovery.

I have to admit I may have made this mistake myself earlier this year. I probably started hard running 1-2 weeks earlier than I should have, after an Spring marathon !

As a matter of interest does anybody know of any marathons (European preferably) that take place around July/August. I know of the Irish ones but am thinking of looking a bit further afield.

Have a good weekend, myself and Arthur G are still having some nights out together so the running is on hold until next week, yahoo !

Likewise I'm re-acquainting myself with my good friend Arthur G, lot's of catching up to do.

Hoping to do a 5 mile run at the weekend, but won't bother if I feel any type of strain (tightness in legs is wearing off now, and am able to face forwards when walking down the stairs!). Have a 11 mile race at the start of December, so mind will switch to that shortly - pretty cool race starting in the Alps on the French side of the border and then running into Geneva (all downhill though!).

Then I may take the rest of December off and pick up running again in Jan to start training proper in Feb for either Cork or Belfast (hoping for a sub-3 at that stage). After that will focus on short races for the remainder of 2008, before Boston 2009. That's the plan anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Abhainn

A couple of Franziskaner's wheat beers awaits tonight. Some Arthur G's will be had before Monday though.
    Might try a 6 miler Sunday morning just to see how I feel. Was sore untill Wed night but fine since
    But will be taking it easy untill start Dec. anyway. Maybe a few soccor astro 5asides between now and then. I don't know about you guys but I was getting a bit fed up by it all the time I had my 5th long run done before the marathon.

Wish list for next year -
    Well Connemara full awaits I hope on 5th April. Would be special if I beat beat my PB of 3:14 there, but that may be a bit much.
    After that a marathon on a quick course next Sept /Oct somewhere in Europe
    Having family connections there I'd be very interested in the Cyprus 4 day challenge next Dec but that's a long way off. And hoping to commence tri's next summer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭depadz

just how hilly is the connemara one?
    don't know if anyone is familiar with cruagh woods in the dublin mountains but have done laps of that before (15/20 min run to the top). WOuld that type of training be sufficient?

fwedrest wrote: »
    don't know if anyone is familiar with cruagh woods in the dublin mountains but have done laps of that before (15/20 min run to the top). WOuld that type of training be sufficient?

it has a couple of bad hills but nothing like cruagh, however they are during the marathon so it is hard to judge how you would cope with them on the road..

fwedrest wrote: »

For the half last year I did training runs on Howth hill, two laps forward and back are a good approximation (Howth maybe about 60 feet higher).
    http://www.mapmyrun.com/run/ireland/dublin-15/249528115

This is the elevation for Connemara
    http://www.connemarathon.com/profile.html
    The hills are not particularly steep. However the last hill, the Hell of the West, is an 80 metre climb at 22 to 24 miles. That will be a bit like doing Roebuck twice!

As a matter of interest does anybody know of any marathons (European preferably) that take place around July/August.

Lots here,
    http://www.marathonguide.com/races/races.cfm?place=Intl

Thanks tenandtracer

That's exactly what I was looking for.

Now to tell the Mrs that we are going to Barcelona in March. She'll be happy with that. There could be divorce proceedings when I tell her I'm doing the Marathon though !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

Stefano Baldini from '04. Great piece and I dedicate it to all you finished last monday - bravo, bravo, bravo!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NZKcBX-LxUQ

Whether its becoming Olympic champ or finishing in 5 hours, its kind of the same feeling.