Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So who was it pissed off Charlie Bird??????

• 28-10-2007 9:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 682 ✭✭✭

As anyone who watched the Telethon will have seen,Charlie Bird was very annoyed with one of RTE's "stars" after his anonymous stint.
    After they came back to Charlie after showing the clip he didn't look at all happy
    and he said the editing was brilliant.Had a look around You Tube and couldn't find it.
    Anyway if anyone here knows who it was please do tell!
    Some of the "stars" in the clip were:

Gerry Ryan(i think it could be him)
    Pat Kenny
    Joe Duffy
    Derek Mooney
    Brian Dobson

and im missing a few here!
    So as a licence payer i demand to know!!!!:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

Bros123 wrote: »

Pat Kenny
    Joe Duffy
    Derek Mooney
    Brian Dobson

Charlie p!ssed them all off, but they got their revenge.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PXUpbDO-8xo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭l3LoWnA

yeah - was wondering the same myself. Charlie was DYING to talk about it aswell but looked like he wasn't allowed! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Thrill wrote: »
    Charlie p!ssed them all off, but they got their revenge.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PXUpbDO-8xo

They punched him in face..with their fists! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,196 ✭✭✭✭Basq

That was so out-of-sync i thought i was watching 'Revenge of The Dragon' for a minute!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Ruu wrote: »
    They punched him in face..with their fists! :eek:

Sounded to me like "with their fish". The incident didn't occur on Moore St. by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭JeanClaude

As anyone who watched the Telethon will have seen,Charlie Bird was very annoyed with one of RTE's "stars" after his anonymous stint.
    After they came back to Charlie after showing the clip he didn't look at all happy
    and he said the editing was brilliant.Had a look around You Tube and couldn't find it.

Pat Kenny
    Joe Duffy
    Derek Mooney
    Brian Dobson

The one person you didn't mention there, is actually the person i think he was on about...Eileen Dunne...she looked rightly pissed off when "Charlie Black" (Jaysus they put a lot of thought into that name:rolleyes::rolleyes:) was coughing..:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Bros123

Someone who works in RTE must post here,so come on and spill the beans.WE NEED ANSWERS!!!!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

It was Pat Kenny. I can't go in to too much detail about it with out creating a shit storm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭smaoifs

Ah, i actually thought it was Bryan Dobson when they didn't show anymore of him than the bit walking through the carpark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

What the hell is an anonymous stint?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭l3LoWnA

I'd a feelin it was Pat! The oul' moany hole!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Pat Kenny
    Joe Duffy
    Derek Mooney
    Brian Dobson

Didn't see the telethon, so what on earth are you blathering about? :)

Orange69 wrote: »
    What the hell is an anonymous stint?

Its a TV program "anonymous" Mr 69.

The-Rigger wrote: »

Well if you didn't see it you have nothing to add so be on your merry way.

Its a TV program "anonymous" Mr 69.

Thank you Mr 123.

More than happy to enlighten you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Peared

I only watched a bit of this shambles and have no idea what yiz are talkin bout. But am nosy so wanna know. C'mon peoples, spill.... Who did what with the where in the why now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Pat Kenny
    Joe Duffy
    Derek Mooney
    Brian Dobson

Dude tell them about the whole picketing RTE Cork plan!!!

And speaking of Anonymous, just remembered that I'm in one of them. The Des Bishop one, I was in the audience and they kept using me for reaction shots!!

Oh, and as I said in another thread, hope it was Joe Duffy!!
    Oh I hope it was Joe Duffy and then all the women from Clontarf can ring Liveline and give out to him.

'But Jawoe, he was over der in dat der d'Amazon Jawoe but. He was doing hims bih for de charity Jawoe.'

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=54301424#post54301424

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,867 ✭✭✭Demonique

Probably Pat the Plank

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

Peared wrote: »
    I only watched a bit of this shambles and have no idea what yiz are talkin bout. But am nosy so wanna know. C'mon peoples, spill.... Who did what with the where in the why now?

Colonel Mustard in the Dining Room with the candlestick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

I'd just like to say, although I have no idea what a "telethon" in, that Pat Kenny is some piece of arse. He's like Christopher Reeve would be like if he didn't get paralysed by falling off a horse and dying afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭smcelhinney

He's like Christopher Reeve would be like if he didn't get paralysed by falling off a horse and dying afterwards.

Classic line.. did you copyright that??? If not, well then COPYRIGHT!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

He's like Christopher Reeve would be like if he didn't get paralysed by falling off a horse.

So he's like Christopher Walken?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 400 ✭✭ruskin

I dont think Pat was the one Chalie was referring to: after all Pat was the only one to have a bit of banter with the Charles Black guy ("You cna buy cheaper wine in Lidl") and he laughed when he found out. I dont think Brian Dobson would be pissed because from what I hear he and Charlie Bird are good friends and the two top dogs in the newsroom. Gerry Ryan looked sour enough with Charles Black, but then again he was the only one who took the wine! I think whats more than likely is that the person Charlie said was pissed off with him would have been completely cut out from the segment. So what sour bastard or bitch with no sense of humour at RTE could it be?

Can someone explain in detail what the hell this is all about?

Charlie Bird this this thing for Telethon where he put on all a mask and stuff to make him look different, only he didn't look different cos you cant hide that nose. They called him Charles Black.

Charlie wouldn't stop laughing like a girl when he saw the 'transformation', only he was really laughing at his own face. Idiot.

Because he was laughing they couldn't explain to him what to do so they sent him around rte to try and fool people.

Charlie is crap at accents so the minute he said hello everyone said 'Howya Charlie', or something like that.

This happened loads until he got to big brave Pat Kenny, Gerry Ryan, Derek Mooney and Joe Duffy. Derek Mooney was on the phone but he'd never been asked for an autograph before so he signed it.

Charlie tried to give them wine. They refused. Joe Duffy said if he took it he'd be up in a tribunal. Gerry Ryan took it though. No surprises there.

Then they showed the above people laughing because they were told it was Charlie.

Cut back to Telethon studio where Ryan Tubridy, Charlie Bird, and the audience seemed terribly excited about the whole thing. How amusing.

Charlie Bird tells Ryan that the editing was brilliant because some of the people weren't that happy with being fooled.

Charlie Bird was, of course, wrong. It is not difficult to remove a clip of an angry person and put in a 5 second clip of someone laughing. Idiot.

Then they showed some crap about Charlie messing up interviews with politicians and with his colleagues about him. Charlie coughed during the interview, which annoyed everyone. He coughed because talking was clearly not the way to go, as he can't do accents.

Everyone laughed when they found out.

Except David Norris who, although he had been fooled before on Anonymous, still did not realise who it was even when Jason Byrne said the word 'Anonymous' and threw in 'Charlie Bird' for the laugh, to which David replied, no this is Charles Black. The penny finally drops about 10 minutes later. Everyone laughs.

Charlie, in studio, again mentions the brilliant editing and sulks like a little girl who has lost her dolly.

Conclusion:

1. How did Telethon make money out of this?

2. Is David Norris on crack?

3. I now realise why Charlie Bird could not get a visa to get to the country he was meant to be doing a story in and instead had to stand outside that country.

4. Yet again Charlie Bird has proved himself to be a big girl's blouse, even more so than that Amazon debacle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Peared

Well thank you janeybabe. At feckin last.

Mmm kinda disappointed now though, no fist fights or nothin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭JohnnyStones

YES
    He's been on crack'(S) for years:)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

anyone got a youtube link to the telethon clip? I heard eileen dunne was goin rasher!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭Trode

Pigman II wrote: »
    So he's like Christopher Walken?

Best post of the month, no questions.

Well if you didn't see it you have nothing to add so be on your merry way.

That's not how it works, you should illustrate what you are talking about by provide some links or explaining it, instead of being a complete dosey ignorant moron. :)

I'm not the one resorting to calling people childish names and if you dont remember from third class the spelling is DOZY and not DOSEY,thats not how it works.:):rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Charlie Bird this this thing for Telethon where he put on all a mask and stuff to make him look different, only he didn't look different cos you cant hide that nose. They called him Charles Black.

Charlie wouldn't stop laughing like a girl when he saw the 'transformation', only he was really laughing at his own face. Idiot.

Because he was laughing they couldn't explain to him what to do so they sent him around rte to try and fool people.

Charlie is crap at accents so the minute he said hello everyone said 'Howya Charlie', or something like that.

This happened loads until he got to big brave Pat Kenny, Gerry Ryan, Derek Mooney and Joe Duffy. Derek Mooney was on the phone but he'd never been asked for an autograph before so he signed it.

Charlie tried to give them wine. They refused. Joe Duffy said if he took it he'd be up in a tribunal. Gerry Ryan took it though. No surprises there.

Then they showed the above people laughing because they were told it was Charlie.

Cut back to Telethon studio where Ryan Tubridy, Charlie Bird, and the audience seemed terribly excited about the whole thing. How amusing.

Charlie Bird tells Ryan that the editing was brilliant because some of the people weren't that happy with being fooled.

Charlie Bird was, of course, wrong. It is not difficult to remove a clip of an angry person and put in a 5 second clip of someone laughing. Idiot.

Then they showed some crap about Charlie messing up interviews with politicians and with his colleagues about him. Charlie coughed during the interview, which annoyed everyone. He coughed because talking was clearly not the way to go, as he can't do accents.

Everyone laughed when they found out.

Except David Norris who, although he had been fooled before on Anonymous, still did not realise who it was even when Jason Byrne said the word 'Anonymous' and threw in 'Charlie Bird' for the laugh, to which David replied, no this is Charles Black. The penny finally drops about 10 minutes later. Everyone laughs.

Charlie, in studio, again mentions the brilliant editing and sulks like a little girl who has lost her dolly.

Conclusion:

1. How did Telethon make money out of this?

3. I now realise why Charlie Bird could not get a visa to get to the country he was meant to be doing a story in and instead had to stand outside that country.

4. Yet again Charlie Bird has proved himself to be a big girl's blouse, even more so than that Amazon debacle.
    I still don't get it :confused: but by the sound of it, it was another typically amateurish RTE production all round then.

The only thing they actually do well is their sports coverage.

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    I still don't get it :confused: but by the sound of it, it was another typically amateurish RTE production all round then.

Charlie Bird did look very uncomfortable both in the disguise and in the studio.Somebody must have it to post on You Tube.
    Its one of those clips you would really have to see!

I'm not the one resorting to calling people childish names and if you dont remember from third class the spelling is DOZY and not DOSEY,thats not how it works.:):rolleyes:

It was an accurate depiction of your actions so far. ;)

What I said stands, you need to make an effort when you start a thread so that people will know what you are talking about.

It was an accurate depiction of your actions so far. ;)

What I said stands, you need to make an effort when you start a thread so that people will know what you are talking about.

I was in no way "blathering" as other people had no problem grasping what the thread was about.I have no problem with someone asking for more information about a topic covered in a thread,i myself have done so many times,that is what these forums are all about.
    Its idiotic and juvenile name calling i.e "complete ignorant dosey (sic) moron" that gets a little bit tiring for both the person it's aimed at and other people that have to read it.
    Just one of those things people who don't post much or just join in every now and then when its something they show an interest in have to put up with on BOARDS.IE i have noticed unfortunately.

aww bless.
    Dry your eyes. ;)

Kaiser2000 wrote: »

Ya thanks for the details Janey but i still don't get it either..

I did catch some of the "Telethon" whilst making a bowl of cereal in the kitchen and it looked pretty excruciating... Sick bucket on standby kind of stuff!

All i expected stick up a Kleenex add instead of replying to valid points.
    Aww bless indeed.:rolleyes:

All i expected stick up a Kleenex add instead of replying to valid points.
    Aww bless indeed.:rolleyes:

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

I'd say you'd be more into the puffs. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭bishop brennan

I was in no way "blathering" as other people had no problem grasping what the thread was about.I have no problem with someone asking for more information about a topic covered in a thread,i myself have done so many times,that is what these forums are all about.
    Its idiotic and juvenile name calling i.e "complete ignorant dosey (sic) moron" that gets a little bit tiring for both the person it's aimed at and other people that have to read it.

Have to agree with you.Posters do seem to log in and go on a search for people to slag off and throw in a bit of name calling for good measure!
    There are lots of people here though that just join in with the bit of a laugh that it is at the end of the day:)Charlie Bird isnt worth calling somebody an ignorant moron over to be honest:rolleyes:A lot of kids on here so it comes with the territory im afraid.

Have to agree with you.Posters do seem to log in and go on a search for people to slag off and throw in a bit of name calling for good measure!
    There are lots of people here though that just join in with the bit of a laugh that it is at the end of the day:)Charlie Bird isnt worth calling somebody an ignorant moron over to be honest:rolleyes:

Report the post/s or and/or go to feedback is my suggestion. :)

Ya thanks for the details Janey but i still don't get it either..

Dude that took me ages to write*. I'm upset now!! :p

*May not have taken me ages to write!!

Dude that took me ages to write*. I'm upset now!! :p

*May not have taken me ages to write!!

Have you the placard ready janey?:)

There are lots of people here though that just join in with the bit of a laugh that it is at the end of the day:)Charlie Bird isnt worth calling somebody an ignorant moron over to be honest:rolleyes:A lot of kids on here so it comes with the territory im afraid.

I know buddy!:rolleyes::)

Have you the placard ready janey?:)

What do you think I've been doing all day!!?? :)

Well i woke at 5am and ripped up my garden fence to get started making them!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Next time you do that it's a ban. M'kay?

Well i woke at 5am and ripped up my garden fence to get started making them!:D

You have a garden fence?? I'm so jealous!! All I have is a sandwich board I stole from the guy advertising Subway!! What are you writing on yours??

"JUSTICE FOR THE BIRDMAN OF MONTROSE"