Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Its nown been 5 years....

• 27-10-2007 12:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 36

...since i last paid my tv licence. Ive now saved enough money to go on a small holiday with the missus. I indeed can live with the shame

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

o aren't you naughty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

*takes away dinner plate from in front of stevo86*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 400 ✭✭ruskin

Good for you man, good for you. When you see the tripe RTE produce, do people ever stop and say "Wait a minute, what the hell am I paying this for?". You did, and I hope many more do. It always seems stupid to me in those tv licence ads, that people who dont pay their licence should be ashamed of themselves like some sort of monster. Get real RTE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

Its a retarded tax tbh..

do they never come checking ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 stevo86

Im sorry if i annoy other people, but i dont see the point in paying (correct me if im wrong) 150 euros a year on muck like fair city or your a star.

I live in an area where the houses have names, not numbers. So when i moved in a good few years back i took the name of the house down from the front wall. Sure i get calls from them now and again but its nothing more then intimidation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Hi.
    We here at boards.ie do not condone non payment of the tv licence.

Should you choose not to pay it, you should be aware that there are consequences.

Your IP adress has been logged as 127.0.0.1
    Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭pirelli

The TV inspectors were just around. I missed them due to the virtues of a friday night. It has been 7 years now without one and thats 1050 euro actually 1200 euro this january. I have only seen one call in all that time apart from todya. (not counting when I am not in)
    With all the cash I might actually buy a television set.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Quit trying to frighten him, the only use the licence is is for the upkeep of the RTE news site and paying Dunphys wage.

Anyone remember these ads a while back that pretty much compared having a prior for non payment to being a child molester in terms of societal revulsion?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Is your name stevo86 because that's the year you were born?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

I'd definitely condone non-payment. R they still making shows like the lyrics board. Should be paying us to watch that shoite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

You're doing the devil's bidding, OP. For shame.
    tallaght01 wrote: »
    I'd definitely condone non-payment. R they still making shows like the lyrics board. Should be paying us to watch that shoite.

Hah, the Lyrics Board! Haven't seen that in ages! Bring it back! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

DaveMcG wrote: »
    You're doing the devil's bidding, OP. For shame.

Hah, the Lyrics Board! Haven't seen that in ages! Bring it back! :D

I dare anyone to sit through the entire clip.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Terry wrote: »

I tried, I honestly tried but I didn't even last a minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

OP that's ok, but I think it's a small price to pay for Fair City. I may stop paying the licence fee if they bring out dvd boxsets but until then...

I tried, I honestly tried but I didn't even last a minute.
    Yeah, me too. That was a very chilling experience :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Dudess wrote: »
    Yeah, me too. That was a very chilling experience :(

sweet jebus I think I've gone deaf...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

I salute all you heroes that don't pay your TV license fee. It is the most shameful tax that we Irish citizens are forced to pay (yes even worse than VRT).
    RTE should be cut loose and forced to fend for themselves, that would wake up the Jabba the Hut types in Montrose and in my opinion would actually improve things at the station.
    If TV3 can do it, so can they.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

you evil , evil man you. i got about half way through it do i get a prize?

RTE and TV3 are two different types of broadcaster.
    But yeah, Ireland is a laughing stock because its public service broadcaster relies on advertising revenue. That's the main issue I have with paying for a TV licence. Oh yeah, and RTE's sh*it. Almost forgot that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Dudess wrote: »
    Is your name stevo86 because that's the year you were born?

86 is american slang to end or get rid of something. Perhaps the OP learnt this phrase whilst *stealing* some of the top quality US made television that is broadcast on RTE on a nightly basis?

OP I'm glad you can live with the shame. I for one could not. The mere idea of being broached on the subject at a dinner party or for some peroxide blonde 17-year-old temp at my place of work judging me behind my back has me running to the post office to relieve my burden of guilt.

Those ads make me lol. It's great the way they depict non licence payers as being on a par with paedophiles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

Sponger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Bizarrely, the lyrics board is one of RTE's top-earning exports. Some foreign TV networks (can't remember which countries) pay them lots of money to use the format in their own poxy programmes.

A public service broadcaster with advertising is a ****ing joke alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 stevo86

Sponger

Im no sponger, i pay 50 euro a month for sky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

I sat through that entire clip and now I'm not sure I ever want to go back to Ireland :(

38 seconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

Your IP adress has been logged as 127.0.0.1
    Thank you.

Thats the local loopback address for diagnostic purposes

thats not a real Ip address

Anyhow, fair play to ye stevo.

Stephen wrote: »
    Bizarrely, the lyrics board is one of RTE's top-earning exports. Some foreign TV networks (can't remember which countries) pay them lots of money to use the format in their own poxy programmes.
    Yeah, it was dreamed up by that guy Andy Ruane (used to be on 2FM and Network 2 in the late eighties/early nineties). Then he set up his own production company and made a flippin' fortune by selling the Lyrics Board format all over the world.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

No flies on you.

I have never had a tv inspector call around. I live in the midy of the city. I of course, have a licence. >_>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Doh it was a joke NERD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭cooperguy

If you can honestly say you never watch RTE television (including the american imports that your tv licence also pays for, it does more than Fair City you know) or listen to RTE radio then grand. Other than that your a sponger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Anyhow, fair play to ye stevo.
    Nice one. Showing a MOD for the fool he truly is ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

I made the mistake of getting a TV licence when I returned to live in Ireland in 2000 and ever since then I was hounded for a TV licence .Be honest and you get pursued. RTE advertise and get licence money .Its a club to keep Kenny ,Ryan and the like ,the awful newsreaders ( should be in a home ) in job. Get rid of the licence and RTE will disappear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

Stephen wrote: »
    Bizarrely, the lyrics board is one of RTE's top-earning exports.

Yes i believe they use it in Guantanamo bay to wear down the Jihadists.. It only takes 2 minutes of the lyrics board to turn an intelligent person into a gibbering mess with the intellect of an alsation dog after a head swap operation..

This might explain all those people who vote for FF also...
    daveirl wrote: »

Actually i think NASA are looking for network engineers to work on the first moon colony, this guy would be more suited to that level of work ;)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Orange69 wrote: »
    Yes i believe they use it in Guantanamo bay to wear down the Jihadists.. It only takes 2 minutes of the lyrics board to turn an intelligent person into a gibbering mess with the intellect of an alsation dog after a head swap operation..

Those terrorists sure have a strong will. I'd barely be able to last a minute.

never saw it myself, I guess I can count myself lucky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I'm not against the idea of a tele license the BBC for example is an excellent service with some of the best shows in the world. RTE just doesn't try. They don't try new things.

I do think rte is better than sky, Sky just repeats the same **** over and over. RTE might not have shows everybody likes but at least there's a good range and shows like hands are very watchable if your stoned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

1.30 secs, theres red stuff going from my ear

yeah, back to the TV licence, pay one at the flat i live in, we all chip in towards it, but what i dont understand is, how much of the stuff on RTE is home made, and with all the revenue that comes in from advetising, why are we paying as much as we are

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭JohnnyStones

irish-stew wrote: »
    1.30 secs, theres red stuff going from my ear

yeah, back to the TV licence, pay one at the flat i live in, we all chip in towards it, but what i dont understand is, how much of the stuff on RTE is home made, and with all the revenue that comes in from advetising, why are we paying as much as we are

To pay that fat tw*t Gerry Ryan's wages, and Plank Kenny's.:mad::mad:

Orange69 wrote: »
    It only takes 2 minutes of the lyrics board to turn an intelligent person into a gibbering mess with the intellect of an alsation dog after a head swap operation..

Thus ironically making said viewer an ideal candidate to now appear ON the Lyrics Board.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

what really annoys me is there is no provision for people who have a TV set for the express purpose of playing video games or something, and don't use it to watch RTE, yet they have to pay for having the sheer gaul of owing one of those new fangled talking boxes.

It's not only good enough that you've payed for the damn thing, you have to pay for the privilege of being able to afford to pay for it in the first place.

MooseJam wrote: »
    do they never come checking ?
    I live out in the sticks, they came round here a few months ago checking ALL the houses!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

ScumLord wrote: »
    RTE just doesn't try. They don't try new things.

ah now come on, The English Class, or whatever the fúck it's called is a new thing, it's probably definitly the worst thing I have ever seen on tv, but it is a new thing.

I cannot believe RTÉ turned down the offer of Fr. Ted back in the day meaning the offer went to Channel 4, for shame

The Bollox wrote: »
    I cannot believe RTÉ turned down the offer of Fr. Ted back in the day meaning the offer went to Channel 4, for shame

RTE were never offered Fr. Ted. Although that speaks volumes in itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

ahh the great Irish misconception over Father Ted being turned down by RTE raises it's head again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I played the clip in full, but I didn't watch it in full, I listened to the audio through while browsing other threads. Now my ears are bleeding.

:(

I paid the licence hopefully for the last time. Got it out of my name, so there won't be sh1te warning letters coming in the post for me in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭Rosita

I salute all you heroes that don't pay your TV license fee. It is the most shameful tax that we Irish citizens are forced to pay (yes even worse than VRT).
    RTE should be cut loose and forced to fend for themselves, that would wake up the Jabba the Hut types in Montrose and in my opinion would actually improve things at the station.

It is interesting to see people who are in effect dodging tax being praised by people, many people who would presumably slate others who would do so in different circumstances. The 'cute hoor' mentality will not die easily in this country.

But the main point I logged on to make is that surely TV3 is not an good advertisment for a 'no lincence fee' set-up? If the difference between the public being asked to pay a licence is an effort at covering current affairs, some decent investigate journalism over the past few years, and an attempt to produce home-spun programming (however uncomfortable many Irish people still are with on-screen depictions of their society) as opposed to the soap opera/film/soccer match tripe that TV3 spews out simply to try to catch ratings via the lowest common denominator of viewer, I think it is probably worth it.