Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My housemate turns my stomach

• 26-10-2007 4:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I am living in a great house with my bf(i moved in here he was living here with some friends before me)Anyway one of his friends still lives here and He turns my stomach.Hes so ignorant and very sexist
    Ill just list what hes done/is doing Because ill be here forever.

1)Invites random people back to the house after the pub closes for a session
    2)Ive caught him **** in the living room.
    3)Leaves his dirty plates in the sink(we went on holiday for a week during the summer and came home to a plate full of dirty dishes with flies buzzing around them).
    4)Picking his nose and flicking it across the room.
    5)Does no shopping/doesnt contribute money to shopping then complains theres no food
    6)He never flushes the toilet even if he does No2
    7)Leaves skid marks
    8)Says "im the woman and i should do the housework"
    9)Leaves his dirty washing in the hall
    10)He had his dads dog while he was on holiday-we told him to keep him in the garden but we would come home from work and there would be **** all over the place-and most of it was STEPPED IN -he just stepped on it rather than clean it up

Thats only part of it but i wont go on.My bf and I work 40 hour weeks and we dont need to spend out free time cleaning up after him. The problem is he we dont want to leave because the rents low and its a 5 minute walk from both out workplaces.We have spoken to him about it and he said "I lived here first so tough"

I have contact the landlord repeadly about this and he always says he will sort it out but he never does

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Seems it would have to be the landlord throwing him out.
    Perhaps you could take some snaps to show the landlord?
    If the place is just messy (clothes/dishes) I don't really think there's much you can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭irish_boy90

yeah you have to do something about him.
    thats disgusting, it really is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭scargill

what does your bf do/say about it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

If you don't like it move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

Although he sounds like a bit of a pikey, he was there before you so I think if you have a problem you should move out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭blah

I'm sure you could find somewhere else close by, even if it's higher rent, it must be worth it?

Let him live in his own ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

Tell your lanlord if he doesn't sort it within a certain time frame, like a week, you will give your notice and move out. Surely it's less hassle for the landlord to sort this bloke out than find 2 new tenants, plus advertising costs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭McGinty

I agree Op your flatmate is a pig, I was grossed out reading it but it comes down to a simple choice, either move out or put up with it, he is right (I am sorry to say this) in that he was there first, besides he doesn't give a damn about other people's feelings and he probably enjoys freaking you out, personally I'd say sod the cheap rent and live somewhere clean and habitable and not put up with such grossness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Being there first has nothing to do with it. The man's pathetic. However, if your landlord is too crap to do his job (Is he a "proper" registerd landlord, incidentally?), you don't really have much choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

I moved in with a girl who's a slob (claimed she was allergic to all cleaning supplies). She never did her dishes, never took out the trash, left her dirty clothes everywhere. I tried to deal with it, but I just couldn't, even though the rent was ridiculously cheap. After a month and a half, I decided to find my own place. Moving day is tomorrow and I'm very excited. I'm getting my own place, and even though it's a little bit more expensive, it's closer to my work and a better area overall.
    You can't change other people, but you can change the situation. I would suggest moving. Being rid of him will be a burden off of your shoulders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

1)Invites random people back to the house after the pub closes for a session
    2)Ive caught him **** in the living room.
    3)Leaves his dirty plates in the sink(we went on holiday for a week during the summer and came home to a plate full of dirty dishes with flies buzzing around them).
    4)Picking his nose and flicking it across the room.
    5)Does no shopping/doesnt contribute money to shopping then complains theres no food
    6)He never flushes the toilet even if he does No2
    7)Leaves skid marks
    8)Says "im the woman and i should do the housework"
    9)Leaves his dirty washing in the hall
    10)He had his dads dog while he was on holiday-we told him to keep him in the garden but we would come home from work and there would be **** all over the place-and most of it was STEPPED IN -he just stepped on it rather than clean it up

1 - not much you can do rather than try and embarrass him in front of them
    2 - make jokes about how small his dick is/gross **** he was jerking off to in front of other people, he'll soon learn to keep it in private
    3 - move any dirty plates he leaves to his room. keep a clean set of stuff for yourself and the bf, you wont be the only one pissed off with him soon.
    4 - hrm, short of flicking it back at him (which i doubt you'd want to do, not much you can do)
    5 - get a lock, put it on a cupboard, keep ALL the food you buy in there.
    6 - eh... i could think of things you could do but they're disgusting
    7 - cant help you there either
    8 - retort with, well you're the man, you should be providing you lazy/cheap ****. but i mean, its not THAT bad compared to the rest of the ****...
    9 - move it back to his room. NEVER CLEAN UP AFTER HIM, NO MATTER HOW MUCH YOU WANT TO/HOW GROSS YOU FIND IT
    10 - get pooper scooper, pick up ****, leave it in his room.

guy sounds like a dick tbh. just try and make him feel as unwelcome as possible, and of course, move all the mess he creates/doesn't clean up to his room. he'll have to cop on sooner or later..... i hope

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Seriously, let the landlord know what you're putting up with and LEAVE!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

SetantaL wrote: »
    If you don't like it move.

why should we, this jerks on the dole sitting around drinking expecting us to clean up after him

I live in Dublin city centre are you crazy thinking id get a cheap place or any place for that matter closer to work than this,We are trying to get a deposit together for a house of our own.

And yes he was there before me,But he moved in the day before my boyfriend did so he cant use that excuse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭daiixi

why should we, this jerks on the dole sitting around drinking expecting us to clean up after him

I live in Dublin city centre are you crazy thinking id get a cheap place or any place for that matter closer to work than this,We are trying to get a deposit together for a house of our own.

And yes he was there before me,But he moved in the day before my boyfriend did so he cant use that excuse

Why? Because he's not going to change. I'd go with dumping his dirty clothes/dishes etc in his room and locking your food/clean dishes/room but it's not going to be pleasant and to be honest he's not going to change even if you do that. He's just going to get worse just to spite you.
    Either get on your landlord's case, put up or move out. Simple really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Get on to the landlord tell him that you are being sexually harasshed, ie the **** in the sitting room and tell him to get it sorted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭speaktofrank

Hmm, walking in on him was probably an accident. Did you tell the bf about this?
    It doesn't say much about your bf having a pig like this as a friend.
    Anyway for the sake of an extra few quid a month a move somewhere nicer shouldn't be too much of a burden. I wouldn't be able to put up with someone like that and I'm a guy. Good thing I read this after I had my dinner too.
    I'm guessing the landlord is unregistered by his reaction.
    I wouldn't escalate things by putting stuff in his room either, just get a new place, yes unfair maybe as its cheap and near work but better than having to put up with a....I would say pig, but that would be insulting pigs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Carrigart Exile

sounds to me like everything he does annoys you and he knows it

Im gonna bet this guy is single??....Was he always like that..did your Bf not give you a heads up on what he was like?

You really have to make the choice...either your gonna pack up and move or else stick it out. if the rent is paid on time and theres no damage to the house the landlord wont really care to much..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭UrbanFox

Hopefully, you are not in a contractual/lease arrangement whereby you and your b/f could be caught for "damages" to the property caused by the resident w*a*n*k*e*r when the lease expires and he kicks you all out and you look for your deposit to be returned.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭uoluol

Yes, from what you say, the guy is gross, and an idiot.

From what you say, there is little chance he will move out.

You are very unhappy, and are finding your living conditions intolerable. I know you don't want too, and it IS unfair, but yourself and your b/f should think about moving out. Life is too short for such agro. Walk away. As the saying goes....... "Choose your Arguments".....

Be honest with yourself, wouldn't you be much happier, and have peace of mind in a new place?

Hope all works out......:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

You have to weigh up what means more, how much this guy grosses you out & how much you are willing to pay not to have to share a house with him. Keep on at the landlord/lady. I don't think they'll do much just for the guy annoying you so tell him you think there is a rat/fly problem, damage to property, etc - issues that would annoy the landlord/lady - but at the end of the day they'll prob do nothing as long as you are still paying your rent. Maybe let them know if they don't sort out your flatmate with X timeframe, you will be moving out? Horrible situation, sorry. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,077 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Msybe this is the reason the place is cheap? Just move ffs!

"Why should we move?" If you don't want advice (a lot of posters have said 'move'), don't ask for it.

Just out of interest, what do you think you should do?

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Jeez op, I don't know if I could live with that at all!
    Have a word with your landlord, but ultimately it could mean moving out.
    Personally, i'd rather a 20min walk to a more expensive place if it meant I didn't have to live with this idiot.

esel wrote: »
    "Why should we move?" If you don't want advice (a lot of posters have said 'move'), don't ask for it.
    Agreed. Besides telling the landlord to have a tough talk with him, there doesn't appear to be any other option - apart from just continuing to put up with his vileness.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Thaedydal wrote: »
    Get on to the landlord tell him that you are being sexually harasshed, ie the **** in the sitting room and tell him to get it sorted.

I fail to see how **** in the sitting room is sexual harrasment,unless he's **** to a picture of you.

Well if a flasher was **** in front of a bunch of schoolgirls, wouldn't you deem that to be sexual harassment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

Slice open the cnuts mattress, put in a dead fish, stitch the mattress back up.

The rotting fish should drive him mad, if he asks if you can get any smell, just tell him no, you dont know what he's talking about, but that the points you listed disgust him.

Hopefully that should force him out.

Other than that move out, **** it, for the extra rent you pay, you wont have to put with vermin like that.

I mean, **** in the living room, what a complete fcukhead.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭MrVostro

Just move out.

If its bothering you so much, why put up with it.
    Be pro-active. You'll have a happier life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭event

Dudess wrote: »
    Well if a flasher was **** in front of a bunch of schoolgirls, wouldn't you deem that to be sexual harassment?

did he purposely start doing it when she was there?

id say she walked in on him, what can he do?

seriously, making false claims like that isnt a good thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

event wrote: »
    did he purposely start doing it when she was there?

id say she walked in on him, what can he do?

seriously, making false claims like that isnt a good thing
    Who **** in a common room in a shared house? seriously...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

why should we,

why should he move out? you are the one with the problem with him unless he is causing damage to the apartment or not paying his bills or don't see why the landlord should kick him out either.

If you are working and can't afford somewhere else chances are seen as though he is on the dole he isn't going to be able to afford anything either, you just seem to be pissed that you seem to have the perfect place however the most imperfect house mate. So if you want to have a better house mate move

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭Mazeire

Degsy wrote: »
    I fail to see how **** in the sitting room is sexual harrasment,unless he's **** to a picture of you.

Because he is throwing bodily fluid around in a room that sfor communal use? OP, was he always like this? I mean surely if he was always like that your boyfriend would have been moaning about him to you because seriously he's acting like a savage! It might be that he is acting like a tool to try and get you to move out because he doesnt want a bird in his batchelor pad or that he doesn't want to live with a couple. If he always has been like thsi then i'd be pretty mad at your boyfriend as well if i was you for not warning you what you were getting in to! Look, the two of you are working this guy is on the scratcher and has found one of the few places that take rent allowance, surely the two of ye can afford a one bedroom flat between ye?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭Mazeire

Igy wrote: »
    Who **** in a common room in a shared house? seriously...

I lived with a guy who cut his toe nails in the sitting room. Toe nail clippings everywhere, all over the sofa and the carpet. The rest of us had a word and asked him to please do it in his room. He said he would. A few weeks later, i arrived home early from work to find him cutting his toenails in the sitting room again but this time in to a wok that belonged to one of the guys in the house who was a chef, so it was a proper professional wok. We all moved out because mr toenail clipper was the landlord!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

Sexual harrassment? Jesus, talk about blowing things out of proportion. Yes, **** in the sitting room isn't very tasteful, but unless he's deliberately exposing himself to her regularly there's no way you can call that sexual harassment.

In any case, I echo what many other people ahve said on here OP, move out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

You say you don't want to leave because the rent is low. the price you pay for living in this house doesn't just consist of the money you pay in rent, it also consists of you putting up with this guy's behaviour. If you don't want to pay that price, no-one is forcing you to. I understand why you don't want to put up with it, but it's not like you are being forced to. Your options are:

1. Live in a house with low-rent and a disgusting flatmate

2. Live in a house with higher rent and no disgusting flatmate.

You are choosing option 1, but you can change your mind whenever you like. You can go on about the rights and the wrongs of the situation as much as you want, but it's pointless. It's better for you to accept the situation and make your choice based on the realities. You can also talk to the landlord, but in my experience, as long as the rent is being paid and the house isn't suffering any permanant damage, the landlord won't step in.

This is your battle and you'll have to fight it yourself. As for treating the flatmate **** in the sitting room as sexual harrasement - forget it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

Tell your landlord if he doesn't sort it you will report the situation to environmental health as it is a health hazard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

a) Where's your boyfriend in all this?

b) If you don't want to move, you're going to have to either clean up after this toddler or put up with his lack of hygiene, grace and courtesy. Your choice.

c) How cheap is cheap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

or better yet just tell the police he raped her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Sangre That was seriously out of order.

dudara

I would simply contact the landlord and tell him that you are prepared to a) move out and b) he will have extreme difficulty finding new tenants as you will inform anyone visiting the house of the on-going problems and are prepared to go on radio/internet/media generally etc etc

Also, point out that you may have no choice except to look into taking legal action against the landlord for failing to control this tenant who is causing you major problems.

If the guy is sitting on his backside and claiming the dole, consider shopping him i.e. call the department of social welfare. Afterall, he is just spending your hard earned tax and eating your food and giving you serious abuse.

He sounds like a complete pig. It's unbelievable that someone could be THAT disgusting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭patrickolee

Ban sangre...

op, move out. you're going to do it eventually anyway, you might as well do it sooner rather than later. No amount of cheap rent is worth recking your head in this way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭TheThing!

You gotta gotta beat the ****outta that punk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Semele

I had a similar (but not quite as disgusting) situation with a flatmate- myself and one of the other girls called the landlords bluff and asked if we could be released from our lease before the agreed time was up as we couldn't live with the guy anymore...the landlord preferred to lose 1 tenant than 2 (especially when the 1 was likely to drive away other future tenants too) so kicked the guy out. All has been great ever since and we got to carefully choose his replacement! If you have a lease there should be something in there saying that essentially you must not act in an unreasonable way that prevents other tenants from enjoying the property- this applies to the guy too so you could get him kicked out on the grounds that he has violated his lease agreement. Even if you don't have a formal lease then I would challenge the landlord on the basis that this is an unspoken assumption of any joint tenancy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

TheThing! Please do not advocate the use of violence in this forum, or you will be banned.

Please read the charter before posting again.

dudara

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭optiplexgx270

I don't see the problem.... Here is how i see it. You said it yourself the rent is cheap hence you will have to put up with more with regards the type of people you live with. If you want to live with a better calibre of person you will have to be willing to pay a bit extra for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭trevorku

I feel so bad for your situation honestly, ok I was laughing at some of the outrageous things the guy does but its really not funny. Maybe if you know some scangers they can come and sort him out or maybe make friends with a really queeny gay guy with a really irritating voice and have him round the house 24/7 then have him make a pass at the gross guy so that he gets freaked out and moves on. .. .

ok ok my advice is useless, but you know that you can report your landlord to the landlord registery agency or something like that, google it. If you landlord wont do anything, he is not doing his job. Even if he is not a real landlord, he kind of needs to be, threaten him by telling your landlord you will contact the landlord agency and report him.

Sounds like a tosser who needs a good slap. If I was there I wouldnt be long with clouting him around.

It wont help but it may give you satisfaction to sneeze in his face the next time you have the flu,,

tbh wrote: »
    As for treating the flatmate **** in the sitting room as sexual harrasement - forget it.

i never said it was

Tell your landlord if he doesn't sort it you will report the situation to environmental health as it is a health hazard.

my L.L is hitting 80 hes in and out of hospital so i dont ever see him we put the rent into his bank acc

a) Where's your boyfriend in all this? [/QUOTE]

He says"HES ALWAYS BEEN LIKE THIS UL GET USED 2 IT"
    luckat wrote: »
    b) If you don't want to move, you're going to have to either clean up after this toddler or put up with his lack of hygiene, grace and courtesy. Your choice.
    I cant move this place is just near our workplaces and dirt cheap i have looked around and the only place NEAR our price was 5 miles away (not joking)
    luckat wrote: »
    c) How cheap is cheap?

40e a week not inc bills

i never said it was
    No, you didn't say it was, but someone else suggested it was. Did you read her post?
    Well if you're not prepared to give up the apartment because of its cheapness and location, and if speaking to the landlord isn't an option, have a firm talk with the guy. I presume you've told your boyfriend everything - two of you having a chat with him is better than just one.