Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Screw you firefox, I'm going back to IE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

azezil wrote: »
    There I've said it, Firefox just sucks donkey balls lately, I'm going to IE 6! :mad:

ie7 is good still lacking some feature of firefox but is good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Psst...

Opera.

/furtive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

that's blasphemy.

IE 7 is the most useless piece of coding ever. it takes all the worst bits of of IE, then takes all the worst bits of Firefox and marries them all together into one big heap of shit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭cance

There I've said it, Firefox just sucks donkey balls lately, I'm going to IE 6! :mad:

i agree with 4-5 tabs open it turns into a big steaming bag of memory hogging ****e.

any good alternatives? (opera blows donkey balls).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭Galadriel

Indeed IE 7 is fairly crappy BUT I find firefox doesn;t work on random websites I go to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

The only advantage i ever saw in using firefox was 'tabs' and thats fairly chit anyway.

yeah forget about the security, skins and extensions...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Rhyme wrote: »
    Psst...

Opera.

/furtive

+1, firefox is going down the toilet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Feck that IE 7 tripe, I don't like the layout, IE 6 FTW!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I changed to Opera a few days ago, not too bad. Tired of Firefox memory leaks (we'll fix it by version 1.5..by 2.0, still having problems. :()

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

Rhyme wrote: »
    Psst...

Opera.

/furtive

I like to take the approach from the other end of the spectrum

HEY YOU!!! YEAH YOU, azezil... USE... OPERA... NOW

If you're a developer, use firefox, if not, then use opera. Simple as. Why don't more people use Opera???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Firefox still working flawlessly for me

DaveMcG wrote: »
    Firefox still working flawlessly for me

You're clearly not using it right then.

Opera, I used that years ago and it had inbuilt ads, eh, NO THANKS CHIEF!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

It used to be great but gotten crap lately. Takes about 2 seconds on my laptop before I can open a new tab, and on my desktop it crashes alot, especially when downloading. Never used to happen on older versions.

Must try this Opera lark. Because I'm not going back to IE...tried IE7, didn't like it that much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Still using 1.5.0.12, didn't upgrade it after reading about some problems. All my extensions work, I couldn't manage without my favourites bar and 20 active tabs, black skin and all that. I don't even think IE7 is on this PC... *checks* Nope. I only use IE when a page doesn't render in FF or sometimes a plug-in for video won't work (damn you quicktime codec) so not much point in updating. I'm sure MS have just borrowed the best features from FF and stuck them into a familiar window and obviously made it more secure....but FF was already that so why go back?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

Firefox FTW!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭joe_chicken

Opera needs a better logo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

I agree that Firefox sucks, it hogs far too much memory and CPU.

But there aint no way I'm going back to IE...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

cance wrote: »
    i agree with 4-5 tabs open it turns into a big steaming bag of memory hogging ****e.
    Probably all those dodgy extensions you've loaded ... my Firefox here has 13 tabs open at the moment .. a whopping 65MB used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

From an interaction point of view i prefer firefox but it does have some serious issues in terms of excessive cpu and ram use..

Opera is excellent but it has a different interaction style that FF which is annoying i.e. ctrl-click opens in current tab not in a new background tab like firefox, i also dont like the way it remembers form data..

IE7 is possibly the greatest pile of **** ever created..

I tend to use FF until it starts to act the cnut then use opera until it annoys me enough to go back to FF.. Its a tough life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

Goodness, how silly of me. How could i forget about skins and extensions!!
    Nerd.

having adblock+ and gmail notifier are great, handy tools that i just can't get on opera (which i'm using now to see what the fuss is about).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Azezil were you still there when for a laugh some of us started using the latest Netscape in work.

Jaysus it was awful!

My main gripes with Firefox are:

Memory and cpu usage
    Hitting ctrl t doesn't always open a new tab
    Quicktime just refuses to work!
    It doesn't always log into site which require cookies!!?!?!?

Ugh its just a pail in the gaul!

Azezil were you still there when for a laugh some of us started using the latest Netscape in work.

Jaysus it was awful!

*shudder*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

firefox > all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

My main gripes with Firefox are:

Memory and cpu usage
    Hitting ctrl t doesn't always open a new tab
    Quicktime just refuses to work!
    It doesn't always log into site which require cookies!!?!?!?

Ugh its just a pail in the gaul!
    I've never had any of those problems with it. IE in all its incarnations is utter trash. I'll give Opera a go though, see what it's like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I'm happy out with Firefox. I can keep all my bookmarks in sync between my different ms & linux machines using foxmarks. Worth it just for that extension alone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Orange69 wrote: »
    From an interaction point of view i prefer firefox but it does have some serious issues in terms of excessive cpu and ram use..

Opera is excellent but it has a different interaction style that FF which is annoying i.e. ctrl-click opens in current tab not in a new background tab like firefox, i also dont like the way it remembers form data..

IE7 is possibly the greatest pile of **** ever created..

I tend to use FF until it starts to act the cnut then use opera until it annoys me enough to go back to FF.. Its a tough life!

Opera has open in background tab in the right click menu, you can customize all the keyboard shortcuts in Opera to whatever you want.

You can stop it remembering form data if you want.

I'm the same way, with the new version of Opera, I'm not going back. Speed Dial FTW!
    You're clearly not using it right then.

Opera, I used that years ago and it had inbuilt ads, eh, NO THANKS CHIEF!

You used it years ago so. It doesn't have any of that anymore and its faster than ever and has more features than ever.

Its also got the easiest content blocker in the world to use, bittorrent support, widget support and less known security holes than any other web browser.

Type Opera:config into the address bar in Opera to configure virtually everything about it. Personally I like most of it the way it is out of the box.

Firefox has gone terrible recently, memory hog, takes too long to open tabs (I have the speed dial extension installed so its probably partly responsible but Opera can handle that without any problems), renders slow.

Opera has everything you could want and the newest version (beta release) has preference synchronizes your preferences if you sign up for my Opera (free) and you can then bring your bookmarks to any computer by clicking file synchronize. The lastest beta is blisteringly fast and uses about half the memory of Firefox with twice the number of tabs open.

Don't know why you'd use anything else!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭thewing

Safari is now out on Windows.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭MoominPapa

FF is grand, except opening and closing PDFs, its a pain in the aser

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭The Don

Never had trouble with Firefox until this week. It was using up over 500MB of RAM (did have alot of tabs open though in a few browsers).

Might try out Opera this wknd, some of the lads are always raving on about it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

I'm going to IE 6!
    Why IE 6 and not 7? Heard that 6 was shot full of security holes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,472 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

maxthon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

thewing wrote: »

and its about as much fun as Quicktime for Windows.

It does render pages fast, memory hog though and menus are weird compared to other web browsers as its just ported from Mac.

thewing wrote: »

Look, just get out! GO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

Firefox works fine for me, never had any trouble at all, IE7 is bad mmkay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

lol @ Az.

Opera ftw; it's matured since you've used it last kiddo, no more ads, faster than both FF || IE7 and just nicer :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Go on S man you know you want to!

http://browser.netscape.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

Hope you're well lubed up because...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

MoominPapa wrote: »
    FF is grand, except opening and closing PDFs, its a pain in the aser

PDF Downloader extension will soon sort that out.

why would you want to open a pdf, the format invented by satan himself, pdf sux donkey balls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

I heard Opera was sh1te, but then I wouldn't know either way. I was told by someone knowledgeable with computers. I, however, don't have a clue really. I pass myself.

It's definitely getting talked up here. Is it a fre download somewhere?

yea its free, google it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

FF 1.5.0.12 and no problems.
    10 extensions.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

In oreder of how good they are:
    Firefox
    Opera
    Safari
    Any other browser
    IE

yea but which order, bottom to top or top to bottom

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

oreder means from top to bottom.
    >_>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

L31mr0d wrote: »
    If you're a developer, use firefox, if not, then use opera. Simple as. Why don't more people use Opera???

wait, what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭Nehpets

The order in which I rate them: (from top to bottom ;) )

Opera - http://www.opera.com
    IE7
    Firefox
    Safari

Firefox is a memory hog. I haven't even installed it on my new laptop. The extensions are great but it's not worth having them when it's just annoying to go to websites. The developer tools are good though. Actually, a lot of the extensions are very very good.

IE7 works with practically every website. That's always a plus. The tabs take longer to open than Opera and it just isn't as smooth or fast. I'll use this for college websites and other things.

Safari didn't impress me at all. The tabs open slowly and it seems sluggish (Only a few tabs open). I didn't try it out for long because it just isn't as good as any of the others. I think I even uninstalled it.

Opera is the best, in my opinion. I have 9 tabs open right now and it's running perfect (Works perfect with far more too). It opens and runs .pdfs perfectly without slowing down the browser. The tabs open very quickly. You'll never have more the one opera "window" open when using tabs, everything opens inside it. It is completely configurable. The transfer manager is prefect and so is the bookmark manager. You can have widgets (I don't use them). One thing I LOVE about Opera and a feature that I always use is the speed dial. I have it set that when I open a new tab there are 9 blocks in which I can put any website in. The blocks have a number and I can actually just type that instead of the URL. Example www.google.ie = 1, www.bebo.com = 2, www.boards.ie = 3, www.gmail.com = 4 and so on. It's a really handy feature and it's not in IE7 or Safari (correct me if I am wrong!) and I don't think it's in Firefox but I haven't used that in a few months and I guess it could be an extension.