Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ford escort mk 2

• 25-10-2007 12:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 44

Hi all, i was reading a few of the threads, including the one thats 1 or 2 below this "why dont people sell their old cars instead of letting them rot"
    Well i have the above car, in need of some TLC. i was going to restore it but simply dont have time.
    so heres a bit about it:
    its 1.3, 4 door, on irish plates, its 1979 or 1980.
    I will try get some pics up as soon as i can.
    In the meantime please have a think about it, or post any questions you may have and i will answer them.
    Im not sure what its worth, we will see when the pics are taken.
    if nobody takes it, it will be going to the scrapheap!

cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭DaveCol

What needs to be done to it?
    Or maybe I should wait for the pics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 zai800

PM Sent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

put it on ebay...i bet you'll get a good price for that...MUCH more than you think.....

or even better...advertise it for free on www.everyfordireland.com

348 members and rising , all mad ford-heads...

http://z8.invisionfree.com/EveryFord_Ireland/index.php?showtopic=1654

took the liberty of linking this page on there...

hope you dont mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭kenneths

how much money are we talkinhow good/bad is the car also any pics
    cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 angryaine

all, looking for a couple of hundred quid i guess, nothing thats going to break the bank!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭DaveCol

Tell us more. Any photos?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭RobbieMc

angryaine wrote: »
    all, looking for a couple of hundred quid i guess, nothing thats going to break the bank!

Were is the car and would it be ok to come and have a look?

Rob

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

4 door is a big negative I'm afraid.

A clean unwelded 2 door shell is always worth good money. These cars are much sought after by rally types who build competitive racing cars out of them.

RS cars (Mexico, RS2000, and the ultra rare RS1800) are very valuable :D

Henry,
    of course 4 doors are a big negative if your are looking for a 2 door!
    on the other hand, if you want a 4 door - a 2 door is a big negative. obviously this is not the car for you.!:)

A clean unwelded 2 door shell is always worth good money. These cars are much sought after by rally types who build competitive racing cars out of them.

Very true in all respects, but for those of us who want a cheap useble classic, the the 4 door is one to look out for.
    In some case's it can be used as a base for an RS lookalike or wannabe.

Anyway SWMBO is not a lover of the 2 door, makes getting her into the back seat a lot of hassle :D

Rob
    '74 Range rover classic
    '85 Land rover 90 CSW
    '77 Ford escort 4 DOOR :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭TigerTim

Robbiemc,

Why don't you recline (wind down) the front passenger seat. Save the hassle of getting her into the back seat:D:D:D:D

T.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

There were no 4 door RS models (outside Australia) RobbieMc.

Yeah but THERE ARE in Australia :D

But some boy racer classic wannabe could drop a 2ltr into a 4 door and swop out badges etc and call it an RS 4 door

Rob

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭AsphaltRisin'

So what? (actually new zealand got some the same as the aussies)....
    It doesn't mean he can't make a 4 door look similar to an RS model if he wants to...

I hate this snobbery about 4 door escorts (and also the general snobbery that exists among certain peopel within the classic car scene), they're still good cars, they can be made to go very well, and look very well too.. just like the 2 door.

it's not snobbery really, it's just that some folk like to have replica rally cars....personally a well sorted 4 door looks good to me AND half the price....this particular 4 door is an original irish car which makes it more attractive IMHO

corktina wrote: »
    it's not snobbery really, it's just that some folk like to have replica rally cars....personally a well sorted 4 door looks good to me AND half the price....this particular 4 door is an original irish car which makes it more attractive IMHO

They do look good, and i like them, and the fact this one's irish is SUPER if it's saveable at all.
    But seriously, i have, and you certainly have, experience some of the varying degrees of snobbery, skullduggery and general powerplaying and bollix actin that gos on. But anyway, i'll came down.. it's just a pet hate of mine all that feck actin.
    A claming influence as always richard

there is loads of snobbery though, u r right...we passed the Gordon Bennet run once whilst on a Cortina Club run.....to a man , they ignored us.....

corktina wrote: »
    there is loads of snobbery though, u r right...we passed the Gordon Bennet run once whilst on a Cortina Club run.....to a man , they ignored us.....

nothin but gouls richard, nothin but gouls!

damnit i need to ccalm the old blood pressure down again.

Anyway, sorry OP, we derailed this a little, just realised you're the same as the vanette guy, as in you are him.
    Anyway do try get pics up when you can

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 chrismk2

pm'd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭surm00

where are you?? any pics?? is it complete??

hi,
    i got a whole load of pm's, and to answer all the questions in 1 go, i will take pics at the weekend, and will post them up on monday.

I wont be able to show it to anyone for 2 weeks after that because i wont be at home.

If anyone wants to look at it before then, just pm me your number and i will ring you. I can show it to you on saturday afternoon.
    I am near birr.
    thanks.

So what? (actually new zealand got some the same as the aussies)....
    It doesn't mean he can't make a 4 door look similar to an RS model if he wants to...

I hate this snobbery about 4 door escorts (and also the general snobbery that exists among certain peopel within the classic car scene), they're still good cars, they can be made to go very well, and look very well too.. just like the 2 door.

It's not snobbery as such. It's merely differentiation. The RS cars are expensive, and are part of motorsport history.

Nothing wrong with a worthy 4 door.

hi,
    i got a whole load of pm's, and to answer all the questions in 1 go, i will take pics at the weekend, and will post them up on monday.

I wont be able to show it to anyone for 2 weeks after that because i wont be at home.

If anyone wants to look at it before then, just pm me your number and i will ring you. I can show it to you on saturday afternoon.
    I am near birr.
    thanks.

i knew you'd have loads of interest:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭surm00

get any pics??

hi, no pics yet.
    i think i will be able to move it before i need to take pics.
    I might just pass it on to a teenage neighbour who is looking for a project. he just has to convince his dad first!

if he doesnt take it i will post up pics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Redrocket

i smell a troll

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Jay_Ross

Hey Guy's,

I'm new to this form, but saw a thread on an escort. I currently have a 1980 Escort pop 1.3 Mark II, I have been working on it the last while and don't know if I want to sell her. Does anyone have any experience with this, or could advise me what it is worth if I was to sell it.

The engine is perfect, I have added to new part's to get her up and running. I have to replace the fuel tank in case there is sediment in it.

Other than that, the body is in great nick, the bonnet has a bit of rust (cancer) under her. Shouldn't need to be replaced. The under body has to points that need to be fixed up, but not a big job.

I needs a respray, other than that all parts are perfect apart from a small bit of rust. She has been in a garage for 19 years, there is 12,000 on the clock... I kid you not?

So can anyone advice on value, I don't know if I want to hange onto her, as I don't have a garage for her.

Any advice would be welcome. If your interested, I can get pictures for you.

Cheers
    ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Umm..is this the same thing again??:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭8~)

I'm near Birr and can take a look over the weekend.
    PM me if available.
    hi,

I am near birr.
    thanks.

check out www.irishescortclub.com TBH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

This thread is as old as half the classics on here :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭8~)

So it is. Wasn't looking at dates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

Jay_Ross wrote: »
    Hey Guy's,

I'm new to this form, but saw a thread on an escort. I currently have a 1980 Escort pop 1.3 Mark II, I have been working on it the last while and don't know if I want to sell her. Does anyone have any experience with this, or could advise me what it is worth if I was to sell it.

The engine is perfect, I have added to new part's to get her up and running. I have to replace the fuel tank in case there is sediment in it.

Other than that, the body is in great nick, the bonnet has a bit of rust (cancer) under her. Shouldn't need to be replaced. The under body has to points that need to be fixed up, but not a big job.

I needs a respray, other than that all parts are perfect apart from a small bit of rust. She has been in a garage for 19 years, there is 12,000 on the clock... I kid you not?

So can anyone advice on value, I don't know if I want to hange onto her, as I don't have a garage for her.

Any advice would be welcome. If your interested, I can get pictures for you.

Cheers
    ;-)

'Pics or it didn't happen.'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Jay_Ross

I'll take a load of pic's this tomorrow and upload them or mail them to you. Whats your email address if you want a copy.

The car is in Ireland, if you were interested.
    JustinOval wrote: »
    'Pics or it didn't happen.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

Jay_Ross wrote: »
    I'll take a load of pic's this tomorrow and upload them or mail them to you. Whats your email address if you want a copy.

The car is in Ireland, if you were interested.

Not for me thanks Jay, that's just the unwritten rule when posting something that sounds almost too good to be true. ;)

"too good to be true"?? ;)
    but yes... pics paint a thousand words on any forum

why revise an old and discredited thread instead of starting a new one?:confused:

not everyone is an internet guru and realise these things. thought your internet forum expertise would spot that ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Escorts..are they really worth the stupid money people are paying.A four door MK2 is not a good looking car or worth four grand no matter what wheels are under it:p.
    Yes,a nice 1600 sport or flat front RS2000(the quadlight ones are nasty)would be nice,but anything else thats anyway standard isnt really anything to write home about,IMO.