Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Grand Slam of Darts Draw

• 23-10-2007 9:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭

Taken from Planetdarts

Group A
    Raymond van Barneveld (1)
    Adrian Lewis
    Dennis Priestley
    Chris Mason

Group B
    Terry Jenkins (8)
    Vincent van der Voort
    Andy Hamilton
    Charles Losper

Group C
    James Wade (4)
    Phill Nixon
    Niels de Ruiter
    Glenn Power

Group D
    Jelle Klaasen (5)
    Peter Manley
    Shaun Greatbatch
    Kevin McDine

Group E
    Phil Taylor (2)
    Colin Lloyd
    Wayne Mardle
    PDC Order of Merit Qualifier 1

Group F
    John Part (7)
    Mark Webster
    Andy Jenkins
    Gary Mawson

Group G
    Gary Anderson (3)
    Barrie Bates
    Wayne Jones
    PDC Order of Merit Qualifier 2

Group H
    Michael van Gerwen (6)
    Roland Scholten
    Mervyn King
    Scott Waites

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

This is looking like a great tournament! The whole group format should spice things up a bit as it gives players a chance to get on form whereas if they have one bad match it doesn't neccessarily mean they're out. This could see the likes of Taylor back to his top form and also make things unpredictable. I dunno why, but I've a good feeling about Manley for this too (though generally when I don't keep my 'good feelings' to myself they usually turn out wrong).

Plus we're guaranteed another Lewis/Barney match. Ohhh yesh!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,325 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

There is a serious lack of BDO players in this tournament which is disappointing. Its a shame that Adams wont play and some of the bigger BDO guys arent playing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 nirelandblue

The only thing about the format is that it can lead to some kind of dirty tricks.In the IDL this year Eccles and MVG were playing and they were both trying to lose as the winner had the harder player in the next round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭The Bull

thats a tough group that barney's in compared to the others

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭NeoRox

I’ll probably be completely wrong on most of them as we all know darts is a funny game but here are a few group predictions.

Group A
    Raymond van Barneveld (1)
    Adrian Lewis
    Dennis Priestley
    Chris Mason

Possibly Barneveld and Lewis but Mason is playing well at the minute and he knows he can give anyone a game. This group could hinge on the Barneveld/Lewis game.
    Lewis and Barneveld to qualify.

Group B
    Terry Jenkins (8)
    Vincent van der Voort
    Andy Hamilton
    Charles Losper

Jenkins should win the group but for some reason I think Van der Voort will. Losper hasn’t a hope, Hamilton ain’t playing well.
    Jenkins and Van der Voort to qualify.

Group C
    James Wade (4)
    Phill Nixon
    Niels de Ruiter
    Glenn Power
    Wade all the way with de Ruiter as runner up.

Group D
    Jelle Klaasen (5)
    Peter Manley
    Shaun Greatbatch
    Kevin McDine

Klassen is back on form after his recent win over here but both Manley and Greatbach are due another good run on a TV tournament so who knows.
    Klassen and Manley.

Group E
    Phil Taylor (2)
    Colin Lloyd
    Wayne Mardle
    Ronnie Baxter

Taylor should win this group; Mardle has been playing well though recently and gave him a good game in Holland.
    Taylor and Mardle to qualify.

Group F
    John Part (7)
    Mark Webster
    Andy Jenkins
    Gary Mawson

My head says Mark Webster in this group as he’s been playing so well this year but personally I want John Part to have a stormer in this tournament. He is well capable of beating anyone and I hope he has a good run in this one.
    Mark Webster and John Part.

Group G
    Gary Anderson (3)
    Barrie Bates
    Wayne Jones
    Kevin Painter

A no brainer this one. Gary Anderson to win the group. Painter as runner up.
    Anderson and Painter.

Group H
    Michael van Gerwen (6)
    Roland Scholten
    Mervyn King
    Scott Waites

This for me is the group of death in the tournament. Four good players each capable of beating the other. Van Gerwen has not impressed in the least since joining the PDC and King has been rising steadily in the rankings. Waites is playing well on the BDO circuit and it depends which Scholten turns up at the event.
    Mervyn King and Scott Waites to qualify.

Jelle Klaasen 5-1 Shaun Greatbatch
    Andy Hamilton 5-3 Vincent van der Voort
    James Wade 5-4 Phill Nixon
    Andy Jenkins 5-1 Mark Webster
    Michael van Gerwen 5-4 Scott Waites
    Raymond Barneveld 5-3 Chris Mason
    Phil Taylor 5-2 Wayne Mardle
    Kevin Painter 5-1 Gary Anderson

Some good matches today, the Wade/Nixon match being really tight, with Wade coming back from 4-2 down. Taylor struggled against Mardle but came through, Andy Jenkins played a blinder against Mark Webster as did both Kevin Painter and Jelle Klassen. Van Gerwen should have been beaten by Waites who fluffed 63 after hitting treble thirteen with the first dart threw the second into a big nine. Missed the Barneveld/Mason match so cannot comment on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭dartsfan

Is it possible to tune in ITV4 on NTL does anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭cast_iron

Afraid not. Nothing other than what NTL give you is available.

Terry Jenkins 5-2 Charles Losper
    Pat Orreal 5-1 Niels de Ruiter
    Adrian Lewis 5-4 Dennis Priestley
    Kevin McDine 5-2 Peter Manley
    Colin Lloyd 5-3 Ronnie Baxter
    Roland Scholten 5-3 Mervyn King
    Gary Mawson 5-2 John Part
    Barrie Bates 5-1 Wayne Jones

Couple of shock results with Mawson beating Part and Kevin McDine beating Peter Manley. A very tight game with Priestley and Lewis with Priestley missing darts for the match.

Kevin Painter 5-0 Barrie Bates
    Mervyn King 5-3 Scott Waites
    John Part 5-4 Mark Webster
    Jelle Klaasen 5-3 Kevin McDine
    Andy Hamilton 5-2 Terry Jenkins
    James Wade 5-1 Pat Orreal
    Phil Taylor 5-1 Colin Lloyd
    Raymond van Barneveld 5-3 Adrian Lewis
    Shaun Greatbatch 5-1 Peter Manley
    Vincent van der Voort 5-1 Charles Losper
    Phill Nixon 5-0 Niels de Ruiter
    Gary Mawson 5-3 Andy Jenkins
    Roland Scholten 5-1 Michael van Gerwen
    Dennis Priestley 5-4 Chris Mason
    Gary Anderson 5-1 Wayne Jones
    Wayne Mardle 5-2 Ronnie Baxter

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,325 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Mondays Results:

James Wade 5-1 Niels de Ruiter
    Jelle Klaasen 4-5 Peter Manley
    Andy Hamilton 5-3 Charles Losper
    Chris Mason 0-5 Adrian Lewis
    Raymond van Barneveld 5-2 Dennis Priestley
    Kevin McDine 5-1 Shaun Greatbatch
    Phill Nixon 4-5 Pat Orreal
    Vincent van der Voort 2-5 Terry Jenkins

I havent got to see any matches so cant comment if they were good games or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭Carrickman

dartsfan wrote: »
    Is it possible to tune in ITV4 on NTL does anyone know?
    What about Sky? I can get all the other ITV's but can't get ITV4 is it possible to get it? Cheers.

Carrickman wrote: »
    What about Sky? I can get all the other ITV's but can't get ITV4 is it possible to get it? Cheers.

Hi Carrickman, I have it on Sky, I just went to Other Channels and scanned for channels and it came into the list and i added it.

HTH

Key in the following details on your Skybox:

Press Services, and pick Add Channels,

Freq: 10.758

Polarity: V
    Symbol Rate:
    FEC:
    5/61

and it should allow you to chose from a number of different channels. Store whatever you like.

(ITV4 will then be available in Other Channels)

Scott Waites 0-5 Roland Scholten
    Kevin Painter 4-5 Wayne Jones
    Mark Webster 5-1 Gary Mawson
    Phil Taylor 5-2 Ronnie Baxter
    Wayne Mardle 1-5 Colin Lloyd
    Andy Jenkins 0-5 John Part
    Gary Anderson 5-0 Barrie Bates
    Michael van Gerwen 2-5 Mervyn King

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭dubdarts

gary anderson is looking back to his best after last night mauling of barry bates. Hopefully he will play like that over here.

wouldnt like to pick between him and scholten though. Scholten has been throwing awsome darts so far.

Jelle Klaasen 10-9 Pat Orreal
    Kevin McDine 10-7James Wade
    Andy Hamilton 10-8 Adrian Lewis
    Terry Jenkins 10-7 Raymond van Barneveld

cast_iron wrote: »
    Key in the following details on your Skybox:

Press Services, and pick Add Channels,

Freq: 10.758

Polarity: V
    Symbol Rate:
    FEC:
    5/61

and it should allow you to chose from a number of different channels. Store whatever you like.

(ITV4 will then be available in Other Channels)
    Cheers folks, I have a load of them other chanels stored exept for ITV4 looks like I will be watching darts tonight!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 nirelandblue

gary Anderson won tonight but heard the crowd was booing and whistling at Anderson.Dis grace because he isnt a PDC player.One of the WORLDS BEST PLAYERS shouldnt have to put up with this.Is it any wonder he wont join the PDC

Kevin Painter 10-7 Mervyn King
    Gary Anderson 10-7 Roland Scholten
    John Part 10-7 Colin Lloyd
    Phil Taylor 10-4 Gary Mawson

Quarter Final Line up

Kevin McDine v Jelle Klaasen
    Terry Jenkins v Andy Hamilton
    Phil Taylor v John Part
    Kevin Painter v Gary Anderson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭AndyP

Darts are good, some of the crowd are @rseholes. The treatment Anderson got was disgraceful. Typical of an event on Sky though.

AndyP wrote: »
    Typical of an event on Sky though.
    Eh? It's on ITV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭Badabing

Do Painter and Taylor still not get on? I remember 2 or 3 years ago Taylor told him to f*** off live on stage after he beat him.

Eh? It's on ITV.

Oops, so it is. What I meant is the way the PDC are now marketing events, it is no longer directed exclusivley at dart fans, they want event junkies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭MBC

AndyP wrote: »
    Oops, so it is. What I meant is the way the PDC are now marketing events, it is no longer directed exclusivley at dart fans, they want event junkies.

If it wasn't for the PDC and Sky Sports you'd see 10 matches crammed into a 15 minute snippet twice a year.............at least we get to watch full games of darts........would much prefer to watch darts on sky sports than any of the others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

If it wasn't for the PDC and Sky Sports you'd see 10 matches crammed into a 15 minute snippet twice a year.............at least we get to watch full games of darts........would much prefer to watch darts on sky sports than any of the others.

well said..if it wasnt for sky darts wud be dead...theyv made it open to all to watch!!
    and its a great few days if a gang goes to the darts...the players are easily accessible to chat to an all!

Both the above comments are correct. However, it does not excuse the behaviour which week by week is getting worse. Fair enough shout for your favourites but don't boo an opponent. It is getting to a stage where there will be no order for players at all and unfortunatley it is creeping into Citywest too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭DFD

all we had years ago was darts on bbc, thought it was great,didn't know any better cos all we had were a few stations.Then along came sky sports and changed everything from football to darts to any sport they showed.the way they presented and packaged whatever they had on made us look at it a different way.I personally find it hard to watch darts on bbc now 'cos it looks and seems to be presented in,for better words,so old fashioned from the stage setup to the commentary it still looks like its in the 70's.I love watching darts on sky but over the last couple of years the crowd behavior is starting to put me off.Without a doubt the crowd behaviour at city west has got really bad over the last few years at times its makes me cringe with embarrassment to hear the way the crowd are going on.At times there is no respect show to players at all.But city west is not the only place this is happening,it seems darts is now attracting a crowd that is just interested in getting drunk and shouting their heads off and get their faces on tv.Its up to the officials to sort this out,if they threw a few people out it might make people cop on.
    As for sky making darts accessible to all, i don't know about that, not everybody can afford sky sports,so the more darts on 'normal channels' the better.

Andy Hamilton 13-12 Kevin McDine
    Phil Taylor 13-11 Gary Anderson

Very surprised Hamilton has managed to make it to the final, he has been very patchy this year but fair play to him. Hopefully he can give Taylor a game. What was the Anderson Taylor match like? Did the crowd give Anderson the respect he deserves?

Kingp35 wrote: »
    Very surprised Hamilton has managed to make it to the final, he has been very patchy this year but fair play to him. Hopefully he can give Taylor a game. What was the Anderson Taylor match like? Did the crowd give Anderson the respect he deserves?
    If anything, the crowd were noisier when Taylor was throwing.

I think the crowd seem noisier on ITV as they seem to have the audience mics turned up a lot higher than Sky usually do.

Two great semis all the same.

Kingp35 wrote: »
    What was the Anderson Taylor match like? Did the crowd give Anderson the respect he deserves?

they were better than they have been but there was continious chanting of "theres only one phil taylor" when both men were throwing

Phil Taylor 18-11 Andy Hamilton

Good enough match, was five all before Taylor kicked up a gear and reeled off nine in a row. The writing was on the wall then for Hamilton then as he was never going to come back from that deficit.

Roll on the World Championships.

Good tournment, the ITV camera work would want to improve for the next time, lost count of the amount of times the camera went to the wrong part of the board.

stuart pike says on his website that the grand slam will be back next year and that bdo players will be invited to compete.