Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2 marathons back to back?

• 23-10-2007 5:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭

Last year I ran Connemara (badly) but 2 weeks later ran in Paris and did what was a PB for me.

Sunday I ran a decent time (for me) in Amsterdam and while I'd registered as a holding position for Dublin I'm in two minds about what to do. I actually don't feel to bad. I did 5k yesterday - the day after Amsterdam and felt strangely okay. I surprised myself in actually wanting to do a run?!? No major soreness today.

Am I mad considering a marathon 8 days after the last one? I know what the standard advice is... Has anyone had experience of doing back to back marathons in a short space of time?

Amsterdam was numero 11 for me.

Cheers.

SJ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Abhainn

Heh Slogger Jogger fair play to you - If you still feet ok this Sunday you should probably go for it and complete two marathons in 8 days!
    Not many people could put that on their CV.
    Though you may feel like seizing up towards the end of the race

Next thing you know you may even compete in some ultras.!

How was your time in Amsterdam? You probably will not beat that in Dublin

Best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Personally I would go for it. I have covered that type of distance and more in training but never for a race yet! If you feel up to it why not? And as Abhainn if you are interested in an ultra it would give you a feel of what the training can be like. Best of luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

I ran 3.30 despite leaving my energy gel in my gear bag and suffering a bit for lack of energy on the later stages.
    I'd recommend it though for its organisation, its course and for being a great city to boot. Seemed to be quite a few Irish over there running it...
    That said, I'm thinking more and more about running next Monday. I rested yesterday and ran about 8k today with no adverse effects. I actually felt strangely energised. The body is a weird thing!

If I do it I'll keep you posted on how I get on.

Regards,

SJ

Hi Odysseus

Yes an Ultra is on the list of things to "achieve" of mine but not till 2009.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Clum

I'm thinking more and more about running next Monday. I rested yesterday and ran about 8k today with no adverse effects. I actually felt strangely energised. The body is a weird thing!
    While warming up for Longford this summer I was chatting to a lad who said he ran three marathons in three days....and there I was concerned about one race!

Abhainn wrote: »
    Hi Odysseus

Yes an Ultra is on the list of things to "achieve" of mine but not till 2009.

May I ask which one out of interest?

Odysseus most likely the Connemara Ultra, God willing

Good stuff, only done it once but I am signed up for next year as well. It is a nice one to run, but its a pity that we don't have any longer ones in Ireland.

You could always try the Wicklow way trail race which while its circa marathon distance will certainly add to the challenge with the many metres of ascents and descents on the Wicklow way. See www.imra.ie. Race was held 2 weeks after Conn this year if memory serves.

SJ

yeah that one is on the list alright, it was to close to Connemara this year in terms of sorting out other commitments, you know the stuff that interfers with your running;) But it would be nice to have a 100k or a stage event in Ireland. It would cut down on the expense and also allow other to train for other other events. If you go for it on Monday lets us all know how you get on. I'm sure there would be learning in it for all in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

Quite a few people have done 3 marathons in the dublin weekend in the past. Beachy head on the saturday, snowdonia on the sunday and Dublin on the monday. The logistics are a little hairy but running non-performance marathons back to back is fine for experienced runners.

Odysseus, Have you started MdeS training reaces yet? I'm considering GUCR and maybe some of the spanish ultra's/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭locteau

some ultra runners do run a marathon a day for training purpose, and teh only major factor is taking care about your feet, as usually those runners already know how to hydrate and eat properly.

so no big deal... just watch your feet.... I do have bad memory of running for three days and teh only thing I was thinking was how bad my feet were.

So massage, vaseline or feet product to make the skin sof that it does not cut etc...

Seb, from runireland.com

Odysseus, Have you started MdeS training reaces yet? I'm considering GUCR and maybe some of the spanish ultra's/

After Dublin I'm going to a a two month running break. The my plan is pretty much the same as this years. Sahara marathon in feb, Connemara 60k in April, and Lapland 100k in June. I will have another two month break after that then I start some backpack running. I haven't planned any races after that as yet. That's about as far as I have got, I'm using the above to as a way to give me a psych boost, as it means I will have done two desert marathons and three 100k. Plus I love lapland and it will be the 10th anniversary next year. The Spanish ultras sound like a good idea, what are you thinking of? A stage event or a single ultra? Whats the GUCR? Are you running on Monday yourself?

It might work for others but it didn't quite work out for me today. I ran well until mile 16 and from there it was a struggle. When push came to shove and I had to go to that mental well to dig deep there was nothing there. Finished in 3.55 or so - worse Dublin showing for me. Theres a lesson there for me - I won't be so silly again! :)

well done Slogger Jogger I think that was a great achievement in a very respectible time.

Check out http://www.777challenge.com and see what this chap is doing.

Couldn't believe it when I read his preparation for his first marathon - just gave himself 3.5 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭stipes212

It might work for others but it didn't quite work out for me today. I ran well until mile 16 and from there it was a struggle. When push came to shove and I had to go to that mental well to dig deep there was nothing there. Finished in 3.55 or so - worse Dublin showing for me. Theres a lesson there for me - I won't be so silly again! :)

it takes at least 4 weeks to recover from a marathon, hence all that fatigue returns much earlier than normal, and along with it the dreaded WALL. as you probably know, if you are fully trained and prepared for a marathon the WALL, doesn't exist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭tenandtracer

Noticed a couple of guys with their Beachy Head marathon numbers on. Less than 48 hours between it and Dublin!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭locteau

I agree with the wall idea that it is psychological mainly, it is from the first marathons where they did not hydrate/eat properly where teh body started to give up in glycogen, minerals etc.... so the physiological barrier was giving up.... but the idea still there, especially with beginners who do not train properly.

I would not recommend to stop completly after a marathon, recovery can be active, doing easy run, go to the pool, cycling for Eg.... you recover faster when doing something than nothing.

Seb Locteau

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

Digging this old thread up as I'm considering Dublin/New York within a week this year.
    Have done 3 marathons and only do them for enjoyment so recovery isn't a problem as my most recent one was followed by 3 days sightseeing on foot alone.

Is there anything ye can recommend in the week between to ensure best possible condition going into the second one?
    Cotton wool job or a short jog mid week?

I'd assume it's obvious to put any expectations regarding time/performance into the first one and take it from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Izoard

Hey rovers,

I did Dublin (Monday) then headed to NY for the Sunday, a few years ago (03 or 04)

Dublin was grand (3.28), and I was flying in NY until I hit the Queensborough bridge, then everything just stopped.
    It was a very hot day for NY (mid 70s) and it was a complete suffer fest thereafter.

My split in the 2nd half was 2.15, but had done enough in the first half to get home in 4.03 (I beat P. Diddy!:).

Looking back, I think I should have some ultra-type work, involving 2 long runs on consecutive days..

Anyways, go for it...the whole NY marathon weekend was great craic...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

Izoard wrote: »
    Hey rovers,

I did Dublin (Monday) then headed to NY for the Sunday, a few years ago (03 or 04)

Dublin was grand (3.28), and I was flying in NY until I hit the Queensborough bridge, then everything just stopped.
    It was a very hot day for NY (mid 70s) and it was a complete suffer fest thereafter.

My split in the 2nd half was 2.15, but had done enough in the first half to get home in 4.03 (I beat P. Diddy!:).

Looking back, I think I should have some ultra-type work, involving 2 long runs on consecutive days..

Anyways, go for it...the whole NY marathon weekend was great craic...

Thanks Izoard,
    Good idea regards the ultra running training, must check out their training plans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭RJC

I have a secret goal of doing the beachy head/snowdonia/dublin weekend but I would need to win the lotto in brownie points to be allowed to do it from Mrs. RJC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

Cotton wool job or a short jog mid week?
    Both

Ice cold baths... lots of them. A massage or 2. And little or no running.

If you can get down to Wexford and do a session of cryotherapy (Whites hotel) after the 1st marathon I'd recommend that to chase some lactate out of the legs.