Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[US] 2X05 - "Fight or FLight" [** SPOILERS WITHIN **]

• 23-10-2007 12:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭

Didn't see this one up yet so I said I'd get things started.

Warning this thread contains spoilers!!!

Episode Title:
    Fight or Flight
    Airdate: 22 October 2007
    tvrage.com summary:
    In Ireland, Peter tries to move beyond his past, but soon discovers that Elle, a mysterious woman, would go to any length necessary to find him. Matt strikes an unexpected ally to head with him to Philadelphia to find the "boogyman" following Molly being attacked. Meanwhile, Suresh has a meeting with his new partner and receives a disturbing assignment; Monica tries to adjust to her life as a hero; H.R.G. has to go to lengths to protect his family; and Hiro continues to try to fix the past while Ando tries to put together what happened to his friend.

I won't see it until later on this evening.

What did you think of 2x05? 69 votes

Wow!
    0% 0 votes
    Very good.
    7% 5 votes
    OK
    46% 32 votes
    Not great.
    34% 24 votes
    The stuff of nightmares.
    11% 8 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

Added a poll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭Baldie

Cheers, I was just about to add it in....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

good episode...some (not all) things are starting to move along.....those irish accents though....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭wba88

good episode...some (not all) things are starting to move along.....those irish accents though....:rolleyes:

cant beat them ;)

good ep

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭AntiRip

tbh i didn't think this was a good episode. I'm getting very bored of Heroes :(

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

I enjoyed the stuff with Parkman's dad, I thought it was interesting ("I'm not a cargo jet...", lol!). No Sylar though, which made me cry.

I'm so sick of the Irish characters. Peter can NEVER be as cool as Sylar because he's such a sap. All that crap with the stupid girl. What relevance does that have to ANYTHING? Less of them fondling and more of decent characters like Sylar.

What's up with Nikki? Is she back to season 2 boring, annoying story lines?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Jay Ru

in all the press leading up to the start of season 2 there was more than one mention of an irish hero with powers, i think the irish girl has the same power that isaac had, hence peter's paintin.

only an average episode if u ask me, wonder who elle's dad is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

Does anyone else think Mica is one of the best things in it? outacts a lot of the adults and he doesnt bull**** around either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Jay Ru

u can't be for real, i find him more annoying by the episode.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Jay Ru wrote: »
    in all the press leading up to the start of season 2 there was more than one mention of an irish hero with powers, i think the irish girl has the same power that isaac had, hence peter's paintin.

I doubt it; Peter's power doesn't work like that, he just needs to be reminded of a person, usually via emotions, to use their power.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

At least the O'Irish characters are now getting killed off, they will all be gone soon with any luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭standbyme

It was OK, Some of the plot gettin interestin & the rest movin now.

BEll(e's) character is gonna be interesting especially over 13 ep :)
    But then again she always 'lit' up the room when she entered :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭Redisle

It was an OK episode, nothing major happened, filled in the details for the existing story lines and introduced Elle whom we were expecting anyway.. missing the sylar storyline but I guess that will make the next episode interesting..and as someone else said at least thats one of the "Irish" people gone :) , god do those accents make me cringe..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭El_mariachi

ab_cork wrote: »
    .and as someone else said at least thats one of the "Irish" people gone :) , god do those accents make me cringe..

you guys gonna stop whining anytime soon or will it be the topic of discussion every time a ep airs?

i only like'd the parkmans father bit and locking them in the nightmare... the rest jsut didn't seem to go anywhere (we had the whole discovering power OMG whats happening to me bit :P ) and why oh why did mohinder bring mollie to the company.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Ye it was an ok episode. Still kind of slow moving. Glad some of the Oirish characters are getting killed off,hope that annoying sister one is knocked off soon enough.

The stuff with parkman's dad was very good,throwing people into their nightmares and then it turned out Nathan and Matt were actually attacking each other.

I had hoped Nikki's split personality had been overcome at the end of last season but obviously not. :(

Monica seems like a good character with a cool power. I have no problem with Micah and the kid is a very good actor,tends to act many of the adults off the screen. That was him really playing the piano as well. Will be interesting to see what happens with her and Mohinder.

Hiro in Japen...boring,nothing happened.

No Sylar...:(

On the other hand Kristin Bell :D You just gotta love her.

6/10

The poll should be 1-10 as well IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

the accents are at the point where I've stopped caring - and I've just classed them as american :p

This episode started alright but then it just seemed.... flat. Discovering her new power: fine and dandy but there was no pizazz. Nikki's re-appearance was a yawn. Hiro's segment has been completely slashed it seems, the poor thing.

What ran the episode for about 10 minutes of the whole thing was the Parkman/Nathan scenes - good stuff, very comic-like, and it keeps nagging at me what Nathan keeps seeing: at this point I have to suspect that somehow he acquired at least some of Peter's ability - such as regeneration. But omfg wtf was with the man's hair? it looked like he was wearing an ass or... like he was trying to go for the Gossamer-look: gossamer.jpg

have to give this a meager 'OK' rating because little seemed to happen - more of a 'dry hump' episode.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ivan

Kirstin Bell was awesome, I was afraid she was type cast/or replicating her role as Veronica Mars, but there is a definite mean streak in the character that I am sure I'm going to love.

I dont mind the Oirish bits but it seems pretty clear that asside from the sister, we'll be leaving all that behind in the next episode.

Parkman/Nathan's bits were great but I could tell from the moment daddy Parkman said he would "tell them everything" that something was up. When he asked Matt to come in the room I knew it wasnt going to end well.
    Very good scene and there is definitely more to the mystery scarred man that Nathan keeps seeing in the mirror.

Will be interesting to see how the Mohinder/Molly/Company triangle will develop ;)
    Mohinder seems to be in, hook, line and sinker. It seems that Nikki's little confession swayed him to the dark side. I think he is going to try to do "bad stuff" but in his own generic "good way" and get firmly sucked into the company.

As for Belle, at first I naturally assumed she worked for the Company, but now I'm not so sure... she spoke to her "Dad", we're led to believe... so unless her dad is someone influential within the company, the he is another player altogether.

As for Sylar and the twins, I'm sorry but I was glad that they missed out. As great as Sylar is, the twins are infuriating in their repetitive scenes. So it was somewhat refreshing that we didnt see them.
    For those awaiting Sylar's return, if previous patterns are to be believed then next episode will have quite a large segment on them all and we should get some interesting developments then.

Finally, the preview/spoilerette mentions that HRG/Noah
    H.R.G. has to go to lengths to protect his family"

Did I miss something?

Good episode overall, great to see Heroes moving again :D No longer the best thing on TV these days, but rather enjoyable all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭doonothing

that epsiode was exceedingly average.
    for the first time micah has annoyed me to the extent where i feel the need to comment. what. the. ****. he is one of those characters who i would be extremely depressed if he died, purely because it seems the writers have the audacity to seem to believe anyone would have any emotional attachment to him whatsoever.
    yer wan from veronica mars. most unnecessar character ever? possibly. there's number of more interesting ways to bring pete back to america.
    does caitlin (shudder.) not feel like she's beingbuilt up to be killed? whether it'll be a plot device to get peter to do *bla bla* or whether it's to have a teary goodbye with pete on the bays of cork... yeah, her fate is sealed isnt it?
    nikki, jesus nikki. no thanks.
    i like monica. if thats even her name. she's almost like an alright lookin version of a young kerry washington. that's why i like monica.
    nathan and matt. what a serendipitous (sp) pair. lets keep hoping everything keeps happening to benefit their investigation. (yes i realise 90% of heroes has been like that so far, but it has never seemed so contrived.)

basically everything about this episode was not "that bad" at all, but it is definitely an insult to the intelligence of anyone who has ever defended heroes to a sceptic.

how unfortunate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭doonothing

Ivan wrote: »
    Mohinder seems to be in, hook, line and sinker. It seems that Nikki's little confession swayed him to the dark side. I think he is going to try to do "bad stuff" but in his own generic "good way" and get firmly sucked into the company.

nail on the head with that one, considering how the future storyline of episode 20 (not sure?) played out.
    again we'll see the good guys turn misguidedly evil and the bad guys turn misguidedly good! damn you heroes!

Good episode. It wasn't all fantastic but I don't think Heroes ever has been... there was still plenty of good stuff in there, I thought.

Nathan and Parkman's fight was great. Really well done.

Irish accents didn't annoy me much.. and I thought the place looked a bit better this time. Electro-Lady looks like an annoying, and unnecessary, character though. I hope there's some other good reason they brought Peter to Cork because so far, blah.

Same goes for Hiro in Japan.
    tvnutz wrote: »
    The poll should be 1-10 as well IMO.
    I disagree. I win! woo! :)

I'd actually prefer just two options, "good" or "bad" (or a more creative variation thereof). Keep it simple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭standbyme

Well there was one accurate description there: It was raining :D:p

But methinks :rolleyes: nah they couldnt have

• Subscribers Posts: 32,858 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

At least that lad that got killed used one Irish phrase 'they'll all be locked' or something to that effect before he died.

Not a great episode. One thing that struck me though when they were talking about Monica's mother is that maybe she is the black middle aged woman in the picture with the petrellie, nakamura, parkman snr and Linderman? Maybe she isn't dead at all or is but was in the company?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

5starpool wrote: »
    At least that lad that got killed used one Irish phrase 'they'll all be locked' or something to that effect before he died.

Not a great episode. One thing that struck me though when they were talking about Monica's mother is that maybe she is the black middle aged woman in the picture with the petrellie, nakamura, parkman snr and Linderman? Maybe she isn't dead at all or is but was in the company?

If it is Monica's mum in the picture that could explain how Linderman was able to set up DL and Nikki.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭sme

this ep suck mule scrotum, the only good park was parkman's father. that's a cool power.

this is actually the first ep that the begorragh brigade annoyed me, let's hope that they all die a painful death.

it's good to see kirsten bell back on tv, i'm assuming that she is bob's daughter (only glanced at previous posts, don't shoot me if this has been leaked or something)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

You know what really annoyed me about the irish accents? Usually I can get over them, but this really annoyed me. When the irish guy said they served stew, he didn't pronounce it the irish way of "steu", he pronounced it the American way "stoo". Get it right!

Also, I'm doubting that he's actually dead, given
    the spoilers that were floating around about a 1,000 year old Irish gangster. Hope he does't just have the same power as Takeso Kensei though.

I thought this was a good episode. Things are starting to move along slowly.
    I like Monica "copy cats" power. Can she copy the abilities of other horeos as well? She gave Micah a strange look when he turned on the TV, maybe she remembered how to do that as well....

Peter painting the picture was a bit obvious. As soon as you saw any sign of a painting, you knew it was going to happen.... :rolleyes:

One thing that really bugges me, with all the brilliant special effects that Heroes has, did anyone not notice the **** special effects with Noah and the Haitan? I mean, you could nearly see the green screen behind them! It was woofull!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭madrab

ahh the "oirish" arent bothering me anymore (plus they did get 3 things right, "locked", rain, and the number plates on the car that kristen bell was in were correct)

i enjoyed the episode, thought the bit with jessica wreckin the place was cool along with parkmans dad and of course having kristen bell back on screen is always good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,570 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

I thought it was above average too...

That guy who met Elle down at the docks should be strung up for his butchering of the irish accent.... I physically cringed. Watch that scene again for a good laugh. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

Mr E wrote: »
    Promo for next week (2x06 - The Line). Doesn't look that interesting, except for the last 2 seconds.

doesn't belong in this thread

Anyway, I thought it was alright. It covered a lot of bases and kept the pace moving along nicely. If anyone isn't already, i'd recommend keeping up to date with the graphical novels online, they really help in filling out the storyline.

Anyone else think the guy mohinder helped in the hospital in the comic "Blackout" is Elles father? Maybe not!

Also, I guess we now know where Peter got his electricity power from. Elle must of been the one to put him in that container being shipped to ireland. It also probably makes sense where Sylar got his electricity powers from in the future episode last season. I also liked the parkman, nathan dream scenes. I wonder what this manifestation of himself all deformed represents? He seems to be tied in with Nathans fear of the city being destroyed.

My only real gripe is their depiction of ireland, I mean Caitlins apartment looks like she's living in the 1950's. The whole place looks like Ireland in the 1950's. I guess thats how Americans picture Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

Good episode, things are starting to come together now.

It looks like Peter's adventures in Oireland are coming to an end. RIP Ricky (I really hope his surname was O'Shea). It seems like Caitlin is going to Montreal with Peter though, so we'll have to put up with her accent a while longer. I'm betting that Peter will recover his memories when he enters that place he painted.

Parkman's fight with Nathan was brilliantly done. Maybe when Parkman gets better at using his powers, he'll be able to project illusions too.

Pity that there was no Claire or Sylar in this one, but at least that gobshite West wasn't around either.

I have to ask - does anyone else think Monica is hot?

agamemnon wrote: »
    I have to ask - does anyone else think Monica is hot?

Yep! Especially when she takes off Bruce Lee!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

Faith wrote: »
    You know what really annoyed me about the irish accents? Usually I can get over them, but this really annoyed me. When the irish guy said they served stew, he didn't pronounce it the irish way of "steu", he pronounced it the American way "stoo". Get it right!

the spoilers that were floating around about a 1,000 year old Irish gangster. Hope he does't just have the same power as Takeso Kensei though.

I had been wondering that myself but i dont want
    Goodshape wrote: »
    . Electro-Lady looks like an annoying, and unnecessary, character though

Yes, her arriving, asking where peter was and killing your 1 and then leaving again was completly pointless, i suppose we now wonder who is her daddy? in the company. *sigh* I hope syler kills her VERY soon

you guys gonna stop whining anytime soon or will it be the topic of discussion every time a ep airs?

i only like'd the parkmans father bit and locking them in the nightmare... the rest jsut didn't seem to go anywhere (we had the whole discovering power OMG whats happening to me bit :P ) and why oh why did mohinder bring mollie to the company.....

He brought her in so she would have access to better mediacal treatment and the possabality of treatment though a as yet unknown "hero" who works at the comapny
    Jay Ru wrote: »

only an average episode if u ask me, wonder who elle's dad is?

No,

Peter has Isacs old power thats how he is able to do it, i doubt it very much some random irish woman can paint the future.

I know what the power is though so its just a matter of figuring out who has the power, anfd the power being the one Faith mentioned that was being spoilered around. TBH i think it was his boss, the head crime guy who they where going to rob the i-pods for. He is most likly the irish hero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭The Freeman

Mr E wrote: »
    I thought it was above average too...

That guy who met Elle down at the docks should be strung up for his butchering of the irish accent.... I physically cringed. Watch that scene again for a good laugh. :)

the series isin't as good as the first series at all!

couldn't give a frack bout hiro in the middle ages playing matchmaker and the whole story is a big let down considering he wass just getting bad ass at the end of the first series.

the scenes in parkman's oul lads gaff were very well done.

the c.g. back drop with the hiatan and cheerleaders oul-lad were woeful bad!

funny actualy, i stuck on the newest ep. of prison break straight after this and who steps on but your man with dodgy accent from the docks with a dodgy french/spanish accent, cringe worthy!:D:D really where did they find this guy?!

Faith wrote: »
    Not confirmed but possible future episode spoiler :
    From reading Wikipedia it seems that this might be Dominic Keating's character (the guy from Star Trek Enterprise / guy down the docks who told Electro Girl where to find Peter) : "Keating has joined the cast of hit show Heroes for its second season and will play an Irish mobster with special powers, as reported by Variety". Would make a bit of sense considering Keating is one of the more familiar faces among the Oirish crew... just a pity he can't seem to get the accent right for love nor money -- his was one of the worst I thought. Kinda hope Wikipedia / Variety got it wrong.

If you are a 1,000 year old Irish gangster, then how do you have a 20-something year old sister? ;)

The dead guy is dead, thankfully ;)

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

And if it was Keating, why didnt he use some power when he was pinned against the wall by Peter? Why havent they introduced him or given some indication of him having a power?

I liked this episode because they didnt jump from thread to thread, they stuck with some and cut out the others, presumably next week will focus on them (more Sylar = yay!).

I felt the series was finally getting setup to go somewhere....

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

L31mr0d wrote: »
    My only real gripe is their depiction of ireland, I mean Caitlins apartment looks like she's living in the 1950's. The whole place looks like Ireland in the 1950's. I guess thats how Americans picture Ireland.

Exactly, and to be honest if that pleases the american auidence, and keeps them watching, then job done.
    I'd imagine the writers of heroes don't give two tugs of a dead dogs cock about an accurate portrail of ireland and it's accents when 99% of it's target auidence have probably never been here.
    And i doubly doubt they care about the bleating of a bunch of irish fourmites who have gained his episode by means that are not exactly legal.

so in summation, can we let the accent thing drop? Yes, it's less than authentic, no you don't need to bring it up every damn week.

That aside, i quite liked this episode, nice to see a little bit of hiro again, after last week, and a break from sylar is nice too. He's a great character, but lets not overuse him.
    There alot going on in this episode, and the next few ones should be interesting. I kinda want to see more of the electiclady (whos name escapes me), I think she'd be an interesting opponent for peter in a fight, and i'm sure she was in one of the comics, one of the ones set in the future.

Exactly, and to be honest if that pleases the american auidence, and keeps them watching, then job done.
    I'd imagine the writers of heroes don't give two tugs of a dead dogs cock about an accurate portrail of ireland and it's accents when 99% of it's target auidence have probably never been here.
    And i doubly doubt they care about the bleating of a bunch of irish fourmites who have gained his episode by means that are not exactly legal.

so in summation, can we let the accent thing drop? Yes, it's less than authentic, no you don't need to bring it up every damn week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭Sarn

So, is Parkman senior the killer? The fact that Bob's picture was in his apartment would suggest he might be. It would also explain why Mrs. Petrelli went crazy in the interrogation room (another private nightmare).

However, it wouldn't support Nakamura's death unless the vision encompassed Ando, with Nakamura effectively commiting suicide by jumping off the building (would explain no additional body).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

Sarn wrote: »
    So, is Parkman senior the killer? The fact that Bob's picture was in his apartment would suggest he might be. It would also explain why Mrs. Petrelli went crazy in the interrogation room (another private nightmare).

However, it wouldn't support Nakamura's death unless the vision encompassed Ando, with Nakamura effectively commiting suicide by jumping off the building (would explain no additional body).

But does he actually have the power to give everyone nightmares, no matter where he is? I'm not sure exactly how it works. I'd say Parkman will start to develop some of these powers over the next few episodes aswell. I was happy overall with the episode, in a kind of leading up to something much bigger way.

Well, from what we've seen, we can assume that he was the cause of the Petrelli Mother's "episode" and since we can reasonably assume that he was in another state at the time of the incident, it seems safe to say he can cause these things merely by thinking about the person.

Molly's case seems to corroborate this theory, but the fact is we really dont have enough info yet ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

i have to say that it was probably the worst episode of the season so far. Nothing really happened at all. After the revelations of last weeks episode it was a real let down!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

It's abundantly clear that they're content to give a half-arsed portrayal of events in Ireland but that's a sorry state of affairs. They couldn't bother to take the time to do a bit of research other than figuring out that Cork is a place in Ireland?

We do when it detracts from the quality of the episode every damn week. It's a shock that we haven't seen any leprechauns thus far. Maybe next week.

I thought this week's episode was alright verging on good but the Oirish blarney stuff is just a joke. Caitlin's accent was all over the bloody place. It made Julia Roberts' performance in Michael Collins seem decent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Some good, some bad. Nathan and Parkman's scenes were pretty good. I think Nathan may be becoming my favourite character.

Monica, Micah and Mohinder's story wasn't bad.

If Nikki is still struggling with Jessica that is really boring. The scenes where she battled Candace at the end of S1 should have been the end of that.

I hate Elle, it is stunt casting and it is boring.

This was the first time the Irish scenes annoyed me. I up til now it was annoying but on a surface level. In this episode it really prevented me from caring about the episode.

And Hiro. I've come to the conclusion that he is an awful character. It dawned on me last night that that at the end of S1 he was transported through time without ever knowing that New York was saved and Ando, his best friend, wasn't killed. Yet he can't be bothered to return and find out because he is too busy hanging out with Kensai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 green rover

second season hasn't been great so far but season 1 started of slowly so it could come good.

and yes those irish accents are dreadful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,180 ✭✭✭✭Basq

More of the same.. i'm getting really tired of it all!

I just get the feeling we're being lead along at this stage...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭ShoulderChip

Nikki was Hired as a serial killer to kill each of them off, that is why she went after bob, perhaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

funny actualy, i stuck on the newest ep. of prison break straight after this and who steps on but your man with dodgy accent from the docks with a dodgy french/spanish accent, cringe worthy!:D:D really where did they find this guy?!

I did the exact same thing :D
    He was in star trek enterprise,
    his agent must be working overtime
    this weather :)

Like others have said, i felt the story was finally
    beginning to move forward in this episode

rkm wrote: »
    I did the exact same thing :D
    He was in star trek enterprise,
    his agent must be working overtime
    this weather :)

Is that a haiku? :D