Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ze Clock - content is not high

• 22-10-2007 10:24am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭

FT in CHLs.
    I know this is probably an OLD one for you guys but in CHL freezeout on Friday. The 'clock' was called on me by that lovely fellow (probably shouldn't name him) He says something like, you are going to fold anyway and I'm low stacked. Fair enough but I was only deliberating for about 10 seconds. I usually make up my mind too quickly anyway, NEVER hollywood, I was going to call for a ruling on this as he was a huge irritant at the table. (what's his problem in general?)

Anyway I made the call eventually after I ran it down :-p So to my questions:

1 Can the clock be called anytime after a player is put on a decision
    2 Can this be contested.?
    3 Does the dealer have any discretion here. Can he say , the clock will kick in after one more minute etc.

I'm bringing a big shtty stick next week and poking an eye out before I go home. It's time to make a stand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

name and shame otherwise this thread is totally worthless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

3 Does the dealer have any discretion here. Can he say , the clock will kick in after one more minute etc.

Yes the dealer can reject the clock if the player hasnt been given a reasonable amount of time to think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭sumoward

This guy wouldnt have a moustache would he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

young, fat, sausage-fingered scumbag who's been playing there lately?

usually wears some type of tent....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭Scummyscousers

You figure. his name is not important it's Ze clock rule I need to understand....

His 1st is in ->Fight me outside I'm a hard shaw.
    His 2nd is in ->I'm not Ignorant, I know I'm a bllx
    His 3rd is in ->Shut up and mind your own business I know the play is on me but I'm talking here ok?
    His 4th is in ->How can you deal me the fking muck for fks sake, I only play one fkin hand in an hour and I run Q3 into QQ fkfkfkfkfkf blxlxlbx this is fkin rediculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Does he look a little like this.....its a striking resemblence if you ask me :)

fish.gif

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

sumoward wrote: »
    This guy wouldnt have a moustache would he?

This guy is definitely a very real reason why I haven't been in as much as I would like to CHL's. This and the fact that I am in a 'pain in my hole from tournies' phase.

karlh wrote: »
    young, fat, sausage-fingered scumbag who's been playing there lately?

usually wears some type of tent....
    Surely not who I am thinking of? Then again he is not young, so scratch that.

Tony I can't anwser that question but you should be a cryptologist. That code was run through the Kerry Intelligence Agency (KIA)and nobody cracked it. Your picture is smiling so the answer is no.

* A lot of contenders for the title these days. The revolution must begin to weed thiese lads out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

in fairness, most of us are young, fat and scumbaggish

more info required for a positive ID I feel....

Doh! Changed the picture in paint and juts realised i cant upload pics in work..i'm lucky i can even get into boards...This will have to do

300px-Angry_fish.gif

Flushdraw wrote: »
    Doh! Changed the picture in paint and juts realised i cant upload pics in work..i'm lucky i can even get into boards...This will have to do

300px-Angry_fish.gif

LAUGHING HEARTHILY OUT LOUD. SPOT ON. :D

bohsman wrote: »
    Yes the dealer can reject the clock if the player hasnt been given a reasonable amount of time to think.

Damn it I knew it....thanks Roversman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭The Istanbul

Tony

From evidence in Waterford (if he's the same guy who ran out of cash having been well up and resorted to flogging his ME ticket to highest bidder) I thought you would be delighted to have him at your table.

Thought he was persona non grata in Dublin casinos :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Damn it I knew it....thanks Roversman.

no problem Mr Scouser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Something similar happened me:
    I had the clock called on me really quick in vegas (Venetian) by a drunk american gob****e who was a higher stakes player but was playing as his gf was also in the game. He had previously called the clock on another player too but that time I suppose it was justified.

Anyways he called it on me after about 10 secs. Then the dealer starts telling him he can't call a clock so quick. So they are arguing back and forth and after about 2 minutes the Floor person comes over and she immediately puts the clock on me (30 secs) without listening to what I or the dealer had to say! Can that be right or am I not entitled to some time to think when the gob****e is not arguing at the top of his lungs? How quick can a clock be called? Am I entitled to 'quiet time' while trying to make a decision or can said gob****e shout and roar for the duration?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭AKQJ10

From evidence in Waterford (if he's the same guy who ran out of cash having been well up and resorted to flogging his ME ticket to highest bidder)

That was really good to watch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 661 ✭✭✭dK1NG

The 'clock' was called on me by that lovely fellow (probably shouldn't name him) He says something like, you are going to fold anyway and I'm low stacked. Fair enough but I was only deliberating for about 10 seconds.

This happened at one of the tables I was on in the IPO. MP raised 5xbb, I shoved on the button with QQ. Folded around to MP. He was having a think about it, but after approx. 30 seconds another player called the clock.

Tbh, I was disgusted. It was a big decision for all his stack, and a player not even involved in the hand called the clock. MP folded. I even apologised outloud to him, making sure the other player knew my feelings on it. In a situation like that I wouldnt call for a clock.

Tony

From evidence in Waterford (if he's the same guy who ran out of cash having been well up and resorted to flogging his ME ticket to highest bidder) I thought you would be delighted to have him at your table.

Yep thats him. Almost on his knees begging people to buy it off him!

the floor was wet though:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭kebabfest

I would say since Fish started playing poker the sales of IPODs among poker players went through the roof.

Yep thats him. Almost on his knees begging people to buy it off him!

I think the fact that it took me this long to get the picture reference is shameful in itself, but if the picture clue isn't off the Catchphrase (say what you see) variety will you let me know by PM who it is Tony?

Its defo a say what you see pic...or else you could just read kebabfests post before yours.....Note the capital F as it refers to a name :rolleyes: :p

The problem with this is that his post wasn't there when I started posting mine.

I don't think I ever played against this 'aquatic creature' before. Was he just in bad form or is that his normal carry on?

He seemed below par from what i seen....He's chirpy when...

fish_and_chips%20_3.jpg

but without chips, he's just a nasty....

caviar_prd_281_med.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭semibluff

not nice guy

He used to be in a boyband aswel which is bigtime LOL!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭semibluff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,433 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 littlebitfishy

Lovely guy.Many arguments on many occasions with the Fish in question....He is a bully at the table probably makes him feel bigger maybe to make up for the size of something else LOL thats the word on the street anyway....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭Macspower

I think a reasonable time should be allowed before calling the clock....

I've seen this happen twice recently.. 1st time was in Droheda in the first level of GJP's monthly game after about 30 secs by a player not in the hand... I commented that it was wrong int he first level of a deep stack long blind tourney and I was "politely" told "I can call the f*** clock after 2 secs if I feel like it". I didn't get into it as the player in question didn't seem bothered and mucked...

second one was a bit funnier.... it was at the IPO. the clock was called on another player after about 20 secs by a player not in the hand. the dealer did his count and the player made the call...... in the last second... I don't think he couls have calle otherwise but he was good....... After the hand I made my feelings known about the clock being called after about 20 secs..... the same player called clock 4 or 5 times in that level of blinds each time within 30 sec to 1 min....

he was waiting on his chance to do this... I raise with 7/5o or something to steal blinds and BB pushes all in..... All I got to say was hmmm and was about to muck when the said player called the clock on me.... the dealer anounced clock on me.... I complained to the dealer that I didn't have a sufficient length of time to makemy mind up and spent the full minute asking for the clock to be refused and then before the minue was up I asked for a ruling... by the time a ruling was got in the busy atmosphere it was a good 4-5 mins and I was told that a reasonable ammount of time had to be given to a player first before the clock can be called..... and I was given a minute from then.... I turned over my muck to applause from the table.....

I might have been out of order myself but he didn't mention clock again.. the clock is there for a reason not as an angle shot

Lovely guy.Many arguments on many occasions with the Fish in question....He is a bully at the table probably makes him feel bigger maybe to make up for the size of something else LOL thats the word on the street anyway....

Well lets just say to me he was annoying and testy, but i dont think Id be bullied by him EVER......lol, its the quiet thin ones Im wary of.

Maybe it's just he was in a famous boyband and he's not anymore???

Cant believe that im the fool again , how was I to know. ( i had to look this up, I swear, please believe me)

Sure you did...Were you in his band too???

Anyway back to the subject matter.A reasonable amount of time has to be taken before clock can be called.If in the hand or not...The dealer should be in control of this if not the floor should be called.Don't hesitate to call the floor when needed and more players should know their rights and not being taken advantage of by players....

Sure you did...Were you in his band too???

Well if he wanted to learn something about music ..ahem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭Russh

Tony

LOL....

I offered him €300 for ticket (after bubbling sat...thanks Buddha!), thought he was fooling around and could'nt believe it when he accepted €320....

Long may he continue selling such tickets!....:D......

P.S. Was beside him in super sat and thought he behaved obnoxious on that occasion....

Russh wrote: »
    LOL....

I offered him €300 for ticket (after bubbling sat...thanks Buddha!), thought he was fooling around and could'nt believe it when he accepted €320....

Long may he continue selling such tickets!....:D......

P.S. Was beside him in super sat and thought he behaved obnoxious on that occasion....

Now now Chris...tell the real story as it was!

Ticket is worth 550....He comes offering it around and Chris says he'll give him 300..Fish breaks his bo***x laughing saying he'll take 500 for it and walks off..he comes back in a few mins and and drops to 450, but Chris aint budging...Fish, after about 10 minutes, says 400 is his final offer. Chris says he only has 300 on him.

He reaches into his pocket and tries his best to take out ONLY 300, it was a struggle but he managed it. Fish nearly crying now is begging Chris to take it for 350. Chris stands firm and i think gets another 20 quid off a mate and says. Heres 320, take it or leave it. Fish caves..WP sir VWP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

what band? he wasnt the 6th boyzoner was he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭thechamp87

lol yeah i'm curious too. what band?

I dont know what band. He was singing at the table once up in Drogheda and i started giving him stick. He then started going on about how he was in a boyband for a while but thats when i turned up my Zen.....

Unfortunately he's not one of these 6....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hr2ZKhV6eKc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,613 ✭✭✭mormank

Macspower wrote: »
    I think a reasonable time should be allowed before calling the clock....

I've seen this happen twice recently.. 1st time was in Droheda in the first level of GJP's monthly game after about 30 secs by a player not in the hand... I commented that it was wrong int he first level of a deep stack long blind tourney and I was "politely" told "I can call the f*** clock after 2 secs if I feel like it". I didn't get into it as the player in question didn't seem bothered and mucked...

second one was a bit funnier.... it was at the IPO. the clock was called on another player after about 20 secs by a player not in the hand. the dealer did his count and the player made the call...... in the last second... I don't think he couls have calle otherwise but he was good....... After the hand I made my feelings known about the clock being called after about 20 secs..... the same player called clock 4 or 5 times in that level of blinds each time within 30 sec to 1 min....

he was waiting on his chance to do this... I raise with 7/5o or something to steal blinds and BB pushes all in..... All I got to say was hmmm and was about to muck when the said player called the clock on me.... the dealer anounced clock on me.... I complained to the dealer that I didn't have a sufficient length of time to makemy mind up and spent the full minute asking for the clock to be refused and then before the minue was up I asked for a ruling... by the time a ruling was got in the busy atmosphere it was a good 4-5 mins and I was told that a reasonable ammount of time had to be given to a player first before the clock can be called..... and I was given a minute from then.... I turned over my muck to applause from the table.....

I might have been out of order myself but he didn't mention clock again.. the clock is there for a reason not as an angle shot

Brilliant!! bet you felt like a hero.
    smething similar happened a friend of mine in cork last year. Some guy was pushing his weight around in a €100FO. around 60 runners. Kept on callin clock on evryone after about 20-30 seconds. very arrogant type! everybody at the final table got payed. on the final table bubble this guy played a hand against my mate. flop was bet and called. turn check check..on the river this guy pushed all in and called clock almost instantly to try get my mate to fold...
    samethinghappened,my mate complaindhe hadnt been given enough time, called for a ruling. TD came over, after about 3 mins then clock started timing down..all in all took about 5 mins and we are on the FT bubble and the cash bubble...TD counts down 10, 9, 8...with 2 seconds left my mate looks at the dealer and says "call", he had rivered the nuts!!
    This guy bubbled and was furious, but only had himself to blame IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

I dont know what band. He was singing at the table once up in Drogheda and i started giving him stick. He then started going on about how he was in a boyband for a while but thats when i turned up my Zen.....

Unfortunately he's not one of these 6....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hr2ZKhV6eKc

I Remember watching this live on tv, well when it aired first, i laughed then, i laugh now.

Must say its a great clips, lucky you had it in your favourites!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,951 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

you guys were serious about the band? i though that was some private joke that i didn't get
    wats his second name - then just google it...

I Remember watching this live on tv, well when it aired first, i laughed then, i laugh now.

Must say its a great clips, lucky you had it in your favourites!

LOL its in my favourites now! One of the funniest videos ever! 1993...u remember this? What age were you 7 or 8? All the kids want to be policemen and firemen but Joe wants to be in boyzone when he grows up*hums light my fire....*
    Ace2007 wrote: »
    you guys were serious about the band? i though that was some private joke that i didn't get
    wats his second name - then just google it...

No its true about the boyband .I have no idea of his name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

Paul Fitzgerald i think.

Now now Chris...tell the real story as it was!

Ticket is worth 550....He comes offering it around and Chris says he'll give him 300..Fish breaks his bo***x laughing saying he'll take 500 for it and walks off..he comes back in a few mins and and drops to 450, but Chris aint budging...Fish, after about 10 minutes, says 400 is his final offer. Chris says he only has 300 on him.

He reaches into his pocket and tries his best to take out ONLY 300, it was a struggle but he managed it. Fish nearly crying now is begging Chris to take it for 350. Chris stands firm and i think gets another 20 quid off a mate and says. Heres 320, take it or leave it. Fish caves..WP sir VWP!

SPOT ON lol

great memory Tony(as pissed as you were)

SPOT ON lol

great memory Tony(as pissed as you were)

I was merry! Merry and €600 poorer after some sick cash game suckouts...this time will be different i tells ya!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭Blip

Tony G calls the clock PF....and induces a call all in, wp, but what a sh1tbag.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TvCn_KbLpLY