Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland the friendliest country in the world!

• 17-10-2007 9:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/mhmhcweyeymh/

Ireland has been named as the world's friendliest country in a new list of top travel destinations from Lonely Planet.

The Bluelist 2008 says Irish people have a dark sense of humour, a welcoming nature and an ability to have fun in boom or bust times.

It also reports an air of cautious optimism "infecting the land" following the ending of the Troubles in the North.

The US, Malawi, Turkey and Scotland make up the rest of Lonely Planet's top-five friendly nations.

Well sure and begorrah, tis a cead mile failte to the world! Would you agree we're a friendly bunch?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I need to leave Dublin every so often.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

No where else in the world will an American tourist get totally ripped off by such a friendly bunch of people:D

Nice to see Ireland ranks alongside Scotland. Glasgow is known for being friendly, they even named a greeting after the place, the Glasgow Kiss:D

Seriously, it is a friendly place. People are quick to say hello and have a chat with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭hopalong85

Friendliest country in the world.lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭coolhandc

we are absoutely a friendly country,ever been away to a foreign country and when you go into a shop and say hello to the girl at the counter you get a grunt or whatever?!tho times are changin over here imo,were slowly losing our friendlieness dont ya think?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭hopalong85

coolhandc wrote: »
    we are absoutely a friendly country,ever been away to a foreign country and when you go into a shop and say hello to the girl at the counter you get a grunt or whatever?!tho times are changin over here imo,were slowly losing our friendlieness dont ya think?!

Eh,you don't have to go to a foreign country tp experience that. People are alot friendlier in rural Ireland though to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,081 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Is the Glasgow kiss similar to the Tallaght handshake?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭coolhandc

hopalong85 wrote: »
    Eh,you don't have to go to a foreign country tp experience that. People are alot friendlier in rural Ireland though to be fair.

thats why i said that we are changing...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Breaking News!

A thread on After Hours that isn't claiming Ireland sucks balls! Users shocked. More at 11.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭MayMay

I think that survey must have been about rural Ireland though, definitely not Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

Breaking News!

A thread on After Hours that isn't claiming Ireland sucks balls! Users shocked. More at 11.

It's only ten to, I can't wait. Of course we're friendly and anyone who says different is going to get a slap !:D

I lied. There is nothing at 11.

Breaking News!

Does he? is that why he was left out of the Irish Squad?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭ErinGoBrath

MayMay wrote: »
    I think that survey must have been about rural Ireland though, definitely not Dublin.

Ah Dublin is a friendly place, well in my experience anyway.

Does he? is that why he was left out of the Irish Squad?:D

Nah, it's because he exposed himself to a child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭MayMay

Ah Dublin is a friendly place, well in my experience anyway.

Not saying it's unfriendly, I love Dublin but go down the country...go to Kerry or Cork and you can't shut the people up, they come up talking to you for no reason....maybe that's what Lonely Planet considers friendly :) Anyway it's a nice thing to hear, we get enough bad press in this country, positive things like this are welcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

I remember a few years ago getting on a bus in Bermingham and as I didn't know the city I asked the bus driver to give me a shout when we got to my stop. The guy got me to stand near his seat for the whole journey and as we drove along he told me all about the places we were passing and snippets of local history, basically gave me a guided tour the route. He was so friendly and proud of his city it left a lasting impression on me. Mind you the white people where a different ball game altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Dublin is an incredibly friendly place. Granted, that's mainly due to fact that there are so few Irish left here :D

Not sure about the US being on the list. I've met a lot of friendly americans, but when you're there, you don't see a lot of it. The main friendliness you see is from people serving you and they don't give a **** about you, they only want a tip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

coolhandc wrote: »
    ever been away to a foreign country and when you go into a shop and say hello to the girl at the counter you get a grunt or whatever?

That's been happening in Ireland for years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 668 ✭✭✭mise_me_fein

We are nice people. I spoke to a Spanish person I work with and he didn't really like Ireland as a place. He was also in Hungary.

What he said was Hungary was a great country with sh!tty people and Ireland was a sh!tty country with great people.

I can go along with this a bit but I was a little bit offended.

We are nice people.

During my first “Solo” visit to Ireland, I had hired a car and made a couple of crucial errors that only foreigners make. The first was to try and head for the N11 through town (Because on the map, the route was quite clear), the second was to try and rely on the roadsigns.

Anyway, I’d driven around Stephens green for the third time (Pre Luas days) trying to work out which road was the N11, even though it is one of the countries major routes, DCC thought it would be a laugh not to actually put any signs up for it, Dun Laoghaire, the South or anywhere. Anyway, I’m stopped at lights and decide to get a map out. I’m having a quick look and there is a tap on the window and a lady stood there asking me if I need any help. She very kindly leans right in the window and starts telling me where I need to go, what I need to look for, then asks why I am over, what I should see while I am here etc etc etc. By this time the lights are green and the cars behind me are going mad (It’s 4pm in Stephens Green, you can imagine what the traffic is like and there is this thick tourist there stopped at lights). This lovely lady is quite oblivious to this and despite me trying to drive off, remains leaning right in the window and gassing away like I was a long lost relative. I found out how many kids she had, how many times she had been to London, I thought at one point I was going to get her full medical history the lot.

The whole thing was comical, she was very friendly and very helpful, much to the extreme annoyance of the cars stuck behind us. So I guess Ireland is friendly, at the point of being too friendly at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

Yes we are easy going and not arrogant and tend to be philosophical in good and bad times.Top o da mornin to us.

I was helping this girl out in my work capacity (A rather tall attractive Scandanavian), she was in a bit of a panic so the first thing I said was "Don't worry we'll get this sorted out", she looked at me with a mixture of relief and exasperation and said, "You bloody Irish, always so laid back and nothing is ever a problem, do you ever get upset ?", I felt quite pleased at that. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

During my first “Solo” visit to Ireland, I had hired a car and made a couple of crucial errors that only foreigners make. The first was to try and head for the N11 through town (Because on the map, the route was quite clear), the second was to try and rely on the roadsigns.

Anyway, I’d driven around Stephens green for the third time (Pre Luas days) trying to work out which road was the N11, even though it is one of the countries major routes, DCC thought it would be a laugh not to actually put any signs up for it, Dun Laoghaire, the South or anywhere. Anyway, I’m stopped at lights and decide to get a map out. I’m having a quick look and there is a tap on the window and a lady stood there asking me if I need any help. She very kindly leans right in the window and starts telling me where I need to go, what I need to look for, then asks why I am over, what I should see while I am here etc etc etc. By this time the lights are green and the cars behind me are going mad (It’s 4pm in Stephens Green, you can imagine what the traffic is like and there is this thick tourist there stopped at lights). This lovely lady is quite oblivious to this and despite me trying to drive off, remains leaning right in the window and gassing away like I was a long lost relative. I found out how many kids she had, how many times she had been to London, I thought at one point I was going to get her full medical history the lot.

The whole thing was comical, she was very friendly and very helpful, much to the extreme annoyance of the cars stuck behind us. So I guess Ireland is friendly, at the point of being too friendly at times.

mental instability often gets confused for friendliness, it's prob why we rank so high on the list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

I spoke to a Spanish person I work with and he didn't really like Ireland as a place. He was also in Hungary.

What he said was Hungary was a great country with sh!tty people and Ireland was a sh!tty country with great people.

I can go along with this a bit but I was a little bit offended.

He was most likely talking out of his "culo". IMO he was only ever in Dublin and Budapest and is he is comparing the two countries with their capital cities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Cause everywhere outside of Dublin is rural.

We've no streetlights or anything. Awful deprived we are "down here".

I love Dublin but go down the country...go to Kerry or Cork

Cause they're only small villages "down the country".

You mean out in the place where all your vegetables come from? Where all the farms are like?

Away from civilisation and the metropolis that is Dublin like?

kraggy wrote: »
    Cause everywhere outside of Dublin is rural.

We've no streetlights or anything. Awful deprived we are "down here".

Is the chip on your shoulder causing you to list ?
    Cause they're only small villages "down the country".

You mean out in the place where all your vegetables come from? Where all the farms are like?

Away from civilisation and the metropolis that is Dublin like?

Ah, you have balanced up with the one on your other shoulder. Are they heavy ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭monosharp

Archeron wrote: »

Ireland has been named as the world's friendliest country in a new list of top travel destinations from Lonely Planet.

The Bluelist 2008 says Irish people have a dark sense of humour, a welcoming nature and an ability to have fun in boom or bust times.

It also reports an air of cautious optimism "infecting the land" following the ending of the Troubles in the North.

The US, Malawi, Turkey and Scotland make up the rest of Lonely Planet's top-five friendly nations.

Well sure and begorrah, tis a cead mile failte to the world! Would you agree we're a friendly bunch?

How do they come up with this crap ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Hagar wrote: »
    I remember a few years ago getting on a bus in Bermingham and as I didn't know the city I asked the bus driver to give me a shout when we got to my stop. The guy got me to stand near his seat for the whole journey and as we drove along he told me all about the places we were passing and snippets of local history, basically gave me a guided tour the route. He was so friendly and proud of his city it left a lasting impression on me. Mind you the white people where a different ball game altogether.
    Maybe that's because Biiiiiirrmingham has always had a very large Irish community..

I've lived in Ireland all my whole life and even I get lost all the time. Irish signposts are a joke. There never around at the point you really need them, there behind walls, pointing the wrong direction or talking plain ****e saying your getting further away as your getting closer. There's one near here that sends you off the long way around for a town that's directly down the road. I think it's just one big in joke with the people in charge of putting them up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭monosharp

I was helping this girl out in my work capacity (A rather tall attractive Scandanavian), she was in a bit of a panic so the first thing I said was "Don't worry we'll get this sorted out", she looked at me with a mixture of relief and exasperation and said, "You bloody Irish, always so laid back and nothing is ever a problem, do you ever get upset ?", I felt quite pleased at that. :D

Ok well thats true. I've travelled a lot and in general Irish people take serious things in a very laid back fashion. We tend to be a lot calmer then other people in bad situations, of course thats a generalisation but I think its part of the culture and generally applies to most Irish people and the opposite applies to most foreigners I've met.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭digitally-yours

Ireland in my Experience

Its good place

People are friendly

But dealing with the GOV Departments in this country is nightmare.

I have dealt with GOV departments in Asia,Europe & ME

I can confidently say that Irish Gov departments are the worst to deal with.

the least worst is "Revenue or TAX" and rest are just soo soo soo laid back.

That said i am waiting for cowen to deliver the Pre budget report.
    Next year will be very tough according to the way things are shaping up unless some
    miracle happens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

I'd agree that ireland is very friendly. Everyone of my friends whose not from irealnd says it's the first thing they notice when they get here. Also if you ever hear two irish people chatting it's always very bright and friendly, even when they're moaning about something (which is all the time!). If you listen to, say, two German people or Belgian people talk they usually won't smile or laugh as much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

for me, this "ah sure it'll be grand" attitude is what is so right and so wrong with this country.

Is the chip on your shoulder causing you to list ?

Ah, you have balanced up with the one on your other shoulder. Are they heavy ?

No chip whatsoever.

Just have to laugh at the attitude of some people.

Very funny, the level of ignorance.

watna wrote: »
    Also if you ever hear two irish people chatting it's always very bright and friendly

unless it's someone from Kerry and someone from Dublin, obviously:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

*sniffles*
    I love you guys :')

You keep your kind of lovin to yourself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Maxwell

No chip whatsoever.

Just have to laugh at the attitude of some people.

Very funny, the level of ignorance.

I have to agree at the ignorance of some people in relation to the Dublin versus anywhere else in the country.

Im originally from Dublin and now living "in the middle of nowhere" as described by anyone I know from Dublin. I don't have to rely on Dublin for anything i.e. work or shopping as everything I need is nearby. But people still living in Dublin (or Wicklow/Kildare and Meath....but still they call it Dublin) think I must be away from everything.

Its pure ignorance, plain and simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭Archeron

monosharp wrote: »
    How do they come up with this crap ?

No idea really, asking stoned hippies maybe?
    Really though, I find people friendly everywhere in Ireland. Even in Dublin, I've found a higher ratios of people willing to say "howya" than any other city I've been in outside Ireland.
    Strangely, I'd disagree with the "outside Dublin is friendlier" mentality to some degree. There are some villages I've visited in Ireland where the feeling of unwelcomeness is palpable. Thats probably because I have a strong Dublin accent though :)
    In all fairness though, I spent my holidays this year travelling Ireland, and the people over the west coast are really and truly lovely folk. Speaking as a tourist, we are a friendly bunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

Was in New Zealand (Christchurch) last year and couldn't believe how friendly everyone was. I don't get the 'friendly Ireland' thing, certainly not in Dublin anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Wacker

humanji wrote: »
    Dublin is an incredibly friendly place. Granted, that's mainly due to fact that there are so few Irish left here :D

Not sure about the US being on the list. I've met a lot of friendly americans, but when you're there, you don't see a lot of it. The main friendliness you see is from people serving you and they don't give a **** about you, they only want a tip.
    That has never been my experience. For example, I was in Boston a few years back, hanging out in a university to use the net for free. I had this notebook with me, which I forgot as I was leaving. A student ran after me, calling me "Sir!" Now, if that was in Ireland, I'm sure a guy would have followed me, but he wouldn't have called me 'sir'. I honestly believe that Americans are completely genuine with that attitude.

Also, I worked in a newsagent for years, and I used to make a major effort to be as friendly as possible. Do you know what reaction I used to get all the time off customers? "Are you american?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

In a recent survey of asylum seekers and illegal immigrants, 5 out of 10 asylum seekers and illegal immigrants perferred Ireland to other European countries.*

* The margin of sampling error for the survey is +/- 50 percentage points

You keep your kind of lovin to yourself!

C'mere till I rooooooide ya >_<

Sorry you're just not my type!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭digitally-yours

I think I heard this sentence before somewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Can anyone actually find this survey on the lonely planet site? As far as I can see the bluelist is a fairly average online poll. It would be like saying that 40% of Irish people think Atari jaguar is the solution to the health systems problems just because they saw the poll on boards.

Did I say you had a choice?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Wacker wrote: »
    That has never been my experience. For example, I was in Boston a few years back, hanging out in a university to use the net for free. I had this notebook with me, which I forgot as I was leaving. A student ran after me, calling me "Sir!" Now, if that was in Ireland, I'm sure a guy would have followed me, but he wouldn't have called me 'sir'. I honestly believe that Americans are completely genuine with that attitude.

Also, I worked in a newsagent for years, and I used to make a major effort to be as friendly as possible. Do you know what reaction I used to get all the time off customers? "Are you american?"

Yes but then America did rank higher than Ireland. And Americans are very friendly - sometimes annoyingly so - there just not that smart.
    ScumLord wrote: »
    Can anyone actually find this survey on the lonely planet site? As far as I can see the bluelist is a fairly average online poll. It would be like saying that 40% of Irish people think Atari jaguar is the solution to the health systems problems just because they saw the poll on boards.

But Atari Jaguar is the answer to the problem - you must have missed the Atari Jaguar Initiative recently brought forward by Muncher Harney.

As far as Ireland goes yup we pretty friendly but polls such as these are pretty useless. Once we're being considered at all shows something but ranking the countries is pure muck

azezil wrote: »
    Did I say you had a choice?

My girlfriend owns several rifles and knows how to use them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Archeron wrote: »

The results are a little surprising, researchers must have been the 3 Monkies. Still we're not the worse, but the friendliest, I'd doubt it.