Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Women In Martial Arts

• 16-10-2007 10:57am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭

Doing a project on women (or lack there of) in martial arts.Would like to get some contacts of people who may be involved in this area,coaches etc,women only classes.

Also your opinion on the subject would be great.

If your a woman - what got you into martial arts?

What are the most popular amongst women?

What would put a woman off joining a martial arts club?Lack of advertising?Male domination?Aggression?

I may do a questionnaire soon if some people would like to respond.

I would appreciate all your comments and feelings on this subject.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

Yo - Im a martial arts girly

I'd be happy to do your questionnaire

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭3KINGS

My best Muay Thai student is a girliee and shes go'ent to be coachen her own class very soon.Basicly I think the lack of good lady coaches is the failing of the male coaches.Her names Hilory Duff's she would fill in your form's no worries.My goal as a coach,is to produce first class lady teachers in both Thai and Indonesian arts..........all the very best J

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭weemate

I have one girl that trains with me Colm.Email me the questions and I'll pass them on.
    Peter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

i'm a girl (last time i checked)
    only started MMA recently but i am loving it
    send the questions my way, pm or email i dont mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭thefizz

Very interesting questions. At present I have more female students in my Karate club in both junior and senior classes and they are every bit as good as the lads, in fact better.

I'm a laydee and in martial arts. Fire away via PM and I'll fill out a questionnaire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭kravist

One of my best students is also a woman, and director of the MMA club in GMIT Castlebar campus. Dont want to spread her number over boards..but drop me a pm with yours and i'll pass it on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

SBG have one of the brightest female MMA stars in Europe training with them, Aisling Daly.. She posts on here occasionally. A perfect candidate.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Send me your questionnaire. Been in TKD since preteen for about 10 years. Now instruct part-time. Also started sword training (mostly Iaijutsu) almost 2 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I'll help you out no probs. Taekwon Do student and have instructed kids classes as well. Feel free to get in touch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Ad Angel

I'm also doing a project and would love to speak to a female who's involved in martial arts as their occupation and who travels (nationally and ideally internationally) with their job. If you know anyone please let me know and I'll pm you to explain more!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭MaeveD

You can both pm me too if you want!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭coreilly1

Thanks for the response guys it been great.I wasn't getting any replies through my email so thought this was a dead thread.

I'll be compiling some questions in the next few days regarding this and maybe a phone call or too.

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 miawatts

heya whats the craic:) i'm a woman and i am obsessed with mixed martial arts:D, have only started a while ago and my main love is krav maga and i is the organiser of a MMA club in my college. any survey things i would be delighted to do, cause your so right there is no women really doing martial arts it sucks :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

ah fair play, is that the GMIT club? Who do you have coaching? How do you find cross training MMA and Krav Maga?

well i only use the MMA as a umbrella club its just easier to get fundingfrom the college that way, i am currently organising capoeira, kickboxing and krav maga classes, fairly random i know, but they are all ones I want to do. As for instructors; for krav maga i have a G2 instructor from castlebar, capoeira an instructor from grupo candeias (Galway) is coming and there are two instructor living in castlebar who want to do sessions with us and for kickboxing there is a number of competition fighters that are students in the college that want to teach. but with the kickboxing its not really a instructor/student structured sessions more that they will be training themselves but will help anyone who is dedicated and yeah its a GMIT club. man is it so much work, had no idea!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

miawatts wrote: »
    well i only use the MMA as a umbrella club its just easier to get fundingfrom the college that way, i am currently organising capoeira, kickboxing and krav maga classes, fairly random i know, but they are all ones I want to do. As for instructors; for krav maga i have a G2 instructor from castlebar, capoeira an instructor from grupo candeias (Galway) is coming and there are two instructor living in castlebar who want to do sessions with us and for kickboxing there is a number of competition fighters that are students in the college that want to teach. but with the kickboxing its not really a instructor/student structured sessions more that they will be training themselves but will help anyone who is dedicated and yeah its a GMIT club. man is it so much work, had no idea!

So It's not really Mixed Martial arts as in what you see in the UFC but a mixture of different martial arts training under the same banner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭Tim_Murphy

well i only use the MMA as a umbrella club its just easier to get fundingfrom the college that way, i am currently organising capoeira, kickboxing and krav maga classes
    Easier to get funding? What, by claiming it's something it isn't?

i have never told any one that i am bringing an MMA system to the college what i say and what people in the college know is that i am bringing a mixture of individual systems.am if calling the club that there in an umbrella MMA club helps people/beginners to understand whats the club is about i dont personally care what you think,but if it still troubles you so, i am very sorry but i am a 20 yr old student in 3rd yr in college studying outdoor education and i am by myself in organising the whole thing the whole club, from booking instructors and rooms, to collecting money off all club members making sure EVERYONE is informed of everything that is going on and what i am doing to bring along the club - i have near 100 members in the club. i need all the help i can get and right now there is only one or two people that help me but they have they're own problems and worries i dont want to trouble them. but if you still have problems with me please let me know! :D

to nothingcompares
    yeah your right it is just so much easier having a banner like that, that most people what ever there training is, understand with me explaining over and over again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭Tim_Murphy

am if calling the club that there in an umbrella MMA club helps people/beginners to understand whats the club is about i dont personally care what you think,but if it still troubles you so, i am very sorry but i am a 20 yr old student in 3rd yr in college studying outdoor education and i am by myself in organising the whole thing the whole club, from booking instructors and rooms, to collecting money off all club members making sure EVERYONE is informed of everything that is going on and what i am doing to bring along the club - i have near 100 members in the club.
    Fair play! :) I started and ran and two different college clubs in my time so I know how much work goes into it. I was just pointing out that using the term MMA is misleading as the term is already in wide use, and refers to a specific activitiy, the sport of Mixed Martial Arts. If the term was not already being used then it sounds like it would be a good one for your club.

Best of luck with it anyway.

cheers!:)