Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opinions on IPO

• 07-10-2007 2:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭

Ok well fair play to stephen and all the crew for putting this together. A few criticisms:
    1: Tables were too close togther, jarred my knee every few minutes having to squeeze in for people to get by.
    2: No antes which would have improved the tourney a lot imo, and sped it up. I know that having antes might have been a problem though cos there was a lack of experienced dealers.
    3: Not enough dealers. Don't know if you could have done more to get any more though
    4: Dinner break was a mess. This is probably the worst of it. I don't know how that was fúcked up.
    5: People were allocated the same table and seat at the start which meant some people missed one whole blind level. Obv no-one checked over the seating before the start. Thats pretty bad.
    6: One of my friends who was dealing said he wasn't offered one bottle of water over the whole day.
    7: The price of water was a disgrace too. And it went up from €2 to €3 later in the day for no apparent reason! I don't know if that had anything to do with the tourney or what.
    8: Not enough floor people. You need more floor people for an event of this size imo. It was near impossible to keep the tables balanced, etc

But, apart from all that, they did manage to get over 1000 people to play a tourney and apart from those few problems, everything else was good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

"6: One of my friends who was dealing said he wasn't offered one bottle of water over the whole day."

I was given a bottle of water shortly before the first break so the organisers asked for it to be handed out at least.

"8: Not enough floor people. You need more floor people for an event of this size imo. It was near impossible to keep the tables balanced, etc"

All the floor people were stuck dealing, yes the lack of dealers was a problem but I know that they did all they could, training dealers up for free months before the event started, obviously your average student dealer wanted to play the event making it that bit harder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

Yeah I know, just giving the opinion from a player who was not involved in the running of it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭valor

I just think given the long amount of time spent planning this it should have been done better - the huge **** up over dinner break was absolutely ridic, as was the dealer situation at the start and the allocation of seats.

The lack of antes really annoyed me too, in a tournament which was supposed to bring the WSOP structure to the masses for a small buyin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

In Fairness the lads were Left down by dealers , Rumours flying around in the hall why they were left down also Apparantely a good few dealers were told u deal at that and u miss out on a big event - NO COMMENT :eek: ???????

I did not mind pitchin in with JP to help Deal and then did the floor late on as the bubble approached As Steven and Derek Really good Guys . Yeah found the tables very tight to move around . The real Problem was Seating cards , With this Field it really is needed to monitor tables to break i found it hard to monitor the field .

All in all though fair play to Poker Ireland who now have the accolade of the largest Field in Europe , I know they had a few probs but they are only things that can be tidied up for the next one . When we started we were the same but u learn fast in this Buisness .

The Funniest thing i saw was the Simon Raffle for the Poker table with lights the SIMON guys did the draw and fcked off leaving the table for the winner to take home in his car , the player was shocked and really did not know what to do . You would think the Simon lads would have delivered the table for him .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

What happened with the dinner break? (I didn't stick around that long)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭The Al Lad

The Funniest thing i saw was the Simon Raffle for the Poker table with lights the SIMON guys did the draw and fcked off leaving the table for the winner to take home in his car , the player was shocked and really did not know what to do . You would think the Simon lads would have delivered the table for him .

Did you not see the bird working with them ???

I'd be fcking off home too...with her... as soon as I could :p

rb_ie wrote:

We had dinner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

rb_ie wrote:

It was announced there was going to be a dinner break, then a few minutes later they said they made a mistake and dinner break wouldn't for a while but by then people had left and it would not have been fair to them so they announced again that dinner break would actually take place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

The Al Lad wrote:
    Did you not see the bird working with them ???

I'd be fcking off home too...with her... as soon as I could :p

Lol :D

The Al Lad wrote:
    We had dinner
    Wow you're so funny, well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

I have a couple of complaints, i arrived back from the dinner break 10 mins before the restart to find play had already started. I went to my table and there were 3 players there and no dealer, they were still on their break. The lads said they had been told to deal themselves, i went up and asked Luke what the story was and he said to deal away. There are no excuses for this, to start back with no dealers and have a self deal table sucks.

Also i didnt like the way they just broke random tables, by the end of the night there were tourney tables all over the place and nobody had a clue what table was going to be broken next.

I noticed the price of the water going up as well but thats nothing to do with Poker Ireland. Way more floor people were needed but fair play to Neill and JP etc for helping out when they got busted.

Stephen and co did their best though and to put on an event of that size was a tremendous achievement.

cooker3 wrote:
    It was announced there was going to be a dinner break, then a few minutes later they said they made a mistake and dinner break wouldn't for a while but by then people had left and it would have been fair to them so they announced again that dinner break would actually take place.
    Ah I see, that's pretty messy alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭sumoward

The dinner SNAFU was outrageous.:mad:

The tightness round the tables is easily dealt with on the next similar occasion.

Most of the drawbacks seem to have come from shortage of personnel and the fact this was the first time this event took place.

A few more peeps helping with the set up would allow greater care in the table set up.

A few more Dealers would have freed up more floor people.

I for one was very happy with my dealer even if he was twelve and dealt his brother quad Aces.:D

For a first time event I was happy that I got value for my 25 quid fee eg fee and I am also satisfied that next Years IPO will run far more smoothly.

On a side note I had the pleasure of sitting beside Ruush from Boards who was a gentleman and who listened to me Jabber on for 6 hours.

I also watched Valor play Omaha and have Buddy listed him...he makes Goodluck2me seem like an adequate player...

The side event was a bit pricey and crap shooty at the end but the poker was enjoyable.

With 14 hours our of poker and 450 quid profit I was very happy with the Day

So Thanks to all involved and I am sure will take this criticism as it was meant CONSTRUCTIVELY.

I had a Great Day.:D

Yeah this is meant to be constructive, not just random slanging and sledging

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

rb_ie wrote:
    The Al Lad wrote:
    We had dinner

Obviously you werent there then either.........

The dinner break was an hour long interval..Most people didnt have dinner because no food was provided so people just went their own way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭newbie2

I agree...
    The tables were a little too close together. The dinner break thing was a little bit of a F U (but I was out by then and was playin cash) and the lack of dealers seemed to be a small nuisance - not to me I might add. (dealer found our table) Nice few quid taken home by 8.00pm though, on the cash.

All in all a nice day out. Well done to Stephen and all concerned, I'm looking forward to next year.

PS
    Did anybdy else find it weird that Mermaid were handing out condoms to everybody - even though 98% of the players were men!!!!!;)

AFAIK Stephen was let down with about 40 dealers not showing up. This is obviously something he had to improvise about so there was nothing more Stephen could have done in that respect.

The tournament ran pretty much to the timescale Stephen had planned so i dont think that Antes were missed too much. Getting down to less than 100 runners before 2am was spot on.

The dinner break was announced 80 minutes after we had the previous mistake. It was an obvious mistake on Annas part, and something Stephen didnt know about. He tried to rectify the problem as soon as he knew what was going on. I dont know why people left the building anyway. Even the most stupid of people should have known that the dinner break wasnt scheduled for then.

The floor people tried their best. Anytime a dealer on one of my tables called for floor we were never waiting more than 20 seconds. Stephen, Luke, Derek, JP, Neill, Laura, Pamela were all there helping out so i think they had the floor covered adequately.

I think the tournament was ran well for something of this magnitude and Stephen will only learn from the mistakes. Congrats to him and the team for putting on a good show and if all scheduled dealers had of turned up, this would have ran even smoother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭The_Chopper

I agree with all the complaints listed here - although I do acknowledge alot of it was out of Steve's control.
    Forget the messiness of the dinner break - I found it disgraceful that they said we could have an hour at 4.40 I think. I got back at 5.40 and there was 10 minutes gone on the clock - it's either an hour or it isn't.
    I also thought they cared way more about the cash games then the tournament itself - I really have no idea where 20% reg (€25) went. I got a subpair dealer (lucky to get one) - no food was provided for and we were waiting 10 minutes to get a floor ruling at one stage.

All said and done though fair play to Steve and Anna - i know they did the best they could. Maybe just aim for quality instead of quantity next time

newbie2 wrote:
    I agree...
    Did anybdy else find it weird that Mermaid were handing our condoms to everybody - even though 98% of the players were men!!!!!;)

I dont get this :confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

not enough floor and the ad-hoc manner of the table breaking was a real mess without player cards. how these were overlooked for this size of event is beyond me.

my main gripe for the day was that my table didn't have a yellow balloon I was very disappointed about this and ask Stephen to change but was ignored

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

i was fairly p1ssed off with the dinner break.

i was struggling chip wise and needed to start nicking blinds asap but when play started i was alone at my table. another player arrived and it was just the two of us sitting there for a good 10 minutes or so.

thats the only complaint i have though, not sure what the craic was with the clock so it might have been the players fault.

and the mermaid girls were fcuking fit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

newbie2 wrote:
    I agree...
    The tables were a little too close together. The dinner break thing was a little bit of a F U (but I was out by then and was playin cash) and the lack of dealers seemed to be a small nuisance - not to me I might add. (dealer found our table) Nice few quid taken home by 8.00pm though, on the cash.

All in all a nice day out. Well done to Stephen and all concerned, I'm looking forward to next year.

PS
    Did anybdy else find it weird that Mermaid were handing our condoms to everybody - even though 98% of the players were men!!!!!;)

They thought we were all going here after the IPO apparently

please don't

mdwexford wrote:
    They thought we were all going here after the IPO apparently

grrrrr

Link bookmarked before its removed :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭Scummyscousers

Well done Steve,
    its fairly typical of the lads on this board that all they can do is complain. True it wasn't up to WSOP standards BUT it was a 150 buy in with over 1000 runners a UNIQUE event. 90% of the field will never play in an event like this and probably had a positive experience. Instead of knocking the event, why not marvel that it happened in the 1st place. I played in it like an impatient donk BUT i quite enjoyed the big event field. The luch break thing was a mistake but sure, at least he made a fair decision to send the lot out in the spirit of fair play. I forgot to stick some bobs on the nit (notanit) Lloyd but sure hope he does well anyway. Even though he is a fking fruitcake :)

Oh say can you see by the dawns...(I bet he is standing up now)

Well done to mermaids and poker Ireland, i enjoyed the experience...I WILL USE that free condom...

the other half is putting the pressure on me to start a family (:eek: ) so I told her to come off the pill and we will try condoms with a poor track record,
    that way I give her a gamblers chance of motherhood, whilst satisfying my gambling urges (amongst others).....she punched me in the gnads,:( -EV for motherhood I would have thought .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

My only complaint was that it turned into a crapshoot. I made it to day two with an avg stack which was 10bb's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭newbie2

Flushdraw wrote:
    I dont get this :confused::confused:

Did anybdy else find it weird that Mermaid were handing out condoms to everybody - even though 98% of the players were men!!!!!wink.gif

my bad - edited

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭The Tourist

Congtats to Stephen et al for putting togethor such an enjoyable event. Please bear this in mind for next time though:
    mdwexford wrote:
    I arrived back from the dinner break 10 mins before the restart to find play had already started. I went to my table and there were 3 players there and no dealer, they were still on their break. The lads said they had been told to deal themselves

This was my experience also.

Flushdraw wrote:

The dinner break was an hour long interval..Most people didnt have dinner because no food was provided so people just went their own way

WHAT ??? :eek:

Don't tell me you left before they brought the stakes out

thats ul

Flushdraw wrote:

WHAT ??? :eek:

Don't tell me you left before they brought the stakes out

thats ul

newbie2 wrote:
    Did anybdy else find it weird that Mermaid were handing out condoms to everybody - even though 98% of the players were men!!!!!wink.gif

my bad - edited

I still dont get it! :confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

6: One of my friends who was dealing said he wasn't offered one bottle of water over the whole day.
    Yes I could have done with some water after 13 and a half hours of mostly dealing. I can't imagine any day to day business not providing their staff with (free) water. And I did ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭green123

was there supposed to be food provided at the dinner break ?
    or was it always the plan to let people go elsewhere for food ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭5pin5

i had a great day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Moro Man

Well done Steve,
    its fairly typical of the lads on this board that all they can do is complain. True it wasn't up to WSOP standards BUT it was a 150 buy in with over 1000 runners a UNIQUE event. 90% of the field will never play in an event like this and probably had a positive experience. Instead of knocking the event, why not marvel that it happened in the 1st place.

My sentiments exactly.

"Those who can do, and those who can't become critics":mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,951 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Flushdraw wrote:
    I still dont get it! :confused::confused:

neither do i... i have read it about 4 times and still don't get the joke/pun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

i think he means its gay to have 1000 men in a room ready to get nasty

Moro Man wrote:
    My sentiments exactly.

Another important post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭semibluff

Flushdraw wrote:
    you should bookmark this before its removed. if anyone wants recommendations pm me. :D

id well believe you tony

semibluff wrote:
    id well believe you tony

LOL you're the one who told me about Lucia from Ballsbridge..Thanks Donal!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

I gotta love Scummyscousers and Moro Man. Lets all go picking flowers in the fields with Mary Poppins. All is right with the world. How dare poker players try to contribute constructive criticism in the hopes of improving this event in the future. Nobody here is putting down the achievements of PokerIreland in this event only trying to bring things to their attention so they can address it next year.

I was unhappy that play resumed early after the dinner break because I got back well in time only to see 400 of my chips out for the BB and my cards being raked in. My only hope would be that this wouldn't happen next time.

On my last table the dealer seemed to think they were supposed to call time on players. Anyone who thought for longer than 10 seconds got a one minute clock from the dealer. I blame us the players though for not calling floor on that matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

Moro Man wrote:
    My sentiments exactly.

why do u bother posting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

I assumed all the names on that page were fake. One giveaway is that they are all different. But who picks "Tuhiupa" as their, um, escort name?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭Scummyscousers

well i dont think this actual event will be repeated, unless Steve wants to lose the rest of his hair that is...

sniff ? sniff? Is that hobbit I smell?

Another important post.

Hows the knee? :p

Whilst the current wellbeing of your knee may be important to you. I think the rest of us have no real interest in it. :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

But aside that I hope you make a full and speedy recovery

why do u bother posting?

To upset self-righteous, sanctimonious, validation seeking, clique needy types...:)

Tell your better half to keep the weight off the leg with the sore knee;) ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,613 ✭✭✭mormank

I think that almost every critism i have read would have been dealt with if the 40 or so dealers that were meant to show up, had shown up. Bar the tables being too close together i cant think of a single complaint i have read that isn't a direct result of dealers letting stephen down.

40 extra man power would free up everybody up the ladder so to speak and these little niggly things then would never have happened, as stephen etc would be able to concentrate 100% on the running of the tournie instead of worrying about getting dealers to tables etc..

So i say well done to stephen and co. and to every dealer who cancelled the day before with no good reason, you should never work again in this town!!!

for shame...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭Lazare

mormank wrote:
    I think that almost every critism i have read would have been dealt with if the 40 or so dealers that were meant to show up, had shown up. Bar the tables being too close together i cant think of a single complaint i have read that isn't a direct result of dealers letting stephen down.

40 extra man power would free up everybody up the ladder so to speak and these little niggly things then would never have happened, as stephen etc would be able to concentrate 100% on the running of the tournie instead of worrying about getting dealers to tables etc..

So i say well done to stephen and co. and to every dealer who cancelled the day before with no good reason, you should never work again in this town!!!

for shame...

Nice post. Fully agree.

I had 10 enjoyable hours of poker fwiw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

mormank wrote:
    it sounds like the event was a success, well done everyone. But you can't say "oh it was the dealers' fault" about this. If you need 100 dealers (could be any job), employed casually for not much money, for a one off event, you can't hire 100 and expect all 100 to turn up. You have to hire more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭HiCloy

RoundTower wrote:
    If you need 100 dealers (could be any job), employed casually for not much money, for a one off event, you can't hire 100 and expect all 100 to turn up. You have to hire more.

This was the only real problem with the day, except for the lunchbreak. I also found it bizaare that the side event had a bigger buyin than the main event

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭Lazare

RoundTower wrote:
    it sounds like the event was a success, well done everyone. But you can't say "oh it was the dealers' fault" about this. If you need 100 dealers (could be any job), employed casually for not much money, for a one off event, you can't hire 100 and expect all 100 to turn up. You have to hire more.

Seemingly he had organised twenty more dealers than required.

Forty let him down, which didn't allow him to rotate and also left twenty tables with no dealer.