Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The importance of buying Irish

• 05-10-2007 1:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭

A mere play on Wildes' witicism this is not.

At the moment Airsoft is growing rapidly - faster, in fact that anyone really thought it would a year ago. This is explainable by the fact it is so new and folks are still only figuring out that it has become legal.

In a little over a year we have seen two skirmish sites open in the republic (with the possibility of others to come) one of which has now upgraded to a larger location due to the increase in numbers. We have seen the opening of two retailers and there are definitely more to come on this front.

The imperitive now is to buy Irish where possible, not out of some prurient nationalism, nor to line the pockets of the businessmen, but out of concern for the nurturing and encouraged growth of the sport in Ieland. The more you invest in the sport, the more likely it is that these businesses can survive and prosper - the more that these business prosper the better the overall economy of Airsoft will become and the more secure a sport which will inevitably attract more people.

I realise that hte majority of people will already have realised this but I thought it was worth mentioning. If you can buy Irish then do buy Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

excellent excellent point hivemind..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Already have. Tony has got some of my greenbacks and MIA will be next weekend when the new addition is added to the armoury.

TBH for any major purchases (which tbh there won't be now till the new year) then it will be Tony or Derek getting the business especially given the current customs/ups/garda fiasco, for bits and pieces that they lads don't have in stock I will still use HK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭padmundo

What G said....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

gandalf wrote:
    Already have. Tony has got some of my greenbacks and MIA will be next weekend when the new addition is added to the armoury.

TBH for any major purchases (which tbh there won't be now till the new year) then it will be Tony or Derek getting the business especially given the current customs/ups/garda fiasco, for bits and pieces that they lads don't have in stock I will still use HK.

Good man.

Actually, thats somethnig I forgot to mention. No having to wait on customs to clear your stuff etc when you buy irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

My cash is put into both Shiva and Dereks ventures as they cover all the bases for Airsoft in Ireland ,im hopeing a Army surplus shop follows soon with a wide selection of camo and other essential gear ok HK is cheap, prefere being able to see the gear in person ,dont mention army bargins he is a ripoff ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭H.O.T.A.S.

We certainly have come a long way in the last year! As for Irish retailers they would certainly be my first port of call. One of the best advantages is having something to fall back on if there is something wrong with your AEG and not have to send many lengthy emails and then a return shipping cost to get a replacement/refund. I recommend Irish retails firstly to all my friends that are interested in the sport especially as they are now import high-end AEG’s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Wished tonys MP7s didnt fook up, then i woulda got it from him and not have its sitting in customs for 12 days and counting! Did get the UMP and 3 x M500 with him though, and a new 9.6v is on the cards.

Clones have screwed the originals over IMO, not gonna waste my money on them again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 982 ✭✭✭RC car fanatic

what the hell is mia????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭N.O.I.P.

what the hell is mia????

The trading name for BFSLs Airsoft venture, it stands for Main Irish Airsoft but last I heard they were looking for a better M-word (uh-oh you used the M-word) so ideas on the back of a post card people :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

Yep OP took the words out of my mouth.
    Since Eirsoft has opened up and Ballymount i dont think I will
    have the need to go elsewhere. I plan on buying nearly
    all of my future buys locally. If Ballymount gets a better
    way of ordering and browsing whats in stock online I will
    buy from both shops.

When ya buy locally at least you know the goods are in the country already
    and (at the moment) are just a delivery from Dublin to where ever you live.
    Prices are not bad either.

There are loads of things I want to buy but have not bothered.
    my general thinking is Tony or Derek will be able to get anything I need.
    If its not immediately in stock at least it stops my impulse buys.

I for one have a LONG list of things I am interested in buying in the future
    hopefully the two lads will be able to get in whatever we want!

~B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

bullets wrote:
    If its not immediately in stock at least it stops my impulse buys.
    ~B

You say that like its a good thing :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

I have no intention of buying from outside Ireland again unless absolutely necessary. All my purchases will be split between MIA and Eirsoft.

However, I am looking to buy a new large backpack suitable for use on the bike, and found this:
    http://ebaybanned.com/product_info.php?cPath=28&products_id=115

Really want to buy it, but not from that spammer who owns this ebaybanned site. (he spammed many of us boardies in PM in case anyone is wondering...got himself a ban)

So Shiva/Tony....any chance of getting this in stock? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

I'll gladly support locals, inasmuch as they remain competitive ;)

Tony's already got some greenbacks from me, so I'm all warm and fuzzy inside knowing I've added my little stone to Irish airsoft (and his Galaxy MP7s work absolutely fine, btw :p), but I find BFSL still a tad on the pricey side for 'branded' AEGs, all things (€, P&P, VAT/import) considered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

To Amrbo: I take it that you are throwing your lot in with us now then ;)

Basic rules of economics. More competition equals lower prices and higher quality - buy more, invest more and the more you will get in return.

Retailers and vendors arent dumb or unaware. At the end of the day they need to put money in the bank and food on the table. In order to do that they have to sell products, the more people that are buying the more they can encourage profits by dropping prices to sell more. The fewer people that buy the higher the price has to be to make ends meet. It really is that simple.

Buy Irish and your local suppliers values will get better. Simple as that. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

I used to nearly always get my stuff from airshooter but since they now only sell spares i'm gonna be using eirsoft from now on.