Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Long exposures in daylight

• 04-10-2007 9:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭

We all know about using an ND filter to reduce the light coming in through the lens and allow us longer exposures during the day for stuff like waterfalls and the likes - but I just found a shot that makes a different use of it and I really like it.

Gabriel - by Cole Thompson

I found the blog for singh ray from a link in another blog, where Andrew Ilachinski posts about a variable ND filter that goes from 2 to 8 stops by twisting, just like you do with a polariser. Now that sounds like a handy pet to have :D Just don't look at the price tag... :rolleyes:

It's worth checking out Andy's water shots that he uses to illustrate the whole ND long exposure carry on, especially this one. Absolutely gorgeous stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,185 ✭✭✭nilhg

Lovely stuff alright, the Gabriel pic is fab, yet another gadget on the wish list.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭Valentia

Be the hokey. My "rock of sense" just asked me what I wanted for my birthday. Hmmmmmmmm. Maybe a little more that she intends to spend though. Now that is a toy that could be a lot of fun to play with.

That Gabriel pic does nothing for me I'm afraid...........ONLY JOKING. Just trying to link a few threads together.....never mind.....:eek:

EDIT: Though with the dollar over $1.40 ( brings it to €240) it might be on yet. Small enough to get in the letter box without duty too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,713 ✭✭✭DaireQuinlan

I wonder how they do it ? The initial 2 stop setting makes me think its actually two polarisers stuck together on a rotating ring. If they're both set the same you'll get (at least) a 2 stop ND , rotate one WRT the other and the ND effect will get stronger and stronger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭JMcL

I wonder how they do it ? The initial 2 stop setting makes me think its actually two polarisers stuck together on a rotating ring. If they're both set the same you'll get (at least) a 2 stop ND , rotate one WRT the other and the ND effect will get stronger and stronger.

If it was polarisers, it wouldn't really be "neutral" though, as in it'd alter saturation/contrast. Tis a curious one though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭leinsterman

that's a pretty durn cool idea ... being the geek that I am I really would like to understand how it works ... at a guess I'd say it work on a similar principle as a circular polariser ...

Ah Jeez ... I can resist everything but temptation ...

Damn you Elven!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 615 ✭✭✭daedalus2097

Nice idea! Apparently it is comprised of two polarisers...

photo.net clicky

You can imagine though that you don't get the polarising effect as the grains of each polariser cross each other - the gaps in between the lines act as millions of tiny diamond-shaped irises, getting tighter the closer the filters come to perpendicular to each other. I'm sure someone here has two polarisers the same size that they could try this on, though they could be a different grating size... (Is grating the right word here?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

pshaw, it's probably alot cheaper to get a few Cokin (or the likes) nd filters and stack them as required... I think I get up to 6 stops with the filters I already have anyway so it's just a matter of buying another two 2 stop filters and I'll be there :D

rymus wrote:
    pshaw, it's probably alot cheaper to get a few Cokin (or the likes) nd filters and stack them as required... I think I get up to 6 stops with the filters I already have anyway so it's just a matter of buying another two 2 stop filters and I'll be there :D

But it's a shaggin' pain inserting them and focusing and fumbling around and chipping the corner and finding them and cursing them and...........

The polariser idea is something we all did at some stage with two pairs of sunglasses. Wonder how neutral is is?

but shur that's the drudgery of photography! What a wonderfully painstaking, pain in the arse approach to something you could otherwise throw $$$ at and solve permenantly.

Then you polish them before you take them out, polish them before you put them away and then when youre all finished, stand back and congratulate yourself on a job well done. I love my cokin filters so I do!

Are you really from Cork? ;)

By the time you've got the adaptor ring, the holder and all the filters the cost can't be much different. I got a set recently and they cost nearly as much. Can't remember he make now. If it was Lee it would be a lot more than the variable ones. Cokin are fine but they are not neutral.

ahh but the convenience! One set of filters fits all my lenses.. anything from 52mm up to 82mm. I tell ya it's the adaptability that's the win. Oh by jesus it's the adaptability so it is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭leinsterman

Valentia wrote:
    Cokin are fine but they are not neutral.

Jaysus ... one award and you go all perfectionist on us!!!

Feck off, you're not neutral either!!!!!!!!!!!! :eek:;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭Roen

I remember seeing that gadget about a year ago, but the price was even more expensive then so I didn't consider it. It also kind of goes against the 'all your eggs in one basket' ethos. Lose it or damage it and you're goosed.

I also know why the photographer chose to take that shot on a semi deserted pier. One of the lads in my class tried to do similar where the ha'penny bridge empties onto the quay near Temple Bar.

Apparently suddenly stopping that particular thoroughfare's foot traffic for the sake of 'art' is not appreciated.....