Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You shouldn't laugh but...

• 04-10-2007 6:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭

...just can't help yourself. :)

I was walking by the luas stop at Stephens Green earlier and it was very busy. Out of the blue a middle aged man in a suit trips over the path in the middle of everyone. He was doing everything to keep himself up and it must have been the slowest fall I've ever seen. 2 people were to his aid straight away. Someone behind me burst out laughing and half the people around me were trying to hold in their laugh. I spent the entire walk home pretending to bite my nail to hide the smile.

I can only imagine if I was closer to him and had to pick him up because I wouldn't have been able to help myself laughing in his face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

yeah im the same i find this sort of thing ridiculously funny to the point where im crying laughing!!

some poor woman walking towards me and 3 of my mates on grafton street before, fell about one meter in front of us, i reckon it was the sorriest day of her life, i was in hysterics!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Best part of a night out can be watching people try (read: fail) to walk home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

eirebhoy wrote:

I was walking by the luas stop at Stephens Green earlier and it was very busy. Out of the blue a middle ages man in a suit trips over the path in the middle of everyone. He was doing everything to keep himself up and it must have been the slowest fall I've ever seen. 2 people were to his aid straight away. Someone behind me burst out laughing and half the people around me were trying to hold in their laugh. I spent the entire walk home pretending to bite my nail to hide the smile.

I can only imagine if I was closer to him and had to pick him up because I wouldn't have been able to help myself laughing in his face.

You're going to hell :p

Actually I find most things hilarious but one of them isn't people falling over, I always cringe and feel sorry for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

eirebhoy wrote:

I was walking by the luas stop at Stephens Green earlier and it was very busy. Out of the blue a middle ages man in a suit trips over the path in the middle of everyone. He was doing everything to keep himself up and it must have been the slowest fall I've ever seen. 2 people were to his aid straight away. Someone behind me burst out laughing and half the people around me were trying to hold in their laugh. I spent the entire walk home pretending to bite my nail to hide the smile.

I seen it and it wasn't really that funny :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

eirebhoy wrote:

Those people from the middle ages are always doing funny things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Terry wrote:
    Ha Ha. I'm eating Terry and you made me laugh, nearly choking myself in the process. Thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

stepbar wrote:
    Chocolate is not very nice.

/ I can't stand that rolleyes icon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Terry wrote:
    Suits of armour make such a racket though. Tch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

eo980 wrote:
    ...I'm eating Terry and you made me laugh, nearly choking myself in the process. Thanks!
    Uh... Keep it clean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

eirebhoy wrote:

I was walking by the luas stop at Stephens Green earlier and it was very busy. Out of the blue a middle aged man in a suit trips over the path in the middle of everyone. He was doing everything to keep himself up and it must have been the slowest fall I've ever seen. 2 people were to his aid straight away. Someone behind me burst out laughing and half the people around me were trying to hold in their laugh. I spent the entire walk home pretending to bite my nail to hide the smile.

Somehow it doesn't surprise me.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

stepbar wrote:

I saw it ..and it still wasn't funny:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭slinky

I remember on a night out someone tripping on a path, doing a spectacular head over heels outside the Central Bank and ripping his lovely new jeans and knee haha...oh wait that was me:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

I saw it ..and it still wasn't funny:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

eirebhoy wrote:
    Chocolate is not very nice.

/ I can't stand that rolleyes icon.
    :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I rarely find it funny to see someone trip or fall over, I just don't get it, seems to be the most humerous thing in the world to a lot of folk though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

It's funny when young children fall on their arses and then bounce back up off their nappy.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

eirebhoy wrote:
    I can't stand that rolleyes icon.
    I like it, it identifies over-users of it as spastics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

oh! :rolleyes:

btw! :rolleyes:

p.s! :rolleyes:

:rolleyes: :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

I find it so funny when people trip, especially those little niggly trips where the person stumbles a bit. It happens to so many people around college and I laugh out loud every time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭dade

was watching the news last night on RTE they where doing a report about the M50 roadworks and they cut to the mad cow roundabout showing the state of it and in the back ground you see this workman tripping over the kerb. he turned back to look at the camera and verything after falling

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

BrightEyes wrote:
    I find it so funny when people trip, especially those little niggly trips where the person stumbles a bit. It happens to so many people around college and I laugh out loud every time
    Yeah and then act almost like they meant to do it.. So funny.. :D

I do it all the time :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭letterman

And beyond the point that some juveniles find it funny when other people fall over, is there actually any point to this thread ????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

DUh, Man fall down :p

F**king childish to be honest, falling on concrete can be very painful and some older people can really do some proper damage to themselves.

Some of the people in this thread would want to get a bit of cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

letterman wrote:
    And beyond the point that some juveniles find it funny when other people fall over, is there actually any point to this thread ????

Yeah, where's the football in the groin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Wacker

KTRIC wrote:
    DUh, Man fall down :p

F**king childish to be honest, falling on concrete can be very painful and some older people can really do some proper damage to themselves.

Some of the people in this thread would want to get a bit of cop on.
    Laughing is an involuntary response. People do not choose to laugh, so judging people for what they find funny is totally unfair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Hellm0

I remember the jacks in work were out of order, I went out for a smoke and came back in to use them. Having seen my boss leave to use the head before I left, when I went in and saw the second cubicle was used I knew it was him. I just knew.

Anyway, without going into too much detail, durin the "act" of delivering "the package", a few stray sounds/stenches were released by myself. All I heard from the cubicle next to me was sounds of uncomfortable silence and then a quick race to get the hell out of there.

The whole time I had to bite my lip to prevent from cackleing maddly. Bwahahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭Blowfish

letterman wrote:
    No, but at least Terry's and Karoma's comments made it mildly worthwhile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

letterman wrote:
    I think I regretted opening this thread as soon as I did. It was pretty pointless alright but it was the strangest fall I've ever seen.

Anyway, todays walk home was also mildly eventful. The 48A grinded to a hault at the junction of Mount street (and whatever that road is called on which the Mont Clare hotel is). It couldn't have happened at a worse place and time on the route. Blocking off 2 roads in the rush hour traffic. I'd love to know how long it was there for (at least 5 minutes) but I can only imagine how the bus driver was feeling. A friend of mine is only driving buses 2 weeks now so I can just picture him in that situation. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

MOH wrote:
    Yeah, where's the football in the groin?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SavGO0CquDQ&mode=related&search=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭NUTLEY BOY

Accidental trips and falls can be utterly hilarious because they are like to the best of the old art form of slapstick comedy. I reckon that the element of the unexpected happening entirely out of context is what makes this so funny.

I remember the superviser at my Leaving Cert maths paper 1 falling over and rightly snotting himself off the floor. I nearly herniated myself holding in the giggles but it seemed to break the tension and relax me. When is the last time that you laughed in a maths exam ? I got a B !

On the other side don't presume that falls are just funny episodes as they can be caused by many things of a medical nature that can strike with no warning and that might need rapid intervention once it is clear that it is not just a trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

The best is watching people falling off the tread-mill in the gym.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

Depends on the fall really. Has to be clumsy looking in order to make it amusing. Like this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Schlemm

GaNjaHaN wrote:
    The best is watching people falling off the tread-mill in the gym.
    Yes! I was on the treadmill one day and this real gym type hops up on the one next to me and sets it for about 100mph and is pegging along like there's no tomorrow...

...and the next thing he just vanishes! I couldn't stop sniggering

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

A good few years ago I saw a handicap falling and he phyiscaly couldn't get back to his feet. Some people helped him but I had to laugh, then I got a slap off my father:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

I find the older I get the funnier I find people falling over and hurting themselves. I think with the way my sense of humour is going I'll eventually die laughing when someone says "boobies".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭bubonicus

eirebhoy wrote:

You should have made it funnier by pissing on him and spraying shaving foam all over him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Boobies :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

Tbh I'm usually the one to fall over, and when I do I can't help laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

bubonicus wrote:
    You should have made it funnier by pissing on him and spraying shaving foam all over him.
    Thats only funny when someone is dyeing :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭bubonicus

Ciaran500 wrote:

that depends on how "out of it" you are:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Can't sleep (too much caffine :confused:) and so been browsing around looking at pas threads.

Javaboy seemed like a decent sort - wasn't on AH when he was posting / modding.

Anyway, found this thread that was started by Eirebhoy (RIP) a couple of years back and it got me laughing as just last week I seen a women slip myself on Grafton St and me and this other guy (who I didn't know) where side by side near crying laughing for a good 100 yards.

She was about mid 30's with a haircut that must have had a whole bottle of hairspray to hold it in place and she was wearing a suede coat with fur collar.

She walked out of book shop there opposite HMV and started struting her stuff down the street in her knee high leather boots. She was the real stuck up type, trying not to make contact with any riff raff that might be about.

But suddenly one of her feet betrayed her and went sliding in front of her and she made a move like she was trying to catch it with her hands but then she wobbled and the other foot slipped too and she slid a bit then went arse over tit into a mid 20's couple carrying Brown Thomas bags :D

Funniest thing I've seen in a long while .. real dignity stripper it was :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Anna Molly

ha I was in Griffith yesterday and I guy fell down the stairs. I was crying laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Two blind chaps bumping into each other on Georges St.

An old woman falling over on her back on Thomas St. - It looked like she fell in slow motion. It wasn't that funny until one of the local scumbags standing near her pointed and screamed "AAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHA".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭gypsygirl

Terry wrote: »

Brilliant. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

Fajitas! wrote: »
    Two blind chaps bumping into each other on Georges St.

I am going to hell. All i could think of was each one of them shouting at the other one, "Excuse me, can't you see i am blind!", while they do a little kind of duel with their white walking sticks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭beerbaron

Ciaran500 wrote: »

Their Hair ? Their clothes ?

WHAT COLOUR ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

SpAcEd OuT wrote: »

Link Fail!!!!!

Id laugh but not blatantly out loud!! But if i was close id help the person up.. then laugh as i walk away, go home and start a thread about it...

Rollie eyes anyone.....:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Long Onion

beerbaron wrote: »
    Their Hair ? Their clothes ?

WHAT COLOUR ?

Black humour?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Miami Weiss

Long Onion wrote: »
    Black humour?

Just, no.