Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Reaper

• 04-10-2007 12:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,190 ✭✭✭✭

An enjoyable enough second episode.. not nearly as funny as the first but still watchable. I think Kevin Smith's direction helped the pilot episode shine. He's a mere consultant on the show from now on.

Anyways, best line of it: "we look like giant condoms!" :D

48220.jpeg

Will still definitely keep tuning in.. if not for the extremely impressive cast. Bret Harrison (Sam), Tyler Labine (Sock) and Ray Wise (The Devil) were just all perfect casting. Even the boss Ted is hilarious.. like the scene where he told Sam what success was and the poster with the slogan on it was right behind him! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

just watched the first ep

hehe

'meet the schmecker checkers'

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,001 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Enjoyed the second episode but I agree - the pilot was better. Still funny moments though.. really liked the bit where they deployed the remote car, did a little wheelie, and then saw it run over and smashed apart :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

i can't find the pilot anywhere :/

all of my cousins tracker nut/fruit bars seem to be gone off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

I enjoyed the second episode too. This looks to be one of the best of the new shows.

I though the bit where the mother found the box with the vessel and was trying to find out what was in it was excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

its a decent show enjoyed the second episode and i like the idea of getting a new vessel for capturing the escaped each episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭grimm2005

i had pretty low expectations for this show, dunno why but i did (possibly cos i hated the actor who plays sam in any other role ive seen him in) but i'm glad to say its gone way above my expectations.
    Fantastic show and hopefully this will stay on air for a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Good 2nd episode. Loved when the remote control car got run over :D

I also wasn't expecting much from this but it has been very good so far.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ivan

zomg spoilers ^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭Skinfull

I only seen teh first episode and I'm...waiting...for the second one now but is it true they changed the actress who was playing the love interest for sam?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,190 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Skinfull wrote:
    I only seen teh first episode and I'm...waiting...for the second one now but is it true they changed the actress who was playing the love interest for sam?
    If you saw the pre-air pilot.. then yes.

They changed her from Nikki Reed (actress who wrote the film 'Thirteen') to Missy Perygrym (think that's the spelling) who played Candice in 'Heroes' last year.

She's hottttttter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭Skinfull

Speaking from a purely hetro female point of view...

yes she is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Berns

People stopped watching this?? :( Still liking it here.
    Sock had a bit of a nightmare. Was cool to see that Galdice aint in the DMV 24/7 & lives like a normal person ...... well, maybe not :P Wouldnt like to have his nightmare though :P See the devil protecting Sam though at the end, gettin the guy to turn the gun on himself. Was wondering that he did that but does nuffin with the escaped soul's. Think we'll ever see the Devil on his own turf on it :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,190 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Arrghh.. spoilers Berns.

Haven't watched the latest but enjoying it. Not as much as i was at the start as it's gotten a bit formulaic but the performances are all great (apart from one expression Andi).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭Full_Circle

I really enjoyed the first ep, but the second was a noticeable step down. If they aren’t careful it could become very stale and formulaic, very quickly. At the same time, there’s plenty of potential there too. Guess it all depends on what direction they eventually take the show. As is it, I love the light-hearted tone (sprinkled with some decidedly dark moments!) and for the most part, the casting is spot on. I was also pleasantly surprised by the quality of the special effects.

I haven’t seen the original pilot with Nikki Reed, but something tells me she would have been a better girl to stick with (looks-wise at least), as opposed to Melissa Peregrym, who’s just that little bit TOO good looking for the show (and why is she plastered with make-up the whole time? It looks like Homer Simpsons make-up gun went off in her face :p ).

I will keep watching this one with interest.

I'm still watching and it;s enjoyable but I do feel it's a little bit formulaic. For a couple of reasons, it reminds me a little of 'Chuck' (easily the better show): main character is working for someone but has to keep it secret, they work in a big store,etc.
    I also tend to find Sock a little grating - he's too loud and brash. Yes he can be funny, but I also want to strangle him (he's a bit like the irritating lead in "Superbad").
    Still Ray Wise is good and there's definite potential ... just not sure how it will be in a season's time at its current pace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Stopped watching it a few weeks ago... its pretty good (and like ixoy says, not as good as Chuck), but I can only watch so much in a week. So this had to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Berns

basquille wrote: »
    Arrghh.. spoilers Berns.

Haven't watched the latest but enjoying it. Not as much as i was at the start as it's gotten a bit formulaic but the performances are all great (apart from one expression Andi).

Oop's, Soz :( Thought ppl had lost interest since no posts :(

For anyone interested, it starts on January 23rd on E4!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭MayoForSam

Just bumping this thread, starting tonight on E4 as mentioned previously. Will probably Sky+ it and take a look over the next few days. With the strike still continuing, decent TV shows are getting thin on the ground, hopefully this one will be up to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭ScruffySlayer

I completely forgot about this as I was having big Veronica Mars fest last night. When are E4 repeating it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

Yeah it is a really great show but as others have said, it's no quite on par with Chuck. I was watching bother of them at the same time and there was confusion a few times with both shops and that, but Chuck is definitely the better show. Sock rocks though! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 707 ✭✭✭seabee

reaper starts on rte2 tonight at 11:45

seabee wrote: »
    reaper starts on rte2 tonight at 11:45

You gotta ask yourself, why do RTE persist in showing primetime US shows (Damages, Boston Legal, Shark, Friday Night Lights) in graveyard slots??? I'm not saying that Reaper is worthy of a primetime slot, but come on RTE, know your audience! :rolleyes:

Also, it would be terrible waste if a show like this gets shown on two channels here while Chuck (which this Reaper seems doomed to be compared to) has yet to be picked up by any :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 707 ✭✭✭seabee

You gotta ask yourself, why do RTE persist in showing primetime US shows (Damages, Boston Legal, Shark, Friday Night Lights) in graveyard slots??? I'm not saying that Reaper is worthy of a primetime slot, but come on RTE, know your audience! :rolleyes:
    Also, it would be terrible waste if a show like this gets shown on two channels here while Chuck (which this Reaper seems doomed to be compared to) has yet to be picked up by any :(

Someone mentioned here before that RTE buy groups of programmes together just to get one particular show - eg when they wanted to buy Lost off ABC "What about Brian" came as part of the package - another show that's shown in a graveyard slot.
    Me, being the cynical fecker that I am, thinks that RTE just buys some of the packages (and broadcasts them at night) in order to stop tv3 buying individual shows.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ivan

Or it could just be that a bunch of people, who are in control of the network, have very little clue how to run the channels. Normally, attrition and competition would take care of it all, but being semi-state funded can do a helluva lot for one's ability to continue being shít...

Just look at Eircom and ESB.
    The only difference being the ESB got pretty organised pretty quick.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

I've watched up to episode 13 and it is getting better. I was bored of it after a couple of episodes as it was becoming very formulaic, but it's getting interesting now that a larger plot seems to be developing.

Oh, and Jessica Stroup is so fine!

Episode 13
    Maya from BSG as the acid queen! Took me a while to twig it... phwoar!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Episode 13
    Maya from BSG as the acid queen! Took me a while to twig it... phwoar!

Good episode think the moving in together has made the show, dont watch BSG so didnt notice that :o

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

This is quiet a good show, espically since american comedies are hard to come by at the moment.
    Someone mentioned here before that RTE buy groups of programmes together just to get one particular show - eg when they wanted to buy Lost off ABC "What about Brian" came as part of the package - another show that's shown in a graveyard slot.
    Me, being the cynical fecker that I am, thinks that RTE just buys some of the packages (and broadcasts them at night) in order to stop tv3 buying individual shows.

I have persist in asking RTE this very question and while the following may not help it does answer some of the the reasons why RTE by so many hours of TV from the US.

1. Every hour of US programming from the states cost RTE, TV3 and TG4 2000 euro. RTE buy around 20,000,000 euros worth of US TV.
    2. All programmes come in packages, unlike the UK Irish channels could never afford to spend money on just one show in a mad bidding war (ala 24 and Lost which cost Sky around 1million per episode).
    3. RTE looks to be a 24 hour service hence 11,000 hours of US imports can be spread across the channels.
    4. TV3 buy imports to make money, TV3 make a profit nearly every hour (Their simple but effective business plan, not overly creative). It would not be wise of them to start a mad bidding war with RTE for TV shows that can get them relatively small viewing figures.
    Or it could just be that a bunch of people, who are in control of the network, have very little clue how to run the channels. Normally, attrition and competition would take care of it all, but being semi-state funded can do a helluva lot for one's ability to continue being shít...

RTÉ are happy that TV3 only make the bear minimum of programming and really don't compete with RTÉ for programming. Hence RTE still has a fairly strong monopoly in the Irish market as TV3 are too busy counting how much money the make each and every hour.

All of this doesn't help the fact that so many shows are air after 11pm on RTE however they have told me that you would be surprise how many people stay up watch TV until 2 in the morning. (Did they ever think that it's because they show their best US imports at that time?).

RANT OVER.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,276 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

I'm really enjoying this show. The last few episodes were very good, and the Devil is brilliant as always. It still hasnt been picked up for a 2nd season though, so i'm not sure how long it has left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,483 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Chuck has been on Virgin 1 since the start of April

Sorry, I was talking about regular telly though, not those you'd get on satellite packages.

Also, I wouldnt be surprised if it didnt get picked up for a second season. After watching the first 10 episodes, it really wasnt going anywhere. Should I even bother watching the last 8? Anyone notice any improvement in the writing or characters at all in the newer eps??

I watched episodes 14 and 15 today, and maybe it was because of my hangover, but I was bored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭neacy69

watched episode 17 last night...was pretty good
    nice twist at the end
    finding out that Sam is apparently the devils son
    Kind of thought something like that would happen but its good to see where it will go...

Oh and the scene where Andi is dressed up for the wedding :eek: hot hot hot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭rgiller

I'm undecided as to whether I like this show or not. About 6 episodes into it and although the characters are likeable (except for that Ben gob****e, so boring and pointless) each ep adheres to a strict, limited pattern of getting the vessel, giving out sh1t to the devil, failing to catch the demon the first time and then catching him the second. It's like a funny version of Buffy but I'll prob still keep watching

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

I really liked this as a series, it got better as it went along, some of the character development ws going in the right direction, overall I was impressed.

roll on season2

Was that the last in the series?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Yep.

Season Finale, not Series Finale.
    Its back for another season next year.

rgiller wrote: »
    I'm undecided as to whether I like this show or not. About 6 episodes into it and although the characters are likeable (except for that Ben gob****e, so boring and pointless) each ep adheres to a strict, limited pattern of getting the vessel, giving out sh1t to the devil, failing to catch the demon the first time and then catching him the second. It's like a funny version of Buffy but I'll prob still keep watching
    It movies away from the "Monster of the Week" format after a bit - the problem was that a lot of viewers had moved before this and it got low ratings. It's a lot better with its more character-orientated and arc approach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

Yeah it got a bit formulaic there for a while but has definately picked up in the latter half of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

I only started watching the show because it had a decent cast. Really liked Sam, Sock and Andy in other things they'd done. I'm glad I stuck with it, because when it was just the "Monster of the week" thing I was getting bored very quickly.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,276 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

The last episode was brilliant. Sock was great when he was on his demon high. And the devil, as usual, was fantastic. Delighted that it has been picked up for a 2nd season.

Meh. It's getting a bit too 'plotty' for a light fluffy comedy. It doesn't do serious well and it isn't doing the comedy that brilliantly either. The dark plot turns don't match the lackadaisical attitude of the characters. For example:
    The dad dying - did anyone actually care? I didn't. His family certainly didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

I've just started watching this recently and I'm up as far as Episode 5. I'm quite enjoying it so it's good to hear that it gets better still. I have to say I really like the casting of Ray Wise as the devil, excellent stuff.

Looks like Episode 18 is the season finale not episode 17 which was said earlier....

Great season altho it did start to get a bit predictable until they started focusing on the side plots more and more.

Here's to season 2!

For example:
    The dad dying - did anyone actually care? I didn't. His family certainly didn't.
    You did watch afterwards right?
    He's not dead - hence his wife not appearing to care. And Sam was upset..

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Just finished watching season 1.

Enjoyable show that I would have stopped watching had they not worked on the sub-plots.
    Still don't know who Sam's dad is though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Love this show, caught it on the off chance late some Thurs night, have watched it most nights since.
    Great idea, got a bit boring after a while, but as other posters have said it picked up big time after that. Think the guy who acts as the devil is class..plays the part so well.
    See this weeks episode is not on until 12.45 Fri morn tho! Bit late. I normally enjoy Reaper at 11.30/11.45 as my introduction to the weekend. Maybe as ive said to some mates, the reason i enjoy this show so much is the fact its on Thurs night, it leads to your last day in work. Maybe if it showed on Monday night, i might feel different about it!

ixoy wrote: »
    You did watch afterwards right?
    He's not dead - hence his wife not appearing to care. And Sam was upset..
    Yeah I did. Sam looked about as upset as you'd be if your pet hamster had died

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Yeah I did. Sam looked about as upset as you'd be if your pet hamster had died

Just bad acting IMHO and in fairness you can't decide how someone should mourn a loss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭rgiller

Ponster wrote: »
    Just bad acting IMHO and in fairness you can't decide how someone should mourn a loss.

Maybe he wasn't upset because
    he's the son of the devil and has more of his traits than he thinks!

I did find that weird alright. I guess they didn't want to kill the chirpy nature of the show for the last episode. Looking forward to season two