Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Radiohead - In Rainbows

• 01-10-2007 3:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭

Take a lookie here, sounds like big news for Radiohead fans

http://www.radiohead.com/deadairspace/

Hello everyone.

Well, the new album is finished, and it's coming out in 10 days;

We've called it In Rainbows.

Love from us all.

Then again, I'm never too sure what to make of stuff like this emanating from the band themselves. I think they love being oblique sometimes. So I wouldn't exactly expect to be able to walk into a shop in a fortnights time and buy the new Radiohead album, there's surely more to this than meets the eye, what do ye think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭K!LL!@N

Something else that's interesting is that they don't have seem to have attached a fixed price to the album.
    At least not for the download.
    Will be interesting to see how that works out.

Killian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

I can't see them not releasing a normal CD edition in the shops, I reckon they'll delay that though and try and pimp the download/luxury box set options first. The box looks very pretty, I'll be ordering that when I can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

Apparantly you pay what you 'think its worth'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

£40 for the box? Jaysus.

As for having it in shops- they currently don't have a record deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Yeah, you don't have to pay for the download if you don't want to. Madness.

£40 for the box? Jaysus.

As for having it in shops- they currently don't have a record deal.

It's not like they need one. Smaller bands can get their albums in shops worldwide on their own, Radiohead should have no problems. If they released the album themselves, distributors would be lining up to carry it.

And £40 isn't that bad for two CDs, two 12" and the download.

12do4.jpg

57 euro. Expensive, but quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭scargill

i've handed over my 57 euro....sit back and wait now

Waiting for a payment to go through on my credit card, then I'll pay €57.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Neo#

MAD! I wasnt expecting the new album until next year. You pay what you want for the download. Thats crazy? Id feel guilty not paying anything. Ive bought all Radioheads stuff in the past but 57euro is really expensive. Great news anyway.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭nyarlothothep

Its a good thing they changed the title. Down is the new up was a bit rubbish tbh. I cannay wait!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Oh unemployment and not being ble to afford 57 euro... annoying... someone give me a job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

If you order the discbox, can you download it in 10 days time as well?
    Can't find a clear answer to that on the website

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Driver 8

Why in gods name would you pay 57 euro for something you can get for whatever you want now? There are some radiohead fans willing to pay nearly 60 euro for what'll be out next year anyway.

They most likely won't release the full disc set if it hits shops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Neo#

SumGuy wrote:
    If you order the discbox, can you download it in 10 days time as well?
    Can't find a clear answer to that on the website

Yeah you get the download too. It says so on the website.

Driver 8 wrote:
    Why in gods name would you pay 57 euro for something you can get for whatever you want now? There are some radiohead fans willing to pay nearly 60 euro for what'll be out next year anyway.

We like the whole package... and heavy vinyl.

Neo# wrote:
    Yeah you get the download too. It says so on the website.
    What I mean is, I've ordered the discbox, are they going to send me the download details, or do I need to separately Pre-order the download?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭Fallen Seraph

I don't like their music at all, but I fully intend to buy their album for no other reason than their marketing innovation.

Driver 8 wrote:
    The Mp3 download is unlikely to be CD quality
    For brand new heavy vinyl, and a double CD, well, it'd probably be worth around €45...the extra tenner is for the nice presentation, so I'm happy enough with the price

• Closed Accounts Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Schlemm

57 quid for all that is pretty good.
    Tracklisting isn't bad either mind...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭Lunar Junkie

The method of release is interesting, but what I love is the ludicrous suddenness of it i.e. the album is available to listen to NINE DAYS after the announcement, none of the usual 3 or 4 months of tedious press promotion campaigns and so forth. Thought their last record was pretty patchy but I'm certainly excited for this, seeing as their new stuff seems pretty good from the live recordings that have been going around since last summer. I don't think 57 euro is all that bad for a specially packaged double CD \ double vinyl \ MP3 set (provided the music is good, of course).. they're apparently planning a standard CD release for early next year also for anyone who doesn't want to pay for the advance deluxe set.

As attractive looking as it is visually, as well as the vinyl, I can't fathom spending 60 quid on it.

By the way, does it seem to anyone like they're trying to have it both ways? On the one hand, they're being innovative by offering an album on download only, for whatever people are willing to pay, while still making cash from eager fans who'll want the extra eight songs?

If I only knew if those extra songs will turn up elsewhere, it'd be an easier decision

Driver 8 wrote:
    By the way, does it seem to anyone like they're trying to have it both ways? On the one hand, they're being innovative by offering an album on download only, for whatever people are willing to pay, while still making cash from eager fans who'll want the extra eight songs?
    It's not on download only...
    Anyway, manufacturing/producing all of that would cost a lot more than ripping the CD and sharing it online, which is essentially what they're doing.
    If there's a standard CD release next year, then this is just like any other album release really.

Radiohead know that people will share the album online anyway, and in the past they've encouraged this, so they're basically just helping that along, and in doing so, it allows them to get it out to the fans much earlier than would be possible by just releasing the CD.

I think they're just doing something nice to (edit: FOR :D)the fans, and the option of paying for the download is basically just a tip jar.

Fair points, but those extra 8 songs?

Driver 8 wrote:
    Fair points, but those extra 8 songs?

they're way of an extra thank you to the people that do shell out the cash.

glad to see "4 Minute Warning" on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Guys has anyone heard any of the songs on the new album?
    Would you recommend it?
    Gonna be downloading it, think I'll give them £3, seems right from this chart:quoted from somebody in AH:
    https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/109435/45584.gif
    Think it's a great idea myself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭Hypnotoad

Guys has anyone heard any of the songs on the new album?
    Would you recommend it?
    Gonna be downloading it, think I'll give them £3, seems right from this chart:quoted from somebody in AH:
    https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/109435/45584.gif
    Think it's a great idea myself!

Yeah there's some really good songs I've heard so far.All I need,videotape etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 450 ✭✭krinpit

Hypnotoad wrote:
    Yeah there's some really good songs I've heard so far.All I need,videotape etc.

Where'd you hear them from? Is it recordings of the live performances you have or are there bootlegs out there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

I've heard some of them on http://hypem.com.

All I need rocks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Does anyone know if you order the box set do they charge your credit card when you order or when they box set is ready?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,330 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

while its nice to see the major record companies getting cut out ot the loop, it's not such a magnanimous gesture from the band.

With Hail to the Thief, virtually everyone had downloaded the leaked version before it came out. True fans then went out and paid anything from €12 to €25 for the CD (depending on whether they were stupid enough to go to Tower Records).

This time around most of the serious fans will be paying nearly €60 for the hard copy. A good deal? I don't think so... (heavyweight vinyl is very nice, but I bet the majority of people buying this don't have a turntable).

loyatemu wrote:

With Hail to the Thief, virtually everyone had downloaded the leaked version before it came out. True fans then went out and paid anything from €12 to €25 for the CD (depending on whether they were stupid enough to go to Tower Records).

This time around most of the serious fans will be paying nearly €60 for the hard copy. A good deal? I don't think so... (heavyweight vinyl is very nice, but I bet the majority of people buying this don't have a turntable).

Sure give us the link to whereever you are getting your figures from there. Or are you just speculating wildly?

What's the point in buying vinyl if you can't listen to it? `

Because as of now, the only means of getting the two cds is to order a package that includes vinyl?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Karlusss

The second CD will leak, and people can give extra money for the first download if they feel guilty.

I'm personally a little disappointed that there isn't a way for me to get a hard copy of In Rainbows vanilla on CD until next year.

I remember how I was with Hail To The Thief, I was hoping to do that again.

A lot of the experience is going to be lost by listening to a download.

eth0_ wrote:
    Does anyone know if you order the box set do they charge your credit card when you order or when they box set is ready?

My credit card has been charged today. Radiohead 's order processing is very efficient !! Capitalists after all !

Karlusss wrote:
    The second CD will leak, and people can give extra money for the first download if they feel guilty.

I'm personally a little disappointed that there isn't a way for me to get a hard copy of In Rainbows vanilla on CD until next year.

I remember how I was with Hail To The Thief, I was hoping to do that again.

Wait for the CD then, I'm sure if they weren't putting the album up for download, the CD wouldn't be out until next year anyway.

SumGuy wrote:
    Wait for the CD then, I'm sure if they weren't putting the album up for download, the CD wouldn't be out until next year anyway.
    Just realised how ridiculous that first bit sounded :D

Karlusss wrote:

Although you could argue that Radiohead are trying to change the album experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

I would gladly spend it. Radiohead have enhanced my life no end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Radiohead LP "similar" to 'OK Computer'

Radiohead have revealed that their new LP In Rainbows has many similarities to their seminal OK Computer album.

Singer Thom Yorke has explained that the band's new release, which fans can download in a week's time, is thematically related to their 1997 number one record.

Yorke told NME: "Interestingly enough it’s similar to OK Computer in a way. It’s much more terrifying. But OK Computer was terrifying too, some of the lyrics were."

Talking about the lyrical content of the record, he commented: "We had this phrase kicking about for ages, ‘New Suburbian’ which we ended up putting on a T-shirt.

"It’s a made-up word, but that really sums up what I’m writing about at the moment I think. It’s about that anonymous fear thing, sitting in traffic, thinking, 'I’m sure I’m supposed to be doing something else'."

If it is sonically as well as thematically similar to OK Computer, then I can't wait....

TmB wrote:
    If it is sonically as well as thematically similar to OK Computer, then I can't wait....
    In fairness, with all previous LPs and then Jonny and Thom's solo albums, I trust them to do whatever the crap they like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Yeah fair enough. I don't want to start the "Kid A and Amnesiac suck" argument, but thats how I feel.

The Eraser and Bodysong weren't very OK Computer.. I'd imagine there will be a good bit of experimenting as on every one of the previous LPs.. I'd like to see them progress rather than regress anyways. It'd be a waste of Jonny to go back and do an indie rock album.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

fair play radiohead for the freee download- ordered it today and donated a tenner - don't spend it all in the one place- fueck the corporations!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭Hypnotoad

I hope it's a more guitar based album.

It always strikes me that the very people who moan about Kid A and Amnesiac are likely the same ones who would've castigated Radiohead had they made an album that was in any way similar to Ok Computer as just trying to re-create it.

Bands evolve, simple as. Or would you rather Status Quo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

Rockin' all over the world will outlast Amnesiac for sure.

Just wondering why people are donating for the album,honestly, it's not as if Radiohead haven't enough money. For me, this system hurts the real fan's more as most of them will feel compelled out of gratitude to donate money to them for offering it for free whereas fairweather fan's like myself will just take it and run hoping there ain't too many keyboards on it

You're right, there were no keyboards on Ok Computer

Now let's all hope the album is 12 songs that sound like High and Dry :rolleyes: