Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What did Hickey mean?

• 30-09-2007 8:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭

Saw an interview with Hickey on the TV3 news. He said something like " You learn a lot about what people are really like in situations like this."

Hmm. What on earth has been going on in the Irish camp? Anyone have any clues?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭terry mac

Valentia wrote:
    Saw an interview with Hickey on the TV3 news. He said something like " You learn a lot about what people are really like in situations like this."

Hmm. What on earth has been going on in the Irish camp? Anyone have any clues?

Learnt that a lot of Irish players are crap and the coach is an eejit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Marshy

I would say but that'd be in breach of the strictly no rumours rule. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,133 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Who knows .. theres very little coming out in the press. Perhaps if it turns out it was his last game, he might spill the beans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,126 ✭✭✭homah_7ft

The first player in the team out with a book could make a nice little sum. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

We're all inclined to come out with "pat philosophy" that means nothing. I'd put it in that category.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Maybe when Eddie shafted him by dropping him, then putting him back in todays game, similar to GM.

I reckon there's gonna be a backlash of what actually happened.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

well ulster-basher ;) Trevor Brennan, said on the Ryan Tubirdy show last night that Alan Quinlan phoned him during the week saying that there was a split in the squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Marshy

Ok heres the goss, ban me if you want.

Denis isn't speaking to Quinlan I've been told

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭Valentia

Yeah. I think it was a very pointed and calculated comment. I get a feeling Hickey is in book territory for sure. Maybe it'll be ready for the Christmas market....He has had a fairly high profile in the interview side over the last few weeks.

Most of the lads looked too muscle bound to move and it wouldn't take the sharpest cookie on the block to have noticed that a long time before the tournament.

This nonsense of O'Sullivan coaching the Lions will surely now be buried too. Interesting times ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,658 ✭✭✭old boy

saw the interview with p.o.c. just look at his face very full, full of fat, look at the players from down under,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,658 ✭✭✭old boy

ireland could not deal with the high ball from niambia, next session the coach should have come up with a play to deal with it, next game argentia tries it we have no answer, but coach has a new contract, so why should he.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Santa Claus

old boy wrote:
    saw the interview with p.o.c. just look at his face very full, full of fat, look at the players from down under,

You saying that Paul O'Connell is FAT ??? I saw Paul surfing down in lahinch a few weeks ago and even as a bloke I have to admit that he's in fantastic shape !
    philstar wrote:
    well ulster-basher ;) Trevor Brennan, said on the Ryan Tubirdy show last night that Alan Quinlan phoned him during the week saying that there was a split in the squad.
    He said on TV3 today that Quinlan told him the lads had taken to calling him Bobby Bouche after Adam Sandlers character in the Water boy film as that's as he was doing in France !

Christ if that's the infantile sh!te that they are at we're in trouble. Locking a group of lads up together like that is not healthy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Santa Claus

Valentia wrote:
    Christ if that's the infantile sh!te that they are at we're in trouble. Locking a group of lads up together like that is not healthy...

You've obviously never been involved in Rugby tours....that's exactly the type of infantile stuff that goes on.

You've obviously never been involved in Rugby tours.

True. Hurling was my game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Valentia wrote:
    Locking a group of lads up together like that is not healthy...

We have a habit of locking a load of blokes up together in a foreign country. :rolleyes:

A load of locks, locked up, getting locked. Ah, the imagery! :eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

Valentia wrote:
    A load of locks, locked up, getting locked. Ah, the imagery! :eek:

a brokeback mountain scenario??;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

We will only find out from a player who is retiring. I dont think Hickie is the type of person to write a "tell all" book. I'd expect that from BOD, not really hickie though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

philstar wrote:
    a brokeback mountain scenario??;)

Now wait a minute. That's surely a rumour too far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Yup, There's going to be some backlash from this farce...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Actually Brennan said that Quinlan was thinking of doing a Saipan only he didn't think anyone would miss him. I'm sure it wasn't good for morale that a group of players were never going to get a game, but I don't think thats the reason we performed so badly. Poor preparation and conditioning IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭tampopo

Actually Brennan said that Quinlan was thinking of doing a Saipan only he didn't think anyone would miss him

He said both, tbh

Yeah, but I luvved me girlfriend. Then I married her and lived with her every fecking day. You learn a lot about people livin' with them ffs !!!

And lads away on a tour or a WC, ye'd expect that. At least they could laugh about it instead of letting it simmer and linger bad moodidly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

tampopo wrote:

And lads away on a tour or a WC, ye'd expect that. At least they could laugh about it instead of letting it simmer and linger bad moodidly

I was at least expecting one player in a gimp suit or a dress by the end of the month! Maybe they were a bit too serious!