Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Zimmerframe Division - Expressions of interest required

• 28-09-2007 2:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭

Ok as per the team thread a few of us more experienced types have been talking about setting up a team.

The main requirement is you are over 30, if you are close then we will probably let you in anyway (Lemming will be taking advantage of this loophole or should I say his M60 will be :D).

The preferred look will be US Vietnam. So OD or Tigerstripe (or subdued for Fall!) with weapons from that Era M16, M4(?), M14, AK47's.

Doubt we will be training etc but the idea would be to try and get the bunch of us out skirmishing all together on a regular basis.

No I doubt I will be a leader of this bunch I'm more a Captain Dyke kind of commander :)

So if you are interested sign up below.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

M4 is way too new ... sorry :p

You'll have to stick to the M16A1/A2 VN versions too by the way. The A3 and RIS models didnt turn up until after the war.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 896 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fuzzytrooper

FN FALs were used back then too in Vietnam :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

LOL we ain't going to be that anal, if it looks kinda like Vietnam that will do. Looking forward to lads turning up in Black Pyjamas :)

We have to get FAL added to the boards censor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

why not the M4 ,the M4A1 would be ideal for the nam era ,just with no rails lasers,, scopes ,or peqboxes ,otherwise we all have to by M16 and M14s,
    hmmmm im intrested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

There I was, all setup to join with much enthusiasm (Ghosts' training regimen is far too hardco...erm, frequent for me :rolleyes: ) - and now I've got the wrong cammo, gun, accessories, etc.

Meh :(

Ambro its the ideal, tbh if you don't have the gear you can still join us. The main aim is to have a laugh :)

Gatling wrote:
    why not the M4 ,the M4A1 would be ideal for the nam era ,just with no rails lasers,, scopes ,or peqboxes ,otherwise we all have to by M16 and M14s,
    hmmmm im intrested

Because it didnt exist. The M4 is a carbine version of the M16 but its not designed by the same people and is at least a decade or two younger.

if im right the seals had a cut down carbine in use back in nam ,at the end it still looks like M16 except shorter,im ordering some tiger stripe,
    hive does that mean your FAS is out

gandalf wrote:
    The main aim is to have a laugh :)

Ah, that I can do. Alrighty, 35 last Tuesday, I'm in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

ambro25 wrote:
    Ah, that I can do. Alrighty, 35 last Tuesday, I'm in.

Your birthday?

Hey guys, do we still do firing squads for the birthday boy?

Gatling wrote:
    if im right the seals had a cut down carbine in use back in nam ,at the end it still looks like M16 except shorter,im ordering some tiger stripe,
    hive does that mean your FAS is out

I'm out on age grounds ;) The SEALs were using the M16 at the time, the origins of the M4 may come from modifications they made themselves. Mostly I think the seals used M14, M16 and grease guns at the time didnt they?

I may be mistaken, my knowledge on the SEAL's history isnt the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Fiach Dubh

The CAR-15 Colt Commando, initial military designation XM16E1, short barrel carbine produced from 1966-1970 did see service in the Vietnam war. Looks very much like the more modern M4. Loaded with 20 round and later 30 round STANAG mags.

Fiach Dubh wrote:
    The CAR-15 Colt Commando, initial military designation XM16E1, short barrel carbine produced from 1966-1970 did see service in the Vietnam war. Looks very much like the more modern M4. Loaded with 20 round and later 30 round STANAG mags.

Thank you.

Infact the two look so similar that you could get away with a solid stocked M4without looking to anachornistic (thats twice in as many hours that I've used that word).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

(thats twice in as many hours that I've used that word).

Word of the day toilet paper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 |I.R|PaddyPower

If you do not mind a new player im interested as a long time hikeing and woods person im used to the fitness and my first AEG was a M14 that has grown a bipod and scope and got a lick of paint. Im also 31 years old from Dublin northside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Alvin T. Grey

If I can find a colostomy bag that dosn't clash with tigerstripe, count me in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 |I.R|PaddyPower

How about O.A.Ps for a tag Old Age Pensioners lol who needs silicone oil cod liver oil for the win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

I'm out on age grounds ;) The SEALs were using the M16 at the time, the origins of the M4 may come from modifications they made themselves. Mostly I think the seals used M14, M16 and grease guns at the time didnt they?

I may be mistaken, my knowledge on the SEAL's history isnt the best.

The SEALs used a lot of different weapons, but fell in love with the [url="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stoner_63]Stoner[/url] because of it's modular configuration.

your right lemmings the on the stoner, also they used the M60 as shoulder fired rifle even some used it as a makeshift sniper weaopn,
    now thats sorted heading back to the DMZ Charlies being spotted snooping around a friendly village "seek and destroy boys"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Gatling wrote:
    your right lemmings the on the stoner, also they used the M60 as shoulder fired rifle even some used it as a makeshift sniper weaopn,
    now thats sorted heading back to the DMZ Charlies being spotted snooping around a friendly village "seek and destroy boys"

What ended up happening was the SEALs would equip entire squads with Stoners in varying configurations and Charlie ended up avoiding them like the plague, such was the disproportionately ridiculous amount of firepower they were able to deploy

even to this day Seals fire more live ammo in training than any other branch of the US Military , lemmings you should read up on Richard Michkeno probably spelt wrong ,for stories from the seals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭Oberleutnant

I think i am way way to young to join at 28, i have a long long long long oh dear lord a long time before im ...i cant type it.....30 but on the Vietnam look i am most certainly in!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Spetzcong

I'm also interested in the vietnam look, but well shy of 30, perhaps somebody should start a Zimmerframe Division Junior team and give these old farts a run for their money :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

well if its OD, i will get OD, dont want to look like a total pecker head (ok, try and resist the obvious joke there)

anyone know what rig we are 'recommending'. probably a good idea to pick what people have already..and more to the point where did ye get it?

so what are the mandated movies we have to watch??

Yentil.

Well after the first 15 minutes of Barbra S. I for one want to kill something.

Yentil.

Well after the first 15 minutes of Barbra S. I for one want to kill something.

hahahahaha...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭nonex

Ok here are the peops that have shown interest to date.

gandalf
    Gatling
    ambro25
    |I.R|PaddyPower
    Alvin T. Grey
    Lemming
    Oberleutnant
    Spetzcong (as the young replacement)
    Fallschirmjager

Not bad so far and as I said the Over 30's and Vietnam are just guidelines, as long as you like having a bit of craic you can join. Ie as long as you aren't a miserable c**t like crazy :p

gandalf wrote:
    Ok here are the peops that have shown interest to date.

gandalf
    Gatling
    ambro25
    |I.R|PaddyPower
    Alvin T. Grey
    Lemming
    Oberleutnant
    Spetzcong (as the young replacement)
    Fallschirmjager

Not bad so far and as I said the Over 30's and Vietnam are just guidelines, as long as you like having a bit of craic you can join. Ie as long as you aren't a miserable c**t like crazy :p

hahahahaha...jeasus...this is the unit i have been waiting for...a complete bunch of wasters!!! BAWHAHAHA...

so long as i can scream GIT SOM! GIT SOM! I git me 100 confirmed kills and 20 water bufallo!!! i will be happy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭cpb

Consider this my application have m4 and digital woodland but willing to buy all over again. All I need is another address so the wife does not see it arriving also at 34 I think I meet the age requirement.

I dont know if you intend calling it the Zimmerframe Division if not, how about Dad's Army!!!!!
    I know I am really showing my age now.

Welcome to the corp son !!!

We can't call it Dads Army because

1. I ain't a Dad and don't plan on becoming one
    2. That show sucked donkeys balls!!
    3. Fallschrim has a really cool idea for a logo with the Z. (or so he told me a few weeks ago!)

gandalf wrote:
    Welcome to the corp son !!!

We can't call it Dads Army because

1. I ain't a Dad and don't plan on becoming one
    2. That show sucked donkeys balls!!
    3. Fallschrim has a really cool idea for a logo with the Z. (or so he told me a few weeks ago!)

"Grey army", "blue rinse brigade", "Coffin dodger Patrol group" .. oh man I'll have fun nick naming ye' :p

More than likely it will be shortened to the really cool sounding "Z-Division"

Oh Hive we'll have fun peppering you as well ;)

The Crusty Corps.
    Motto: Age Before Beauty

It seems some people are having some difficulties in identifying if they should or should not be a member of the elite Zimmerframe Division?

here some questions you should consider?

do you remember duran duran the first time they sucked?

'a flock of seagulls'? a way to get crapped on on a sunny day or a crappy band?

Judas Priest? what is it?

Is Lemmy from Motorhead really a singer? Discuss

Who is Ritchie Blackmore?

if i say 'run to the hills' do you look around like a virgin at an orgy or do you hum a song?

What is the name of Tom Berenger's character in Platoon?

Do you know who Ursula Andress and Raquel Welch are?

Do you know what happened to Cadet red lemonade?

Penny sweets, something mythical or do you remember them?

do you remember words like emigration, unemployed, cheap housing no one could afford?

what were green shield stamps? (maybe only i remember them)

do you remember when Ireland sucked at rugby (okay, we still suck, but do you remember when we really sucked, hold on...we still, er...ignore this question)

do you remember when ireland really won the triple crown?

If i say 'smoke on the water' do you say nice image or do you hum dum dum dum, dum dum de dum...dum dum dum dumdum.

please feel free to add more...

It seems some people are having some difficulties in identifying if they should or should not be a member of the elite Zimmerframe Division?

if i say 'run to the hills' do you look around like a virgin at an orgy or do you hum a song?

do you remember words like emigration, unemployed, cheap housing no one could afford?

do you remember when Ireland sucked at rugby (okay, we still suck, but do you remember when we really sucked, hold on...we still, er...ignore this question)

If i say 'smoke on the water' do you say nice image or do you hum dum dum dum, dum dum de dum...dum dum dum dumdum.

please feel free to add more...

Thanks a bunch falls .. I'm only 25 and I knew all of those answers :mad:

Perhaps you should say something like "Did you have a pint to celebrate Mandela getting out?" or "How did you feel during the Brixton riots and miners strikes?" ... age specific stuff.

*returns to his table and starts feeling a lot older than he should*

"Grey army", "blue rinse brigade", "Coffin dodger Patrol group" .. oh man I'll have fun nick naming ye' :p

hahahaha...you know us so well....each are elite platoons in the super elite Z-Division...

hivem why dont you join, we have a special on denture cream coming up, 2 for 1 pile cream deal in the offing and i am in contact with the adult diaper group as well...

god knows what i did with the logo...i recall it was zimmerframe this MOFO

from memory, we had a few of these floating around before...might be worth digging up...i think someone else did the Z logo tho

Logo forthcoming?

Considering ordering a few "Z DIVISION" ACU velcro patches atm, so an update would be cool :)

Oh... and we need individual nicks as well, so get yer thinking (flat)cap on ;)

Then might think of getting some individualised Tshirts done if there's good logo/nicks/assigned speciality :)

Bugger yes!!

I even remember their gravity defying hair do's!

Breaking the law, breaking the law..............(cloud of dandruff dissipates!!)

No Lemmy is God!

Axe God!!!

Take your daughter to the slaughter :)

Sgt Barnes but everyone liked Sgt Elias a lot more.

Swing!

Jaysus I remember that too !!!! Ekk!!

Aniseed Balls ftw!!

Yep remember CJH telling us we had to tighten our belts, something these young whippersnappers of today never knew!!

Bugger nope I remember them too !!!!!!

Rugby is a banned word now!

Ollie Campbell for President!

Ahh yes that should be added to the Z-Division playlist !!!

ambro25 wrote:
    Logo forthcoming?

Considering ordering a few "Z DIVISION" ACU velcro patches atm, so an update would be cool :)

Oh... and we need individual nicks as well, so get yer thinking (flat)cap on ;)

Then might think of getting some individualised Tshirts done if there's good logo/nicks/assigned speciality :)

absolutely....if you dont have a patch it aint real LOL!!!!...but as is usual in the Z Division, we cant remember .....

priceless...flat cap...BAWHAHAHAHAH

and gandalf...what ever did happen freen shield stamps? jaysus none of yer new fangled cards, there was many a person died from glue overdoses from licking those yokes...i am sure there is some old git has a website for them...just checking

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Green_Shield_Stamps

holy crap its ARGOS!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Bananaman

Pussies

Do you remember MTV USA?

Do you have Nick Kershaw tapes?

Do you remember what was behind the green door?

Did you eat wagon wheels while the Late Late Toy Show was on?

Do you remember what potatoes grown in Ireland tasted like?

Do you remember when Leixlip, Lucan, Palmerstown & Chapelizod were on the way to Dublin.

Do you miss Pats Hat?

Do you remember when you needed to know the phone number for the "net"?

Do you remember when it used to glow green at night in your room?

Do you still have stuff on 5 1/4" disk in case you may need it some day - how about 8" - oh yeah.

How about that 120 minute tape you had everything saved on - did you keep the counter timings for each file?

Do you remember when yopu could get a 99 for less that €5?

Do you remember when prices has 1/2 pennies in them?

Do you remember round pin plugs?

Do you remember when Australian Soap was the Sullivans?

B'Man - 35

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭Oberleutnant

gandalf : That show sucked donkeys balls!!

you whaaaaa?:eek: :eek: :eek:

Dads army is brilliant! One of the all time greats.

Three Words: Wonderly Wagon. Judge.
    'Nuff Said.

The Six Million Dollar Man. Not the show, the toy. And the big arsed button in the back.
    That was the height of cool.

Speaking of which, having a crush on Lindsey Wagner......

Madness. Bad Manners. The Specials. Guys, you have not aged well.

Noel Edmonds Swap Shop, and that bloody jumper.

Whoever started this thread, thanks for the mugging down memory lane. I was surpressing all of those quite well up till now thank you.....:o

gandalf wrote:
    Welcome to the corp son !!

Z CORP

you whaaaaa?:eek: :eek: :eek:

Dads army is brilliant! One of the all time greats.

Thats a black mark on Oberleutnants service record and service hasn't started yet :)

gandalf wrote:
    Thats a black mark on Oberleutnants service record and service hasn't started yet :)

Stupid boy! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Markspi

Dont forget
    Starsky & Hutch
    C.I.5 ( Bodie Collins )
    The avengers ( Purdy )

Ford Capri
    Escort Rs2000

Bosco

Action Man

Discos

heart To heart

Bionic Man / Woman
    Wonder Woman

Planet Of The Apes

Dukes Of Hazard

The A Team

Good God Im Old

Doyle. It ws Bodie and Doyle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Markspi

Doyle. It ws Bodie and Doyle

Alvin couldnt think of the other guys name
    But taht was bodies surname in the show.
    Old age messing with memorrrryyyyy.

Could only remember purdys name from avengers ppppppuuuuuurrrrrrddddyyyyy