Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sean Kingston's song being banned??

• 21-09-2007 7:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭

This issue applies to more than just music, so I'm putting it here...

Anyways, watching the news earlier, and one of the stories was about Sean Kingston's song "Beautiful Girls", and 'should it be banned?'

For those who don't know the song, musically, it's an upbeat reggae-influenced song which samples "Stand By Me"; the lyrics to the chorus are:

You're way too beautiful girl
    That's why it'll never work
    You'll have me suicidal, suicidal
    When you say it's over
    Damn all these beautiful girls
    They only wanna do your dirt
    They'll have you suicidal, suicidal
    When they say it's over

Basically the controversy is over the use of the word 'suicidal'.

from Wikipedia:

Certain radio stations play the censored version of the song, which replaces the word "suicidal" with "in denial". On MTV the word suicidal is completely removed with no replacement.

Watching the news (I think it was TV3) revealed an Irish station crossing the song off their playlist (I think it was FM104), despite the song being Number 1 in Ireland, because 70% of the listeners complained about the song or something like that.

Do you think a song should be banned/censored for having the word 'suicidal' in it?
    Some dude from some organisation was on the news saying that this kind of music shouldn't even reach the shelf, and could have a negative impact on vulnerable people...I'm not even sure this guy heard the song tbh...

Anyway, IMO this is pretty ridiculous (I think the song should be banned for being sh!te, but anyway). I mean, even if he was ordering the audience to kill themselves, I wouldn't think it should be banned, freedom of speech and all that, but it's nowhere near that context at all.
    I honestly think it would have stronger grounds for a banning if it was beautiful girls giving out about being unfairly represented!

Votes and opinions please...

Ban a song for using the word 'suicidal'? 158 votes

Yes, it shouldn't be used
    0% 0 votes
    No, this is ridiculous
    17% 28 votes
    Raugaj Irata
    82% 130 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

S.O.D. FTW:

Can't take it, never could
    Time to end it, wish you would
    Friends and family, they're all gone
    Life for you is just a con
    Dig yourself a hole in the ground
    Push up daisies six feet down
    Take a dirt nap, buy the farm
    Inject a bubble in your arm

[CHORUS]
    Kill yourself, kill yourself
    Why don't you kill yourself

Don't rely on no one else
    End it all just kill yourself

Life is just a one way ticket
    Everyone must go around
    Here's a bucket go and kick it
    Slit your wrists without a sound
    When you fo don't make a big deal
    No dramatics, don't overplay
    Cause don't you know that we'll all fell
    Better once you've gone away
    [CHORUS-MOSH PART]

You're a loser, there's nothing left for you
    A worthless loser, at everything you do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭ryanairzer

OP you are IGNORANT!!!!!!!!!

YOU DONT KNOW WHAT ITS LIKE

I was sui****l okay and anything like this can trigger. you dont know how fragile peoples emotions are

rawr rawr rawr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Remember when this great song caused controversy?

Rape me
    Rape me, my friend
    Rape me
    Rape me again

I'm not the only one, Ah [3x]
    I'm not the only one...

Hate me
    Do it and do it again
    Waste me
    Rape me, my friend

I'm not the only one...

My favorite inside source
    I'll kiss your open sores
    I appreciate your concern
    You're gonna stink and burn

Rape me
    Rape me, my friend
    Rape me
    Rape me, again

I'm not the only one...

Rape me! (Rape me!)

Seriously, people who complain about what's put on telly or what's contained in songs should be locked up so the rest of us can get on with giving a **** about the important things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 570 ✭✭✭BrandonBlock

I think it should be banned on the sole basis that it's absolutely ****. Typical of the crap being churned out daily by the pop music industry. Thank god for Phantom fm is all I'll say.

seamus wrote:

Rape me
    Rape me, my friend
    Rape me
    Rape me again

I'm not the only one...

Hate me
    Do it and do it again
    Waste me
    Rape me, my friend

I'm not the only one...

Rape me
    Rape me, my friend
    Rape me
    Rape me, again

I'm not the only one...

Rape me! (Rape me!)

Seriously, people who complain about what's put on telly or what's contained in songs should be locked up so the rest of us can get on with giving a **** about the important things.
    What a ****ing brilliant song.

Actualy, that whole album was great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Scoobydoobydoo

I'm not sure we want to start banning stuff, however the song is total crap, it is in poor taste, but what I would prefer to see is some kind of campaign against the stupid people who are essentially taste-fee zones, who put this mind numbing stuff to the top of the charts and make these 'artists' very wealthy. :rolleyes:
    I'd love to see these people in ten years time, looking back on their old music collections in horror and shame!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

it is in poor taste
    How so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,978 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

Don't know the song but the lyrics are probably just a way of stirring up some attention to get more sales, and guess what, it's working, cause you're talking about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Well apart from it being a sh*te song, i would agree with the words being changed maybe, as having someone very close to me attempt suicide recently i think it's a bit inappropriate to have that 1 word in the song. And no, i'm not a fuc*ing prude for whoever may be thinking it, i've listened to my fair share of lyrics deemed explicit and found most to be well....not released in the charts for starters. even some that may have slipped in, like stuff by rap artists etc were heavily censored.

When the vast majority of listeners to that song would be under 18, and this country having a problem with teenage suicides it was a bad judgement on whoever censors music for radio listeners :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Thank god for Phantom fm is all I'll say.

Lets not go overboard now :D

When the vast majority of listeners to that song would be under 18, and this country having a problem with teenage suicides it was a bad judgement on whoever censors music for radio listeners

Not an attack or anything, but...... have you noticed your username?
    The word death in it, someone might kill themselves on reading your username.
    Seriously, like sheltering people from the word suicide and avoiding any mention is progress.
    We'll do what we always do, ignore the problem and it'll go away, just like with the squid.

I know there are other threads about this, but could people please keep an eye out for suicidal people.
    It's a serious problem and we need to help these people.

I love you all.
    Terry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

seamus wrote:

Rape me
    Rape me, my friend
    Rape me
    Rape me again

I'm not the only one...

Hate me
    Do it and do it again
    Waste me
    Rape me, my friend

I'm not the only one...

Rape me
    Rape me, my friend
    Rape me
    Rape me, again

I'm not the only one...

Rape me! (Rape me!)

Ahhhh... The Spice Girls in their hey-day! Wonderful, weren't they?! :rolleyes:

basquille wrote:
    Ahhhh... The Spice Girls in their hey-day! Wonderful, weren't they?! :rolleyes:

So thats what a zigga zig ahh was. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

seamus wrote:

Rape me
    Rape me, my friend
    Rape me
    Rape me again

I'm not the only one...

Hate me
    Do it and do it again
    Waste me
    Rape me, my friend

I'm not the only one...

Rape me
    Rape me, my friend
    Rape me
    Rape me, again

I'm not the only one...

Rape me! (Rape me!)

Nirvana were even worse and more pointless than that american Ja-fake-an Kingston. Damn right they should have been banned, its not lyricism, its look at me Im being controversial

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭shay_562

i would agree with the words being changed maybe, as having someone very close to me attempt suicide recently i think it's a bit inappropriate to have that 1 word in the song...When the vast majority of listeners to that song would be under 18, and this country having a problem with teenage suicides it was a bad judgement on whoever censors music for radio listeners

He's right ya know. Listening to the radio yesterday they kept talking about the shootings during that post-office robbery in Lusk; today I found myself inexplicably driven to attempt to rob a post office. Hearing random words, regardless of the context, can totally change your mindset and make you powerless to control yourself. [/sarcasm]

Not trying to be insensitive here - I've lost a family member to suicide too, I'd wager a decent proportion of people in this country have, given how prevalent it seems to be. But this is just like what was discussed a week or so ago with the girl who threw herself in front of a DART after getting her JC results - shutting the word out and making it taboo to even think about it, let alone talk to someone about feelings you may be having, doesn't exactly help anyone. The "now let's forget our troubles with a big bowl of strawberry ice-cream!" philosophy sure as hell doesn't help anyone, and reactionary measures like this are just a vain attempt to be seen to be doing something, anything, without actually having to put effort and resources into trying to help people.

Oh, and as for this:
    SumGuy wrote:
    Watching the news (I think it was TV3) revealed an Irish station crossing the song off their playlist (I think it was FM104), despite the song being Number 1 in Ireland, because 70% of the listeners complained about the song or something like that.

I'm not going to call you wrong, but could you back this up with a link or something? Because it seems exceedingly unlikely that 70% of the hundreds of thousands of people who listen to FM104 rang in to complain about one song; 70 people in total is more likely, and even that would be an unusually high number of complaints to recieve (at least, based on how many complaints offensive ads usually get)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

banning stuff only encourages muppets to go out and get it. anyone remember the hoo ha over the prodgidy and the song smack my bitch up.

the amount of times this is being played on the radio is enough to make anyone suicidal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

I think it should be banned on the sole basis that it's absolutely ****. Typical of the crap being churned out daily by the pop music industry.

From the snippet I heard it should be banned on this basis. Even so the fact that people are talking about it and its content is paradoxically good as it draws attention to the topic once again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

kowloon wrote:
    Not an attack or anything, but...... have you noticed your username?
    The word death in it, someone might kill themselves on reading your username.

Maybe because i used this name playing online games nearly 7 years ago, and signed up to boards with said username. I'd gladly change my username if i could subscribe, alas i cannot so i guess you're sh*t outta luck there but listen out for both sides of a story ALWAYS :)

And there's the story of how i got my username, when boards was sooooo much smaller, but had no Pighead, but Bubbles instead :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,883 ✭✭✭Poxyshamrock

Yeah i think the line "i'll have you suicidal" is a bit much!

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Maximilian

These lyrics are far more upsetting
    Don't... don't close your heart to how you feel
    Dream, and don't be afraid the dream's not real
    Close your eyes, pretend it's just the two of us again
    Make believe this moment's here to stay
    Touch... touch me the way you used to do
    I know tonight could be all I'll have with you
    From now on, you'll be with someone else instead of me
    So tonight, let's fill this memory
    For the last time -

Hold me now
    Don't cry, don't say a word
    Just hold me now
    And I will know -
    Though we're apart, we'll always be together
    Forever in love
    What do you say when words are not enough?

Time... time will be kind once we're apart
    And your tears... tears will have no place in your heart
    I wish I... I could say how much I'll miss you when you're gone
    How my love for you will go on and on and

Hold me now
    Don't cry, don't say a word
    Just hold me now
    And try to understand that
    I hope at last you've found
    What you've been searchin' for
    And though I won't be there anymore
    I will always love you

(Hold me now)
    (Don't cry,) don't say a word
    Just hold me now
    And I will know -
    Though we're apart, we'll always be together
    Forever in love
    What do you say when words are not enough?

What can I say?
    Now my words are not enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

McNugget?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Anyone called"Sean Kingston" should be banned immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

shay_562 wrote:
    I'm not going to call you wrong, but could you back this up with a link or something? Because it seems exceedingly unlikely that 70% of the hundreds of thousands of people who listen to FM104 rang in to complain about one song; 70 people in total is more likely, and even that would be an unusually high number of complaints to recieve (at least, based on how many complaints offensive ads usually get)
    FM104 Bans Suicide Song from Playlist

Dublin Thursday 20th September 2007, 16.15

FM104 Management has responded to public outrage at the lyrics of popular Sean Kingston song “Beautiful Girls” by banning the song outright from their playlist.

The move follows a flood of complaints from listeners regarding the suicide aspect of the lyrics.

During discussions on the FM104 Phoneshow with Adrian Kennedy, the majority of callers (particularly those affected by suicide) felt that the lyrics of the song were inappropriate and likely to cause upset.

Some callers even broke down live on air while talking about friends lost to suicide. One caller told Adrian “Every time I hear that song being played on the radio it brings the horror of suicide back to me because I lost my friend to suicide last year..”

Commenting on his decision, FM104 Programme Director Dave Kelly said, “With the rate of suicide among young Irish people at an all time high, I felt it appropriate to stop our DJ’s playing the song”

Kelly continued, “When Adrian informed me that 73% of FM104 listeners in a text poll, wanted to have the song taken off the air, I decided to take action”.

“While I accept that the song is popular and catchy, as a responsible company, FM104 has decided to take this song off the air.”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

It's one of the worst songs I've EVER heard... EVER. And now everyone's talking about it so its popularity will shoot up (like Frankie's Relax). D'oh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

I get suicidal listening to Adrian Kunteddy. Can he be taken off the air?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

And now you can get to see as well as hear him - on the City Channel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭DemocAnarchis

The idea of censoring this song is a bit ridiculous. Its certainly very tame in comparison to a lot of material that is broadcast. I dont see why the mention of suicide in a song merits censorship. If anything, its something that shouldnt be censored, it should be out in the open. Suicide is still such a taboo topic, but ts something that needs to be discussed. I think the song, while ****e, doesnt glamorise or promote suicide, it discusses a situation that im sure occurs. Lost a family member to suicide a few years ago, so am well aware that its a painful area for some people, but if you complain about a song mentioning something that has affected you at some stage in the past, where do you stop? Better cross out all those songs referencing drug use, sexual abuse, death, war, terrorism. The world isnt all bunnies and candyfloss, and niether should the songs that are a product of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

well the bbc banned this little number back in 1982 so http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AH7pOUm5s9k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

It's a good song and people are over0reacting with the suicidal thing. It's a word, get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭shay_562

SumGuy wrote:
    FM104 stuff

1) Text poll =/= Listeners calling in. Requires much less effort, much less thought is put into it (the Liveline effect of people hearing one side of an issue and saying "Jaysus, isn't that awful?" without actually considering it too much) and is much easier for a few people who feel strongly about the issue (and there's no doubt that some people feel strongly about it) to rig or distort the final results.

2) 73% of respondents to a text poll on one particular FM104 show =/= 70% of FM104 listeners. That could be 100 people or it could be 100,000 people. Which isn't to say that it isn't 100,000 people, but it's misleading in the extreme to represent it as nearly 3/4 of the total listenership.

Call me pedantic or whatever, but if you're gonna quote stuff you heard on the news, it'd be nice for it to be remotely accurate. Oh, and this part:
    FM 104 wrote:
    Some callers even broke down live on air while talking about friends lost to suicide. One caller told Adrian “Every time I hear that song being played on the radio it brings the horror of suicide back to me because I lost my friend to suicide last year..”

...what? So it's OK to show people being killed and horrificly mutilated in road safety ads, despite the fact that many people in this country have lost people to road deaths, or show people being shot or bludgeoned to death on Coronation St. at 12 on a Sunday morning, but saying the word "suicidal" has people in floods of tears? How on earth are we supposed to deal with an issue when the very mention of the word brings hysteria and censorship? It's farcical...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

well in fairness, if im listening to the music show, ill probably switch to another show doing music at night, instead of listening to the gobshítes on adrian kennedy goin at each other :rolleyes:

why dont they poll the people who listen to the music shows?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

It is possibly the worst song i have heard in a long time. the suicidal thing is a pointless addition to the lyrics.

it's a utter piece of crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Get off the fence... say what you think!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

Sweet Jesus, pointless lyrics? I mean, they're only central to the theme of the song like. Back on topic, I don't think hearing the word 'suicidal' is really going to make anyone actually suicidal, whereas that dreary college rock $hite (I have no idea what it's actually called) does very nearly have that effect on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

I've heard the word 'war' being censored in a song.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Obviously FM104's Directors haven't listened to the Adrian Kennedy show. If they had, maybe they wouldn't base their decisions on the views aired by a bunch of retarded knackers who sit up listening to their fellow retarded knackers ranting about absolute sh1te late at night.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Imo Banning it is bull****.

What happened to freedom of speech and expressing yourself. I think its a small bit over reacting!

Theirs hundreads of songs out there which are more lyricly explicit than that pansy song and nothing done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭Lazarus2.0

rossie1977 wrote:
    well the bbc banned this little number back in 1982 so http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AH7pOUm5s9k

Ahhh .... brings back memories :) . They were banned by bbc for profanity , methinks . Not for encouraging/condoning suicide . I remember those days well , being an old fart and a wannabe punk back then (which was hard to be in them days lol ) ! God , how we suffered !!

Back on topic now - "Suicide Is Painless" got to No 1 here and in UK in 1980 (theme to M*A*S*H) and there was no rise in suicides then so either people are more susceptible to suggestion now or this thread is a load of ......

I suspect the former , sadly .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,469 ✭✭✭weeder

the song should be banned,but only because its rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Why does the ****iest music always do well in the charts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

This is right out of the same book that censored Rhianna's song Murderer that mentioned a gun :rolleyes:
    The similarities don't end there...that song too is sh*te pop reggae aimed at tweenies.
    That said, whilst I don't agree with blantant censorship, we should be looking at the target audience and considering if the use of certain topics (especially making light of them) is what we want kids to be soaking up into their developing minds.
    Then again if you ban things for content reasons you inevitably promote the banned article and create a false demand...so in the end it doesn't work.

Everytime this comes on the radio I make a dive for the dial, judging by the above replies I'm not the only one.
    I would applaud a radio station outright blacklisting the track, but one thing that annoys the hell out of me is replacing words with something less "offensive"....that an artist would agree to the re-writing of their song, shows that it's not really about the music at all...it's only really about chart position and sales.

If someone wants to ban something can they please ban the bloody chipmunk sh*te all these songs seem to have? Personally I find them much more damaging than any individual word...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I'm not a person who gets offended at any song lyrics, but I must admit, when I heard that Sean Kingston song, I found it pretty appalling. I know its a shíte song anyway but the lyrics are terrible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Having just had a listen to this song I think it should be banned completely. It is terrible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

Am I the only one who can't get the stand by me background at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

the people who complain about this are the people that watch reality television just to find things to complain about

so many songs have profanity and provocative lyrics, if you don't like it don't listen, there is no reason for it to be banned

although the song itself is rubbish, how did it get to number 1?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭lezizi

Thats it i have listened to Sean Kingston and it is the final straw, nice knowing ye guys ...:D :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Am I the only one who can't get the stand by me background at all.

Whilst I don't encourage people to listen to the track, if you hear it from the intro you'll hear the classic bassline from Ben E King. It's notable as being the only thing that's any good in the whole rest of the song...

As for how it got to number 1 ? Look at the target audience, the 10-18 age bracket who account for most single sales. Since a lot of the charts also now include mobile ringtone mp3 d/ls and normal d/ls, you can see how stuff like this makes it to the top.
    Which is kind of the problem...if I had kids, I don't think I'd be very comfortable with them wanderin' around singing "Suicidial, suicidal" all day, when they maybe haven't got a true grasp on the meaning behind the word yet...I'd prefer them listening to something with swearing and obscenities first (which is almost always edited out for radio play).
    I don't think anyone is saying that this song will have people killing themselves en masse, I think it's more about not waving such a sensitive topic in people's faces and seemingly making light of it and as much as I disagree with censorship, they have a semi-point...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

wow; 6 people think a song with the word "suicidal" in it should be banned, unf*ckinbelievable :eek:

Where does this end so i ask those people :confused: A return to tame things like Playboy and the Exorcist being re-banned or censorship on a Chinese scale where Beijing university grads of today know nothing of the Tiananmen Square massacre less than 20 years ago.

And there's the story of how i got my username, when boards was sooooo much smaller, but had no Pighead, but Bubbles instead :p

I was under the impression Pighead was the first sentient lifeform to crawl out of the sea, but the beginnings of Pighead are for another day :D

I retract my statement, i've heard the song, radio stations are in their right to take it off the air, its terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Beat 102-103 have refused to ban it because they don't want the issue brushed under the carpet. Think the chief excecutive(or someone high up who would call on it) lost a sibling to suicide.