Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

safari acting strange...

• 19-09-2007 4:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭

im here now with myspace & boards open and my macbook sounds as if its going to take off!! no other programs are running.

activity monitor says safari is using 46% of cpu, and 280mb of memory! and my fans is currently at 5000rpm

my macbook is the 2ghz model with 2gb of ram.

i notice it only happens when a webpage is taking its time to load (like boards is now...)

anybody else experience something similar?? or is that just safari??

cheers
    moe

and before anybody says, i have tried other browsers (including Camino!!) but i just prefer Safari

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭babypink

i believe that it's boards.

I've found that Safari really doesn't like vBulletin!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭iUseVi

safari has been prone to memory leaks in the past. Of course it is supposed to be fixed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,424 ✭✭✭440Hz

boards and Safari is not a good mix! Even though I use it at work now so Im not trying to plug any browser by saying that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,025 ✭✭✭Ham'nd'egger

babypink wrote:
    i believe that it's boards.

I've found that Safari really doesn't like vBulletin!!

Try browsing on Boards with IE for Mac, now it IS slow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

What version of Safari do you have. I regularly browse Boards with 3.0.3 (beta) on Intel 10.4.10 and it doesn't give any trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

camino ftw!!!!11one1 kthxbai!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,163 ✭✭✭ZENER

440Hz wrote:
    boards and Safari is not a good mix! Even though I use it at work now so Im not trying to plug any browser by saying that.

You little liar !!!!!!!! You said you preferred Camino !! :eek: You even tried to brainwash us all here to use Camino !

Just kiddin' 440 - you're right though, Safari sometimes has a problem with boards but since they moved hoster it hasn't been an issue for me. Boards has behaved impeccably since they moved. Then again it could be the new Safari 3 releases too. Have you tried this OP ?

ZEN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭big_moe

yeah its running fine now. its just every now and then that boards is a bit ropey...

maybe safari is a bit dodgy as well with forums as suggested here..

cheers everyone, anyway its no big deal. just quit safari and on the re-open it seems to be grand!

safari version 3.0.3 btw

cheers
    moe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

No problem with boards, but for some reason Safari always crashes on IMDB for me. And I mean always as in every time I visit it, no exaggeration

ZENER wrote:
    You little liar !!!!!!!! You said you preferred Camino !! :eek: You even tried to brainwash us all here to use Camino !

What I meant was, in this instance im not trying to brainwash anyone :D. Fact still remains that Camino is tbe best and I use 99% of the time, Not sure why I got into the habit of Safari at work, but I do like it alot more now (3 only).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,163 ✭✭✭ZENER

heh heh :)

Safari used to have a major problem with the dhtml menu at the top of boards page when it was first adopted here. Updates to safari over the past couple of years have fixed these issues plus I think boards.ie changed this to java I think - haven't checked.

I still have problems viewing www.eircom.ie pages where all the content gets garbled and the different cells on the page all render under the preceding cell. Camino handles this fine though and some banks won't display on Safari giving an incompatible browser error, even on version 3.03 !
    All that said, Safari 3 is still my favorite browser and is a huge improvement over the original incarnation which even then was better than Internet Explorer 5 for Mac OS - yeeuuch !

ZEN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,821 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

Much as I was enjoying Camino, I've switched back to Firefox/Opera.
    Mainly because Camino can't seem to handle the roll-over menus for boards AT ALL.

K.O.Kiki wrote:
    Mainly because Camino can't seem to handle the roll-over menus for boards AT ALL.

Intermittently, it does. Only thing that annoys me about Camino is boards.ie but alot of browsers have that problem so I just live with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭triple h

Yeah, sometimes ( oh, i use Safari 3.0.3) when boards.ie does give me grief i just say to myself ' feck this for a game of cowboys and indians" and i just go to different web page or do something else. I do not wait or give it a chance, feck that. If it does not load up quickly i am gone somewhere else. No time for sandbagging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭big_moe

jaysus triple h, busy man!