Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone in Bratislava or Prague last week?

• 15-09-2007 1:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭

Just wondering if any of ye were in either of these two cities last week for Irelands matches? Any info on pubs/clubs, prices of food/beer etc.. heading over there in November.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭useeme

In a czech bar in prague, off the main streets a pint costs about 80 cents.
    Avoid Bratislava, one afternoon is enough there. No-one I met had a good word to say about it. Avoid taxi's in both cities if possible, due to the rip off factor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭killbillvol2

Just wondering if any of ye were in either of these two cities last week for Irelands matches? Any info on pubs/clubs, prices of food/beer etc.. heading over there in November.

Any of my mates who were there last week wouldn't be able to give you much info on either city. That's the way with football trips. I don't think they noticed when they moved from one to the other!

I've been to both a few times. Prague is beautiful but touristy. Apparently it has loads of Irish pubs but I've never been in any of them. The local beer is excellent and cheap. Food is a mixed bag and good food isn't all that cheap.

Bratislava isn't anything much to look at (but you should have seen the state of it 15 years ago!) but I really like it. Local food is much better than Prague and the bars are interesting. Exploring side streets is well worthwhile.

I find the TimeOut guides are excellent for Eastern European cities as they're bang up to date with pubs, restaurants etc. Have a look at their website for a few ideas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭shiibata

Missed Bratislava, but I also as has been said already did not hear one good word about it. Was there for the Prague match and avoid small side streets at night as women come at you from all angles harrassing you offering you this, that and the other (wish i could say this is a problem i have everywhere i go:D ) The fookers got my wallet but the reason I was going back to hotel, was i had no money left, so it was not much use to them. Heard of a good few irish robbed the same way, but too much drank by us fans left us open to this problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Made it to Prague myself. Grand spot, surprised I even care but its architecturally a grand built place.

Pubs- went to Rocky O`Reillys for the match, grand spot, even after the loss we had a good time anyway. If im in my local and see a qualifier loss or bad draw i usually storm off home sickened, out here it was as if we had went out in the quarters of a tournament after a well fought battle. Theres an English sports bar on the same street as two of the main strip clubs, good looking friendly birds and nice for a few cheap afternoon pints . One thing surprised me, for all the talk of the variety and all of Czech beer, most bars only have one draught beer, Pilsnet Urquell. Its average stuff, after 5 days on it you fancy a change though. A few places do bottled Budvar.

Unbelieveably due to various reasons me and the lads didnt get to a nightclub. Was recommended spots called Duplex (wrangled a 1.80 euro admission and its open until 6am, lads couldnt to go), some huge place near the Charlesisland (or something similiar) bridge. Main reason Im heading back soon as I can is to hit the clubs.

As for the OTHER clubs (;) ) mother of god :D The area around Wenesclav Square (big main street area) is filled with strip clubs, some offering more than others. The gas thing about them is that you can walk in for next to nothing, or even for free, maybe have a complimentary beer, get approached by a bird wearing **** all offering private services and proceed to waffle at least 5 minutes of touchy feely conversation out of her before she realises you arent coughing up tonight (having been drinking since 10am from Dublin on Tuesday by that night I was throwing the cash around those places cigar in mouth like I was Tony Soprano, be careful :D ). Place called the Hot Peppers is a big one on W Square, great craic. The Atlas Cabaret is another one off the main street.

Risk wise, club promoters (mainly African lads) will rush you on the side streets in large groups, alot of clubs dont exactly have set admission, the street lads get paid to work out deals with you. Yid really want to watch your pockets at all times, particularly when you get mobbed by promoters and "sugar men" (the army of "ya lookin for charlie brotha" lads. Even if i was i wouldnt go near them). Alot of street bargain basement prosies and all yid wanna probably think twice about.

Finally, agree with what was said, everyone I talked to who had been in Bratislava said it was awful. tbh ive heard prev its good craic, dont know what to believe.