Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gerry Ryan

• 06-09-2007 6:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 792 ✭✭✭

What hold has Gerry Ryan got on RTE that despite his abysmal attempts to 'shock' the nation with his 'tabloid' radio programme he is thrown one TV show after another, each one worse than the one before.
    Whatever his chances on radio he definitely has not got a face for television.
    Perhaps he’s related to Brian Cowen. Now you must admit there is a similarity.
    Maybe the Fianna Fail government still has clout within RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭sudzs

Thought I'd give him another chance this autumn but when I hear that awful ****e over the Japenese man takin photos I gave up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 792 ✭✭✭juuge

sudzs wrote:
    Thought I'd give him another chance this autumn but when I hear that awful ****e over the Japenese man takin photos I gave up.

As for Gerry, me thinks he doth protest too much. :rolleyes:
    The country is awash with young talant just waiting for an opportunity to get into broadcasting. Yet RTE feel it necessary to hold on to the old dated farts as if they don't want anyone else to get them and for this privilage pay them obscene amounts of our cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭stcatherine

Old and dated he might be but in the age of 'Reality TV shows' some of us just can't help wanting to hear other peoples problems, lets face it he's just like an agony aunt !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

juuge wrote:
    The country is awash with young talant just waiting for an opportunity to get into broadcasting. Yet RTE feel it necessary to hold on to the old dated farts as if they don't want anyone else to get them and for this privilage pay them obscene amounts of our cash.

If i could disagree with you there please.

The country is NOT awash with talent,if it were ,people like you describe wouldn't be in the positions they are in.

What the country may be awash in is loudmouth brash uninformed wannabees who think they can match the current incumbent,and in fairness maybe a tiny minority can,but awash....aaaah no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

I'm one of the 3 people in this forum that like his radio show. Always have, probably always will. I find his tv appearences are almost always rubbish, though, with the exception of his current Ryan Confidential series.

Of course you have every right to like/dislike him - but is it right that he is the highest paid in RTE - Is he that good? I think not. What puzzles me is that RTE keep flinging him TV programmes as if somehow to justify his obscene salary. Remember it's our money they're spending !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

Gerry Ryans salary doesn't come from the taxpayer. His show, including his unbelievable salary, is paid for entirely through the advertising revenue on his show.

Nightwish wrote:
    Gerry Ryans salary doesn't come from the taxpayer. His show, including his unbelievable salary, is paid for entirely through the advertising revenue on his show.
    I don't think so - maybe you should get your hands on a copy of the RTE accounts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,472 ✭✭✭highlydebased

I would listen to Gerry over Joe duffy anyday...

....his programmes are interesting enough. Keeps my attention most the time, discuss some interesting/diverse topics

Its been publicly stated that those DJ's who negotiate their own contracts with RTE, such as Joe Duffy, Gerry Ryan and Plank Kenny, have their salaries payed from the advertising revenue on their show. Do you have a copy of the RTE accounts that states otherwise?

Nightwish wrote:

My God, never knew that Gerry pays for the studios, the infrastructure,the broadcasting network,the administrative costs,the backroom team and the promo's for his show?

I was sure that the taxpayer footed that bill. Goes to show, even I can be wrong.

Im going to ask Bertie to set up a state of the art studio out here in Saddletown and pay for everything, and I will base my salary on the advertising revenue and ignore any other running costs!!!!

That's nothing to do with the taxpayer:rolleyes:

Reply to Flutterinbantam.........Yes I do and I don't want to even go there. I'm not spending my time arguing one way or another on someone who is widely acknowledged as being an uncouth twat. If you want to listen to him go ahead.

I don't listen to him either.
    Its just that the argument of getting payed from advertising revenue,and not costing the taxpayer is a spurious one.

Ok point taken - What I find really scandalous is the he appears to have a hold on RTE and thereby keeps out new and energetic talant. Will he be allowed to do a 'Larry Gogan' on it and stay 'till he's carried out in a box.
    I can assure you that none of the competing radio stations would have much interest in him, so what are RTE doing ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

I've had the following opinion for years now, and I've seen nothing to change it:

1) I can't stand Gerry Ryan's radio show - but then the same applies to Big Bother and some people like that; if enough people like it, let him off

HOWEVER

2) I have met NO-ONE who has a good word to say about the TV shows that he's done, and THAT is a problem......if I did a TV show and it was ****e, I wouldn't get a second, third, fourth and fifth show at it.

I'm apparently in agreement with juuge on this
    What puzzles me is that RTE keep flinging him TV programmes

juuge wrote:
    Ok point taken - What I find really scandalous is the he appears to have a hold on RTE and thereby keeps out new and energetic talant. Will he be allowed to do a 'Larry Gogan' on it and stay 'till he's carried out in a box.
    I can assure you that none of the competing radio stations would have much interest in him, so what are RTE doing ?

Not trying to be smart or anything,but what "new talent" is he keeping out.

Anything I've heard,and I'm only an ordinary listener,certainly wouldnt have Mora and the kids out in Clontorf, fretting that their cash cow is going to go belly up.

Now brass necked DJ's with "American"accents are ten a penny,but tell me a few names who could hold a two hour programme of the diverse type that Ryan does five days a week??

I am not a fan ,and NO WAY can he or RTE justify the salary paid,but my point being it would appear he is the best we have at this point in time.

I can't stand hm either. I don't understand why RTE keeps that ryan confidential show going, it's utter cack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

I think the confusion is that 2FM pays for itself from advertising, and thats not one and the same thing as saying that Gerry Ryan is paid for from the advertising played during his show.

As for him being related to Brian Cowen, dont be so cynical. You actually have to go back to the late 70's to find the Charlie Haughey link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

I was on a site today and his show was on. Im sure i heard him play a today fm gift grub sketch.

I think the confusion is that 2FM pays for itself from advertising, and thats not one and the same thing as saying that Gerry Ryan is paid for from the advertising played during his show.

As for him being related to Brian Cowen, dont be so cynical. You actually have to go back to the late 70's to find the Charlie Haughey link.
    I didn't mean to be cynical as you suggested, I was purely drawing a similarity in looks.
    As in a mouth like a holy water font etc etc...

Its not a Gift Grub sketch he plays. Its a copy called Knob Nation, performed by Ex Gift Grubber Oliver Callan.

Gerry Ryan stated (on a number of occasions) that his wages are paid from the advertising revenue from his show. Everytime it comes up in the papers, its brought up on the show. He, like many other 2FM DJ's are contracted by 2FM to broadcast their show. The contract, one assumes, like many contracts of employment would be that the employer provides the workplace, and employee does the work, so I fail to see whats the big deal? He is being paid an obscene salary but its not my licence fee paying it, so I dont care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

He's a joke - a poor man's Howard Stern and without the good music.

Nightwish wrote:
    Its not a Gift Grub sketch he plays. Its a copy called Knob Nation, performed by Ex Gift Grubber Oliver Callan.

Gerry Ryan stated (on a number of occasions) that his wages are paid from the advertising revenue from his show. Everytime it comes up in the papers, its brought up on the show. He, like many other 2FM DJ's are contracted by 2FM to broadcast their show. The contract, one assumes, like many contracts of employment would be that the employer provides the workplace, and employee does the work, so I fail to see whats the big deal? He is being paid an obscene salary but its not my licence fee paying it, so I dont care.
    All very well, can you then explain how the listenership figures are dropping, advertisers are only prepared to pay on the basis of 'who's listening' and yet Ryan's salary goes up every year. Sorry your theory doesn't add up. Why do you think that in the last twelve months at least two of the competing radio stations in the country when asked did not express an interest in Ryan! I suggest RTE are just as much to blame in this, remember last week a man was sent to gaol for not paying his TV licence while Beverley Flynn gets off with a million +, say no more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

Despite his figures going down, he's still a big name on 2FM. Personally, I can't stand his show but there are clearly a lot of people out there who want to listen to Gerry talking about his sex life, what famous people he had dinner with the night before, his kids, himself, snot, himself, the 70s, himself... He's done very well for himself and unless his numbers collapse, I can't see him being gone from that morning snot, sorry, slot for quite a while yet.

juuge wrote:
    All very well, can you then explain how the listenership figures are dropping, advertisers are only prepared to pay on the basis of 'who's listening' and yet Ryan's salary goes up every year. Sorry your theory doesn't add up. Why do you think that in the last twelve months at least two of the competing radio stations in the country when asked did not express an interest in Ryan! I suggest RTE are just as much to blame in this, remember last week a man was sent to gaol for not paying his TV licence while Beverley Flynn gets off with a million +, say no more

Its not a theory. All of the DJ's with those exorbitant wages have all stated that they are not paid taxpayers money. I honestly couldnt see many people being too happy with their licence fee being used to pay Joe, Gerry et al. 2FM is self sufficient, in that all its costs are funded through advertising revenue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

Firetrap wrote:
    Despite his figures going down, he's still a big name on 2FM. Personally, I can't stand his show but there are clearly a lot of people out there who want to listen to Gerry talking about his sex life, what famous people he had dinner with the night before, his kids, himself, snot, himself, the 70s, himself... He's done very well for himself and unless his numbers collapse, I can't see him being gone from that morning snot, sorry, slot for quite a while yet.
    You forgot "penissshes".

Talliesin wrote:
    You forgot "penissshes".
    I remember one time having picked up an aunt of mine from the airport who happens to be a nun and in the course of the journey she switched on the radio to get the news. She fumbled a bit with the tuning and landed at the Gerry Ryan show as he was talking about feamale genitalia, this was like 9:30 am. Nice one Ryan - you're such a professional !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bbability

Firetrap wrote:
    Despite his figures going down, he's still a big name on 2FM. Personally, I can't stand his show but there are clearly a lot of people out there who want to listen to Gerry talking. I can't see him being gone from that morning snot, sorry, slot for quite a while yet.

Sorry to dissapoint you Firetrap but GR's figures have gone up accoring to the last JNLR. I wasn't a fan of his for a long time but recently I've begun to enjoy some segments of his show.

bbability wrote:
    Sorry to dissapoint you Firetrap but GR's figures have gone up accoring to the last JNLR. I wasn't a fan of his for a long time but recently I've begun to enjoy some segments of his show.
    Strange though that no other radio station wants him, maybe it's because he is paid such an obscene amount of money that people deduce ,'well he must be good'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

bbability wrote:

I stand corrected. :o He'd want to be improving with the money he's earning. I don't listen to his show anymore but I found that there was more and more junk in there and less and less bits (I said bits...huh huh huh huh)worth listening to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

Talliesin wrote:
    You forgot "penissshes".

And "pay-de-oh-files". He seems to have a mental block with that word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 "Beaker"

Saruman wrote:
    I was on a site today and his show was on. Im sure i heard him play a today fm gift grub sketch.

Don't think so as Knob Nation is shyte, Oliver Callan wasn't the talented one from gift grub, The voices are like a very poor imitation of gift grub, but then this is another of GR's pet vehicles along with the obligatory praising of the Colm & Jim Jim Repeat show for the first 5 minutes before the papers:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

It's simple, the reason Gerry Ryan is paid so much is, he knows everything about everything. Bargain really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,071 ✭✭✭10-10-20

So, how come the lumped Dave Fanning off to eaRly-To-bEd-1 and retained the services of Ryan on the younger 2fm? I personally cannot stand the bloke and his smug attitude and I retain and frequently use the ultimate censorship control on what he says - the off-button.

Wouldn't I love a call from JNLR one of these days...

I'd love to tell a story about a paid appearance he put in at a Christmas dinner my company had, but I'd be afraid he'd come find me and sit on my head. He gave a speech that I can only describe as 'induced'...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Lee Bushwacker

:p
    juuge wrote:
    What hold has Gerry Ryan got on RTE that despite his abysmal attempts to 'shock' the nation with his 'tabloid' radio programme he is thrown one TV show after another, each one worse than the one before.
    Whatever his chances on radio he definitely has not got a face for television.
    Perhaps he’s related to Brian Cowen. Now you must admit there is a similarity.
    Maybe the Fianna Fail government still has clout within RTE.
    I remember Gerry Ryan being drunk on a Sunday afternoon music video show in the 80s
    He should have stuck to the pints or whatever!:cool:

:p
    I remember Gerry Ryan being drunk on a Sunday afternoon music video show in the 80s
    He should have stuck to the pints or whatever!:cool:

Was he actually drunk ? Or was it like the PR stunt he pulled on that wilderness challenge thing where "he" killed a lamb :rolleyes:

I tuned in to Ryan's tv programme the other night, and within 2 minutes I had to turn it off. What a load of garbage - To think that we are all paying for this guy to the tune of 500K a year ! Jaysus I want my TV licence money back.

Heh heh heh As I keep saying ad nauseum... these guys/gals and their ilk are corn holing us ...and corn holing us real good!!!

You're dead right there. The guy is laughing at us all, what amazes me though is the number of senior executives in RTE that support him, it's the civil service mentality which is afraid of change. No one in RTE has the balls to fire him. Remember we are all replaceable. I would love to see more new talant in RTE and the likes of Ryan and Gogan are well past their sell-by date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

Bit of classic Ryan yesterday monring. He was talking about Fingal CC not allowing Wild Animal Circus's anymore.
    For those of you who dont live in the Dublin area, Fingal is just up the road from my house

Well, I'm off to inform the Colins World Atlas.

Bit of classic Ryan yesterday monring. He was talking about Fingal CC not allowing Wild Animal Circus's anymore.

And he gets €500,000 a year for that !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Flicked through the channels the other day and stopped on Ryan Confidential for 15 seconds, and he was talking to this woman who was telling him about how she went back to college (as a mature student), and Ryan came in with gems like "Did that make you feel better about yourself?" Patronising as ye like... He also said something about how he "euphemistically" calls psychics, etc., "[new arts]" -- while this woman is spilling her guts about talking to her dead husband!!!

I hate him.

LOL :D Always has the cultchies in mind!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I used to like Gerry Ryan, then I decided he's a bit of an idiot!! I still like his show though, especially when himself and Fiona Looney go mad. Funnily enough, I don't like her on her own either, but together they're great.

Did anyone hear his new 'single'? 'SEASAIGI, SUIGI!! AGHHHH!' As a student Irish teacher I love it because it makes me want to scream 'Seasaigi, Suigi' at the kids for the whole class.

Liking or disliking Ryan is a matter of opinion, however what I strongly dislike is that they use mine (and your) money to keep him fat!

IDid anyone hear his new 'single'? 'SEASAIGI, SUIGI!! AGHHHH!'

Gerry Ryan's released a single ????? Is he not content with intruding on our TV and being unlistenable on the radio ???

What brainless TV "talent" show did he win to get that released, and how come Simon Cowell didn't tell him to follow Brendan Kilkenny and all the other talentless wannabes out the door ?

What next ? Gerry Ryan the TV star ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Gerry Ryan's released a single ????? Is he not content with intruding on our TV and being unlistenable on the radio ???

What brainless TV "talent" show did he win to get that released, and how come Simon Cowell didn't tell him to follow Brendan Kilkenny and all the other talentless wannabes out the door ?

What next ? Gerry Ryan the TV star ?

Ha, not an actual single, it would never be released!! (Fingers crossed!!) He's just calling it his 'new single'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Blk150

Gerry:rolleyes: ryan reeks