Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best coffee in Dublin?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭cHaTbOx

PPC wrote: »
    I've tried Nick's at the Farmleigh farmers market and at Town Bar & Grill. Very disappointed both time.
    whenever he is at the ranelagh market I go in at the weekends as he sells his sweet espresso then , so great then :D got some last weekend

3FE is fantastic also :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

tynanman wrote: »
    just noticed a new cafe on bachelors walk 2day
    ha'penny bridge cafe.. panini and great coffee for €5
    its on my weekly lunchtime list
    I'll have to give it a go. Getting a bit tired of the offerings on the n-side, even if 3fe and La Corte are some of the best I've had. Change is the spice of life and all that. :o

• Registered Users Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

McDonalds is a very good contender, especialyl when you factor in the low price.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,149 ✭✭✭✭Berty

McDonalds is a very good contender, especialyl when you factor in the low price.

Yep, some people may snort at the thought of it but the Coffee is coming from United Coffee in the UK and/or Blanchardstown whom basically do a very good range of consistent Coffee.

McD's are working very hard to convert peoples thinking. Bean to Cup when done right can make a great Coffee.

Personally I had a great Cappucino from a Bewleys bean to cup machine in the Hayfield Manor hotel in Cork recently.

..............................................when its done right. :o

• Registered Users Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

</thread>

• Registered Users Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Slaphead07

The Bald Barista has opened a "Fixx" café (much better name for a chain) on the corner of Dawson Street and Molesworth Street - the old West Cost Coffee site. Espresso was very good and served with an iced water without me having to ask for it. The food looked good too but that's a different forum!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭Doodee

Berty wrote: »
    McD's are working very hard to convert peoples thinking. Bean to Cup when done right can make a great Coffee.

What constitutes a great cup?

• Registered Users Posts: 26,149 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Doodee wrote: »
    What constitutes a great cup?

Crema, body, aroma.
    Something that works well as an Espresso or as a Latte, Cappucino.

• Registered Users Posts: 697 ✭✭✭Cionn

I just want to give Nick's shop on Tara Street the thumbs up. I got a great cappacino there and some coffee bean,s all with a nice bit of conversation and a surprise at how reasonable the prices were. (No affiliation). Lets not forget the social science in providing decent coffee.

My top 3 List is now
    The Food Room Clontarf
    Nick's Tara Street
    House Restaurant Howth
    All take away, I am a suburban dweller hence my list incorporates convenience.

Either 3fe or la cortex on the north side. both on middle abbey st.

dubboicc wrote: »
    where is good for take out? love to find a place to get a good quick hit in the city centre

south side city there's Nick's in Tara St, Fixx in Dawson St and the Dublin Coffee Company on St Stephen's Green (Dandelion). I'm partial to Dunne & Crescenzi meself too but it's not everyone's bean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

Slaphead07 wrote: »
    The Bald Barista has opened a "Fixx" café (much better name for a chain) on the corner of Dawson Street and Molesworth Street - the old West Cost Coffee site. Espresso was very good and served with an iced water without me having to ask for it. The food looked good too but that's a different forum!

the bald Barista didn't open Fixx coffee he was only there training baristas

Auvers wrote: »
    the bald Barista didn't open Fixx coffee he was only there training baristas

Interesting. "Fixx" is his own trademarked brand of espresso as well though so I'd have to assume his imput is more than simply training.

Could be settig up a .franchise.

• Registered Users Posts: 50 ✭✭acotone

No starbucks mentioned in this thread which is proof for my belief that their coffee sucks

so I'd have to assume his imput is more than simply training.

I know for a fact what his role is in the Fixx coffee shop on Dawson Street, and that role is to train people only

I delighted for you and your fantastic facts
    It's obviously his role to suppy coffee no?
    And to allow his Fixx brand to be used too no?

I delighted for you and your fantastic facts
    It's obviously his role to suppy coffee no?
    And to allow his Fixx brand to be used too no?

that you there buzz?

whats your problem? I am just informing you of your incorrect assumption that Fixx coffehouse is owned or run by the bald barista, so no need to be a smart ass

that you there buzz?

whats your problem? I am just informing you of your incorrect assumption that Fixx is owned or run by the bald barista....

Noted quite some time ago. I just don't think he's allowing his beans and brand to be used for nothing. Nor should he.

He does not own the fixx brand I think you will find if you look a bit more in depth

I wonder where I got that idea.
    The creation of Fixx coffee is the collaboration of Coffee specialist Café de Cuba, Ireland's premium coffee supplier and acclaimed New Zealand coffee barista Buzz Fendall "The Bald Barista".
    anyway... enough.

do you notice the small little word collaboration

just one more thing quoting the back of a bag doesn't mean squat when you don't have all the facts

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,429 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

Folks, take it to PM if you want to flesh it out further please.

Ladies, please. This is a family friendly forum... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 anbanan

I am interested to see how the two big chains get on, positioned next to each other on Dame Street..................

Starbucks and who? While since I was on Dame St.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

Costa Coffee have moved in Right next door to Starbucks. Fair play to them IMO, it's a bold move. But I often see Costa relatively empty while SB is packed. SB has its regulars, it also has a pretty good atmosphere and the emo/scene kids seem to love it. Costa will have to do something eyecatching to grab some of that business, simply being there isn't enough. So hopefully we can expect some good deals from Costa soon.

Of course, none of this reflects on the quality of their coffee really. Though I think Costa is pretty nice.

Last time I tried Costa it was about on par with Insomnia. Not the worst when you've limited options. Is probably be more in favour of them than Star****s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Capt Ahab

FIXX blend and brand is,according to Cafe de Cuba's website, owned by them. Buzz's coffee is great but FIXX COFFEEHOUSE is on a whole nuther level.....

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Well i made it to 3FE this morning for the 1st time and wow it was just amazing. Just watching them making the filtered coffee was an experienced when you normally go to starbucks and the like.

The i had my coffee black with no sugar and i have never tasted anything so good in my life. I'm going to try and make it down there once a week at least to try and get a coffee.

Big thumbs up to the lads down there, great coffee, great service and at the end i was shown the coffee i was given and a little bit of info on it !

well done 3FE !

Is this the place in the twisted pepper or is it only above it? Went into the the twisted pepper to see what the hullaballoo was about and tbh it was a massive disappointment.

Yer wan serving made the assumption i wanted an americano to go :confused: so i got it in a paper cup that tasted of ... paper. Coffee itself was fairly gank, It's only a small cup but I was close to throwing it away halfway through. I'll stick to fixx and cafe di napoli I think