Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ladys Airsoft

• 06-09-2007 9:42am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭

I was talking to the missus last night about airsoft. Now she is a big counter-strike fan and she expressed an interest in coming along to a skirmish sometime soon. So I said how about HRTA this saturday to which she replied "will there be any other girls there?". I have never seen a girl playing at HRTA so I said no and she instantly lost interest.

So my question is: Are there any female airsofters out there? Are any of you guys in the same boat? Maybe we can arrange a wives and girlfriends day? I know if your missus is anything like mine shes dying to shoot you repeatedly even if it is with plastic BBs :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭Rew

My GF wants to give it a go some weekend so sounds like a plan to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

There have been a few on occasion and they enjoyed it as far as I know. I don't understand why they are put off from attending just because it's mostly played by guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

I've discussed it with my Mrs some time ago (about the time when the idea was first mooted in a thread in here, a few weeks back). She would probably give it a go... but Paul would have to babysit during the skirmishes :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Fetch

There have been a few on occasion and they enjoyed it as far as I know. I don't understand why they are put off from attending just because it's mostly played by guys.

Yeah I dont know its probably the same reason they always go to the toilet together...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Fetch wrote:
    Yeah I dont know its probably the same reason they always go to the toilet together...

Just tell them that there is stuff to buy at HRTA and that you have a credit card. Suddenly it's a shopping trip and they flock to the site.

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭tonyj_mc

same here, mines really likes the idea of target shooting so have been trying to get her envolved slightly in airsoft. Only reason is so i can justify spending what i do and she can't complian because they would be for us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

I know of at least one female boards.ie member who is interested in this. I wont say whom because I don't want to go speaking for them out of turn.

A ladies day wouldn't be a bad idea I think. I am of course not being pervertedly biased in indulging fetishes of women in boots and combats :p

All joking aside, what kind of numbers would Paul need to make an event feasible? Or possibly doing some sort of staggered walk-on? e.g. Girls out in the field at 11am, Guys do QCB. Girls finish game - say 20 mins limit, then guys go out, girls go in, etc. At least with the staggered walk-on, it would give the ladies the option of experiencing bigger games with the guys when they feel a little more confident in themselves?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I whole-heartedly endorse this product and/or service.

MediaL760.jpg

Sweet! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

Why the need the segregate? You pick up alot by playing with and against those better at the sport then you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Have gotten one of my work mates interested and he is now coming on Saturday and his sister has decided she wants to come as well. Another work colleague who is a woman is also all for coming along but is going wait for a report back from work mate 1 before she makes her mind up to head. We are hoping to set up a work trip in early October.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Dr_Pepper

Boston wrote:
    You pick up alot by playing with and against those better at the sport then you.

You implying that the men are better than women?

Boston wrote:
    Why the need the segregate? You pick up alot by playing with and against those better at the sport then you.

Oh I know Boston, it was more just an idea for those who might be hesitant or unsure. I'm sure there'd be a few in that boat, and it would give them all the mental frame of mind of being up against ladies on a similar level. Hopefully they'd get a bit more confidence in themselves and enjoy the sport and jump in with the rest of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

My missus said only the other day she'd consider giving it a go if there were other girls there.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

I've just bought some equipment, but to be honest, wouldn't be interested in being segregated off with 'The women', won't learn anything much that way. But then again I'm not really much of a 'girly' girl.

I mean, a lot of the wives/girlfriends mentioned in this thread just seem to want to know if other females will be there, not just have a Ladies Day.

Agree with Boston.

Well, looks like there's a few willing to give it a shot (pun intended ;)), but only if further sistas are about = the only problem is coordination: make sure whichever ladies want to give it a go in the safety of numbers turn up on the same day. So, how d'we go about it?

(and hey, I'm serious about the babysitting: if my Mrs and I are there, so's the daughter - and she doesn't like 'bangs' either *as those who saw me/us at Salute can attest*, so it ain't gonna be a walk in the park)

Shiva wrote:
    My missus said only the other day she'd consider giving it a go if there were other girls there.

Oh-ho FAL fight in the Shiva household :D

Silverfish wrote:
    I've just bought some equipment, but to be honest, wouldn't be interested in being segregated off with 'The women', won't learn anything much that way.

Agree with Boston.

Sorry Silverfish, wasn't suggestion that segregation would be required or anything, simply a means of getting those who aren't quite so sure into the sport. Anyone else can jump in as deep as they like :)

gandalf wrote:
    Oh-ho FAL fight in the Shiva household :D

JERRY!! JERRY!! JERRY!!

I can see it now ... The Jerry Springer show topic "The FAL tug-of-love".

complete segregation might not be such a good idea but perhaps having the CQB area available for those who are unsure about jumping right in... just to get them over their fear of being hit with BBs and to get used to the guns...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

Lemming wrote:
    JERRY!! JERRY!! JERRY!!

I can see it now ... The Jerry Springer show topic "The FAL tug-of-love".

Nah....she's welcome to it. Gimmee my M15 any day of the week.
    She has her eye on my gilt 1911 though. :eek:

I can see it from here, 10 years on -

hairdresser: so, been airsofting lately?
    Mrs: yeah, was there last week to try my new AEG - say what you will, those Indians know how to knock out good clones of the Chinese high end stuff
    hairdresser: did you CQB or skirmish?
    Mrs: both, but skirmish was best - pwnd the lot of them, never saw me. Them poor boys just haven't a clue when it comes to applying cammo paint. I think it's a gender limitation, unfortunately...
    hairdresser: I see the IAA's election prognosis is looking like an all-female board again this year?
    ;):D

Well there seems to be a fair bit of interest... what do we need to do to make it happen? Decide on a date and just show up? Or will this require a bit more arranging?

Fetch wrote:
    Well there seems to be a fair bit of interest... what do we need to do to make it happen? Decide on a date and just show up? Or will this require a bit more arranging?

And maybe get some input from the women themselves?
    but perhaps having the CQB area available for those who are unsure about jumping right in... just to get them over their fear of being hit with BBs and to get used to the guns...

Sign me up for some of that. Expect to hear 'AAAAAA AAAAA why AAAAAAA' a lot.

Fetch wrote:

FFS just tell them to get down to HRTA, sure why wouldn't they surrounded by fine examples of the male gender*

* This is probably a total and utter barefaced lie!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭Rew

I went paintballing with an ex-GF of mine (note the ex) I shot her and dint here the end of it for a long long time...

gandalf wrote:
    FFS just tell them to get down to HRTA, sure why wouldn't they surrounded by fine examples of the male gender*

* This is probably a total and utter barefaced lie!

Yes but women like to hunt in packs plus if we could arrange a sufficient turn out the inevitable girls vs guys king of the hill match would be a laugh

Fetch wrote:
    Yes but women like to hunt in packs plus if we could arrange a sufficient turn out the inevitable girls vs guys king of the hill match would be a laugh

Dunno if Airsoft is going to turn out to be my thing then :(

Silverfish wrote:
    Dunno if Airsoft is going to turn out to be my thing then :(

Im not sure what I said to put you off Silverfish but do drop out and give it a go... 'tis fun

Guys,

just a thought reading back through this thread, and tbh .... some of the stuff we're coming out with is probably going to put any girls reading this thread right off playing.

I'm guilty of it myself. Can we please, please, please for the love of god from here on out exercise some forethought in any remarks we feel like making, particularly of the gender-focused nature.

I think that whilst we need to entice ladies to the sport for a nice mix, at the same time if we start setting them apart, we've lost already.

Fetch wrote:
    Im not sure what I said to put you off Silverfish

... Perhaps drop the ever-so-slightly mysogynistic slant a little ?
    Fetch wrote:
    Yes but women like to hunt in packs

The best way to get stuck in is to basically get stuck in. I know if i had of turned up and been told 'right you stay here with the rest of the newbies, while we go off and play a real game' I couldn't have been too please.

Silverfish: If you turn up you will be treated like any other new person. The lads will show you there guns, brag abit and basically help you out.

ambro25 wrote:
    ... Perhaps drop the ever-so-slightly mysogynistic slant a little ?

True... duly noted...
    Silverfish my apologies...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭davvowl

Lemming wrote:
    I think that whilst we need to entice ladies to the sport for a nice mix, at the same time if we start setting them apart, we've lost already.
    exactly.

ive seen quite a few ladies airsofting in france, lets say 1 out of 50
    always with a bro or a bf
    and from what ive seen, theyre alot more comfident when not being the only girl around.

Boston wrote:
    The best way to get stuck in is to basically get stuck in. I know if i had of turned up and been told 'right you stay here with the rest of the newbies, while we go off and play a real game' I couldn't have been too please.

That wasn't my suggestion Boston. More a case of giving them the option to either jump right in (to be recommended) or to give a try of whichever area isn't being used, indoor or outdoor, so they feel a bit more confident if they're unsure.

TBH, the suggestion would work for both genders.

Or perhaps throwing them in the deep end, but buddying them up with an experienced player for the first few minutes or so.

These ideas aren't meant to segregate, and are not meant beyond the extremely short term (i.e. first 15-20 mins), and are intended not for everyone new but only those who are a bit unsure.
    Silverfish: If you turn up you will be treated like any other new person. The lads will show you there guns, brag abit and basically help you out.

Boston has the truth of it.

Just to be a bit more specific re: a 'ladies' day skirmish...

There are plenty of women out there who I am sure are interested in the sport and probably just need a little nudge to have a go would get into it

My idea behind a ladies day was more this:
    My GF would probably have zero interest in airsoft and would never consider going (shes more interested in video games) except that its my hobby and I enjoy it and she wants to be a part of something I enjoy and I also want her to be a part of it.

Perhaps ladies day is to broad a term... women who are interested can (and should) get involved whenever they can...

What I wouldnt mind is maybe a day where wives and girlfriends can maybe come out a see what we get up to every weekend in a group environment where they feel comfortable participating as they may not be the type who would normally get into a sport like airsoft

Lemming wrote:
    That wasn't my suggestion Boston. More a case of giving them the option to either jump right in (to be recommended) or to give a try of whichever area isn't being used, indoor or outdoor, so they feel a bit more confident if they're unsure.

I know you've no desire to segregate players, and I would think no one else has either. I think Paul's approach to new players is pretty good though, and comments late weekend would support this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Whats needed is the female point of view, so any of you with women in the house or area, get them to tell you their opinions, good or bad and post them up. Let's see what they think of a ladies day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭marco murphy

Perhaps a Men Vs. Women day would interest the girlies :p

Fetch wrote:
    What I wouldnt mind is maybe a day where wives and girlfriends can maybe come out a see what we get up to every weekend in a group environment where they feel comfortable participating as they may not be the type who would normally get into a sport like airsoft

Right, what about me though? I'm not anyone's wife or girlfriend.

Whats needed is the female point of view, so any of you with women in the house or area, get them to tell you their opinions, good or bad and post them up. Let's see what they think of a ladies day.

I don't think it's a great idea.

Jaysus Silverfish just come along on Saturday, I'm positive you'll enjoy yourself.

Perhaps a Men Vs. Women day would interest the girlies :p

So a load of very well equiped, experienced, players who know the terrain and massively outnumber the opposition Vs some new people. Intimidating is a word I'd use. If you want to attract women to the sport the above mentality needs to not be encouraged.

It might be an idea to define what you mean by a ladies day, is it a ladies only day?

Heres my idea

Have a ladies promotional day where all are allow play and teams are mixed but women get a discount on the days play, like a full day for the price of a half day. You'll get a load of women (provided they know about it) to turn up by offering incentives like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Spitfire666

ive seen a few girls turn up to play but none realy got into it enough that they wanted to keep it up, either that or they havnt had the chance. treat them like any other player and they are grand.

Actually, the more I read this thread, and the more I start seeing incredibly stupid posts (thank you Poblachtach, there's a time and place for joking and this isn't it), the more I think we're going about this all wrong.

Drop the notion of a ladies day. In fact, drop the pretence that they're either men or women. They're new players. Simple as.

We've asked for input from women, and we have one giving us input, and we're not listening.

Silverfish wrote:
    Right, what about me though? I'm not anyone's wife or girlfriend.

You can be my GF for the day.

Ah no, in all seriousness, if you come along, you will enjoy it. its good craic and you can cheack out all the gear you want.

Lemming wrote:
    Actually, the more I read this thread, and the more I start seeing incredibly stupid posts (thank you Poblachtach, there's a time and place for joking and this isn't it), the more I think we're going about this all wrong.

Seconded, a few posts ago.
    Lemming wrote:
    Drop the notion of a ladies day.

I still think that there's an opportunity not to be missed there, but
    Lemming wrote:
    drop the pretence that they're either men or women. They're new players. Simple as.

Dead on. +1.

Silverfish, why don't you just turn up on Saturday, have a look-see, get a feel for the place and the vibe, no pressure or expectations to join?

I can promise you there won't be any hassle because of your gender or because you'll be new (just have a look of the past threads from 'ex-n00bs' in here; at HRTA, you're only ever a n00b for the first 5 mins while Paul instructs the rules ;)) - on any given weekend, there's all ages, sizes and types.

And you can observe a skirmish or two from the safety of the rocks with Paul or Mel to see if it suits, and maybe try a quick team-based CQB session for size after that :)

Hmm and all I wanted to do is get my girlfriend involved in my hobby...

I think there are several people posting in this thread with differing agendas...

1) Those of us who are interested in enticing new players into the sport (which is good for airsoft in general)

2) those like silverfish who are interested in taking up the sport (again any new player is good for the game)

3) those like myself interested in getting their partners involved

4) those concerned about gender issues (a thorny subject)

Regarding new players... yes gender should not come into it... a new player is a new player and from my own experience once the new person is at the skirmish with an AEG in hand there is nothing else to do... everyone I have ever met at HRTA (which is the only site I go to) has been nothing but friendly and obliging and unless airsoft really isnt for them they will keep coming back

Re: Silverfish and anyone else who is interested in taking part young or old, male or female... I refer you to the above paragraph... and as others have said just drop down.. you wont regret it

Regarding getting partners involved... I still feel that arranging a day for this would be worth doing for wives/girlfriends and kids of the right age

Regarding gender issues... well its not something Im qualified to talk about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

ambro25 wrote:
    you're only ever a n00b for the first 5 mins while Paul instructs the rules

Or when he shouts at you because you managed to break nearly all of them in about 20 seconds. :rolleyes:

krazy_8s wrote:
    Or when he shouts at you because you managed to break nearly all of them in about 20 seconds. :rolleyes:

I beg to differ... If you're unlucky enough to be sufferring one of Paul's infamous b@ll@ckings, you are *definitely* not a n00b anymore! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I'm just glad it's real ladies. When I saw the title I thought the Fancy dress idea had gone down the crossdressing road. :p

girls want girls there before they will come and play. unfortunatly we dont have any regular girls playing.
    So somebody will need to be the first and if there is any girl looking to get involved, all the have to do is pm somebody here, organise a day and get a lone of kit or a lift or whatever and then you'll be grand. the lads that are new are doing the same.